Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.




Try NordVPN to access Netflix or other streaming services from any country and also surf safely!

Software Home »



All reviews for VSO Downloader

17 reviews, Showing 1 to 17 reviews


Version listed was approximate, circa a few years ago, no longer recall the exact details. The program installed but never loaded or ran in a satisfactory manner on my systems. This, and the general reports on Fab company behavior did not induce me to revisit subsequent versions of this software. Not even for free. I wouldn't find it at all needed, in any case. TubeDigger remains king of the hill in this category, with very favorable pricing and license terms the likes of which you'll be hard-pressed to find for most other software. Allavsoft Video Downloader is starting to look like the category runner-up, followed by Fast Video Downloader from FastPCTools. They will all have different lists of supported websites, so I'm shuttling between these. (The latter two programs deserve to be included and reviewed here on VH !) I'm not an IDM user; Ant Downloader showed some merit, but had some issues I objected to. The other downloader tools that I've sampled -- particularly those branded for use on video -- have all been quite limited, empty promise if not outright junk. So, there you have it: Pretty much all you need to know for this task.

Review by Seeker47 on Apr 10, 2021 Version: 4.5.0.14 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




VSO Downloader is a handy tool for a surprisingly large number of websites.
This ranges from YouTube to Facebook and Yahoo.

The main issue comes down to how unbelievably unreliable it is.
Every time it starts it tries to find your network adapter(s).
In my case I have three total and every time it gets it wrong.
Why, exactly, you can't choose 'Wireless card, always wireless card, never change this for any reason' is beyond me.

When it's running in the background, scanning, it will interfere with all kinds of websites that aren't expressly designed to work with it. Pretty much anything that runs on Apache Tomcat will throw errors saying you can't access it (which is a LOT of websites).
That's not a big deal until you go to stop detection and it crashes or freezes... more on that below.

Further, it mucks with your proxy server settings as that's its core functionality.
Every time it crashes (which is 30-40% of the time) it leaves it as your proxy configuration on your computer, leaving all network connectivity broken.
(To fix this in Windows 10 go to start -> type in 'proxy', 'choose proxy settings' and turn 'use a proxy server' off when it happens.)

It's worth mentioning that when when it's functioning 100% of your Internet traffic flows through the software.
I would advise only installing this on a machine or VM dedicated to -never- using online banking, email, etc. etc.

It frequently freezes, it fails to respond to task manager to exit, and you will fully have to restart your PC to get it to start again.
I will go on the record as saying this is probably both the most-destructive and least-reliable software I've ever used.

Finally, this site states that it costs $30. It's actually $30 per year or $80 for lifetime.
You can use expired-license software but you will have to keep a copy of the installer as you can't run newer versions than the latest version released 1 year after purchase. Older versions will not be provided (as they want you to buy a new license and upgrade).

Anyway, acceptable tool for specific purposes for people with a LOT of free time to spend troubleshooting when other tools fail.


Review by Jeff on Aug 12, 2020 Version: 5.0.1.56 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 4/10




Rating by mauroverbania on Sep 25, 2019 Version: VSO Downloader 5.0.1.61 Multilingual OS: 10 Windows 10 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 10/10




Didn't fully install on a Windows 7 system. Way too many network drivers wanting to install and even allowing it rendered only a partial install where the application crashed and gave error prompt messages when trying to run.

Review by JSasquatch on Aug 7, 2018 Version: 5.0.1.53 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Update. This software works really well with any browser.

Review by robertsaint29 on Dec 7, 2015 Version: 4.5.0.16 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Updated to latest version of VSO downloader-and now none of my web browsers work
"Proxy server not responding" "Cannot connect to proxy server." What went wrong?
This had been a very good video downloader. Maybe next update will be fixed.


Review by robertsaint29 on Jul 6, 2015 Version: 4.3.0.22 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




I downloaded the latest trial version and then started a youtube download (mp4). The progress bar indicated the video was being downloaded, but when I opened the output folder, it was empty. Hard to evaluate something that didn't work.

Review by erzug on Aug 10, 2013 Version: 3.1.0.43 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 5/10




Congratulations to the author of this new version. I am using the free version so my opinion is based on that alone. In the prior version it was necessary to reload each video many times until it would grab the file. It now recognises the download immediately. Also, has great filtering of unwanted commercials. Great work. For those of you using the prior versions, this is a new program so you can uninstall the old version 2.

Review by rwmol on Jan 26, 2013 Version: 3.0.0.16 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




From previous post "limits on downloading make the software useless. Need to upgrade. Free title is just a con to draw you in." DUH! The web site clearly states that there are limitations. I have had no problems downloading most flv, divx, and mp4 files. I think most would agree that a developer shouldn't "give away the shop". $29.99 isn't too much to ask for unlimited downloads.

Review by rwmol on Sep 27, 2012 Version: 2.9.10.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




limits on downloading make the software useless. Need to upgrade. Free title is just a con to draw you in.

Review by johnpick on Sep 27, 2012 Version: 2.9.11.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The version released 30th July is actually 2.9.9.16 :)

Review by mike20021969 on Jul 30, 2012 Version: 2.9.916 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




yes it supports RTMP and many other protocols.
very nice software, my favorite download manager!


Review by malenta on Mar 10, 2012 Version: 2.6.8.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No sense in installing this latest version. It's like a trial but only downloads a portion of a stream. 16 seconds. The download asks you to upgrade to get full functionality. I'm sure this is an oversight. That's why the high ratings.

Review by rwmol on Feb 18, 2012 Version: 2.6.8.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Issues with previous vesions have been corrected. Downloads videos from Grooveshack as stated from earlier post. Not sure what format these videos were but, they download.

Won't download some embedded videos like most programs fo this kind.


Review by rwmol on Jan 26, 2012 Version: 2.5.0.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




UPDATE. Received the following email from developer:

ok I reproduce your problem with the new engine, it comes from the cache of the browser and will be fixed and next version that will also support the RTMP and web site like Grooveshark.

He heard you Moontrash.


Review by rwmol on Jan 5, 2012 Version: 2.0.2.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This is an extremely fast downloader. It downloads "most" videos I tried. However, It needs some furthur development. On some .flv videos it only downloads 2,375,667 bytes, leaving the file unplayable. At present, I'm working with the developer to correct this problem. I'll report back with any furthur development.

Review by rwmol on Jan 3, 2012 Version: Current OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




wouldn't it be great if this grabbed RTMP Streams?

Review by moontrash on Dec 29, 2011 Version: 2.0.2.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10


17 reviews, Showing 1 to 17 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com