Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
VidCoder is a very easy to use DVD, Blu-ray and any video file to MP4/MKV video converter. It uses HandBrake as its encoding engine. Easily batch convert your video/DVDs/ISO/VIDEO_TS and Blu-ray to MP4 or MKV or WEBM. Burn-in/Hardcode srt subtitles. Multi-threaded, H.264/AVC encoding with x264 and H.265/HEVC with x265, the world's best video encoder. Completely integrated encoding: everything is in one process and no huge intermediate temporary files. Requires .NET 4 Client.

Free software
OS: Windows
File size: 16.1MB
Beta version
Portable version
Old versions
Version history
8.7/10
68 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

VidCoder screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


VidCoder screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot


VidCoder screenshot 3
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

4.35 / 5.10 Beta (May 20, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download VidCoder 4.35 64-bit  15.9MB  Win64




Download Beta, Portable and other versions

Download VidCoder 4.35 Portable 64-bit  17.8MB  Win64  Portable

Download VidCoder 5.10 Beta 64-bit  16.2MB  Win64

Download VidCoder 5.10 Beta Portable 64-bit  18.2MB  Win64  Portable




Download old versions


Download VidCoder old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads

Vidcoder can NOT rip/decrypt most commercial DVDs and Blu-rays! Use a DVD ripper / Blu-ray ripper or try the libdvdcss from VLC Media Player, see Handbrake/Vidcoder with libdvdcss DVD ripping.

Download VidCoder 3.15 or older if you want a 32-bit version.

Download VidCoder 1.4.25 or older if want it to work in Windows XP.



Version history / Release notes / Changelog


5.10 Beta

Added ability to drag/drop rearrange pickers.
Changed new picker to always open beside the picker it was based off of.
Added option to cancel the encode complete action (sleep/shutdown) when there are errors in the completed items list.
Fixed crash that could happen while parsing corrupt window placement data.
Fixed issue that could freeze VidCoder while switching pickers with associated presets.
Fixed issue with audio/subtitle summary being incorrect after opening a completed item.

View full changelog




All features


Multi-threaded
MP4, MKV, WEBM containers
Completely integrated encoding pipeline: everything is in one process and no huge intermediate temporary files
H.264, H.265, MPEG-4, MPEG-2, VP8, Theora video
Hardware-accelerated encoding with AMD VCE, Nvidia NVENC and Intel QuickSync
AAC, MP3, Vorbis, AC3, FLAC audio encoding and AAC/AC3/MP3/DTS/DTS-HD passthrough
Target bitrate, size or quality for video
2-pass encoding
Decomb, detelecine, deinterlace, rotate, reflect filters
Powerful batch encoding
Instant source previews
Creates small encoded preview clips
Pause, resume encoding




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to VidCoder


FFCoder



HandBrake



MediaCoder



Pazera Free MP4 Video Converter



TEncoder



TX264



WinFF



XMedia Recode



XviD4PSP







Guides and How to's


How to convert MKV to MP4 with hardcoded subtitles

- Read

How to easily burn in/hardcode srt subtitles to mp4/mkv with VidCoder

- Read

How to easily convert a Blu-ray to MP4/M4V/MKV using free tools

- Read

VidCoder Tutorial

- Read

VidCoder video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here




Acronyms / Also Known As

VidCoder



Download VidCoder Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




68 reviews, Showing 1 to 68 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by angang on Apr 25, 2019 Version: 5.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If you need the latest libdvdcss-2.dll library (compiled for Windows) to convert video directly from DVD, you'll find it here:
https://github.com/allienx/libdvdcss-dll/releases
The last version for Windows at the original site (where all internet manuals point to):
http://download.videolan.org/pub/libdvdcss/
is 1.2.12.


Review by AllisOne on Apr 25, 2019 Version: 5.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by angang on Mar 3, 2019 Version: 5.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Please implement the function to export h264 videos with .264 extension to bluray streams encoding and 2/3 pulldown flag with no fps conversion. 264 core does not recognize the following command line: (pulldown 32). Thanks in advance.

Review by Daniel Oliver on Jan 30, 2019 Version: 4.31 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by angang on Jan 10, 2019 Version: 4.27 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Installed it and tried two 1080TS files and after about 7 to 10 min in, the finished encode goes way out of sync. I did an hdtv encode and a 720p encode of each, and all 4 had the same result. The ts files played fine. I was using V2.3 with no problems b4. My build i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz 16GB ram no other programs running 240GB SSD

Review by bob on Dec 1, 2018 Version: VidCoder 3.16 / 4.22 Beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by angangba on Oct 2, 2018 Version: 4.16 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best of all the Blu-Ray converters I reckon. Except I can't upgrade because it insists on .NET 4.7.2 which won't install properly!? I have .NET 4.6.2 already installed but VidCoder wants the new .NET version which doesn't install therefore I can't use the new version of VidCoder goddam...

Review by Gooch on Aug 15, 2018 Version: 4.9 Beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by angang on Aug 14, 2018 Version: 4.9 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Value for money, jeesh its free. This is good software, but Handbrake is much superior. There are bugs and the audio output can sometimes go wrong or out of synch, but later versions have improved things but the GUI is not that great.

Review by KeL20 on Aug 14, 2018 Version: 3.15 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Lo que he probado del programa hasta ahora:
El mejor conversor con mucha diferencia sobre los demas
Sobran las palabras
Mis felicitaciones


Review by Alfredo on Jul 15, 2018 Version: VidCoder 3.15 / 4.4 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by angang on May 4, 2018 Version: 3.14 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If we use software, we need to write down the critical parts. A clear, legible and user-friendly interface is essential in a software. Powerful software in terms of VidCoder features. If everything is good, there will not be a door to criticize. That is the end of the development of the software.

Review by Jameson on Apr 27, 2018 Version: 3.13 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Easy to use, seems to work well, still being developed - all good.

(p.s. How can free software be anything other than 10/10 value for money? I genuinely don't understand some of the p!llocks who come on to this site.)


Review by TimA-C on Apr 16, 2018 Version: 3.12beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It's time to change gui.

Review by Lieborn on Apr 16, 2018 Version: 3.12 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by VidiMini on Mar 17, 2018 Version: 3.10 Beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




it doesn't support treuhd or lpcm, in addition to the new audio codecs of bluray uhd 4k. support only mkv and mp4, without the various other video formats

Review by Marcello on Mar 7, 2018 Version: 3.9 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




Like others, I'd also like an option for copy video as sometimes need to copy the video but only convert the audio.

Great software though.


Review by vh688 on Mar 6, 2018 Version: 2.63 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by no need on Mar 6, 2018 Version: 2.63 tricky to see what to do but eventually good OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It's a mystery that there is no Copy option for Video.
Would be great if it is added in newer versions.


Review by ConverterCrazy on Jan 12, 2018 Version: 2.62 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Only if it had the option to copy the video from the source instead of encoding it
also an easy way to add options like n-fast-pskip was good


Review by JEskandari on Dec 29, 2017 Version: 3.5 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Liking the lastest beta version 3.3 Now includes 10bit encoding for x265, with QSV encoding and a very handy sharpen filter. Now my number one goto encoder for all x265/x264 encodes.

Review by glenn1962 on Nov 29, 2017 Version: 3.3 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by pulmonia on Nov 11, 2017 Version: 2.59 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by pumaparand on Oct 31, 2017 Version: 2.59 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by angang on Sep 30, 2017 Version: 2.58 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Jhon on Aug 14, 2017 Version: 2.57 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Okay software yeah it works and that, but hugely dependant on net framework knocks it down in points. Handbrake similar parent tool is much better than this and gave me better visual quality encoding wise. Vidcoder I find screwed up the audio headers a few times and it is hard to extract from mp4 container so I can test for clipping using aac gain. I can do this in Handbrake no probs. Overrated and NOT 10/10 hype!!!

Review by Tim on Aug 9, 2017 Version: 2.5.7 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




best software ever, its easy,user friendly, not too much option to confuse you
just one thing! Can you Add External Subtitle in SSA/ASS format?
it just support SRT (Daaah!) SSA/ASS subtitle would be perfect specialy for Burn and change everything you want


Review by isvahid on Jul 31, 2017 Version: 2.57 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by isvahid on Jul 31, 2017 Version: 2.57 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The .NET requirement is 4.6, not 4, in case some of you haven't upgraded or don't want to install another .NET.

Review by Mike on Jul 28, 2017 Version: 2.57 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by bahattab on Jul 14, 2017 Version: 2.56 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by pumaparand on Apr 14, 2017 Version: 2.50 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No. Version 2.44 does NOT contain any malware.

Virustotal.com Invincea and Qihoo-360 reports malware for lots of safe downloads. And if virustotal scanners reports different malware it's almost certain a so called false positive.



Review by Baldrick on Jan 9, 2017 Version: 2.44 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




On 10th Jan 2017, Vidcoder 2.44 scans positive for malware with Norton Internet Security, and on VirusTotal it is positive with Invincea (backdoor.msil.bladabindi.b) and Qihoo-360 (HEUR/QVM41.1.0000.Malware.Gen).

Review by barmah on Jan 9, 2017 Version: 2.44 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




VidCoder is the best tool I know. Many functions, always further development, very good video quality and very fast. Thanks to the developers

Review by Micky on Jan 8, 2017 Version: 2.44 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've tried using other tools to "burn in" subtitles. Handbrake didn't work. So before today, I had to convert files to AVI format and use AVI ReComp to do the job ... a very time-consuming operation with some loss in video quality. But today, I tried VidCoder. It's quick and seemingly lossless. However, the file I ended up with was twice the size of the origin file (no problem). And I noticed that at the very beginning of the new file, the audio seemed to have a "wind-tunnel" sound that went away after a few seconds. However, to fix that, all I had to do was import the audio from the origin file - and it stayed in sync and sounded perfect.

VidCoder does the job it was intended to do.


Review by AlecWest on May 12, 2016 Version: 1.5.34 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Overall it's a good easy-to-use tool but there's a feature missing: you can't adjust subtitle font and size.

Review by drkblog on Feb 14, 2016 Version: 1.5.33 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 7/10




Before I knew about Handbrake, I used Vidcoder before I knew it was from Handbrake. I wasn't savvy in video encoding but I learn every way from other people's settings through the info from mediainfo on movies (especially YIFY's). Currently was recording gameplays for keepsake, to remember I used to play particular games before.

When I heard a lot of people used Handbrake encode videos (in mediainfo it was written in it) and I tried using it to convert those recorded gameplays (averaged FPS) to constant 60 FPS with average size maintaining the quality before I bring those into Adobe Premiere for final editing. (reason is that Adobe Premiere won't import averaged FPS properly as both audio and video will definitely out of sync)

However I recently found out Handbrake kept encode the videos with audio out of sync. I had no idea why it can't sync the audio, tried on AVS Video Converter, AVIDemux, both AV synced. Did fiddle with all the settings, nothing seems to remedy that out of sync issue. I thought I had bad recordings at first but in the end, Handbrake was the culprit after all.

So I turned to Vidcoder, improved Handbrake, prayed hard not to disappoint me with just some basic settings on video at constant 60FPS, can output some videos without audio out of sync... and yes, it helps! Just set H.264, 60 FPS constant, 18 constant quality, preset very fast, no tune, profile and level automatic, added keyint 1, that's it. just what i need to re-encode the videos from x264 video and PCM in .avi container (recorded from Bandicam) and ready for Adobe Premiere. Fantastic!

Nevertheless, I do like the encoding speed of Handbrake, thanks to Vidcoder, now i can even see clearly how long and how fast the encoding duration and speed on each videos and even on batch.

The most powerful MP4/MKV encoder to recommend for all users!


Review by Munkiiedude on Nov 3, 2015 Version: 1.5.31.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




SO GLAD I found this tool - it is exactly what I needed!

I have for years been using avi.NET for converting DVDs to DivX files, so I can watch my movies and TV shows from my hard drive, instead of having to get up and change discs all the time. A couple of factors prompted me to look for something different. I don't actually NEED the files to be DivX (or Xvid) - my WDTV media player will play a number of formats. And the new video player I just installed in my truck has a resolution limitation of 640x360, which is smaller than anything I've encoded, so anything I want to watch in my truck will have to be redone. Re-encoding a TV series with 168 episodes would have taken nearly 5 days (roughly 112 hours) with avi.NET, just for the encoding itself, not counting maybe 2 minutes per episode of prep time to set up the job queues. So I went looking for something that would do the job faster. I'll be able to do the same task with this program in only about 16 hours (the first season - 32 episodes - took 3 hours 15 minutes)! And that includes the almost zero prep time, since I can add an entire folder of files to the queue in a matter of seconds.

I have experimented with encoding episodes in a few different ways.
360p H.264 (1280kbps) with 6dB gain MP3 (chose this because it's the maximum frame size allowed by my truck)
240p H.264 (640kbps) with 6dB gain MP3 (chose this to be able to fit the entire season on a single 32GB flash drive)
480p H.264 (2304kbps) with AC3 passthrough (chose this for playback on my television - AC3 is 5.1 channels)

I chose each of the different bit rates to give me an average output quality of .31 bits/pixel*frame - not quite as high as the original MPEG-2 source, but not low enough to notice. I initially tried encoding using a small amount of Dynamic Range Compression, but without the 6dB gain, the output file was considerably quieter than the source, so I scrapped that idea. With each of the three different output settings, there was very little difference in the encoding speed - in fact, even though the bit rate is considerably higher, the 480p files encoded just a bit faster because of the audio passthrough, instead of having to convert to MP3.

FWIW, adding DRC to the audio increased the encode time considerably - for a single 26:33 source file, it took 8:47 to encode at 360p with DRC, as opposed to 6:20 to encode at 480p with AC3 passthrough - it took about 42 minutes to encode the same file using avi.NET. For a 2:22:55 movie (The Avengers), I was able to encode it in 42 minutes, as opposed to the roughly 3 hours it would take with avi.NET!


Review by awgie on Jun 15, 2015 Version: 1.5.31.0 x64 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have found this much easier to control than XMedia Recode which is also a good tool, but for people who know more than I do. I works great on my older system. I'm batch converting a lot of old files and everything works great so far. It has an "advanced" tab for those of you who know what you're doing, but for the rest of us it stays out of the way.

Review by mistaknly on Jun 14, 2015 Version: 2.5.0.0 x86 Beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




With the sample rate coversion problem fixed ,the program is now perfect .I give the program a ten all round .

Review by striker striker4 on Jun 13, 2015 Version: 2.5 beta x64 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a cool software ,but the latest beta versions of vidcoder 2.1 to 2.4 .The have sample rate problems ,when dealing with audio .For example the source file has the sample rate of 41hz and when you want to encode the file to 48hz ,it won't convert to 48hz ,it will still maintain 41hz sample rate .That's the only problem I have with this software .To the program writer ,keep up the good work.

Review by striker striker4 on Jun 2, 2015 Version: 2.4 beta x64 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It can't open AVCHD files.

Review by Stears555 on Jun 1, 2015 Version: latest OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 3/10




I use VidCoder for one purpose only - to place hardcoded subtitles on a given file. On that score, it meets all my expectations. And using maximum quality settings, I see no loss between the original file and its MP4 result. This tool allows me to remove a processing step to retain the best quality file possible. And, it is now my tool of choice in all subtitling operations.

Review by AlecWest on Apr 28, 2015 Version: 1.5.31.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Indeed, almost the perfect sollution.. almost ...

1 thing i like to see improve is the way vidcoder manages subtitles position from dvd/bluray structures!!

I mean, in handbrake you can position the language tracks in any chronological order and move a favorite language track to the top/first position and save it as default.

In that way, by opening the next dvd/bd structure the subtitles are in the exact order/position i have chosen by saved default.


If that woud be fixed/implemented in next release, vidcoder gets an 10+ from me.


Review by metagondria on Dec 20, 2014 Version: 1.5.30 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Finally I found what I wanted, almost perfect ripping DVD's with external srt subtitles.
Congratulations to the developers!


Review by erector on Aug 25, 2014 Version: 1.5.24 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




After i launch this programs my HD continue to emit a noise like "TIC TIC TIC...".

IT's infinite noise....... like my HD it's in continue access to some information and NEVER Stopped down until i close this programs!!

IT's very annoying and i thinks it's bug or it's very HIGH CPU/HD usage............ it's been fixed in latest beta ?


Review by DjDiabolik on Apr 4, 2014 Version: 1.4.25 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




I used Staxrip the last two years for encoding MKV. But I think, now Vidcoder is ready and great in functionality. It's nearly easy to use as the good old DVDshrink.

Review by Babydoll32 on Aug 28, 2013 Version: 1.5.5 Beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent Tool. I have been looking for a tool to convert one .iso to .mp4.
I have totally installed 5 tools, but I succeeded only with VidCoder, which was my 5th download.


Review by iamabdu on Aug 23, 2013 Version: 1.4.24.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is the closest, best program I have found for BD video, similar to DVD Shrink! I either use BD from BluRay drive or use "Backup" function of Make MKV to create a folder to use as source for encoding. I love that I can control Subtitle properties, and that I can do "batch" encoding. Tweaking H.264 settings is also helpful.

I also love the preview function to see if my settings are correct. Something that
DVD Shrink lacked.

I have been encoding video into MP4 container, as that presents no problems for my video player vs. MKV, which my video player always has issues with(Sync or video probs, etc.) I still use DVD Shrink, as my video player upsamples ISO videos to 1080P, so I see little difference when encoding BD video, since I have to reduce datarate somewhat, so videoplayer can keep up. . . I am using an older Diamond MP-1000 with an external hard drive to play videos. I can play BD folders from Mane MKV backup, but I like being able to save some space upsampling MP4 video.

There is a little bit of a learning curve, but not much, if you are familiar with dealing with encoding videos. Reading one of the guides may be helpful for beginners. . .


Review by badboytim999 on Aug 1, 2013 Version: 1.4.23.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10





@ roma_turok very good points but something missing in HB & VidCoder.
When I encode Blu-Rays (Mostly)always I have to redo the audio because they don't have core stripping
There are alot of free tools to do that. I'm using Clown BD. Will be nice if VidCoder developer implement eac3to and put to Audio options core stripping.


Review by angel181155 on Jun 11, 2013 Version: 1.4.21 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Based on Handbrake
Little better from Handbrake:
1) Have list recent locations
2) Queue list(Batch list) not floating window, its part of main interface
3) In preview window can see crop location on frame of the video
3) Slider to select IN and OUT.
5) Have option automatically rename output file, if file with same name exist.


Review by roma_turok on Jun 11, 2013 Version: 1.4.21 64-bit OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




if added copy video stream and audio stream to GUI it has been perfect.

Review by bmhamidreza on May 14, 2013 Version: 1.3.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




That is a nice tool for encoding video with high speed and good quality.

Review by bmhamidreza on Apr 13, 2013 Version: 1.3.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




@ xzarkad

Does your problem also exist in HandBrake?

If it doesn't, then it will be a VidCoder problem. So let RandomEngy know either via the Doom9 forum or here:
http://vidcoder.codeplex.com/discussions




Review by mike20021969 on Oct 12, 2012 Version: 1.4.4 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Work absolutely fine, but unfortunately the encoding speed is quite a bit slow and the support of subtitles is absolute a weakness. I loaded 4 BD roms with subtitles, for for all of them no subs were found.(I repeated this with two other conversion tools and did not encounter this problem)

Review by xzarkad on Oct 12, 2012 Version: 1.3.4.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




I love handbrake and as Vidcoder makes use of the engine but added a few interesting features (encode size set, GUI easier/friendlier to use) this is prefect for me.
Love it, fast and THE best quality. Unbeaten!


Review by coen99 on Jul 31, 2012 Version: 1.3.3.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I know I know the tool doesn't have those fancy settings you found in others but for DVDs on 8-bit encode vidcoder just like handbreake have no rival just as simple as that!

Review by rapunzel on Mar 6, 2012 Version: 1.3.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I use Handbrake and StaxRip for most of my H.264 encoding, but VidCoder is the #1 tool for encoding DVD rips to MKV. No problems with "blurring" here. Never tried a Blu-Ray but this is great for adding DVDs to a Media Center while saving space.

Review by V1de0Luvr on Sep 6, 2011 Version: 1.0.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




My problem with this tools is all my converted video have some degree of blur
that I cant fix .also I liked to have access to some of X264 advanced option
that it seems are not implemented in the GUI other wise it's a good and easy
tool to begin with


Review by JEskandari on Sep 6, 2011 Version: 1.01 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




I must reverse my earlier post. I loaded the Vidcoder 1.0.0 x86 as that is where the link from here took me. I had problems after the first encoding was complete and I was asked to load the 1.0.1 version. I kept getting an error message. I went back to Vidcoder website and under downloads found the 1.0.1 x64 and downloaded that. It has worked very well and I can now watch movies on the road with my Dorid X or my Toshiba Thrive.

Review by grandjd on Sep 5, 2011 Version: 1.0.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Well it worked once. I converted a BD so I could load it on a Toshiba tablet and Droid X phone. After that I tried to convert another BD and all I get is an error screen that asks me to copy and report the problem, but nothing happens. I uninstalled and re installed the 1.0.0 version that worked and now I still get the same error screen. Wish it would work again.

Review by grandjd on Sep 4, 2011 Version: 1.0.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 2/10




I've to encode from pal and upscale my dvd to 720p, so I need to change colormatrix, transfer and colorprim.
Your tips doesn't work, video format=pal work ok, not other option.


Review by darkio on Jul 30, 2011 Version: 0.9.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




darkio, I really like that VidCoder has a simple interface which makes it easy for everyone to use. Yet it's very powerful, and it'll still support what you're asking it to do. Simply go to settings, then Advanced, and then type in the "options string" box any additional encoding options that you wish to add.

Keep in mind PAL and NTSC have different bt601 matrices according to table E-3 (Colour Primaries) in the H.264 spec. So bt470bg = bt601 625 = bt1358 625 = bt1700 625 (PAL/SECAM), and smpte170m = bt601 525 = bt1358 525 = bt1700 NTSC.

So you'd want to append your options to include the following:
videoformat=ntsc:colormatrix=smpte170m

A list of additional options can be found here: http://mewiki.project357.com/wiki/X264_Settings. Since VidCoder uses the handbrake engine, commands have to be typed in the way handbrake wants them formatted, as per this guide: https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/x264Options


Review by Soltaris on Jul 25, 2011 Version: 0.9.3.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




last version has bug to encoding ac3 multichannel into various format like vorbis, ac3 or aac. It downsampling multichannel into dolby prologic II.

Please, add option to change colour primaries, transfer characteristics, matrix coefficients and format system, my encoding (pal) use always bt-601 and ntsc format. !


Review by darkio on Jul 25, 2011 Version: 0.9.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




this just uses handbrake to convert video but this app has a simple outlay

Review by jamespoo on Jun 26, 2011 Version: 2 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




EXCELLENT program.

Can do BATCH CONVERSION from ISO/DVD to MP4 or MKV. See this post:

http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/331480-Batch-Convert-ISO-DVD-to-MP4

64 bit version of Vidcoder:

http://www.start64.com/index.php?option=com_conte ... Itemid=146


Review by joepic on Feb 4, 2011 Version: 0.8.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Awesome Tool! Will like to thank the creators keep up the good work

Review by rapunzel on Dec 21, 2010 Version: 0.7.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


68 reviews, Showing 1 to 68 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com