Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
SolveigMM AVI Trimmer + MKV is a free video editor for fast and lossless AVI and MKV editing. This freeware AVI editor is small, smart, easy to use and involves no encoding/decoding processes. No video / audio degradation and out of sync problem arises after editing. All AVI and MKV file types of any size and video / audio content are supported.

Freeware
OS: Win
File size: 53MB
Old versions
Version history
7.6/10
24 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

SolveigMM AVI Trimmer + MKV screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


SolveigMM AVI Trimmer + MKV screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

6.1.1811.14 (November 14, 2018)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download SolveigMM AVI Trimmer + MKV 6.1.1811.14  53MB  Win




Download old versions


Download SolveigMM AVI Trimmer + MKV old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


6.1.1811.14, 2018-11-14

Fixes:
Bad audio after trimming DV-AVI on Windows 10

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

solveigm avi trimmer, Solveig Multimedia AVI Trimmer, Solveigmm Trimmer, Solveigm Trimmer




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




24 reviews, Showing 1 to 24 reviews


Ive written a couple of great reviews on this software but the latest versions doesnt seem to be able to process the audio correctly. The video plays fine on VLC or any other video player and also with VCH VideoPad Editor. Could be something with Win 10? Anyone else have a issue with garbled audio?

Review by abbie on Dec 16, 2017 Version: 5.0 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I spent a lot of time searching for software that I could use to edit & save old vhs tapes. This was absolutely the easiest to use for a person who had no clue what she was doing at the time. It converts without recoding to avi files. The free version of this software is the Trimmer. It worked great for my editing and saving purposes.

Review by abbies. on Jan 2, 2017 Version: 5.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Have used this program to edit 3 vhs tapes of old family movies. Now, every time I try to use it, the program freezes. Very frustrating. Looking for another program to edit avi files.

Review by AbbieS. on Dec 20, 2016 Version: 5.01 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




Tried NCH's VideoPad Editor but after the trial runs out, you have to keep loading a new copy. Solveig program works just like the NCH program but so far I haven't had to reload it due to the trial period ending. It's pretty easy and if I can figure it out, any beginner can figure it out. My capture software captures in AVI and this worked well. Solveig is lossless. Also, if you need to re-edit, it doesn't recreate a whole new video so it takes much less time. You can also cut more than one section at a time which also saves time. I have found this website to be of great help in copying vhs tapes to my computer and to DVDs. It is a daunting task for someone who has never attempted this sort of thing. Your head will spin after reading all that is on the internet but this software made the task a little bit easier.

Review by AbbieS. on Dec 17, 2016 Version: 5.0.16 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The best cutter for the file types it accepts. Very quick and no degradation. Just be careful when installing as with any freeware to avoid unwanted crap. Once installed, there are no further nags.

Review by Rogeroo on Jan 7, 2015 Version: 2.1.1407 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Could use step buttons to get exact frame for cutting, but I had already used avidemux to get the exact times. Could also be a little more intuitive using the slider/marks. I would have just used avidemux to edit my mkv in the first place, but would have had to reencode just to keep the correct aspect ratio, so Solveig came in very handy. Overall it's a valuable tool even if I have to use another program to use step.

Review by smik on Dec 23, 2013 Version: 2.1.1307 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This is by far the easiest Mkv/Avi cutter I have ever used and it does accept dts/ac3/mp3 audio incorporated in those types of files without a glich..Will not accept mp4/aac video.You probably have to buy the paid version for those types of files...;)~

Review by RappinRod on Jun 26, 2013 Version: 2.1.1306 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




NOTE: Does not seem to support Dolby TrueHD Audio currently, and has problems with Scene Detection.

Great that it's free, however wanted to trim a blu ray rip mkv file I created with "MakeMKV"

Immediately got the error: "Unable to render selected stream. Check neccessary codecs are installed. Audio (AC3)"
Video was there but no sound.

Audio was Dolby TrueHD, so re-ripped blu ray with Dolby Digital 5.1 and this time it worked, however with both rips also got the error message: "Unable to Start Scene Detection. Contact Support Team"



Review by laidbackross on Jul 25, 2012 Version: 2.0.1204.27 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Without a doubt, the best (and only) way that I have found to successfully edit mkv videos and keep 5.1 dolby and or any other audio content

Review by mvgranch on Apr 27, 2012 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




In would be nice if selecting the cut point was easier but it's fast and makes cuts of mkv files without stutter or audio sink problems. I haven't found any tools that work as well for trimming mkv. It is more reliable than Avidemux for mkv files.

Review by danzeb on Feb 20, 2012 Version: 2.0.1201 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Latest version 2.0.1111.7 -- Help file doesn't open (English).

Review by bruce73 on Dec 10, 2011 Version: 2.0.1111.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Wow! Easy to install. Must install the API for Windows Media Player to get the ease of use score of 10.

Review by jlh60 on Aug 2, 2011 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thought it seemed a bit light at first but it did exactly what I needed (trimmed an MKV) in seconds and I didn't have to go through all the bull that AviDemux required and actually worked in the end. Highly recommended.

Review by Cwluc on Feb 2, 2011 Version: 2.0.1011.29 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I realise the previous posts are old (+2 years), and some are irrelevant (SMM AT is not designed to trim wmv files!).
SolveigMM AVI Trimmer is designed to trim avi and mkv files. It does that job very well. I don't know any other freeware than can trim mkv that easily. Of course there's the excellent mkvewizard, but it's nowhere as easy.
The shareware SolveigMM video splitter is even better and supports many more formats.


Review by ARTO65 on Jan 6, 2011 Version: 2.0.1009.24 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I tried at least 6 wmv files and it did not manage to trim even one. Always the same message "unknown error". AsfTools gave better results - atleast 4 out of 6 were trimmable. Windows Movie Maker was able to trim all of them.

Review by vidalien on Jun 21, 2008 Version: 2.1.806 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




I'd say this tool is useless...
I do the same job either with VirtualDub or AviDemux.


Review by Freewheeling on Jan 21, 2008 Version: 1.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Congratulations to Solveig for making this program available. It is a limted but highly useful tool in a 'market' otherwise dominated by expensive and/or immature/amateur software.

However this program lacks the simplest of functions such as a slider that is a usable size. Instead you need to perform minor scale adjustments through trial and error with the text box settings. Time and again I've tried to drag the 2 pixel wide slider half a pixel (an impossible task) to take the video back a few frames to just where I want it. This is not possible. Therefore this tool is almost unusable if you want fine grained control. Simply moving the selection from one second before a fade-to-black commercial break transition, into the transition, can be tough.

Are these limitations deliberate in order to encourage people to buy their payware product?


Review by squegole on May 27, 2007 Version: 1.3.701.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 6/10




Excellent! At last I can use this prog, previous versions always gave me the dreaded "0x80070057" error message. This new version works perfectly and is so quick to use.

Review by shotsfan on Apr 24, 2007 Version: v1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Doesn't work. Says "Cannot open video file" for every AVI file I selected. No clues as to why.

Review by AlanHK on Jan 18, 2007 Version: 1.3 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




i have tried few splitter trial and this is the best one.
it is easy and intuitive to use, unbelivebly fast, handy, and does what I expect in a minimum of time - and: it did not crash once.
great tool!


Review by VoDr on Dec 12, 2005 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




Make sure you don't install it to a common directory (ie. D:\Tools\ ) since it will delete it on uninstall w/o checking if other files are there!!!

Cost me 4 hours to recover all the other tools it removed.


Review by aragorn2001 on Jul 10, 2005 Version: 1.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 4/10




I usually use a video clipper called AVI MPEG ASF WMV Splitter. But there are some .avi files with which it causes the audio and video to get off synch when it clips them.

I tried this program on the problematic files with no synching problems. Very impressive for such a small piece of software. I did notice that some of the longer clips had a few extra seconds in the beginning, and I can see how that might become a problem with larger clips.

The program has no video preview, but I give it a lot of credit for handling video files that non-free software couldn't.

Great for cutting small clips from difficult AVIs.


Review by gordi on Apr 3, 2005 Version: 1.0 Beta OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Good and powerful enough for this level of SW tools. I was wondered by the simplicity for newbies like me. Interface are very simple. This is the fastest tool of this kind I have ever used before.

Review by DrMouse on Feb 24, 2005 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




I have found that many of the basic trimming programs that decode/reencode lose video quality in the process. Also, they are very slow.
Videos split with this tool show no loss of quality. Trim is fast, and takes few system resources. The UI could not be simpler to understand: File in, File Out, Start Time, End Time. That's all the inputs. When it works, it works well.
The catch is, it will not work with all AVIs. In some cases, setting it up to cut a video in half will result in the output file containing the entire video anyways, with a similar file size. Not sure what properties of the video trigger this.
The time settings do not seem to be accurate. Setting to split at mid video by time seems to give about 15% more to the first half. The total input video length is set as the end value by default upon launch. If you do not write down the video length, you will not be able to get this value again unless you restart the program.
An improvement would be to show the total video length on the screen all the time. Other cool upgrades would be to do the math, and show the length of the segment you have selected, show the input file size, and estimated output file size. Extra fancy upgrade would be to allow splits as well as trims (ie: split into 2 pieces, 3 pieces, whatever).
In summary, works well and fast most of the time, primitive but simple interface, can't beat the price. Better at what it does than most payware trimming/splitting tools.


Review by avast on Feb 3, 2005 Version: 1.0beta OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


24 reviews, Showing 1 to 24 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com