Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, Hulu etc! Download free trial

Software Home »



All reviews for Muxman

19 reviews, Showing 1 to 19 reviews


i would like to find out a bit moment.

When i do muxing .vob music file from .m2v file and 24bit/48kHz .wav file (or
24bit/96kHz .wav) i get .vob with 1536 kbit/s audio stream, mediainfo 0.7.94 shows it
(it is as 16bit/48kHz audio stream).

But i would like to get .vob with full audio bitrate 2304 kbit/s (as for 24bit/48kHz audio
stream).

But when i do the same muxing with 24bit/96kHz .wav audio file i get an even
stranger result - .vob file with 1032 kbit/s audio stream, and 24bit/32kHz,
mediainfo 0.7.94 shows it,
But here i would like to get .vob with full audio bitrate 4608 kbit/s (as 24bit/96kHz).

As i know mpeg-ps in .vob container supports 24/48 and 24/96 audio.

Then what is happen ?


Review by Newaved on Jun 28, 2017 Version: Muxman 0.16.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




An excellent muxing tool.

I am SORRY to mention that the price U$35.00 is little bit high as compared to Power Producer and Video Studio are at U$45.00 in local retail deals.

I rated this tool 10 out of 10 because of excellent features.


Review by Bonie81 on Jun 3, 2011 Version: 1.4.1 OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Really an excelent multiplexer.
Never had issues with it. Works perfectly. It is one of very few tools that you really need if you work with DVDs
Thank you for the tool.


Review by Earthman on Mar 20, 2011 Version: 0.16.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Maybe pop in a chapter editor to both manually and automatically generate chapter marks, and I'll renew my registration. As it stands, I'll be sitting on version 1.3.1. And while you're at it, mpucoder, how about a general user's guide?

Review by chowmein on Nov 28, 2010 Version: 1.3.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I received the following message when I attempted to download 1.4.0:
Upgrades are possible
The version you are requesting is beyond the limit of free upgrades.
Apparently there's an additional charge now for existing subscribers of the professional version to upgrade to the latest one.


Review by u9352714 on Nov 16, 2010 Version: 1.3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




What an annoying update process. I accidentally entered a wrong username and now it demands payment to upgrade?? WTF??

Actually I hope it's not demanding money full stop?? I thought as a paid-up registered user I got free upgrades for life...?

It's very good software and I use it all the time for muxing m2v and ac3 (and subs, chapter lists etc). But it's got tons of other functionality that I can make no sense of. Mpucoder needs to wrap an intuitive gui around this thing so it becomes a DVD authoring app for the general masses. I'm sure he'd make a lot of money.


Review by chowmein on Nov 16, 2010 Version: 1.3.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




It is not my intention to slam a product for the sake of it. This is however my experience. I tried to mux two files togther but the video file was not visable, so I couldn't get it to work. Then I went on the web site and paid 35.00 for the pro version hoping this other version of the program would work. I have recieved no email and no program, and of course I am out 35 bucks.

Review by firedancer21 on Dec 13, 2009 Version: 0.16.6 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This is a wonderful utility with an annoying bug (which does have work-arounds) which I'll report here for future reference. Hopefully mpucoder will spot and correct this in a future version.

In certain conditions there seems to be a problem with MuxMan's *vertical* (not horizontal) boundary checking which gets it into buffer under/overflow situations.

These conditions seem to be related to ab/presence of titleset menus and chapter buttons; there may well be others too. These conditions seem to determine which part of the MuxMan code checks and parses the subtitles, and not all parts seem to work equally well.

Input files used below have the following characteristics (initially, the source DV AVI container was encoded into an MPEG container with both audio and video to maintain sync, which were then demuxed into the below video file and audio file with AVIdemux):

Video file parameters:
File size: 63,404,529 bytes
Duration 00:01:08.55
Aspect ratio 4:3
MPEG2 720x576 25.000 fps 9800.0 kbps (1225.0 kbyte/s)

Audio file parameters:
File size: 1,107,456 bytes
Duration: 00:01:09.21
Format: AC3 stereo 48.000 kHz
Data rate: 128 kbits/sec

Subtitle file parameters:
.SST file and BMPs as rendered by MaestroSBT, 3 colours used, BMPs are correctly rendered 720 x 573 pixels x 4 bits/pixel files
.SUP file containing same subtitles as SST, rendered by Srt2Sup/Txt2Sup makes no difference

Multiplexing 1 movie file, 1 audio file and 1 subtitle file in either SUP or SST format with no titleset menu works correctly. Adding an empty titleset menu to this project still works, still with either subtitle format. Adding chapter buttons to the titleset menu (still using exactly the same SST subtitles as before) causes MuxMan to fail with the message:

SPU error, C:\Documents and Settings\fvisagie\My Documents\My Videos\Home Videos\20061218 Namibia\Subtitles\TestMovie.avi.dv_datecodeBottomMixed_0001.bmp, encoded line exceeds 1440 bits.
SPU error, C:\Documents and Settings\fvisagie\My Documents\My Videos\Home Videos\20061218 Namibia\Subtitles\TestMovie.avi.dv_datecodeBottomMixed_0001.bmp, encoded line exceeds 1440 bits.

Normally, this message would be issued for horizontal buffer overflow (too wide or too much colour depth in subtitle file) in other conditions. However, the BMPs are known to be correctly rendered as proven by successful multiplexing in the absence of chapter buttons and/or titleset menu. The BMP mentioned in the error message is the first of the subtitle bitmaps listed in the .SST file.

With chapter buttons in the titleset menu but using SUP subtitles instead, multiplexing succeeds.

Next, rendering the SST subtitles _incorrectly_ as 720 x 574 pixels x 4 bits/pixel BMPs, results in the .SST file specifying (for the physical BMPs):
Display_Area (0 2 719 575)

muxman.mxp still contains (as per the subtitle specification):
Display Area=0,2,719,574

Which differs from the physical BMP size of 720 x 574.

Using the same project with titleset menu and chapter buttons which failed with SST subtitles before, MuxMan now notices the above discrepancy and behaves a little more carefully - from muxman.log:
Pixel_Area values 0 573 are incorrect, using default of 0 572.
Display_Area Y values 2 575 are incorrect, using default of 2 574.

This results in MuxMan itself "clipping" the BMPs back to 720 x 573 during multiplexing, and all is well!

So the work-arounds for projects with titleset menus containing chapter buttons are:
* Use SUP subtitles if those work for you; otherwise
* If you require SST subtitles, create (and specify in the .SST file) BMPs that are 1 pixel too tall and let MuxMan sort it out from there.


Review by fvisagie on Aug 26, 2008 Version: 0.16.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




An excellent tool that does the job well.

One minor request though: could "Hearing Impaired" be added to the drop down subtitle menu, which is probably useful to some and would help distinguish it from English. I imagine this would be a very simple change in the coding.


Review by blue2 on Feb 9, 2008 Version: 0.15R OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




For my purposes, it works very well as a multiplexer, except for one small thing. It does not accept 704x480 bitmaps, although NTSC allows that resolution. However, it still takes m2v video files at the same resolution.

Review by usually_quiet on Oct 9, 2007 Version: 0.15R OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I have used this program for quite a while and it is my mux program of choice. I have only used the free program and that has always been sufficient for me. The only comment I have of note is that the older versions seemed to work better than the newer.One old version would even take an svcd at 400x400 and convert it to a DVD playable in all my stand alones without even checking to see if it was the right kind of file for a dvd. Now that was a good version.

Review by cal_tony on Mar 20, 2007 Version: 14d OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Is very picky about its input files and gives zero indication as to what is wrong when it rejects them, but seems to always work when it gets files it accepts.

Review by john999 on Mar 20, 2007 Version: 0.15 OS: WinME Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




This is the best muxer I have seen, the only problem with the free version is you can't sellect the color of the subtitles so you have to use another tool like DvdReMake Pro or DVDSubEdit to change the color on the subtitles after you mux your files into VOB files.

Review by MadMax66 on Mar 3, 2007 Version: 0.15Q OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have also been a long time fan of this utility, but was greatly disappointed by the odd "subscription" payment method for the program. When I purchase a program, I want to be able to use whenever I please. Seems like a strange form of reimbursement and can potentially scare off a number of customers. I plan to make do with the free version until the subscription is removed and replaced with a single-fee purchase price.

Review by gust0208 on Oct 15, 2005 Version: 0.14g OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Really simple to use, and it's the only free multiplexing tool I know of that takes multiple video and audio files.

I just wish the new 0.15 version was free -_-


Review by zilog_jones on Jun 15, 2005 Version: 0.14f OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




In my opinion, this tool does exactly what it claims, and it does it well. I have used it 3 or 4 times now when dvdauthorGUI failed. It does not have many features for authoring, but it does multiplex well. I use it to mux 1 video stream with 1 audio stream and add chapters. I use this as source for DvdRemake Pro and it works fine.

Review by zakman on Apr 27, 2005 Version: 0.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Muxman is great, It solved my problem first try. I also like the fact that it presents you with the opportunity to use multiple audio and subtitle streams.

Review by cg1127 on Mar 27, 2005 Version: 0.12e beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The app has gotten quite a bit better. I used to mux an .M2V and .Mp2 into DVD compliant VOBs, IFOs, BUPs . Not bad at all, and pretty fast, actually. Quite a bit faster than Rejig for muxing.

Review by soopafresh on Jan 19, 2005 Version: 0.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




The tool description said that it should be flawless but it promised more than it could deliver. I tried both the 0.2 & 0.3 version. None of my .sup streams prepared by srt2sup were displayed at all. My .mp2 stream got clipping which did not appear when fed to more trust worthy tools like IFOEDIT or DVDAuthor.

Review by ASisoft on Dec 11, 2004 Version: 0.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 2/10


19 reviews, Showing 1 to 19 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com