Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for Zoom Player

18 reviews, Showing 1 to 18 reviews


Tried the free version since I only need a player, not all the LAN etc., capabilities. Much of the documentation is left over from Win 7, 8, needs updates for Win 10, including their site. Interface is OK, nothing special, kinda old like the rest. It works but it seems whenever you try to play a vid or change a setting, nag popups to buy the full version appear and can't be clicked away for a few seconds. Really cheesy to offer a free version, then constantly pester for the full version with "we need the money" as a reason. Happens so often, I'd call the free version clickbait. Can't see any capability this player has as just a player that I'd pay for. Uninstalled after a few hours.
(Not sure how to score value for money, it's free, so I gave it 5.)


Review by Zoomer on Feb 24, 2021 Version: 15.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 3/10




Zoom Player is a very good 32 bit Windows player, reliable, quite fast (not as MPC-HC), quite light-weight. Full of customizations, lots of settings, no bugs, great developer. The Smart Play filter system is a good plus for new users. Works perfectly with madVR video renderer and MPC Wasapi audio renderer. To improve yet the player, IMHO, the developer should implement Avisynth, Vapoursynth and some external extensions like for MPDN.NET or MPV. All in all, a good player; the price is good, even if I must say that I prefer MPC-HC 'cause it's lighter, faster and a bit more reliable yet.

Review by Ziggy1978 on Nov 10, 2019 Version: 15.2 RC2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Price is roughly usd.40 (1 year free upgrades). It seems though one still needs another player:
- DVD from external drive : doesn't work, VLC no problem
- BluRay from internal drive: error "Unable to play [00000.m2ts]" bla bla, VLC no problem
- Unable to customize interface, also here, VLC no problem
- Toolbar (Control bar), when visible, is floating. One should hit shift-spacebar to bring up the control bar.
- Things may unexpectedly not be working anymore and you need to spend time on finding find the solutions
(e.g. playing a video, click on slow motion button, nothing changes, video goes on playing at normal speed,
or suddenly there is no sound. I didn't change anything. VLC plays the video -with- sound, so one has to spent time on checking)

All kinds of little things, hence one needs another player to play the stuff Zoom Player can't.


Review by vhwul62 on Jun 27, 2019 Version: 14.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




Rating by Steve34 on Jan 18, 2019 Version: 14.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Can't even play mkv and any movies in my harddisk. useless!

Review by yoi on Dec 14, 2018 Version: 14.4 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by Steve21 on Jul 11, 2018 Version: 14.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Splash Player 2 the best player for HD video!

Review by crap on Jun 5, 2018 Version: Crapy OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by Steve234 on Jul 16, 2017 Version: 13.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




what a media player,in one word just fantastic because it can play any media files quickly and it has the best audio equalizer than any other media players and by doing custom settings you can also see the total full time of all media files just by adding them immediately at the playlist and what a sharp sound it gives by doing minimum low adjustments at the audio equalizer,it has also video equalizer but only thing it requires codecs installed in your PC to play all media files like K-Lite Mega Codec Pack

Review by parag19 on Feb 8, 2011 Version: 7.10.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Honestly may be the most "powerful, flexible and customizable" DVD and media player in existence. Tons of options and customizations. Highest-quality media playback. Beautiful interface. Only the high purchase price holds this fine piece of software back. Highly recommended.

Review by OAKside on Sep 30, 2009 Version: 7.00 RC1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 9/10




This is a great video player. I used to use VLC media player, but I stumbled on this program about a year ago and fell in love with it. Simple to use, lots of features, doesn't seem to use a lot of system resources. The selling point for me was being able to adjust the aspect ratio/video size in full screen mode which you can't do with vlc.

Review by thejoker954 on Dec 13, 2007 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




At first, this looked like the player I was looking for: lots of formats and features (everything that I was looking for and some). But, it's expensive (to unlock the features I want) and it can't smoothly handle skipping around in the video (ff, rewind, skip fwd, etc) without a lot of video problems while it resynchronizes and tries to repaint the stream unless you're playing at 1:1 (why bother). I have a very fast system, including fast video (~6000 on 3dMark06). It's even worse if you have a cut file to make is skip over commercials (videos recorded off the air/cable, then processed through show analyzer).

I should note that if it wasn't for the video problems, I probably would have registered it -- even at (IMO) it's high cost.


Review by davidk21770 on Feb 25, 2007 Version: 5.00 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 5/10




I just wanted a player that had an adjustable stay-on-top skin window size. This did it for me.

Review by seanponsean on Sep 9, 2004 Version: 4.03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




A great product and excellent value.

This is the only DVD player that I have used that will correctly decode the AC3 sound with my old Audigy soundcard. Used in conjunction with AC3 Filter, you can rearrange the sound channel matrix. For example, the old Audigy cards only have Front, Rear and Center channels in analog mode. If you connect your subwoofer to the Center output (with no additional regular speaker), than all the dialog on an AC3 DVD only come on out the SW. Since the Zoom Player gives you complete control as to what audio and video decoders it uses, you can force it to use AC3 Filter (unlike PowerDVD, which always seems to want to use its own Cyberlink filtersno matter how you prioritize AC3 Filter).

And the best news is, that the Pro version is very reasonably priced.

A note of caution, I didn't notice any bugs in the Version 4.0 Release Candidate 2, but if you are worried about that kind of thing, stick with version 3.31.


Review by jabloomf1230 on Jun 2, 2004 Version: 4.0 Pro beta RC2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Been using Zoomplayer for a few years now and I just love it.

Its simple GUI is a refreshing change from all those 'stand-alone' wannabies (pretty pointless on a pc imo).

For TV-Out work it's essential (and lets face it TV is the only way to watch video media, its what they're designed for).

As already mentioned it can be tricky navigating (to start with) but controlling the video height, width, or both from the scroll wheel is addictive.

Its always managed to play any file (any format) that I've thrown at it (as long as you have the required codec/filters installed) without any glitches. It also uses less OS resources than most media players.

The only gripe (if it can be called that) is the lack of audio controls for bass or treble.

If I had the choice of only one player for video media this would be the one, nuff said.


Review by monzie on Nov 16, 2003 Version: 3.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This player is clearly the most versatile, powerful, and feature packed of ANY multimedia player in the world. While some may not like it, they are usually the ones who don't understand how to use it (hence the 8 rating in 'ease of use').

It has SO many options that it will overwhelm the casual user if you try to browse through the option tree. If all you do is watch a few divx videos every now and then, you should use a simple player like BSPLAYER as mentioned below. If, however, you want to have total control & customization ability of every single aspect of video playing, this is the only player you should use.

There are two versions, a free version for regular common multimedia (divx,vcd,ogm etc) and a pay version that adds its dvd front-end to the basic player. You must have an mpeg2 codec installed to use the dvd front end, and it alone has more options than the next 10 players combined.

The word 'Zoom' in Zoomplayer reflects the players' heritage - the ability to 'zoom' a video in and out in order to make it display properly on TV screens using a TV out connection. The player was made for this purpose, although it plays movies on the computer better than any other player as well. The free version is a must have, the pay version is well worth the money because the author works very hard to release frequent updates (huge change logs) and actively answers questions on his forum.


Review by magicmycote on Oct 24, 2003 Version: 3.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Maybe not the best, that depends. But it plays everything and that's important.

Review by twinsbc on Oct 9, 2003 Version: 3.20 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 9/10




its not the best divx player bsplayer is the best

Review by magroune on Sep 27, 2003 Version: latest 9/17/03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10


18 reviews, Showing 1 to 18 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com