Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for avi.NET

62 reviews, Showing 1 to 62 reviews


Previous reviewer must have meant pgc.NET because that is for doing episodic DVD's with avi.NET. I ripped and transcoded hundreds of DVD's to xvid over the years using this and all have come out looking same as the dvd source. Would love to have seen this software continued.

Review by Col L on Aug 6, 2020 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This outputs superb Xvid quality videos from dvd or vob single mpeg2's, than any other software I tried, even using avisynth or fancy filter based tools. Using CladDVD.NET episodes can be done too.

Review by Kev on Aug 5, 2020 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Chuck on Jul 14, 2020 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Franz on Jul 13, 2020 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I saw the positive reviews, and wanted to do some avi's for nostalgic purposes! I tried avi.NET some years ago and saw loads of errors such as mci, options on the programs failing to be available(greyed out), out of synch audio, etc so 3.5.1.0 was my last try. I don't want to get into the avi.NET vs FU Wizard vs AutoGK things, but what I'll say is in that order the quality comes with this last version. Avi.NET's was exceptional for an xvid compared to these others. I'm sure that vaq thing patch in Xvid screwed up a lot of my image quality in other encoders I'd used before. The guy who developed aviNET- Clone.ad, really got it right when he put out his last version. Kudos to him. This software had it continued might have opened any file input, not just DVD's, but Video.NET continued this potential before ceasing development in 2014.

Looking at the Xvid 1.2.2 on the 2 pass encode options avi.NET didn't use adaptive quantization nor chroma enabled, just Home profile enabled and no vaq. The output file colors were crisp and sharp looking as good as many h264 files I'd done at similar bitrates and the audio superb with high frequencies kept at 192kbps and in synch. I will encode all my old DVD's using this excellent software. I used Avisynth 2.6.0 with it and frame served the image much better than 2.5.8 older version. It may work in Win8 & Win10 running as a 32bit program mode or as a portable which is easy to do.


Review by Jacko on Jul 12, 2020 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I never thought I'd be using a program from nearly 10 years ago, but I converted a load of my old dvd box sets during lockdown to xvid to alleviate boredom and this software was used because I wanted speed. They say crap in crap out, but my dvds were all commercially well mastered. The Xvids at 0.2 pixels in avi.Net's recommendations were near identical to the originals. I was really surprised by the quality as the build of xvid is Koepi's old 1.2.2 without vaq and old indeed. The later xvid 1.3x are bad by all accounts and installers full of crap.

I did some comparison encodes with AutoGK which uses 1.2.1 withvaq using ESS mode or the other mtk mode and the encodes were very inferior at both 75% 1 pass quality or 2 pass equivalent high bitrates- very blocky. Even Fairuse Wizard's quality slider and own Xvid build could not match the quality of avi.Net, though much better than AutoGK. I wonder if avi.Net program would work in Win10? Probably not. Still an impressive tool.

By the way if you rip your R1 dvd's(interlaced/telecined/hybrids etc with WinX DVD Copy Pro 3.9.2(a giveaway promotion most of the time on the Net!) it automatically ivtc's the dvd as it rips to your folder. Avi.Net throws up a warning message of no need to deinterlace an already ivtc'd source, if you click on its deinterlace option. Now that's handy!


Review by D.B on Jul 9, 2020 Version: 3.5.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A nicely crafted GUI and complete program. Would have loved to see it continue its development into the h264 arena/h265, but nothing lasts forever in the tech world- usually 5 years or more and its done. Very rarely I need to do a quick xvid for an old TV boxset I want to encode on Xp or win7, so I use this or AutoGK. AviNet does a fine job. Fairuse Wizard at fast preset which I also use does an excellent job too to encode h264.

Review by Dan on Jul 6, 2020 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I needed this to convert a ripped DVD folder for non techie friends to xvid using their XP pc and it did a great job. I would have used AutoGK, but for some odd reason it failed to convert that specific dvd.

One think I didn't rate on AviNET was its deinterlacing option for another DVD(NTSC) which sucked quite a bit(however AutoGK solved this quite masterfully), but on progressive DVD sources AviNET excelled. Thanks.


Review by Robby on Nov 12, 2018 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is nice software. I use it very rarely for avi, but it is quick and easy. If the developer ever decides to put a new build out( his web site is closed so probably not!)future recommendations would be a better deinterlacer as the one used in AviNet does not work on pure interlaced sources and leaves duplicate frames and terrible out of synch audio. Use of abr mp3 instead of constant and update the xvid codec to 1.3.5. Also a light denoiser like vague denoiser would be useful to reduce the mosquito noise incurred by using the mp4 matrix which is evident even after a high bit rate. A program with some potential.

Review by Cary on Dec 23, 2017 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I needed to make an avi for friends who play only xvid on their DVD player, so used this. The result was quite good. I was used to AutoGK, but had heard good reviews about this. Xvid is dated now, but still has its place. AviNet or this version only uses xvid 1.2.2 without vaq, whether the vaq would have made a difference for my encoding I'm not sure. The program only uses constant mp3, vbr gives better quality, the mpeg matrix was used in my encoding, but had loads of noise. This version has no remove grain like older versions of avinet and is removed for some reason. Why?

The quality of my encode was not as good as AutoGK visually which I decided go use in the end. I also tested an interlaced DVD with avinet choosing deinterlace the video came out with repeated scenes, with AutoGK the video was detected as a hybrid and came out perfect. Avinet is great for progressive DVD sources only. Maybe the author could have released the last version he had build which he talked about on his site as I remember, but unfortunately the site is now down for good. I will continue using AutoGK for the odd xvid as it is more configurable and you can use agkpal to run avisynth scripts too.


Review by Stu on Jun 25, 2017 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I don't get it where it says in its change log that it works with xvid 1.3.1 or 1.3.2 because in XP it the program throws up wrong build/incompatibility warnings so you have to use the Koepi vaq free 1.22 build which is inferior to these aforementioned builds and jawormat's excellent 1.22 vaw build. Dated program like AutoGK but still useful for that occasionally requested Xvid. I found AviNet to produce artifacts/mosquito noise in 700mb encodings and the video image was very soft( resizer issues )that said at higher bitrates 900 plus the image output was much better. Don't understand why the audio is so fixed at 128/160 etc and not flexible with vbr? The site says that AviNet is its most downloaded program,I can see whysince it has a great sleek GUI and easy for noobies. Has great potential if it worked with Xvid 1.3.4(great codec) allowed better resizing, incorporated a mild denoiser as default eg remove grain mode 5 or undot, allowed abr/vbr mp3 and allow the user to slow i down mors for a 2 pass. I thought this was a major factor in its artifacting.
Oi


Review by azmoth on Dec 1, 2015 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Works fantastic, have been using to re-encode all my old mpg files as well as re-encoding my dvds that were previously done to mp4 format. only down side is its not an all in one program. at a bit rate of 850 to 1024 cant tell the difference from the output to the source.

Review by knelson on Nov 23, 2012 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




All mci errors fixed with this release, and so far, no more oos issues after conversion from PAL. This software has always been and presumably will continue to be worth paying for, imho.

Review by smik on Oct 6, 2011 Version: 3.5.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool, very easy to use and free, but cannot open mpeg2 inside mkv. (example from makemkv), I suggest to use directshow filter too.

Review by darkio on Sep 10, 2011 Version: 3.5.0.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




A fantastic tool. I have no reservations about any aspect of this tool - it does exactly what it should in a clean and elegant manner. Thanks a lot clone.AD !!!

Review by stankley on Sep 9, 2011 Version: 3.5.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




On both Win XP and 7 x86, mci errors after trying to initialize movie, uninstalling Xvid 1.32 corrects the error but results in crap encode. Avi.net 3.400 worked but had out of sync issues with PAL. Rolling back to both Xvid 1.22 and Avi.net 3.200 works perfectly in both XP and 7 x86.

Review by smik on Aug 28, 2011 Version: 3.5.00 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I agree with Acekilla. I really want to use avi.net and replace AugoGK which I have used for years, but not being able to adjust the width is a killer for me. The 640 preset is fine for 16:9 movies, but I always encode my 4:3 video's at 512x384. I am forced to use the preset's in avi.net of 480,560,640 etc, there is no 512. There really needs to be a way to enter the width manually. Even adding 512 as a preset would make me happy, until the manual width is implemented.

Review by LegoJedi on Jul 8, 2011 Version: 3.5.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




@KiwiKid : what i mean is we can't adjust the width and audio bitrate in custom. Like we can adjust the height of the video with that +/- icons. Yes, we can change the width but it was only 720, 640, 560 and so on, we can't input it manually, there goes for the audio bitrate to.

Review by Acekilla on Jun 27, 2011 Version: 3.5.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Not sure what Acekilla is on about...setting for width and audio bitrate are there as soon as you open the program.

Review by KiwiKid on Jun 27, 2011 Version: 3.5.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




So far this tool is working great for me , i use DVDFab first to backup the dvd to Hard Drive then use avi.NET to convert it to Xvid or DivX. If only the creator will let us adjust the width of the resolution and audio bitrate, this will be a awesome tool of all DVD -> AVI tools.

Review by Acekilla on Jun 26, 2011 Version: 3.5.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I ran a few movies through this. I think it is fantastic, easy to use, and fast. I compiled the same movie a few different ways, and it seems to me to set the CQ to 2.0 gives you the most reasonable size file, fastest compile, and best looking results. I tried setting it to 1/3 of a CD, then ran it through as CQ 2.0, and found the CQ was faster, smaller file, and very slightly better results. Files usually seem to be around 1.2 - 1.4GB, including AC3 Passthrough, which is my preference. I like to retain the 5 channel Dolby. I don't like the subtitle functionality. The output of the external subtitle is not usable by most software. If this program output a .srt file, it would be the mac daddy of all programs. For now, I can't find a way to convert the .sup to a .srt, and I have to restort to downloading subtitles from the internet. It's very disappointing. The other settings I use: Xvid, 720 width, CQ 2.0, and AC3 Passthrough. I'll have to try the CQ 1.5 and 2.5 and see what happens. My guess 1.5 is better for high action, 2.5 better for drama with the smaller size. I'm happy with 1.2GB files though, and I think the AC3 is usually 300-500MB anyway, so how small can the movie possibly be? With a terabyte drive, who cares?

Review by itabb on Jun 24, 2011 Version: 3.5.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




New version 3.3.0.0 has interface cutoff at bottom where it says options.Misc

Review by SWBisbee on May 14, 2011 Version: 3.3.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




In the latest version 3.1.0.0 forced subtiles no longer work. It is a very useful feature for me. Whenever I attempt to 'burn in' forced subtitles it reverts back to normal and shows all subtitles. VSRip successfully extracts forced only subtitles so it is not and issue with the vobset. A great tool but please fix this issue.

Review by 0cymraeg0 on Jun 14, 2010 Version: 3.1.0.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works well except for a few bugs with saving the job list in Win7 x64.

Review by loosenut on May 9, 2010 Version: 3.1.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Menu is hidden. Unable to find Save To & START button to begin convert. No F1 to get help. So far it's a great video player.

Review by PizzaPete on May 2, 2010 Version: 3.1.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




This program is great at what it does. With the old version had a few annoying bugs that have now been fixed. The new index.NET standalone program is a great time saver when converting series. I can now read in a full season and index it while the previous season is encoding.

Each version of the GUI seems to remember more of my settings. I am still annoyed by the fact it can't remember that I like to encode at a quality of 2.5, I want to copy the original audio stream, and that I want subtitles extracted to a file. But that is a fairly minor annoyance. All the commercial programs I have tried have even bigger annoyances.

To speed things up, I usually just copy the subtitles from the index directory rather than taking the time necessary to tell avi.NET to do that for me. That also avoids the risk of accidentally forgetting to tell avi.NET not to use "Normal" mode.

The output quality is always excellent. I have used avi.NET to encode more than 2000 DVD's.

Bill


Review by docbill on Apr 24, 2010 Version: 3.1.0.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have been using this tool right from day one.
I think it indexes faster now, so the rewrite of the indexing routine was a big success.
And I like the updated status indicator for indexing the video.
I also like the volume features to adjust the volume of the preview video. Nice not to have to open up Windows' volume control to quiet it down.

All in all, this is an indispensible tool for anyone who wants to convert DVD to DivX.


Review by awgie on Apr 18, 2010 Version: 3.1.0.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Been using this from the day it was released. Long list of features have come along with this software every time an update is available. This is probably the best one-click DVD to AVI software out there. I'm really happy to see the ability to input .TS now.
You can now select audio bitrate which is a plus.

One thing I would like to see is a way to have output not be 'packed bitstream' as that is an issue with standalone players.I always have to use MPEG4Modifier to fix this so I can FWD/REW otherwise it either will freeze or go back to start of clip.


Review by NotSoEasy on Feb 28, 2010 Version: 3.1.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Been using it for a wile and been very happy with it, easy to use tool that produces great results. Keep up the good work.

Review by coasthi on Feb 28, 2010 Version: 2560 OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Thank you all for your nice comments.

Review by .ForumUser on Feb 13, 2010 Version: 3.0.0.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It runs and start fine here without any internet connection. So I assume it's just YOU. If you want to discuss this further use our forum or contact the author in the doom9 forum, http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=120826 .

Review by Baldrick on Oct 4, 2009 Version: 2.6.5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I don't get it haven't been able to use this tool thus the low ratings.It needs to connect to the internet or it simply won't open for me when i allow it access it opens.Same thing goes for pgc.NET am i missing something here is it the same for the rest of ya's??.I like to shut down everything when i am doing my encodes,antivirus,no internet,all unneeded programs.So for me this tool is useless for me.

That seems awfully strange to me !!.Same for the rest of you?.


Review by kickingbird on Oct 4, 2009 Version: 2.6.5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




Fantastic tool! Really makes DVD/MPEG2 to AVI conversions simple, one small question though on the latest version (2.6.5.0) "NO POST VIDEO FILTERING" appears under INFO during a conversion. My question is are there any options to turn on this feature (I assume this feature is to use an AviSynth filters' POST processing mode) or does it have to be done by manually editing the AviSynth script. I am very interested in the potential of this feature.

Review by 0cymraeg0 on Aug 9, 2009 Version: 2.6.5.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




excellent software. please be aware the latest version (2.5.8.2) requires Xvid 1.1.3 to work correctly. if you have earlier versions of the Xvid codec the video will encode poorly!

Review by Statick on Dec 20, 2008 Version: 2.5.8.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is an excellent, easy to use tool that produces great results. Encoding it pretty fast compared to other tools.

It has all plus points except the following two issues:

1. I wanted to to 5.1 audio untouched and the output file when opened in AVICodec shows a 5 channel audio. If I open the same file in GSpot, it is showing properly as 5.1 audio. Don't know whey this difference.

2. It would've been great if there is support to open entire DVD (with IFO files) instead of individual VOB files. This forces me to rip the DVD as single VOB file instead on multiple VOB files as is the default setting.


Review by lal on Sep 24, 2008 Version: 2.5.8.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Was an AGK user then switched to avi.NET after news that AGK would no longer be updated.Have been with avi.NET ever since.
While the software is "easy as pie" to use, it does lack a few options AGK had.

One option would be to support transport streams.While it does support HDTV, it would be nice to be able to load .TS files.

Another feature it lacks is the ability to choose audio bitrates.Most often 128 is sufficient and would leave more room for video.Adding the option to choose audio bitrates would be nice.

Other than those two missing options, this software is top notch.It really cant get any more simplified than this.


Review by NotSoEasy on Jun 10, 2008 Version: 2.5.8.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Best and easiest excellent results . Using it for HDTv episodes to avi.
thanks to author And it'd free


Review by dweeb52 on Jun 8, 2008 Version: 2.5.8.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Does exactly what it has to do, no bugs found ! Nice !

Review by Bobbo on Feb 11, 2008 Version: 2.5.7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great, great program! Does exactly what I want and it's easy to use. Doesn't take a lot of tweaking to get it to work. This and pgc.NET are a winning combination! These two programs have made it incredibly easy for me to back up my DVD's as Xvid files on my PC and turn it into a nice little media center. Highly recommended!

Review by Anomalator on Jan 27, 2008 Version: 2.5.7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent tool! Simple and easy, quality and compatibility guaranteed!
Keep on good work! I think it's time to say goodbye to AutoGK :)


Review by Freewheeling on Jan 21, 2008 Version: 2.5.7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I was having problems trying to convert OTA HD content to Divx. I tried Dr Divx 2.0 (always blew up after 98% on 2 different Vista machines). DVD2AVI was too cryptic. But AVI.Net was able to take my HD files and convert them easily to Divx with no muss... no fuss. I highly recommend it.

Review by mixxalott on Jul 24, 2007 Version: 2.5.1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




After months if not years of searching for a DVD to divx / xvid tool that gives cracking quality video and sound without sync issues, finally I've found it, the Holy Grail, give that man a cigar, or at least a donation. Simple config, batch conversion, excellent results and freeware, my god someone wake me up I must be dreaming.

Review by runrig35 on Jul 14, 2007 Version: v2.5.1.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I was looking for a free DVD to AVI converter and this one the first that worked on XP64 out of about 5.

Simple easy to use and not a zillion of nerd options.


Review by jawtab on Jun 13, 2007 Version: 2.510 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best free conversion tool I have ever found. It just does the job without any fuzz! Forget other tools such as Dr. DivX, AutoGK, Vidomi with poor or no support at all.

Great work, support CloneAD!

DOL!


Review by dolkbg on Apr 11, 2007 Version: 2.5.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best conversion program for vob to standalone-compatible avi I have ever used, and I have tried them all. Try it, you'll love it.

Review by smik on Apr 8, 2007 Version: 2.5.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hi folks,

I installed avi.NET in hopes that it would replace AutoGK (I have issues with AutoGK being spread out and NOT contained in it's OWN folder) ... anyway, I tried and tried to get avi.NET to work and a BIG ZERO ... nothing ... each time I get an Error messge saying "Routine Open Movei" not worked or "open Movie" ... Indexing takes forever ... and so on ...

So, I got tired and deleted it ...
G!


Review by gonwk on Feb 25, 2007 Version: 2.5.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 1/10




avi.NET has to have the correct XviD codec version installed as explained on the site.

If you use the codec version that works fine in 2.2.0.0 then it will not work with 2.5.0 and vice versa, you'll get smaller poor quality files, and vice versa.

The site does mention this, not to mention it is displayed on the program XviD 1.1.2.


Review by CloneAD on Feb 9, 2007 Version: 2.5.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I has bad results with version 2.5.0.0.

The avi file is smaller and the video quality is more poor than version 2.2.0.0.

I think is because the "advanced analysis" gone.

I return to version 2.2 and when I re-encode the same video (with the same codec) the video quality was back.


Review by Ilanio on Feb 9, 2007 Version: 2.5.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Yeh sorry about the MPEG quant type for one pass, that's a mistake, didn't realise. It should be H263. Will be changed in next version.

No need to unpack NVOPS as there isn't any. GSpot and MPEG4 Modifier will say there is NVOPs but if you look at video info you will see it says 0%. There isn't any, the profile does that to be fully compatible.


Review by CloneAD on Sep 20, 2006 Version: 2.2.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




deselect "advanced analysis" in settings and all'll be like in version 2.1.8.4

Review by ricardouk on Sep 20, 2006 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




An important thing has changed in version 2.2.0.0
the QUANT TYPE is now MPEG CUSTOM where as, previous versions
used H.263

I own 2 dvd/divx players and a medion pmp(aka.MSI MegView588) all
movies i converted up to version 2.1.8.4 worked fine (after
using Mpeg4Modifier to unpack the bitstream for smooth playback)

But now that version 2.2.0.0 using MPEG CUSTOM all files are
incompatable and will not play on anything!(except my PC)

I have reinstalled version 2.1.8.4 as prefer compatabilty rather
than speed (which version 2.2.0.0 is much faster)

What a shame, this app was progressing nicely until this change :(

Phil


Review by draven1968 on Sep 20, 2006 Version: 2.2.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Here`s two addons I found at Doom9 for auto shutdown and change audio:

avi.NET Launcher http://www.geocities.com/jacquers01/downloads/aviNETLauncher.zip

avi.NET Audio Mod Package http://www.geocities.com/jacquers01/downloads/aviNETAudioMod.zip


Review by dav88 on May 16, 2006 Version: 2.0.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




For nearly foolproof conversion from DVD, use PGC.NET to rip multiple DVD's, then use AVI.NET to encode several ripped VOBs to .AVI's together. Process is simple and painfree.

However, it lacks alternative options, such as frame size reduction (minimum size available is 640 by whatever). It is also not possible to pick other sound options such as lower bitrate or sampling rates.

While extremely easy to use, it is really only compatible with VOBs ripped by its companion product, PGC.NET, and other MPEG/MPEG2 inputs. Processing speed is excellent. A test run finished in 2.5 hours, compared to 4+ hours with AutoGK. Output size is surprisingly small, and I really can't see any different in quality and have to resort to frame by frame analysis to see differences.


Review by kschang on May 16, 2006 Version: 2.0.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




Very easy to use. Never had a video/audio sync issue. Highly recommended.

Review by dav88 on Feb 16, 2006 Version: 2.0.5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I kept getting a "Not enough memory" error message, among others which is sad because I'm running 2 gigs of memory. Couldn't get this thing to work.

Review by headhunter2003 on Feb 13, 2006 Version: 2.0.5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Very good conversion tool, and easy to use. Has improved rapidly in recent releases. Recommended!

Review by raven9 on Feb 12, 2006 Version: 2.0.5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




There is definitely cleaner code in this version. Conversion time has gone down by an hour versus version 1.0. Maybe that is due to dot.net framework version 2, but in any case it is worth upgrading from previous versions to this one.

Review by festmaster on Dec 28, 2005 Version: 1.9.5 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Just want to make a comment on previous post. The default is NOT, I repeat, NOT set to PAL.

If it's a PAL movie, it will make a PAL AVI.
If it's an NTSC movie, it will make a NTSC AVI.

Obvious really....


Review by CloneAD on Dec 28, 2005 Version: 1.9.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This seems to be a very well rounded piece of software.
Just as easy as AutoGK but actually works with DivX 6.1.x
The biggest plus for this is that this was made for those wanting to convert to playable media files on MPEG-4 stand alone players.
It sets it own XviD settings in the XviD codec which might need to be changed for those wanting NTSC FPS as some players, like the Philips DVP642 do not like PAL frame settings.Same goes for the profile as default is set to PAL THEATER.Not a big deal as most the DivX players are NTSC/PAL but some may have issues.

One draw back is the .net framework.It seems everytime I install that software, my mouse curser doesnt work well.I have to tap hard on the buttons to get it to select things.I dont know why it happens, but it just does.

From the test file I made it works and does what it says.Again, the main thing that makes it nice is the fact that it is what they call S.A.P.(StandAlone Player) Friendly.


Review by notsoeasy on Dec 28, 2005 Version: 1.9.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This version needs .NET framework v2 from
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?F ... laylang=en

Simple and easy to use, gives video playable on divx certified player both with divx and xvid. The quality at default settings is excellent.


Review by mgh on Dec 19, 2005 Version: 1.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great program. If you want to convert VOB or Mpeg2 to Divx or Xvid add it to your library. It's a snap to use and pretty quick. Support is by email direct to the developer. He responds immediately. What a concept.

Review by rwmol on Dec 19, 2005 Version: 1.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I used many decoders, but this one is one of the best, one of the fastest. Once you know how to work with it it's great.

Review by demoile on Jul 19, 2005 Version: RC4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


62 reviews, Showing 1 to 62 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com