Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for SubtitleCreator

16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews


Just a quick update on my previous comment. Apparently 2.2.2 is OLDER than v2.2. v2.2 is the final version and v2.2.2 is the second beta and a few months older.

Still... get v2.2 not 2.3.


Review by doctorm on Jun 8, 2014 Version: 2.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




this is much better than txt2vobsub

Review by bachphi on May 10, 2014 Version: 2.3 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is just not 'ready' software. I know it's no longer being made, but this version is hopelessly obtuse = hard to figure out. The wording is not clear and the commands and functions seem to be placed randomly. It is impossible to use this to set the color or font of subtitles with any certainty. The functions seem to be there, but don't really work - or at best sometimes work. There are profiles, but seem not to be what actually is eventually on the DVD.

The only thing this has going for it is the DVD wizard, which works pretty well. Though you must download 3 other apps and map them first.

It also works fairly well for timing subtitles, though again, it's not intuitive or reliable (you must try several time to get it to work properly).


Review by loki-dog on Nov 9, 2013 Version: 2.3rc1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Good program. A shame that development stopped but still worth using.
Some important notes:
Cannot handle UTF-8 srt files. You must save as ANSI.
v2.3 RC1 posted here is buggy, v2.2.2 was the last stable version.

I still use this all the time. One of the best quality srt to sup converting programs.


Review by doctorm on Feb 27, 2013 Version: v2.3 RC1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I haven't used many features but the synch tools solved a big headache running subtitles made for PAL DVDs on AVI files from NTSC video. I would have never thought subtitles had any concern with frame-rate as they are time-stamped, but by if I wasn't constantly adjusting the subtitle delay, they would end up displaying minutes in front of the audio by the end of the video... this tool fixed it in a few clicks!

Review by IcePack on Jun 15, 2011 Version: 2.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It didn't work at all.
There are other programs that work and do what they are supposed to do.
This one is a trash.


Review by Earthman on Mar 20, 2011 Version: 2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This program already has subtitle positioning thing going, but totally ignores SSA/ASS? It's a de facto standard these days. Come on.

Review by windows 7 user on Jul 26, 2010 Version: 2.2 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 3/10




Potentially this would be good, was more intuitive. Didn't require the dot net bloatware (which has nothing to do with security, nor is part of xp) and had an interface which fit on the screen, and could display subtitles over the video when you have mpeg2 codecs installed.

Review by branch on Aug 14, 2009 Version: 3.3.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I don't know if anyone else needed a solution to this problem ... .sub file with no .idx file.... you need it for ConverXtodvd.

This did it easily... thanks.


Review by ahuizi on Feb 10, 2009 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is the very worst piece of trashware that I've ever tried to install ! First it demands net framework which is a huge set of additions to registry etc., Then it complains that I don't have k-lite codec pack. When I install that it demands that I remove DivX and other codecs, which I do though it make me very uncomfortable since DivX is used by many movies.

And after all that crap it STILL refuses to load the DVD !!

If you are in high need of a REAL pain in the @$$ try to install this !


Review by Usagi on Jun 26, 2007 Version: 2.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




In reply to vanderbog, I wanted to let you know that:
*SubtitleCreator already allows the user to open an IFO file to read the color palette of the original DVD.
*There are several synchronizing options available: you can use a ripped subtitle to synchronize your new one, you can sync directly with your DVD, you can add a delay, you can change the frame frequency, you can also preview your sub on top of your DVD.
*Next version (2.1) will allow you to open/generate VobSub (sub/idx) files.

Cheers
Manusse


Review by manusse on Nov 12, 2006 Version: 2.0.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excelent tool, really usefull !
The greatest addition to it is the DVD wizard, which allows you to add a subtitle to a dvd in just one step. It would be really great though to have the option to select an ifo file for the collors.
Another very good thing to add would be a video sync option.
But overall it's the best subtitle tool I used.


Review by vanderbog on Oct 10, 2006 Version: latest OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very easy to use and like the way most things can be done by keyboard short cuts. It's idiot proof and fast.
Specially like the sychronisation function, the frame rate convertor is the best one I used so far.


Review by bigar on Jul 3, 2005 Version: 1.8.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I can tell you that I've fixed the bug mentioned above, especially the one where you got bad pixels, and I have made it open source as well. Therefore, the link above now refers to Sourceforge.net. Please also give the advanced synchronization a try - it allows you to synchronize using an original subtitle by linking a few lines! The download package on sourceforge also contains a user guide, and an explanation how to use the tool in combination with DVDShrink, IfoEdit and VobEdit.

While I am writing this, fineteyoda is trying to create a C++ version as well, in which case you wouldn't need the .NET framework anymore (although this now comes as part of Win XP SP2, which you should install anyways for security reasons).


Review by Paddington on Nov 19, 2004 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




SubtitleCreator 1.0 is much better than either Srt2Sup a4.03 or DVDSupTools 1.6. Its main advantages are that it shows you exactly what the subtitles will look like before you create the sup and that you can switch and mix among italic, bold and underlined text.

Its only negatives are that there may be an occasional misplaced pixel giving some text characters a slightly rough appearance and that you must install Microsoft's .NET Framework in order to run the application.

Used along with SubRip 1.17.1, Subtitle Workshop 2.51, SupRemap a4.04 and Subtitle Tuner 1.0, you will have all the tools needed to make ultraprofessional subtitles.


Review by r11532 on Oct 13, 2004 Version: 1.0 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Good alternative to SRT2SUP. Faster, better rendering, more options and functionnality.
But too many fatal bugs yet and some extra pixel on generated subtitles.
I can't wait for a 2.0 version ! This will be the best SUP generator ever.


Review by jaygc on Sep 29, 2004 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10


16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com