Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
Machete is a convenient utility for playing and editing multimedia files. Currently, Machete can edit video and audio files in AVI, FLV, WMV, MP4, MKV, WMA, MP3 and WAV formats. The support of editing functions for other formats is planned for future versions of the program.

Trialware $20
OS: Win
File size: 4.3MB
Version history
8.0/10
7 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

Machete screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


Machete screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

5.0 (September 30, 2018)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download Machete 5.0  4.3MB  Win



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $20)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Version 5.0 (released October 1, 2018):

Improved user interface
Shortcut keys can be customized
Support for video files with H.265 (HEVC) video stream
Several minor improvements

View full changelog




All features


Play AVI, WMV, MP4, WMA, MP3, WAV and FLV video and audio files, as well as some others

Edit MKV (Matroska) video and audio files (*.mkv, *.mka)

* most video codecs supported: H.264 (AVC) and others
* most audio codecs supported: AAC, MP3, AC3, DTS and others

Edit FLV (Flash Video) video and audio files (*.flv)

* most video codecs supported: Sorenson H.263 (FLV1), On2 VP6 (FLV4) and H.264 (AVC)
* most audio codecs supported: MP3 and AAC

Edit MP4 (MPEG-4) video and audio files (*.mp4, *.m4a)

* most video codecs supported: H.264 (AVC), MP4V
* most audio codecs supported: MP3 and AAC

Edit WMV video files (*.wmv, *.asf) and WMA audio files(*.wma)

* most video codecs supported: WMV, MSS and others
* most audio codecs supported: WMA, MP3 and others

Edit AVI video files (*.avi)

* most video codecs supported: DV (Digital Video Type 1, 2), DivX, XviD and others
* most audio codecs supported: MP3 (VBR and CRB), AC3 and others

Edit MP3 (MPEG Layer-3) audio files (*.mp3)

* VBR and CRB encoding supported

Edit uncompressed WAV (Waveform audio format) audio files (*.wav)

* PCM bitstream supported

* For all formats listed above, the following editing operations are available:

* cut, copy, delete and paste fragments of video files
* save video fragments as separate files
* insert one video file into another file of the same format

Edit file tags (metadata) for all supported media formats

Extract and save audio stream as a separate file

Extract and save video stream as a separate file

Add/Replace audio stream in video files

Save a video frame as a bitmap (*.bmp) file




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




7 reviews, Showing 1 to 7 reviews


I used to use this a lot, but like a lot of editing tools it is limited to key frames which severely restricts the outcome you want e.g an unwanted frame then becomes a bigger deleted section or jump cut in a video project. Also the review about mismatched video frames per second is true. Unless your source and the clip you want to insert is a imperfect match it will never work. That said I've had clips from a project source and the source itself, only to get rejected as a mismatch during the process.

Review by Mark on Aug 13, 2019 Version: 5.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




Ive always liked this software as it does a fine job at removing unwanted parts of a video, but only recently I learned its defect at inserting a clip. Say for instance your H264 video frame rate runs at 23.976 according to MediaInfo and you want to insert a new file to it(despite having exact encoding compression settings!)it may be still rejected saying 'your original file is 23.97599 and your second is 23.976, so you have to re-encode both source and clip as well.

That said other editors such as Boilsoft throw up this error message as well. I've even had two exact frame rates with Machete and also still get your encoding compression settings do not match, despite re-encoding the source and additional file to the same parameters. Like I said Machete is good for deleting unwanted parts of a video, but pretty useless at inserting clips to your source with the same the same attributes. I once did this inserting a video clip with TMPGenc Express, but forgot how I'd managed to do it.


Review by Gordy on Jan 20, 2019 Version: 5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Truly excellent program. The lite is okay, but limited in formats, but I got full version, worth the cost. For its tiny size does exactly what those massive bloatware program installers do too. Lifesaver for video editing!

Review by xtro on Dec 31, 2018 Version: 5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I give Machete 5 points on everything.

This program is PERFECT for basic editing of MP4 files. This is exactly what I need. Because does its work on keyframes only it is lossless and instant.

Complex requirements, like fading between clips, adjusting audio, and special effects will require complex, slow-slow-slow, image degrading resampling software. But you are working with a single file format, and you only need to extract, add, reorder, or remove at keyframes, is all you need is Machete.

It is tiny -- just 4mB. And it does its work instantly. The user interface is dead simple.

Skip back and forth at the keyframes to choose your cutting points. Drop marks on your cutting point(s) and the selection is marked on a timeline bar. Then insert a clip, erase a section, save a section as a clip. The video is displayed above the bar, at a choice of sizes. It edits multiple file types and audio too.

Machete is well worth $20. I love having this clean, lightweight editing tool on my desktop.



Review by Terry on Oct 9, 2018 Version: v5.0 build 11 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




It only cuts on key frames.
It does not appear to support reading or saving cut files so it doesn't work with programs that identify where commercials are in the movie file.
It DOES work with h.264 with variable frame rate! But I need frame accurate cutting (not key-frame cutting).


Review by davidk21770 on Oct 30, 2013 Version: 4.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




I bought this software, I LOVE IT! I use Machete for FLV and MP4 editing. Also for MP3! And it make really true cuts! Previously I tried the following programs:

Free Video Dub - this is without any flexible playback (it is the most horrible playing) and can't work with MP4 as it should be. (My mobile phone have QuickTime MP4 video with audio compression SAMR).

Cute Video Dub - output video show 3 seconds black screen at beginning of video! It does not support my MP4 too! It can only Trim, not remove unwanted cuts.

SolveigMM Video Splitter - it warning me about audio in MP4, even this it work. But does not support FLV (AVC/H264) versus their description in website! It show me corrupt input video from several years!

My MP4Box GUI - required Netframe and FLV is not supported.

Machete - work with all described, except one only format! Except MOV. But i am using QuickTime Player for this.
In other words - MACHETE is the most functional program I've seen for editing without re-encode! The most luxury modern program! It worth the money! Thank You Machete! :))


Review by kermit2 on Feb 6, 2013 Version: 4.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very easy to use, took literally a few seconds to figure out.

Review by valiantzz on Feb 14, 2011 Version: 4.6 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10


7 reviews, Showing 1 to 7 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com