Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for Machete

10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


This is very confusing to me: just discovered *here* that development of Machete had ceased (apparently), which was news to me. It only shows a version 5.0, dating back to 2018. That is now echoed in the changelog at the MacheteSoft site. Yet I'm nearly certain that I obtained Build 77 from their site, released in early 2020. (But I'm not seeing it their now . . . ?) And you can find a Build 88 elsewhere online, which became available in late 2020.

I think this light duty video editor was arguably the best of the simple, basic ones that only cut on keyframes -- which was fine for most of my daily usage. Results were pretty good overall, although some video files / formats presented problems that it could not adequately handle. MKVs could be highly variable, depending on what was in the container. I just cut out and saved a sequence out of an x265 HEVC video episode: the video came out as intended, but minus any soundtrack. With some other sources, there could be sync problems, or aggressive pops / clicks / nasty sound artifacts. With some videos, I had to convert them to another format first, in order for Machete to be able to work on it. In most cases though the results were good enough for me to keep me using it. There was probably no other video editor I've seen that had such a close-to-zero learning curve, where you could just start using it immediately. In contrast, the full-fledged editors are a fairly advanced course of study.

On the downside, they never supported .MPG / MPEG-2 formats, or dealing with DVD VOBs: for that you'd be much better off doing your clip extraction with the good 'ol DVD-Shrink' Re-Author mode. The Machete license was quite inexpensive. However, any company response or support was effectively nonexistent. I would have liked to see them continuing the program development . . . but am left wondering WHERE these post-2018 builds are coming from ?


Review by Seeker47 on Mar 2, 2021 Version: 5.0 Build 77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I had 2 identical clips fp/s and Machete still threw up a warning saying mismatched clips. This is useless software! Also having to edit at key frames is so annoying.

Review by Paulo on Jul 23, 2020 Version: 5.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by suburbanrealvote on Dec 20, 2019 Version: 5.0 build 44 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I used to use this a lot, but like a lot of editing tools it is limited to key frames which severely restricts the outcome you want e.g an unwanted frame then becomes a bigger deleted section or jump cut in a video project. Also the review about mismatched video frames per second is true. Unless your source and the clip you want to insert is a imperfect match it will never work. That said I've had clips from a project source and the source itself, only to get rejected as a mismatch during the process.

Review by Mark on Aug 13, 2019 Version: 5.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




Ive always liked this software as it does a fine job at removing unwanted parts of a video, but only recently I learned its defect at inserting a clip. Say for instance your H264 video frame rate runs at 23.976 according to MediaInfo and you want to insert a new file to it(despite having exact encoding compression settings!)it may be still rejected saying 'your original file is 23.97599 and your second is 23.976, so you have to re-encode both source and clip as well.

That said other editors such as Boilsoft throw up this error message as well. I've even had two exact frame rates with Machete and also still get your encoding compression settings do not match, despite re-encoding the source and additional file to the same parameters. Like I said Machete is good for deleting unwanted parts of a video, but pretty useless at inserting clips to your source with the same the same attributes. I once did this inserting a video clip with TMPGenc Express, but forgot how I'd managed to do it.


Review by Gordy on Jan 20, 2019 Version: 5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Truly excellent program. The lite is okay, but limited in formats, but I got full version, worth the cost. For its tiny size does exactly what those massive bloatware program installers do too. Lifesaver for video editing!

Review by xtro on Dec 31, 2018 Version: 5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I give Machete 5 points on everything.

This program is PERFECT for basic editing of MP4 files. This is exactly what I need. Because does its work on keyframes only it is lossless and instant.

Complex requirements, like fading between clips, adjusting audio, and special effects will require complex, slow-slow-slow, image degrading resampling software. But you are working with a single file format, and you only need to extract, add, reorder, or remove at keyframes, is all you need is Machete.

It is tiny -- just 4mB. And it does its work instantly. The user interface is dead simple.

Skip back and forth at the keyframes to choose your cutting points. Drop marks on your cutting point(s) and the selection is marked on a timeline bar. Then insert a clip, erase a section, save a section as a clip. The video is displayed above the bar, at a choice of sizes. It edits multiple file types and audio too.

Machete is well worth $20. I love having this clean, lightweight editing tool on my desktop.


Review by Terry on Oct 9, 2018 Version: v5.0 build 11 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




It only cuts on key frames.
It does not appear to support reading or saving cut files so it doesn't work with programs that identify where commercials are in the movie file.
It DOES work with h.264 with variable frame rate! But I need frame accurate cutting (not key-frame cutting).


Review by davidk21770 on Oct 30, 2013 Version: 4.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




I bought this software, I LOVE IT! I use Machete for FLV and MP4 editing. Also for MP3! And it make really true cuts! Previously I tried the following programs:

Free Video Dub - this is without any flexible playback (it is the most horrible playing) and can't work with MP4 as it should be. (My mobile phone have QuickTime MP4 video with audio compression SAMR).

Cute Video Dub - output video show 3 seconds black screen at beginning of video! It does not support my MP4 too! It can only Trim, not remove unwanted cuts.

SolveigMM Video Splitter - it warning me about audio in MP4, even this it work. But does not support FLV (AVC/H264) versus their description in website! It show me corrupt input video from several years!

My MP4Box GUI - required Netframe and FLV is not supported.

Machete - work with all described, except one only format! Except MOV. But i am using QuickTime Player for this.
In other words - MACHETE is the most functional program I've seen for editing without re-encode! The most luxury modern program! It worth the money! Thank You Machete! :))


Review by kermit2 on Feb 6, 2013 Version: 4.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very easy to use, took literally a few seconds to figure out.

Review by valiantzz on Feb 14, 2011 Version: 4.6 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com