Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for NextPVR

18 reviews, Showing 1 to 18 reviews


I've been using NextPVR for over 10 years now. If you're primary requirement is to schedule and watch TV shows over the air, then I don't think there is any better software out there. It may lack some of the pzazz of some other media players but often that is all they are (media players) and don't offer intelligent scheduling of all your favourite TV shows from one or multiple TV tuners. For example did you know that if the channels you want to watch are on the same DVB mux, it can record multiple shows at the same time, all from a single tuner. It can avoid recording the same show, reschedule a show to resolve a conflict with recordings, keep the last X episodes of a series etc.

I would say the software is pretty much bullet-proof and I don't recall the last time I ever had the software barf on me. (There were a few issues with FF/RW when the playback code was rewritten but these gremlins are pretty much all ironed out now). You do however need to ensure that you have the necessary codecs installed (not supplied with NextPVR) if you wish to playback other formats as NextPVR just asks windows to use whatever the default codec is for that file type. Most folks use decoders from LAV , MS or various codec packs that are available.

If you just want software to playback movies that you have downloaded or ripped off a disc, NextPVR can cater for these files just fine although there may be other products that can provide more bling to your viewing experience.

As a true client/server app, it supports playback from other pcs/laptops/browsers and mobile devices (being actively developed).

The author has also been investing a lot of time in ramping up support for IPTV during the last 12 months.

I would prefer to call it donateware rather than freeware as I feel that regular users of the product should support the author who dedicates a huge amount of his time to this project and the forum is friendly, responsive and helpful.



Review by gEd on Jun 1, 2018 Version: 4.1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It doesn't allow to import IPTV channels from m3u file, so it is useless.

Review by Pinto007 on Dec 14, 2017 Version: 4.0.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




excellent software, very stable and strong for long captures of 2-4 hours. This is base software for Capture4ME, GamerCap and perhaps Hauppauge Capture (for the HDPVR2). Increase bitrate from 9mbs as desired in C\Users\Public\NPVR\config.xml for 720p. Record with Recordings , Man-Rec (no preview window).

Review by texas1 on Jan 12, 2015 Version: 3.3.8 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Tried and Tried to make it work with my Hauppauge 1600 and no dice. The older version works great. Maybe I am doing something wrong. Needs to have a downloadable instructions or something.

Review by Backpain on Oct 18, 2010 Version: 1.5.33 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




lorvix - you need to look into adding mc2xml.exe to GB-PVR

Review by hech54 on Oct 17, 2010 Version: 1.5.33 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is not very useable...There is no way change scanning options...i try it and can scan only qam64/gam128 with vrong frequensis...i need qam128/256 and freq. 50000-738000....so...itäs not work in finland cable..... :(

Review by lorvix on Oct 16, 2010 Version: 1.5.33 beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I've tried all the free/commercial PVR software and this is the best by a distance. If you have a hardware encoder based card (e.g. PVR150) then you must give this software a try. It is a pleasure to use and has superb support from the author.
The software is very stable and never misses a recording (which you can't say for most other products). It plays back all my videos, DVD, Music with excellent picture quality. In addition an excellent web interface & support for XMLTV/ZAP2it makes scheduling a breeze.
There is also a very active plugin/skinning community.
This software is superbly suited for a dedicated HTPC and is so easy to use that you can confidently give the wife the remote control.


Review by b00sfuk on Jun 3, 2006 Version: 0.97.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This just has to be the best HTPC tool on the planet, it supports multi tuner configurations be it analogue or digital and my wife and I use it on a regular basis, I have just about tried em' all and this is hands down the best, forget the rest this is the business.

Review by johnharbone on Jan 26, 2006 Version: GBPVR09516 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




When I made the mistake of buying an MS media center computer and learned that it only records in dvms, I was really upset. After some research and finding this program that works wonderfully with MVP, my mistake, I found, was not so great afterall. But GBPVR IS.

Review by mtouchto on Jan 26, 2006 Version: 95.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




GB-PVR is one of those tools that's incredibly useful, yet always 'almost there.' It does everything I want it to do (i.e., it'll record what I want when I want it to), but the UI needs some work, so getting it to do what I want is a little clunky. For instance, the 15 second pause that occurs when you go from live tv to timeshifting shouldn't happen -- the buffer should always be going -- and I can't forward over the commercials anyway since it doesn't appear to work correctly in this version. Likewise, I can find out when all the Globe Trekker episodes are on -- but I occasionally find that the EPG has been messed up from my last update. I could go on, but I'd be too critical of a piece of software that, like I said, actually does what I want (and at a good price, of course.) One other wish: This software should be open source. One-developer solutions are fine for small projects, but something of this size and potential requires input from more than one persion.

Review by joemadeus on Dec 17, 2005 Version: 0.94.13 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




After some initial struggle with channel # ('til I found the TuningAssistant util), it's beautyful!
Thought I was fine with WINTV and the Scheduler - Boy, was I wrong!
One thing tho - the documentation is non existant, the wiki pages slow as molasses (and not very packed with info)
But where are the skins?
The perfect companion for my Hauppage PVR250 card.
The day I build a HTPC, I'll use GB-PVR.


Review by mats.hogberg on Dec 15, 2005 Version: 0.95.16 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




If you own a hardware mpeg-2 encoding card, or a DVB-T card, this is the only software you'll ever need to PVR and much more.

Review by reboot on Dec 14, 2005 Version: 9.51.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




What a great program!

I actually was on the market looking for a new capture card to replace my old and tired Hauppauge WinTV USB(uhhgg...). I ended up buying a cheap PCI software capture card off NewEgg. Before it arrived, I found this program, and realized that it requires hardware encoding capture cards. So, I ended up buying a Hauppauge PVR-150 at Circuit City($99). The card itself is a great buy, but this software makes the value of it come to life! Everything works like it should, except the volume is a little loud, and I can't find an option to control captured volume.

If your capture card isn't listed on the website as compatible, you should still download it to check out to compatibity. In the Config shortcut under Capture Sources >> Add/Edit >> Recording Source >> Settings >> Capture Card Type, will show the full compatibility list(not just what's shown as compatible on the website).

This is by far the most usefull peice of software that I have ever downloaded off videohelp.com. BY FAR(Even compared to VDub)!


Review by dmorley00 on Feb 14, 2005 Version: .90.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Update!

Since purchasing WinTV PVR-150 and Media MVP 1000 (2), so far this is the only PVR and media center to use with these hardware products from Hauppauge! Still need to run some Windows XP SP2 registry tweaks, change some BIOS settings, move the default LIVE TV folder to another drive instead of the default. Once you do all of that you can enjoy using GB-PVR!


Review by tipstir on Dec 9, 2004 Version: Current OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




For freeware, this is a good application. Its only been around for a year and has come along way and more features and card support coming all the time. To note, it only supports hardware based encoding cards, but as others have pointed out you can still use other features.

It has excellent support Hauppauge's Media MVP and makes this box very usuable. It supports multiple MVP's each of which can be showing different recordings, though you can only have as many live tv sessions as you have turner cards.

For EPG's you can use xmltv and support for some online guides has been added. As for the comment made about zap2it, this is a free service. You have to fill in a survey once every 3 months, but that's not much to ask for.

There are some timeshifting features missing (ie. FW, RW) but these are to come along in a future release.

Mulitple tuner cards are supported along with various output devices (PVR350, XCard, MVP, etc), plus there is the option to develop your own plugins.

All in all, this is a good choice and worth checking out.


Review by rhino4321 on Oct 6, 2004 Version: 0.21.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




GB-PVR, well what can I say, the program works with Zap2It TV Guide, which you get a few months for free under the GOLD plan, but after that you'll have to pay.

It's pretty good interface with Zap2It Guide for all your local Cable and Digital Cable TV for me (Comcast). This program if you had the right capture card in my case nope. You would be able to record right off this guide with a simple click of your mouse.

Also has a TV program or show search like you get from your Comcast Digital TV box, but GB-PVR is easier than what Comcast give you, then again a DVR box would be a better bet.

This program also features type of server base system so you can view your recordings throughout your network, but I haven't tested that feature well that's right I don't have one of those capture cards on the authors list.

Should you be lucky to have a WinTV, PVR 250 or 350 cards, then this freeware Recorder/Guide/Server is just right for you. I am going to use my Pinnacle PCTV Pro with WinDVR and Titan TV Web Guide for which by-the-way it's for free. Does the same thing as GB-PVR but over the internet you can right click on the TV show you want to record from your Cable or Digital Cable TV (Comcast) and it will do it with your WinDVR 3 has a button that launches the web site right away!


Review by tipstir on Oct 5, 2004 Version: Current OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




Very simple and easy to use program. Being free I think it is great. I don't use it to watch live tv, but captures flawless with my pvr-250 card.

Just a couple of bad things I have found

- when searching through shows you can't type in anything, you have to go through the letter, then alphabetically through to find the show

- File name just puts the date and time in the name, it would be nice to have the name of the show and title of the episode.


Review by maxpower2078 on Oct 1, 2004 Version: .20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Right now I am only using this for the media server aspect of the program, but I must say, it runs great, its only a few mb's in size and it is pretty intuitive to use. My TV capture card isnt supported by it, so Im not sure about the recording quality, but even as an interface this is a great little program.On computers that were running the Mediaportal, it ran easily twice as fast. I cant give it a ten because I cant verify the recording function, and I also had trouble with keeping aspect ratios on certain DIVX files. But this one is in it's infancy and I think it shows great promise.

Review by samuraijack on Sep 16, 2004 Version: .21 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


18 reviews, Showing 1 to 18 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com