Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
With AVCHDCoder you can convert AVI, M2TS, MKV, MP4, WMVHD files and Blu-ray to AVCHD/Blu-ray. Almost everything will be done for you. You can add srt or sup files. If they are in your input file or not it doesn't matter. Subs and audio will be extracted automaticly. Integrated the tool with some very rare formulas to calculate the bitrate. Discs will be filled for nearly 100%. Based on free tools. Requires: Java.

Freeware
OS: Windows
File size: 94.2MB
Beta version
Old versions
Version history
8.4/10
31 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

AVCHDCoder screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

14.08.08 / 15.12.27 Beta (December 29, 2015)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download AVCHDCoder 14.08.08  94.2MB  Win




Download Beta and other versions

Download AVCHDCoder 15.12.27 Beta  77.7MB  Win




Download old versions


Download AVCHDCoder old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


v15.12.27
Fixed - Add borders sometimes resulted in wrong values which resulted in conversion error
Fixed - Sometimes AAC audio resulted in an error while converting while AAC audio was ok.
Fixed - In some cases AVCHDCoder hangs at encoding due to a bug in the bitrate calculator
Fixed - Sometimes progressive or interlaced video was not correctly detected
Fixed - TrueHD Core to lower AC3 quality resulted in conversion error
Fixed - Numerous fixes involving Dolby TrueHD / AC3 Core / MKV
Fixed - In some cases the Settings Dialog didn't open anymore
Added - Support for UHD/4K input files
Added - Support for HEVC/H265 input files
Added - Support for Dolby Digital Plus 384 kbps and 640 kbps
Added - Support for progressive to interlaced encoding (for example 1080p25 to 1080i50)
Added - Support for Dolby Atmos
Added - All blu-ray stream languages (ISO639-2) +- 500 languages.
Added - Support for external audio streams (beta)
Updated - MediaInfo to 0.7.80
Updated - eac3to to 3.31
Updated - x264 to r2638
Updated - tsMuxeR to 2.6.12
Changed - removed installers for ffdshow, avisynth and haali from installer, changed it to links to the latest versions on my website
Changed - prefferd decoders are now LAVFilters, although ffshow also still works.

View full changelog




All features


Features

Support for different kind of media: MKV, M2TS, MTS, TS, MP4, AVI, Blu-ray and most WMVHD files
Maximum of 32 items on 1 disc. (Mixed content)
Customize your intro video.
Search for movie information on the internet and be able to use backgrounds and covers.
Basic menu support.
Up to 32 subtitles streams. SRT/ASS/PGS Blu-ray support.
Up to 3 audio streams. AC3, DTS, DTS-ES, DTS-HD HR, DTS-HD MA, True-HD, LPCM, WMA9, WMA10 Pro, AAC, FLAC, MP2, MP3, Vorbis/OGG support.
Chapter support
Wide range of output sizes: DVD5, DVD9, BD25, BD50, USB 4GB and custom output size.
Integration of AVCHDCalculator to calculate the bitrate very accurate. So you are sure the discs are not oversized or to much undersized. (Unique calculator, first in the world)
.iso or folder output.
Video downscaling.
Audio conversion.
Normal and High Quality subtitle conversion.
Borders will automatically be added to the video if necessary. Aspect ratio will be kept at all time.
No need to configure the x264 video encoder. There are 3 build in profiles that can't be edited.
Native 64 bit encoding.
Decoder Tester to check if all required decoders are working properly.
Save and open projects (jobs).
Video remux mode for H264, VC-1 and MPEG2




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to AVCHDCoder


BD Rebuilder



BDtoAVCHD



CloneBD



D2MP



mkv2m2ts Pro



mkv2vob



MKVBoxer



MkvConvert



multiAVCHD



PS3Muxer



rebox.NET



RipBot264



XenonMKV







Guides and How to's



Tool features - Convert





Acronyms / Also Known As

AVCHD Coder




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




31 reviews, Showing 1 to 31 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Lukas80153 on Oct 22, 2018 Version: 15.12.27 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Superb software for anyone who wants to convert mkv to avchd/blu ray videos. Very easy to use and powerful, can handle more than 01 audio tracks and subtitles. Stable, not heavy memory consumer and complex as the multiavchd. Approved!

Review by skokitsu on Jan 31, 2015 Version: 14.08.08 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This software could be great. Unfortunately, it's so far out of date with the tools that it uses that it's becoming more and more redundant by the day.

I tested the software with upgraded versions of all of the tools. The only one that will work is x264.exe. All others will cause problems with the program.

It doesn't support DTS-TrueHD, or MA. MediaInfo is so out of date that it often won't even detect audio steams at all.

The low overall score is due to the fact that it is so far out of date. If you are using it on media that is not taking advantage of the latest advancements in audio, video, subtitling and so on this product works just fine.


Review by Yanta on Jul 16, 2014 Version: 13.05.22 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 4/10




I use this program to convert mkv files to blu-ray disk structure. I like it because of the high quality video and ability to extract high definition audio untouched, yes DTS HD in all the channel formats. It runs well on my I7-4770 processor in Windows 7 x64 professional.
The only thing that I would like the program to do is support hardware acceleration that many of the commercial programs do.
A great program!


Review by scorpion90 on May 6, 2014 Version: 13.09.29 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Still a great program, I use it to put Blurays to DVDs for the kids to use. If I need menus or chapters I feed the output to MultiAVCHD (which is more advanced but on my computer less stable)

I'd like to see more settings for quality, among other things "1-Pass-Insanely-fast-I-just-want-to-check-if-this-works"-Mode. (Yes, the output would be poor and not fit to put on media, but just to see if chapters and stuff like subs come out ok). Why not add standard x264 presets (+avchd and bluray) for quality and tuning) (film, animation, grain, etc).

Also, adding audio track is lacking.

But all in all, easy to use program that doesn't try to do things it can't handle.

I had error converting subtitle once, turned out tsmuxer choked on the sub as it had a couple of empty lines in the file. Tsmuxer gave no proper/understandable error code unfortunately (i tried it in CMD window to make sure it wasn't AVCHDcoder that had issues) so it was hard to track down what was wrong. After running the sub through Subtitle Edit and removing the blank lines it all worked great.


Review by Pirum on Nov 30, 2013 Version: 13.09.29 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Thanks

Review by stew181 on Dec 16, 2012 Version: 11.12.27 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I know that I too have a 64-bit system that wont run past either the audio or video encoding portions and ran the test an 64-bit would fail while the 32-bit passed. Yet it still wont go past either audio or video encodes.

Review by TVM2K4 on Sep 22, 2012 Version: 11.12.27 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Voting rated for using it under Windows 7 64bit only!
Obviously there are some bugs that needs to be fixed for us who has Windows 7 64bit, because i can now discover that i am at least not the only one who experience problems.
When it begins to exstract the video, then after just 30 seconds it stops and i am told that the extraction failed, with out an error code.
I also tried with the 64bit tools for Windows 7, but even though i am told in the test that it works, then it still fails with extracting the video.


Review by persen on Aug 15, 2012 Version: 11.12.27 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




It's a great idea, and I'd imagine it would have been a brilliant application but it doesn't work. Error code 1401, so I removed all codecs as instructed but this made no change. I installed another instance on Windows (dual boot) and I still get error code 1401 on a fresh install. I also tried it on another PC but still get error code 1401. I've wasted hours of my time trying to make this work; the idea was to save time. If you want my opinion don't bother.

Review by number1ontheweb on Jun 10, 2012 Version: 11.12.27 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Hello.. This software is extremely easy and useful.. Unfortunatelly, it doesn't support "TrueHD" and "LPCM" Audio.. This means, it is not good enough.. I think we need an update.. I'm sorry to say this "such easy mouth", i'm not the one who make this useful software but as a user, it's my duty to say somethings.. With AVCHDCoder, i'm converting my Remux Files into Blu-Ray and burning onto Single Layer BD.. I've got a few (as a matter of fact; more than a few:)Remux with "TrueHD" and "LPCM" Audio and cannot create Blu-ray.. Not all of those titles have DTS-HD MA Sound.. Therefore AVCHDCoder must do something about "TrueHD" and "LPCM" aound.. I tried many Softwares for this problem but all i had is "failure".. AVCHDCoder is the only solution for us..
I hope somebody (who won't missunderstand me) will here me and try to solve our problem..
Thank You..


Review by se7ennio on Jun 10, 2012 Version: AVCHDCoder 11.12.27 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




If you have a BD50 or MKV and want it shrinked to AVCHD-DVD or BD25 this is the perfect tool to do all the Work with only a couple of clicks. Unfortunately that is all it can. Like Adobe Encore it forces you to transcode any of your media even if simple demuxing -> muxing would do the job. So if your video have to be transcoded everything is fine. If it doesn't it's only a waste of time and quality. In that last case tsmuxer or multiavchd do a better job even if they aren't updated very often.

Review by yoboha on Feb 10, 2011 Version: 11.01.07 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Nice program. It does blu-ray 50gb to 25gb movie only and fills
the disc to 99% capacity. The quality is the best I have seen for this
type of program. The forces subtitles are very important for some movies
and in this program works great. Also this program retains the chapter points
also a must have for all movies. I have not experienced any sync problems yet.
Great program. I look forward to future versions.


Review by Sonicmoto on Feb 4, 2011 Version: 11.01.07 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




For some strange reason with version 11.01.07, i can not get it to create BD25 or BD50 sized outputs. When selecting these 2 settings it keeps creating AVCHD outputs of about 4.1GB.
With previously released versions i did not have this problem with, they worked like a charm.


Review by Persen on Feb 1, 2011 Version: 11.01.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Great programing. I have been waiting for a program like this for over a year.
Avchd coder is the best thing I have seen for doing blu ray 50gb to bd-r 25gb.
So far l have done 4 movies and the quality is awsome.
There is many options for compressing the audio and the subtitles work great.
Their is not much room for improvement the only thing may be better speed for
Encoding. The quality is well worth the wait. Thanks for posting such a great program.


Review by sonicmoto on Jan 27, 2011 Version: 11.01.07 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This program works very well. It would be nice to be able to add sub titles from outside the input file.

Review by odwoh on Dec 27, 2010 Version: 123 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




b-pyramid 2 is correct that in a AVCHD format?

Review by catracho2009 on Jul 6, 2010 Version: v10.05.21 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 10/10




“Being able to convert 25 fps to 23.976 in the program would be nice, since the tools are all there. Not criticizing, maybe a future 'feature' :-)”

It automatically converts 25 fps to 23.976. PAL to NTSC


Review by a1677c on Jun 30, 2010 Version: n/a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I just installed this last night and did not get a chance to test the software yet.

I wanted to comment on the EXCELLENT installation and testing procedures (to validate your PC's ability to convert video) included with this software.

This package includes the Avisynth, Ffdshow and Haali Media Splitter for 32 or 64 bit OS's. I had the 32 bit versions of these software packages already installed on my PC but not the 64 bit versions.

Just follow the HELP installation procedures and the software testing to validate your PC's configuration.

So even if you do not use this software for converting video, use it to verify the correct codecs are installed and working! I am not aware of any other software that is offers these installation and TESTING options.


Review by joepic on Jun 4, 2010 Version: 20.05.21 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great software, really easy to use.
One thing I want to note, pretty much every freeware Blu-ray/HD-DVD encoder uses the exact same program x264.exe to do the really hard work, encoding. So comparing speed of one product vs another is pointless, if you found a program that encodes in 4 hours what it takes this program 24 hours to do on the high setting that means that the new program you love so much is probably producing garbage, quality wise, in x264 quality is configurable with options and the ones that take longer almost always produce better quality,some programs just integrate really crappy low quality profiles for the sake of speed.

I've done some considerable encoding using the more configurable and much harder to use encoder MeGUI, which is great when you want absolute control over your encode, but I wanted something simple that I could spend 2 mins on and press go for less important stuff I want to back up to disc but don't want to spend a lot of my own time on.

This software is it, the profile they use for highest quality is pretty darn close to the high quality profile I use in MeGUI, i can just load up a bunch of files on my encoding machine and then come back when it's done and burn the iso's.

Very Happy with it, it could use a few more configurable options for x264, based on profiles to take into account personal tastes, but as an easy to use blu-ray to BD5/BD9 converter nothing matches this.


Review by enigma69 on Apr 7, 2010 Version: v10.02.01 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I've used BDRB for over a year, and I recently ran into a problem converting a 25fps, 1080i mkv to AVCHD. Although I was able to fix the fps with TSMUXER, BDRB output looked 1/2 size on my PS3. AVCHDCoder allowed me to change output to 1080P and solved the problem. Even with the fastest decode, the image quality was very decent! I also like that this program has a manual explaining the options and settings. Although it's pretty intuitive for BDRB, I can't seem to find a comprehensive list of options and settings in the ini files for tweaking BDRB. Minor issue overall. Both programs are excellent for what they do and much appreciation for the effort from both authors! AVCHDCoder is a valuable addition to my tools library!

Being able to convert 25 fps to 23.976 in the program would be nice, since the tools are all there. Not criticizing, maybe a future 'feature' :-)


Review by Zot on Mar 31, 2010 Version: 10.02.01 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I think I have tried all apps proposed in the bluray rip & encode section of this site and avchd is the only one I'll keep using. The software is easy to use, it provides a complete solution from ripping to encoding to the right format & size. I was previously using a commercial software from xilisoft but the end result was somehow disappointing, I was always getting some video lag with fast moving images. AVCHD is slower, it took me 8 hours to build a 8Gb MKV file (2h20m movie) while it took me the same amount of time to encode 3 to 4 bluray with the stuff from xilisoft. I need to mention that I've been playing a game for an hour on the same computer while encoding the movie, I guess it would have been faster without playing that game.

I'm using a QuadCore Q6600 cpu (no overclocking), 6Gb of RAM, 8800GTX video card running under Vista 64 bits. Encoding priority was set to normal, my four cores were in use.



Review by KlintIstwood on Mar 8, 2010 Version: 10.12 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




The author has put great effort into providing detailed instructions on configuration. New users should READ them. (!) Specifically, users are advised *NOT* to install any codec packs. The program provides links to tested versions of ffdshow, Haali, and AviSynth. How hard is that? There is even a handy configuration testing tool included to determine whether one's system can encode H.264, VC-1 and WMVHD.

Okay, the good:

1)It works, and is slightly more tolerant than BDRB. I say that because it encoded a damaged rip that BDRB rejected. Of course I did the job over anyway from the beginning, but thought I'd test it at the time.
2)It accepts a wide variety of file types/formats.
3) Free.

The not-so-good:

1) The download is pretty big. Partly this is a function of providing capability for encoding various file types, so more tools are required.
2) In my testing, chapter points were slightly off for a Blu-Ray encode (not the damaged one tested previously). Just a second or two, and perhaps a niggling point.
3) Workflow is a little cumbersome, but this is a matter of personal taste, and no doubt users get accustomed to it without much trouble.

Anyone who puts so much effort into useful freeware programs deserves thanks (and donations). So one hesitates to criticize too sharply. Anyway, it's a pretty good tool.


Review by fritzi93 on Mar 7, 2010 Version: 10.02.01 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




VC1 encoding always fails with my rig; downloaded and installed all tools as I was told to; installed a malware free win 7 codec pack too
HELP

kctobyjoe@comxast.net


Review by kctobyjoe on Mar 7, 2010 Version: 10.02.01 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




@below

On my dual core it only takes up to 24 hours*. More than 5 days means your system is not properly configured. Or your source device is slow (ripping via network is much slower for example)
*AMD Athlon X2 2.4GHz, 2GB Ram, output 1920x1080@23.976p and a movielength of 100-110 minutes.

Contact the Author if you have questions, he will help you.


Review by twazerty on Jan 27, 2010 Version: 09.12.06 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




You need a quad core with this program.My dual core has taken more then 5 days for a 37 gig movie.Not the fastest tool in the shed.Still waiting for the encoder to finish the job.

Review by mel15 on Jan 26, 2010 Version: 09.12.06 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Ignore the ignorant guy below who gave this program a bad review. This program is awesome & you can resize to 1280 x 720 or leave default 1920 x1080 these are the only two hi-def sizes for avchd!

Review by a1677c on Nov 27, 2009 Version: v09.10.02 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This software is the easiest to use and best software for converting commercial blu-ray discs to DVD, DVD-DL, Blu-Ray25gb. It won't copy the menus but it will convert and blu-ray by copying the main movie file and compressing it to fit on the output source you select. It will even create an .iso image of the blu-ray formatted output. It even helps in selecting the output size by showing you the bit rate and a quality rating. Very easy to use too. This software is nothing short of amazing.

Review by specter on Nov 25, 2009 Version: .09.10.02 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is not a practical programm !
The option "crop-resize" doesn't exist ...
It's pitty, because it could be a useful programm.


Review by chrchr on Nov 25, 2009 Version: v09.10.02 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




This is the only program I have used so far that does not fail somehow in the attempt to compress blu-ray media to DVD+R DL sizes (8152MB). The other programs were either too difficult to use or crashed on the second encoding pass. On the highest quality settings, AVCHD will create a superb compressed copy of the original movie in 12 hours using an intel q9450 (quad core) that looks just like the original; more than worth the wait.

Review by Raelin on Sep 15, 2009 Version: 09.09.09 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Program works great & very easy to use. Even if you haven’t used it before it’s very intuitive program allowing one to get the gist of it in a few minutes & the 2-pass AVCHD quality is superb.

Review by a1677c on Aug 28, 2009 Version: 09.07.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great program, I put 2 HD home videos and it came out with menu, the only thing is there is no options for naming the titles. It just shows 1 (blank), 2 (blank).

Review by ltooz_audis on May 1, 2009 Version: 4.23 OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


31 reviews, Showing 1 to 31 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com