Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
MPEG4 Modifier modifies a MPEG-4 ASP video (AVI with XviD, DivX) without re-encoding (change aspect ratio, edit userdata, remove or add packed bitstream, and change interlaced field order). It can also show information about the video such as the amount of I/P/S/B-VOPs used, whether or not QPel/GMC were used, etc. Requires .NET Framework 2.0.

9.3/10
14 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

MPEG4 Modifier screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

1.4.6 (January 11, 2015)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download MPEG4 Modifier 1.4.6  81KB  Win  Portable




Download old versions


Download MPEG4 Modifier old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


1.4.6 (2015-Jan-10):

Marked as system DPI aware to fix blurry UI with high DPI settings.
Changed license to MIT (was GPL v2).

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

MPEG4 Modifier, MPEG4Modifier, mpeg modifier, mpegmodifier



Download MPEG4 Modifier Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




14 reviews, Showing 1 to 14 reviews


Thanks, this helped me out :)

Review by Paul on Mar 7, 2018 Version: 1.4.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




please, this soft for 3gp???

Review by Angel on Nov 17, 2017 Version: 1.4.6 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Angel on Nov 17, 2017 Version: 1.4.6 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool is just what I've been looking for
one thing is there a way to use batch when processing multi files?


Review by Somethingelse- on Sep 14, 2014 Version: 1.4.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




this is a great tool, the only bad thing is that... I,m having trouble with avi high definition files.
they have more then 2 gigabytes, and I don,t think this tool supportīs it.

my files are usually in 720p resolution, e use divx plus converter to convert my mkv ( h264 )
to avi ( divx + ac3 or mp3 sound )
because my memup media player only supportīs avi hd files ( xvid or divx )
it doesn't supports h264

and i hould like to change the aspect ratio to 16:9 in ( avi hd )
but the tool gives me a error...

on regular 700mb, standard resolution avi files the program works fine.

i hope that someone improve this program, to keep track of modern high definition files.

xvid or divx support today up to 1920x1080 resolution, itīs a bloody shame, to see a movie with an aspect ratio of 2.35.1 in a 16:9 TV ( I see it, with black bars )

if the avi is on standard size and resolution I can easily change to full-screen 16:9
go to " display ar" choose 16:9 and click save file :-) ( no black bars )

this is a one of kind tool, congratulations to the author


Review by sintronics on Dec 9, 2011 Version: v1.4.4 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool does have a CLI version so you can easily create a batch file and process
as many as you'd like. Check http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=117553


Review by virtualdoobmon on Nov 16, 2011 Version: 1.4.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The main drawback is lack of queue function. Would be great to process hundreds of videos with one click, now each video mus be loaded separately. But anyway very useful tol.

Review by ralf07 on Nov 16, 2011 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I tried so many programs like abcavi to correct the aspect ratio of a downloaded avi file but without any success. Then I stumbled upon Mp4modifier and it did in 2 seconds flat what I have been trying for so many days. Just great.

Review by vidalien on Jul 24, 2008 Version: 1.4.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




i used it to change the aspect ratio of an XVID AVI - just clicked on the aspect ratio i wanted it to be, & name of file to save it as, little progress bar took less than a minute. worked great. im presuming the unpacking of the bitstream would be just as easy. great stuff, does exactly what I wanted it to. Thanks.

Review by the elz on Jul 18, 2008 Version: 1.4.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I want to thank the authors of this MPEG4Modifier for solving my problem. I had an AVI in an incorrect aspect ratio. I used VLC and modified the playback until I found an acceptable aspect ratio, the download and ran this tool and it quickly created a version of the file that works perfectly. Thank you.

Review by timmer545 on Oct 17, 2007 Version: 1.4.4 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Tried using this program with the hope I could change the FPS without having to reencode. Unfortunately, the options are pretty limited and basic, so I wasn't able to use it to achieve the FPS I wanted. It would be a great help if the program offered more flexibility, such as an option to switch to other frame rates like 23.976.

Still, the program is useful and it works.


Review by isaacj on Dec 8, 2006 Version: 1.4.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I use this tool primarily for the purpose of making TV Eps compliant with my Zensonic DVD/MPEG4 player.

While MPEG4 Modifier is absolutely indispensable, in my view it has a couple of shortcomings, and could do with a simple cosmetic (and ergonomic) enhancement.

Shortcomings:
1: To determine if audio is not correctly aligned with video frames, I have to use Gspot. If the Audio needs re-alignment I have to use AVIMux_GUI to correct it. Would it be possible to have MPEG4 Modifier add this funcionality as a feature?
2: MPRG4 Modifier shows if an AVI has GMC or Qpel. If it does, I have to re-encode the episode so it becomes Standalone MPEG4 player compliant. Are there any plans to add the ability to fix the GMC and Qpel problem within MPEG4 Modifier?

Enhancement:
It's just a little thing, but considering the amount of screen real estate available these days, why have the "Video Info" as a separate popup? There's not that much info there that it couldn't be all on the first screen. It would be much more convenient!

The author has no way to contact him to make suggestions. I hope he reads these comments.

Thanks for a really useful utility.


Review by HotShot03 on Feb 26, 2005 Version: v1.31 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Excellent program for unpacking avi files.

As mentioned previously, version 1.2.0 seemed to have a couple of issues, leaving 1.1.0 being the choice for most. However, the latest version seems to be stable, and very slick with its new progress bar.


Review by rich_jtg on Jan 29, 2005 Version: 1.3.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




been using this (version 1.2.0) to unpack bitstreams on xvids for use on my yamada 6600 player, which cause jumpy playback, does this very well indeed and is a simple process check the bix and change the "p" to a "n" in the user data box by clicking edit and resaving the file 5minute job, only problem is with this version its gives me a no dummy n-vop error message aobut 50% of the time, so i have to go back to using version 1.1.0 whic is why i rate it 5 for functionality but over all between the 2 versions ive been able to get the job done 100% of the time

Review by §kipTracer65 on Nov 20, 2004 Version: 1.2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


14 reviews, Showing 1 to 14 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com