Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for Avi to Ac3

8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews


Okay danielk68 I think this may help you. First if you want to upmix an avi containing a 2 channel ac3 to 5.1 ac3 you will need to create an avisynth script for it using directshowsource("d:\whatever\youravi.avi") as avi to ac3 dosen't handle ac3 decoding natively without it.

Follow these steps exactly.

1. Select source directory .

2. Select the directory you want your ac3 files to be output to.

3. Press "Extract Wav from AVI or AVS"

4. Optional. Add dithers (noise shaping) if needed.

5. Select your AC3 bitrate

5a Press this if you are just doing a 2 channel AC3 encoding.

5b Press this if you want to upmix 2 channel source audio to 5.1 AC3

5c Press this if your source audio is already 5.1 and you want to encode to 5.1 AC3

6. After making your settings press start

This is all documented in the guide that was included in the setup file. You can also find the guide here
http://forum.videohelp.com/topic338084.html#1760733

For problems, request, or bug reports please use the development thread.
http://forum.videohelp.com/topic338084.html


Review by freebird73717 on Oct 15, 2007 Version: 1.0.3.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Ok, It's Works Now Even if my o.s it's not on c:/ Drive.
But it,s not a 1 click tool, First You Have To Extract
The Sound To a Wav File By Clicking The "Extract Wav To...",
Then You Have To Choose Your Choice, Upmix ,2 or 5.1 Channel Etc.
When Extracting To Wav, The Final Result It's Not Saved On
The Destination Directory, And At The End Of Process,
The Wav File Result It's Deleted!!!
(the App Made a Batch File, So i Manually Removed The
Deletions Steps and run it again).

Same Issue occurs, When Choosing Upmix, 2 or 5.1 Channels,
without an option to use these Temporary Files.

I Couldn't made a 5.1 channel audio file, from an
ac3 2 channel file. is it because i have a 2 channel sound card,
or because another issue?

(a mini guide will be useful. what Dither Means?)


Review by danielk68 on Oct 15, 2007 Version: 1.0.3.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This Tool, Has a Very Big Potential.
I Couldn't Make It Work, Because my O.S It's On My D:\ Drive
And Not On C:\ As Default.The App Didn't Run For Me Because Of that.
(App is Looking For Something On C:\programs Files\....)
(No Forums To Report That Bug)
When Fix This, i'll Report Another Post.


Review by danielk68 on Oct 13, 2007 Version: 1.0.3.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Volume drop with ffmpeggui (which is an older version of ffmpeg under the covers) ? Ah ! So that's what's been happening. Now I/m a happy chappy. Off to look at aften as I want to do stuff in a batch file via command lines ...

Review by halsboss on Oct 11, 2007 Version: 1.0.3.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I don't think the previous poster really understands what this app is for. It is not for re-encoding ac3 audio from avi files. It is for taking avi files with other audio (mp3, mp2, etc.) and extracting to wav, resampling, then encoding to ac3 in a batch process. It does in one step what otherwise takes several steps with different apps.... with the exception of ffmpeggui.

One advantage of this over ffmpeggui is that this uses aften for the ac3 encoding so it's faster and you don't suffer from the volume drop that you would get with ffmpeggui..


Review by freebird73717 on Oct 10, 2007 Version: 1.0.3.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm wondering if this program is really necessary to create DVD compliant AC3 audio. The main reason why AC3 audio ripped directly from an AVI isn't DVD compliant, is because there are junk/partial frames at the start of the AC3 file. For example, Nandub's "Save wav" option adds a 58 byte artificial wave header, which has to be removed before it's DVD compliant. This can easily be done within a few seconds with the program DelayCut. VirtualDubMod's Stream list -> Demux option doesn't add junk at all to the AC3 audio, unless it has a positive audio delay. But then you can use DelayCut to remove it as well.

So in most cases it isn't necessary to reencode the AC3 audio file in order to make it DVD compliant.


Review by Chris872 on Oct 10, 2007 Version: 1.0.3.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Hmm, didn't try it. Wondering why use this over
(1) ffmpeggui - maybe because it isn't updated that often
(2) a simple ffmpeg command line in a baych file with parameters (2 channel in this case)_
"C:\SOFTWARE\ffmpeg\ffmpeg.exe" -i "%InputAVI%" -ab 192k -ar 48000 -ac 2 -acodec ac3 -y "%OutputAC3%"
?


Review by halsboss on Oct 7, 2007 Version: 1.03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Left out of description requires avisynth to be installed on your system.

Review by freebird73717 on Oct 7, 2007 Version: 1.0.3.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com