Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for fre:ac

16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews


There are two versions for Mac. Videohelp only links to M1 and MacOS 11.X.
If you have macOS Catalina 10.15 or earlier versions you can find the other Mac version on it's official website freac dot org

great for extracting audio out of m4b audiobooks to prepare for m4b-tool to make a small 32kbps audiobook

great for converting 320kpbs mp3 to 96kpbs opus music


Review by mrbass on Jun 27, 2021 Version: 1.1.5 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Deserves your support and kind donations. Lovely software!

Review by Jake on May 11, 2021 Version: 1.1.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




At last switched from faac to fdk! Also support for replay gain. Great update. Many thanks. Deserves your support and donations.

Review by Simon on Feb 15, 2021 Version: 1.1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great software, but I would jazz up the GUI a bit as it is very plain with those little x's to show enabled options etc. A tick would be better. Please make it a bit more colorful and spacious as the navigation of Fre-ac makes for a very cluttered GUI. Sorry to whinge.

Now the positives: its free and still works in XP, has most the options you need and the man developing it, is a great guy who listens and bug fixes. Respect to him.


Review by Jack on Jun 21, 2020 Version: 1.1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




By far the best audio encoder frontend, very handy and VERY FAST!

Review by amaipaipai on Apr 12, 2020 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Would benefit from a normalisation option. Has lots of options which seem a bit unnecessary that the average user would never use. The alpha build can accept 5.1 sources(the stable can only accept 2 channel inputs!), but bugs exist. It takes much time to load some audio files like 5.1 ac-3 and often crashes during encoding. It has crashed for me in WinXP to Win10 so far.

The progress counter does not even show in some file encoding. Still at alpha stage but at least it is being developed and is a good freeware software. I now use the superior EZCD Converter instead.


Review by Abe on Nov 1, 2019 Version: 1.1 alpha OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Rating by ShaneTune1 on Aug 20, 2018 Version: 1.0.32 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Damian Höster on Apr 20, 2018 Version: 1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Good software, but a major drawback is it needs a sound normalizer, however future builds promise this and also it cannot process 5.1 channel inputs as yet. Pazera audio extractor can process anything as input so I recommend using that for some tricky projects instead.

Review by Sayed on Nov 19, 2017 Version: 1.0.30 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Very good software, but like others my using it had declined for said reason of only 2 channel support. Also it would not open mkv sources.

Review by 7of9 on Aug 3, 2017 Version: 1.0.2.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I'd give this a 10/10 but it really is annoying that it won't accept an input source with more than 2 channels. Because of this it is not much use to me anymore.

Review by Tom on Jul 16, 2017 Version: 1.0.2.8 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Nice software, but due to the fact that it cannot encode from audio sources more than 2 channels I prefer not to use it and find it very redundant for most of my conversion projects.

Review by Dan on Jul 7, 2017 Version: snapshot OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I'm using a public beta. This is so close to being the perfect tool for me, I can deal with these two minor issues which I will share below, but if the developer wants to provide fixes, I'd obviously love it even more.

1) when you give it a large number of files to process, it takes a while to figure out what they are (this is before starting the conversion job) but you don't know when it's ready, you just see the "files in joblist" number climbing and eventually it stops. I'd love to see some indication that it is ready to start converting. Maybe a button that lights up or something. It seemed to allow you to start the job even before it was ready, so I didn't know if it would do all my files or not, thus I waited until it stopped counting files.

2) if you have things arranged as Artist \ Title \ CD# for a multi CD set, it will not duplicate this file structure in the destination down to the CD# level. So you end up having to manually create CD1, CD2, etc. folders and then manually moving the files where they should go. I'd like to see an option to duplicate the source folder structure.


Review by shredhead on Jan 17, 2016 Version: CVS20151122 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I don't like the new name, I prefer "Bonk"! :(

Review by chowmein on Nov 21, 2010 Version: 1.017a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I had an mp4 file that would not convert with any other editor or encoder, this software worked perfectly, many options, easy to figure it out. Gave it a 10

Review by sum_guy on May 4, 2010 Version: 1.0.14 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It works flawlessly made a perfect copy of a badly scratched cd.

Review by dimoutlook on Jan 1, 2010 Version: 1.0.14 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com