Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
Asfbin is a intuitive, fast and reliable tool for processing ASF and WMV files. This makes Asfbin especially powerful when it comes to fixing damaged ASF/WMV files. It can repair almost all types of errors within your favourite video files. Cutting fragments out of all ASF files, precise joining files or selected fragments into one ASF file. Now AsfBin tool comes along with AsfBinWin application, which, thanks to an easy to use user interface and its preview capabilities, makes work with video files really simple. Requires Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable.

8.2/10
18 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

AsfBin screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

1.8.2 WIN / 1.8.3 CMD (January 31, 2012)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download AsfBin 1.8.2 WIN Windows  262KB  Win  Portable

Download AsfBin 1.8.2 WIN Linux  282KB  Linux




Download Beta and other versions

Download AsfBin 1.8.3 CMD Windows  254KB  Win




Download old versions


Download AsfBin old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows LinuxLinux



More information and other downloads




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


What's new in version 1.8.3 Command line
---------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Added output file duration micro-corrections to make it more precise when joining multiple files together.
2. All markers, scripts and attributes input files used to provide the list of data to embed in the resulting output file now can handle correctly UTF-8 text files allowing using any languages like Japanese or Arabic. Escape characters may be now used. IMPORTANT! To get '' into ASF file you need to escape it by doubling it ('').
3. AsfBin can fix files that were having incorrect entries in the metadata object preventing it from playing by major video players like VLC or Media Player Classic.

http://www.videohelp.com/download/asfbin1.8.3.934.zip

View full changelog




All features


AsfBinWin main features:

fixing damaged and/or unseekable files,
cutting fragments out of all ASF files,
precise joining files or selected fragments into one ASF file,
single frame accuracy and loseless processing,
video preview with stream selection,

DMO and VCM codecs support,
creating loops,
removing selected streams,
editing scripts and markers,
optimizing packet size to reduce file size,
logging actions into a specified file...




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

AsfBin, AsfBinGUI, AsfBin Gui, AsfBinWin, AsfBin



Download AsfBin Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




18 reviews, Showing 1 to 18 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Chris (It fucking saved my video! I'm so relieved!) on Jan 27, 2018 Version: asfbinwin1.8.2.903 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It works perfect but the GUI is the worst I ever seen, you have to search for the directory where the files are located and then the program will load ALL the files in the directory, then you have to add those you want to join to the "input file list" one by one, why the author didn't add drag&drop support instead this is beyond my comprehension.

Review by TGB on May 30, 2016 Version: 1.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




@Peppino: WMV describes just Microsoft's video stream format. Their audio stream format is WMA and their container format is called ASF. Technically, a WMV file which consists of video and audio is actually an ASF file with a wrong file extension. Windows (and most other systems) doesn't care much about this mix-up since both endings would lead to the same media handling process. It's just the people who often get fooled by the file endings and think WMV is a complete multi media file format.

AsfBin is btw. one of the best free tools to handle Microsoft's non-free stuff.


Review by pintcat on Sep 11, 2014 Version: 1.8.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Using Asfbin I was able to fix 99% of non-seekable or stalled WMV videos I threw at it. That and the Microsoft Windows Media Encoder Stream Editor are the only tools you'll need to work on problematic WMV & WMV-HD videos.

The only thing I don't understand is when you input a WMV in Asfbin it outputs it as ASF only. I wonder why it doesn't give you the option for WMV as well.


Review by Peppino on Sep 11, 2014 Version: 1.8.3.934 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This application needs a tag to "Windows Media Player Error Message C00D11B1". I spent at least a half a day looking for a way to solve for this error message. I stumbled onto this app through this forum, after hours of searching. With the number of search results I found, I am hardly the only one needing help. Every time I tried to watch a video, it threw the error message previously mentioned and crashed the player.

I downloaded the application, and selected the file that was giving me the error message. Then I stared at the screen for about 20 minutes trying to figure out what to do next. That would be my only complaint. I saw the "cut/copy/join" button but that was the last thing I would have thought I needed. As a last resort I clicked on that button and boom, the new file was created. I have played the video now without a problem. Thanks for your help.



Review by frankntn on May 29, 2014 Version: 1.8 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Worked perfectly for fixing corrupted WMV files.
Would be good if output files could renamed automatically to something similiar to the input file's name, instead of a generic filename.



Review by CannedZ on Aug 28, 2012 Version: 1.8 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Quoting the developer:
"I would like to hear from you a bit on the usage of the window version of Asfbin - AsfbinWin.
It looks like you are still using other GUI apps that uses asfbin command line
in the background as a slave worker. That's why I updated the AsfbinWin with
the preview capabilities so that there is no need on using thrid party tools."
. . .
"for repairing or editing ASF/WMV files AsfbinWin is meant to be the best and the most powerful. If it is not the case yet, please let me know ;)"

O.K., here you go Rad. I have sorely needed something like this that could trim or repair WMV files. But this tool -- however capable it may be -- seems pretty obtuse to the uninitiated. "Intuitive" in the description is greatly stretching it. I have been to your site (though not very recently), and did not manage to find any helpful guides -- there, here on VH, or elsewhere -- to steer me in the right direction. Just a longish list of command line switches, and that is pretty far from an illustrated guide ! With a fair amount of exploratory trial and error, I have now successfully trimmed a WMV file. So far, so good. (But a good thing it did not require more extensive editing, as I"m not at all sure I could have worked that out.) The file could only be saved as ASF, and I don't understand enough about this to know why. I'm still hoping to figure out how to repair a damaged or corrupt WMV file. I'm guessing it will involve the ForceIndex function. Hopefully a guide would address this also. Some decent documentation will boost the usefulness of this tool immeasurably. (And tool ratings would have to be adjusted upwards.)

Since this is not the proper place for discussions, if we continue this it should be in a regular VH thread.


Review by Seeker47 on Jun 28, 2011 Version: 1.8 (Win) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 6/10




Hi all,

It's great to hear that you enjoy using Asfbin. I would like to hear from you
a bit on the usage of the window version of Asfbin - AsfbinWin.
It looks like you are still using other GUI apps that uses asfbin command line
in the background as a slave worker. That's why I updated the AsfbinWin with
the preview capabilities so that there is no need on using thrid party tools.
Some of them, like AsfTools, simply steal the work of command line tools creators
with not even saying a word whom they are relying on when doing the work.

That's why I have introduced a Human Test to prevents this.
In some cases I see it's troblesome for a legitimate user, that write
their own batch files or they process large files (that I am considering
extending the time interval between human test appears).
Human test could be avoided also if authors of the GUI apps take their
time and ask simply for a permission to use asfbin. I believe, that in
many cases they could get it.

But I would like to hear from you, users, what features you are missing in AsfbinWin
so you rather stick with thrid party GUI.
Some use cases are big GUI integrting apps (which apps?) which does a lot of work
to produce e.g. BluRays. So AsfbinWin cannot replace it, but just for repairing
or editing ASF/WMV files AsfbinWin is meant to be the best and the most powerful.
If it is not the case yet, please let me know ;)

Thanks for your feedback,
Rad.









Review by rad88 on Mar 8, 2011 Version: 1.8.0.892 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




For people having problems using Cut Assistant with latest versions of asfbin where a Human Test question is asked, you have to check the "Show originial Application Window" in the Asfbin configuration window (under the option menu).

There, you will see a Dos prompt window appearing where you can just enter the answer, then the cutting process start.

Hope it helps


Review by paleowin on Feb 6, 2011 Version: 1.8.1.892 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




During the cutting process using Cut Assistant 0.9.13.16, the AsfBin progress window asked me to answer a simple "Human Test" question but didn't allow any keyboard input to give the answer, making Cut Assistant (or any app using the AsfBin command line) useless for editing wmf files.

Review by mel2000 on Jan 3, 2011 Version: 1.8.1.892 OS: Vista Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Great tool. Many thanks to the coder. Please add these options for the next version.
1. Drag&drop support
2. Output file extension and name format needs to be improved. If the file is Myvideo.wmv , and it should be better if the output is saved in the same directory and named as Myvideo(2).wmv or Myvideo-fixed.wmv or Myvideo-asfbin.wmv. Naming the output file as out.asf is not cool.
3. "Fix broken wmv files" option in main window will be fine. 1.6x versions make this with the reindex.bat.
4. In the file header some deep settings such as Aspect ratio (par), resolution or wmv codec 8 or 9 change will be very usefull for people who uses external media players or tvs that can play video from usb.


Review by frmys on Dec 3, 2010 Version: 1.8.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Awesome app now provides preview of resultant file and is now my preferred tool for editing of wmv files. Not a deal breaker, but it would be perfect if it also offered drag and drop support. Many thanks to the author for his hard work and generosity.

Review by win7user on Dec 3, 2010 Version: 1.8.1.188 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent tool for editing wmv files when paired with Cut Assistant. Cut Assistant provides visual preview of the resultant file and gives the option of cutting out multiple parts or cropping a single segment and AsfBin does the behind the scenes work. I am happy to report that this combo works in Windows 7 x64. Many thanks to the author of this great tool.

Review by win7user on Sep 16, 2010 Version: 1.7.14 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool is great and i would like to request the developer to make gui for asf2vc1 and make the output bluray compliant vc1 files.

regards.


Review by addu on May 8, 2010 Version: 1.7.14 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




It would be nice if it had a visual preview. But it works so fast! It repairs files that Windows Media Player can't open, among other uses.

Review by LilPeck on Aug 17, 2008 Version: 1.5 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Big minus - No player to preview cut segments. Asftools scores in this regard.

Review by vidalien on Jul 2, 2008 Version: 1.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Superb (tiny) program to clip segments from larger WMV/AVI files
Very quick too. You end up with a .asf file that plays in Windows Media Player


Review by kitfoot on Jan 3, 2007 Version: 1.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is a great tool for converting and cutting and joining asf (wmv) files. The quailty of the video and audio stays intact. This one of the fast encoder I've ever used. Highly recommend for those who need a quick edit.

Review by tycobb32712 on Aug 26, 2006 Version: 1.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


18 reviews, Showing 1 to 18 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

9 Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com