Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try DVDFab and copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! :)

Software Home >


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Comments
PowerDVD is the must-have companion for PCs and home entertainment systems. Itís packed with unique movie, music and photo features indispensable for creating an unbeatably immersive sight & sound experience. And for people looking to create a cinema feel in their own homes, PowerDVD now has world-first technology essential to maximize the potential of your 4K and HDR TVs! PowerDVD Ultra costs $100, Blu-ray and UHD support. Web installer!

Trialware ($50)
OS:Windows
Version:18 / 18 Build 2307
Released:Dec 4,2018
File size:1.1MB
6.6/10
20 votes

Rate it




Screenshots

PowerDVD screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


PowerDVD screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

18 / 18 Build 2307 (December 4, 2018)




Download


Visit developer's site

Download PowerDVD 18  [1.1MB]  [Win]




Download Update and other versions

Download PowerDVD 18 Build 2307  [ca 1.1MB]  [Win]




Supported operating systems

WinWindows




License

Shareware ($50)



Version history / Release notes / Changelog


2018-12-04
Updates PowerDVD 18 to build 2307
Install this patch update to fix certain program crash issues.

Release Notes
Note: This patch is NOT for PowerDVD subscription version, OEM versions, UWP versions, volume license, or versions purchased via Steam.
Resolves the issue that the program crashes when playing media files with long filename.
Resolves playback issues for certain YouTube videos.
Resolves the issue that the music file sorting (by filename) is not correct in the file browser.
Minor bug fixes.

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to PowerDVD


ArcSoft TotalMedia Theatre



WinDVD







Guides and How to's


doom9 HD Playback guide

- Read

How to Re-Enable HD DVD Playback in PowerDVD 8

- Read

PowerDVD video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here




Acronyms / Also Known As

cyberlink powerdvd, powerdvd ultra, powerdvd deluxe, powerdvd pro




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




20 reviews, Showing 1 to 20 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by on Jun 5, 2017 Version: 17 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I've just noticed they have a price reduction for PowerDVD Pro and Ultra till 2 February 2016.

http://www.cyberlink.com/products/powerdvd-ultra/features_en_EU.html?r=1

Pro costs Ä47,99/$49.95/£38.99/

Ultra costs Ä59,99/$59.95/£44.99

By the way - is there a thread at the forum where the members can report sales, giveaways etc?


Review by AllisOne on Jan 25, 2016 Version: 15.0.2211.58 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




To me, video, Blu-ray and DVD on PowerDVD look the best out of any other video player out there and I tried them all: Total MediaTheatre, WinDVD, Zoom Player, KMPlayer, Media Player Classic HC, VLC among others.

I would have given it a 10 but new version 11 cannot play VP6-FLV, it's not supported, ridiculous considering the majority of FLV's on the internet are VP6. Otherwise, it can play any kind of video, MKV, AVI, DivX, ASF, MP4, MPG, WMV, FLV-AVC/AAC, Silverlight. The playback of high definition 1080p and 720p AVC/H.264 MKV's especially look great, sharp, crystal clear, vibrant colors and if you have good speakers, the DTS multi-channel surroud sound and even AC-3 Dolby sound like you're in a movie theatre. Subtitles internal or external display clear and crisp: SRT, UTF-8, PGS, etc. except that VobSub subtitles, like those created by HandBrake encodes are not supported, another reason I didn't give it a 10.

It works right out the box, you don't have to go crazy adjusting the settings like other video players out there for simple things; it starts up maximized instead of in a tiny little window, aspect ratio is automatically set according to the source, when watching a movie it automatically goes to full screen mode after a few seconds and a if you just move the mouse a little it will set it back to normal display, pressing the keyboard up/down buttons skips through the movie forward or back, space bar pauses/plays, pressing the "C" key captures a screen shot, etc. are already set up, no need to play around with settings.

It has a built in video library, just click on the Video tab and the directory where your videos are display in thumbnail or list form. Just double click to open, or it can open a video from Windows Explorer as well. It integrates seemless with Windows Media Center and you can easily set up a remote control device to use with it just by paring it using a 4-digit code PowerDVD lists on the Device Tab an dconfigure it.

As far as pictures and music go, it has capabilities for that but I prefer Winamp for my music and ACDSee Pro for my pictures.

PowerDVD 11 Ultra is the best video player for viewing high definition videos, Blu-ray or DVD's on your PC. But you be the judge, Compare and see and listen for yourself.


Review by Peppino on Jul 23, 2011 Version: Ultra 11.0.1719.51 OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I still use PowerDVD version 5.0 with my XP Home op system which works OK to play ordinary DVD movies on my computer, to flip through the chapters of a movie, and such simple basic operations. I don't try to play .avi or other formats. I tried a later version of PowerDVD which didn't work right. They started bloating PowerDVD with version 7.0 and later although I don't know the exact sizes of the latest versions because I have no reason to try them. The introduction of Blu-Ray makes it too complicated for me wee noodle, so I'll stick with DVDs.

Review by JohnnyBob on Feb 18, 2011 Version: 5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Totally bloated rubbish.Counld't play Blu-ray at all. Took it back for refund. I now use ArcSoft.

Pity because it was good once.


Review by insipod on Feb 15, 2011 Version: 10.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Payed $100 for Power DVD Ultra 8, 6 months later bought a new tv that supports HDMI 1.3 power dvd ultra 8 only supports HDMI 1.2,For $100 you would think you would get decent support you dont.
You have to pay another $100 for Power DVD 9 which supports HDMI 1.3.Swore I would never buy this program again.Get it from a P2P site,far better value, I will willing pay for programs that offer decent support.


Review by isapc on Mar 17, 2010 Version: POWER DVD ULTRA 8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




I just tried the new 7.0 trial. The dvd I played was badly
pixelated. So I tried different dvd's still the same. So I
installed it on my notebook. The Problem was the same.
Just going keep using 6.0 for now.








Review by Timmychuck on Oct 25, 2006 Version: 7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




BLOAT.

BLOAT.

BLOAT.

Not to mention THE 96MB INSTALL SIZE!

Nero 7 comes to mind..

Has new features that the average user will never use. Do we really need support for MPEG-4 AVC (H.264)? That file format is still in it's infancy. Oh, and the picture quality while viewing DVD's is the same as 6.

If you already have 6 installed on your computer, don't bother with this bloated mess!


Review by Detour on May 4, 2006 Version: 7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Power DVD version 6 does not play MPEG 2 files with a multiplexed MPEG 1 Audio Layer 2 (MP2) (0xc0) stream, even when an MP2 third party audio codec (Moonlight Cordless) is installed.

Review by ken.dearden on Jan 2, 2006 Version: 6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




This is my favorite software DVD Player.Very good picture quality and seems very reliable,it dont keep crashing.It supports quite a lot of audio and video formats as well.
The only thing I dislike is that it is becoming more bloated.


Review by laspis59 on Nov 8, 2005 Version: 6.0.2003e OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Appalling, rubbish and untimately frustrating. Every time I try to play a Copy Protected DVD (that I bought out of a shop, mind you, not copied at all) it refuses to play it because its afraid that I'm going to connect my TV-Out to a VCR in an effort to violate copyright laws. I have absolutely no intention on making inferior VHS copies, so it's extra bad. The interface is nice, it works quite well when it does actually work, but if you want to play anything except a DVD or (S)VCD' forget it, AVI's etc. The aspect ration is almost always wrong and won't let you change it. I'm disgusted with it and thank god that I didn't pay anything for it as it came free with my DVD Drive.

Review by AwesomeDude on Jan 31, 2005 Version: PowerDVD XP OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




I'm not very enamored with the picture quality PowerDVD displays, and frankly never have been (this includes both with or without hardware acceleration). What this player has is good sound options (like Dolby Headphone), although they cost and cost plenty.

IMO players like this will soon be ousted by freeware alternatives, as interest in PC video continues to grow.


Review by Zisguy1 on Jan 24, 2005 Version: 5.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




It does its job well but you need to install a ac3 filter for Xvid movies with ac3 audio. Its not a real media player because it doesnt handle streaming content. Gabest Media Player Classic has more options and plays streaming content and can replace Windows Media Player and best of all its freeware.

Review by muppet meat on Jul 30, 2004 Version: 5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




It's hard to praise this tool too highly. It works well when playing commercial DVDs, and just as well when playing your own DVD authoring project off hard disk. I've found that if your self authored DVD doesn't play correctly in PowerDVD then it won't play correctly in a standalone DVD player either - knowing this saves a lot of DVD burn time!

Also very useful is the high quality directx drivers which it installs, which means that a lot of third party freeware tools (eg. IfoEdit) will find these drivers and work well on your PC.

My copy came bundled with my PC - so the price was right as well! Don't even think of using anything else!


Review by mpack on Jul 30, 2004 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I like this player very much. I gave a 9 on functionality because it sometimes freezes on some movie that are scratched up. I think it is great. HAs dvd or CD/File mode. One of the few programs that plays VCD DAT files (easily too). Got it free and like that it is easy to use. Right click on screen and you can got to the chapters. Wish they made a remote control for it and a way to fast forward all those preview frames on some dvds.
The picture can be adjusted 4 ways, has 4 skins, and it even has parental control. The full screen is awesome if you have a 1.8ghz pc. It is true full screen covers the whole monitor.


Review by ghostlamp on Feb 24, 2004 Version: 4.x OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If you were lucky you got PowerDVD bundled with your New DVD Drive/Computer, if you were unlucky you got WinDVD or nothing (though frankly a bundled version of WinDVD is WORSE than nothing!).

PowerDVD is one of the first programs I install on every new machine I build or repair. No DVD equiped PC should be without PowerDVD & DVDDecrypter www.dvddecrypter.com


Review by chuffster on Feb 11, 2004 Version: 4.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Used to have 4.0XP. 5 came with my new computer, even after the latest build patch, it doesn't play The Prince of Egypt VCD (2-disc promo with I Love CCM Remakes and Newsongs collection, Korean). It's the only VCD I have to test. Neither disc plays. Before the latest patch, the picture broke up (high error rate it appeared to be, like a digital satellite system in the middle of extremely heavy rain). After the patch, it just doesn't play at all. Works fine in Windows Media Player. And PowerDVD does work great for DVDs, so I guess that's what is important...

Review by Markie on Feb 3, 2004 Version: 5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Great Tool ! ! ! Unless of course you live in the US and have a problem. You can call for support ! ! that is, you can call Taiwan or Europe ... You can go online ! ! ! but ... you wont find your answers there because their support pages suck and have few items of interest. This really is a great tool, I only wish I could use it on the machine I want. I hope the best for anyone using the program, and hope you never have any problems.

Review by Lazloe on Sep 12, 2003 Version: 4.0+ OS: WinME Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




rev. 5 has problems playing svcd's encoded with cinemacraft-encoder - macroblock errors. - Went back to rev. 4

Review by weissgold on Aug 6, 2003 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Really nice and thoro. My only problem is that their own Divx decoder does not let me use directshow filters on these movies (such as subtitles).
If you can read this then please at least add an option to disable that codec.


Review by burgul on Aug 6, 2003 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10


20 reviews, Showing 1 to 20 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
 - 



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version


Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware/Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code.
Free software/Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware/Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software/Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download [15MB] = A direct link to the software download.
[Win] = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
[Win64] = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
[Mac] = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
[Mac64] = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
[Linux] = Linux download version.
[Portable] = Portable version. No installation is required.
[Ad-Supported] = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections
All In One Blu-ray Converters (11)
All In One DVD Converters (15)
All In One MKV to MP4/Blu-ray/UHD (11)
All In One Video Converters (23)
Animation (3D/2D Animation) (11)
Audio Editors (16)
Audio Encoders (73)
Audio Players (15)
Authoring (Blu-ray/UHD/AVCHD) (20)
Authoring (DivX) (5)
Authoring (DVD) (32)
Authoring (SVCD/VCD) (10)
Bitrate Calculators (7)
Blu-ray to AVI/MKV/MP4 (15)
Blu-ray to Blu-ray/AVCHD (10)
Burn (CD,DVD,Blu-ray) (23)
Camcorders/DV/HDV/AVCHD (33)
Capture TV/DVD/VCR (32)
CD/DVD/Blu-ray recovery (3)
Codec Packs (7)
Codec/Video Identifiers (29)
Codecs (65)
Decrypters (Blu-ray Rippers) (9)
Decrypters (DVD Rippers) (14)
DigitalTV/DVB/IPTV (38)
DVD to AVI/DivX/XviD (16)
DVD to DVD (21)
DVD to MP4/MKV/H264/H265 (16)
DVD to VCD/SVCD (5)
ISO/Image (16)
Linux Video Tools (140)
MacOS Video Tools (185)
Media (Blu-ray/DVD/CD) (9)
Media Center/HTPC (39)
Other Useful Tools (130)
Photo Blu-ray/DVD/SlideShow (9)
Portable (Mobile/PSP) (35)
Region Free Tools (5)
Screen capture / Screen recording (23)
Screenshots / Thumbnails (11)
Subtitle Editors (64)
Video De/Multiplexers (56)
Video Editors (Advanced/NLE) (32)
Video Editors (Basic) (49)
Video Editors (H264/MP4/MKV/MTS) (19)
Video Editors (MPG/DVD) (18)
Video Editors (WMV/AVI) (16)
Video Encoders (AVI/WMV) (39)
Video Encoders (H264/H265/MP4/MKV) (45)
Video Encoders (MPG/DVD) (25)
Video Encoders / Converters (150)
Video Frameservers (9)
Video Players (40)
Video Repair/Fix (21)
Video Scripting (11)
Video Streaming (22)
Video Streaming Downloaders (78)
Virtualdub Tools (11)



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2018 videohelp.com