Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy iTunes movies, music / remove iTunes DRM protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for SPlayer

19 reviews, Showing 1 to 19 reviews


SPlayer is an other MPC derived player, with a worst GUI and less possibilities of customizations. Ex. we can not choose video renderer.

Review by Ziggy1978 on Sep 19, 2020 Version: 4.9.3 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 6/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by tchoumkevaldo on Dec 16, 2019 Version: 3.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Loewe on Dec 21, 2017 Version: 3.7.2437 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Overall,it's a very good player.Easy to use.But it needs an update because it can't play x265/h.265/HEVC.....
I'm sure splayer will release an update.


Review by sssbbb on Oct 6, 2014 Version: 3.7 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




A very lightweight and good lookin player!

Amazin auto sub download!

Highly recommended.
Btw it wud help if sum1 told me how to access d autodownloaded subs....

Thanks!


Review by hunerr on Jun 28, 2013 Version: 3.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I replaced KMPlayer by this one in the past but the new version had problem when playing a movie stored in the network media:
1. External subtile file does not be loaded properly, the subtitle won't appear in sequence.
2. Jump to any point of movie takes for ever.
3. Open dialog shows up very slow if previous network path is not existing any more.

Also it does not support XSUB and 3D.

I changed back to KMPlayer which does not have such 3 problems as most of my files are stored in the network storage.


Review by newnews on Mar 24, 2012 Version: 3.7.2356 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




I came across this one quite by chance. I was getting exasperated at the poor performance of succeeding versions of VLC. Whereas VLC had all kinds of problems with even 2 mbps mkv files (dropped frames, picture freezing ) which even windows media player could handle with ease, splayer handles even 3.5 mbps files flawlessly. Delay and advance settings, both for audio AND subtitles actually do work, which never worked on VLC.

It takes a little getting used to but after a while a clear choice over VLC, especially over VLC 2.0. I would rate it 9 if all the Chinese characters were translated AND there was some kind of help file, shortcut keys file available.


Review by pmshah on Mar 17, 2012 Version: 3.7.0.2356 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Again comes the new bug version of splayer & that is 3.7.0.2250 which crashes on opening the splayer.exe file

Review by parag19 on May 31, 2011 Version: 3.7.0.2250 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Now in 3.7.0.2055 right click mouse crash bug has been fixed, now it is working properly.......thanks

Review by parag19 on Apr 26, 2011 Version: 3.7.0.2055 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




SPlayer version 3.7.0.2012 crashes when clicking right mouse on the player to select equalizer control and other options but version 3.6.0.1993 was working fine , please fix this bug as i am using WINXP Professional

Review by parag19 on Apr 19, 2011 Version: 3.7.0.2012 OS: WinXP Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




Latest version, like previous ones, work absolutely fine. Playback of almost all kinds of multimedia files. Clean and tidy program surface. One issue I've found so far: in full-screen mode the video gets kind of jumpy and seems to fast-forward from time to time for a few seconds.

To previous poster: No virus pop-up with Kaspersky. Maybe you want to try the portable installation (I have it), this one is absolutely clean.


Review by leghorn on Feb 17, 2011 Version: 3.6r1794 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Tried to install, Microsoft Security Essentials picked up something. Adware:Win32/OpenCandy

Review by jjis on Feb 17, 2011 Version: 3.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Very good player, replaced KMPlayer on my PC. KMPlayer has problem to show the video when I switch multi audio tracks for some of my mkv files, SPlayer is fine for those files. One function is missing on SPlayer is that it does not support embedded XSub. Hope the newer version SPlayer will add the support of SPlayer.

Review by newnews on Feb 2, 2011 Version: 1755 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It is the best multimedia player which comes after KMPlayer & VLCPlayer with powerful audio equalizer that can play almost all multimedia files & most importantly it has also portable version

Review by parag19 on Jan 14, 2011 Version: 3.6 build 1719 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I love this player. Nice layout and the auto fetching of subtitles is really nice.




Review by Up2NoGood on Jan 9, 2011 Version: 3.6 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




the review below is NOT correct, not even close. I have been messing around with different media players to play MKV files and was stuck using VLC (which always looked washed out to me) and MPC, which stutters from time to time even with high end codecs installed. Splayer could be a winner, no install required and plays MKV files AWESOME!!.

Review by servocrow on Oct 23, 2010 Version: 3.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




It is slow to respond, messes up file associations and seeking in incomplete downloads is bad. Will stick to KMPlayer.

Review by vidalien on Sep 13, 2010 Version: 3.6.1532 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 2/10




I found that Splayer have a serious problem regarding to file association, it just mess up the registry with tons of keys even if the user don't associate files with it, even the portable version do this.
It's not so good regarding to filters and shaders like it is MPC-HC.
All the problems mentioned below regarding to subtitles still present.


Review by TGB on Sep 11, 2010 Version: 3.5.1526 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




I tested v3.5 with almost all formats that claims to support and worked very well. but needs some work in the subtitle department, here are some problems;

* Fontsize varies in some subtitles embedded in MKV files http://i41.tinypic.com/1z3c7l5.jpg), this happen even with "fontsize ratio" set to 1.000 in options (although I think this setting works in external subs)

* No display of audio streams names in context menu (ie, english, spanish, http://i42.tinypic.com/2njhf60.jpg)

The interface is nice (I like the controls) but could be better, that gray tittle bar looks too flat and minimalist, also the corners could be a little rounded.

The lack of forum in english where to report bugs or request features is still a big con.


Review by TGB on Jun 6, 2010 Version: 3.5 Build 3559 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


19 reviews, Showing 1 to 19 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com