Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVD Fab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for PgcEdit

16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews


Ideal for repairing retail DVDs which cannot be copied because of a build-in "error". In my case Handbrake didn't convert an episode on DVD to MKV, but after repairing with PgcEdit, it worked!

Review by Ed on Feb 19, 2021 Version: 9.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Rating by Cgrami on Nov 11, 2019 Version: 9.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




A Swiss Knife for DVD editing. Very powerful tool.
I have been using it for years. Each new version just makes this program better.
There were never problems with playback of DVDs edited with PGCEdit.
Almost no boundaries for DVD creation or DVD reathoring. Enormous options for command creation. All GPRMs at your use. No limits like in some expensive DVD Authoring tools.
After authoring a DVD with DVD Authoring tool I always improve newly authored DVD with PGCEdit by editing commands thus making it more flexible, user friendly and with more functions thanks to GPRMs and SPRMs.
It is very great tool.


Review by Earthman on Mar 20, 2011 Version: 9.3.0.1000 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




posted as free software. but shows meddling nag-screen at startup until registration which comes around $10-15...

functionality is superb, though it may take some (more) time to get to it thoroughly.


Review by leghorn on Dec 23, 2008 Version: 9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Just an excellent tool to have. If you know how to use it can be your best friend.

Review by dirio49 on Dec 20, 2006 Version: 8.b8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Use this tool only for creating proper dual layer DVD (layer break) file structure and paired with IMGburn, you have a winner. Have not had one problem with dual layer DVDs since using this tool. Before PgcEdit, it was a real crap shoot with CopyToDVD and RecordNow.

Review by dvwannab on Jun 26, 2006 Version: 7.3 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Yeah, the pskill.exe is the genuine Sysinternals version, not the fake one used to launch parasites. Took me less than a minute to find that out, when a trojan scan gave me a false positive on it.

Anyway, PgcEdit is very powerful. Used in conjunction with DVDDecrypter, it produces the ONLY 100% compliant rip of a structurally protected DVD. That is, a rip without any residual "junk", and fully valid structurally. The latest version automates the process to a great extent.

As to PgcEdit's other uses, well, it's not for n00bs. Hell, it's FREE, and I for one am grateful to the creator(s). I give it a "10" across the board, even for "Ease of use". If you know what you're doing, it is laid out quite conveniently. If you don't know what you're doing, learn it or move on to something else.


Review by fritzi93 on Mar 23, 2006 Version: 0.6.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




About the virus problem:
There are -of course- no viruses in PgcEdit. Some extremely picky anti-virus programs are reporting a potential risk when using this program, because a function to kill a process is included in the executable. This function is needed to kill mkisofs when the user aborts an ISO creation process. It is never used for something else.
Anyway, it is not a virus. You should learn how to use your anti virus program before posting such false affirmations, and maybe also use a better anti virus, a bit less anal.


Review by r0lZ on Nov 12, 2005 Version: 0.6.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very good tool for advanced users but is way too complicated for the average user.You need to know a lot about the DVD structure ect... to be able to use the full potential of this tool.
If your as intelligent as a brain surgeon get it,if not then it isn't worth downloading!


Review by laspis59 on Nov 6, 2005 Version: 0.6.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




I just scanned this with my AntiVirus program and it reports the presence of a "RemoteAdminProcedureLaunch" virus. Why has no-one else picked up on this?

Review by bigboybloggs on Nov 6, 2005 Version: 0.6.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Great app fixed a broken dvd of mine which my dvd player wouldnt play, pretty easy to use with a guide.

Review by CrisCr0ss on Sep 13, 2005 Version: 0.4.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Very easy to learn , and dead simple to bypass the annoying error message of "no more free gvm's" .

Cant recall what it was exactly , but it only took me 2 minutes to figure out the problem and get rid of it .. those dummy menu items cause it .

The button feature needs alot more work , its getting there though .

Overall its got alot going for it in the fact its free ..

All the compilation titles I have put together have been burned using imagetools , another freeware , and there has never been so much as a blink in the playback ..

There all perfect .

As for a guide on how to biuld a compilation dvd using movie previews and game previews , you'll need to pm me to get it , it's in pdf , webpage , and two other formats created by using wink .

It will be online over the next few months , just very busy with programing another tool that simplifies alot of video process's , especially those related to avisynth , which is needed .

Yes , the guide is designed for newbies who might find it over their heads , and gose from raw video to final dvd product , step by step , so they can take their time , and end up without making a mess of things .

And strictly deals with using ONLY freeware ...

Just making newbies happy ...


Review by bjs on Apr 24, 2005 Version: 0.5.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I never wrote any comment in this website but I believe this tool worth it to write one,

I think if person(s) who made this tool need a award for that and I think if menu editing added and some DVD authoring and modifying vob files added to this it will be even more perfect.

However I must admit that there is no other tool better than PGCEdit out there in sense of power, update, price (FREEEEE) and most of all its open source, (even though I dont know TKL) but I think you must try it and you must learn it and contribute to it.


Thanks to the vendor


Review by mp3boy on Mar 17, 2005 Version: 5.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Between PgcEdit and DVDRemake I think it is possible to do anything with an existing DVD! PgcEdit has a fantastic debugger for those hard to understand programming problems.

Review by tibor on Feb 27, 2005 Version: 0.4.9.1 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Pgcedit is an amazing tool. Granted, it's not for the novice (although it's a great tool to navigate the DVD structure and understand virtual machine commands and playback flow), but if you know a little bit about DVD, there's virtually no limit to what you can do with this! I have used it to
- bypass annoying material (FBI warning, previews etc)
- bypass unwanted menus (for example, aspect-ratio)
- select a default language/subtitle different than the original one.
- add a menu to a menuless DVD
- generally fix the way the DVD navigates (for example DVD authored with TMPG DVD Author)

The program is now very stable and has tons of features, and some macros to do some useful modifications (like "kill playback" of a whole titleset). The only thing it misses is a preview window.

It's by far my favorite tool when it comes to changing the way the DVD behaves.


Review by jeanl on Oct 5, 2004 Version: 0.3.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great Tool. I have added the Titles of my 2 side DVD's to one easily. Thanks a lot to the author for this Easy (free) tool.

Review by anusri on Jul 7, 2004 Version: 0.2.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com