Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
fre:ac is a free audio converter and CD ripper which integrates various popular formats and encoders. It currently supports MP3, MP4/M4A, Ogg Vorbis, FLAC, AAC and Bonk files. It makes it easy to convert your audio CDs to MP3 or Ogg Vorbis files which you can use in your hardware player or with your favorite audio software. The program supports the CDDB/freedb online CD database and CDText and automatically writes song information to ID3v2 or Vorbis comment tags.

9.3/10
11 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

fre:ac screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


fre:ac screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

1.0.33 / 1.1 Beta 3 (February 12, 2020)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download fre:ac 1.0.33  8MB  Win




Download Beta, Portable and other versions

Download fre:ac 1.0.33 Portable  6MB  Win  Portable

Download fre:ac 1.1 Beta 3  15MB  Win

Download fre:ac 1.1 Beta 3 64-bit  16MB  Win64

Download fre:ac 1.1 Beta 3 Portable  14MB  Win  Portable

Download fre:ac 1.1 Beta 3 Portable 64-bit  15MB  Win64  Portable

Download fre:ac 1.1 Beta 3 Mac  33MB  Mac

Download fre:ac 1.1 Beta 3 Linux  15MB  Linux




Download old versions


Download fre:ac old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows MacMac OS LinuxLinux




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Version 1.0.33 (February 2020)

Improvements

the fre:ac installer is now digitally signed
prepared for freedb.org shutdown on 31st March 2020
rip only tracks from the newly inserted disc when auto-ripping
do not start ripping automatically if no freedb entry is found
improved compatibility with ADTS AAC files
use high resolution icons from fre:ac 1.1 branch
Bug fixes

fixed compatibility issues with Windows 10 UTF-8 codepage setting
fixed hangs when trying to open some Windows Wave files
fixed setup not running with elevated rights on non-administrator accounts
fixed freaccmd issues with files without metadata
Updated codecs

upgraded FLAC to version 1.3.3
upgraded FAAC to version 1.30
upgraded FAAD2 to version 2.9.1
upgraded mpg123 to version 1.25.13
upgraded Vorbis to version 1.3.6 + aoTuV beta 6.03
upgraded Ogg library to version 1.3.4
Updated translations

updated Chinese (simplified), Croatian, Danish, Portuguese, Spanish (Latin American) and Ukrainian translations
added Bulgarian translation for the installer
updated Spanish user guide

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to fre:ac


CDex



Exact Audio Copy



EZ CD Audio Converter







Guides and How to's



Tool features - Convert





Acronyms / Also Known As

freac,BonkEnc, BonkEnc



Download fre:ac Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews


Would benefit from a normalisation option. Has lots of options which seem a bit unnecessary that the average user would never use. The alpha build can accept 5.1 sources(the stable can only accept 2 channel inputs!), but bugs exist. It takes much time to load some audio files like 5.1 ac-3 and often crashes during encoding. It has crashed for me in WinXP to Win10 so far.

The progress counter does not even show in some file encoding. Still at alpha stage but at least it is being developed and is a good freeware software. I now use the superior EZCD Converter instead.


Review by Abe on Nov 1, 2019 Version: 1.1 alpha OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by ShaneTune1 on Aug 20, 2018 Version: 1.0.32 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Damian Höster on Apr 20, 2018 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Good software, but a major drawback is it needs a sound normalizer, however future builds promise this and also it cannot process 5.1 channel inputs as yet. Pazera audio extractor can process anything as input so I recommend using that for some tricky projects instead.

Review by Sayed on Nov 19, 2017 Version: 1.0.30 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Very good software, but like others my using it had declined for said reason of only 2 channel support. Also it would not open mkv sources.

Review by 7of9 on Aug 3, 2017 Version: 1.0.2.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I'd give this a 10/10 but it really is annoying that it won't accept an input source with more than 2 channels. Because of this it is not much use to me anymore.

Review by Tom on Jul 16, 2017 Version: 1.0.2.8 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Nice software, but due to the fact that it cannot encode from audio sources more than 2 channels I prefer not to use it and find it very redundant for most of my conversion projects.

Review by Dan on Jul 7, 2017 Version: snapshot OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I'm using a public beta. This is so close to being the perfect tool for me, I can deal with these two minor issues which I will share below, but if the developer wants to provide fixes, I'd obviously love it even more.

1) when you give it a large number of files to process, it takes a while to figure out what they are (this is before starting the conversion job) but you don't know when it's ready, you just see the "files in joblist" number climbing and eventually it stops. I'd love to see some indication that it is ready to start converting. Maybe a button that lights up or something. It seemed to allow you to start the job even before it was ready, so I didn't know if it would do all my files or not, thus I waited until it stopped counting files.

2) if you have things arranged as Artist \ Title \ CD# for a multi CD set, it will not duplicate this file structure in the destination down to the CD# level. So you end up having to manually create CD1, CD2, etc. folders and then manually moving the files where they should go. I'd like to see an option to duplicate the source folder structure.


Review by shredhead on Jan 17, 2016 Version: CVS20151122 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I don't like the new name, I prefer "Bonk"! :(

Review by chowmein on Nov 21, 2010 Version: 1.017a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I had an mp4 file that would not convert with any other editor or encoder, this software worked perfectly, many options, easy to figure it out. Gave it a 10

Review by sum_guy on May 4, 2010 Version: 1.0.14 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It works flawlessly made a perfect copy of a badly scratched cd.

Review by dimoutlook on Jan 1, 2010 Version: 1.0.14 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com