Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try DVDFab and copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
HC is a free MPEG2 Encoder. Input can be a d2v project or input using Avisynth. 2 pass VBR encoding. Variable GOP structure dependent of the video content or fixed GOP structure. Scene change detection. Pre-programmed matrices or use your own matrices. Restart possibility to run the second pass again. Bitrate control: average and max bitrate can be set.

Freeware
OS: Windows
File size: 2.1MB
Portable version
Old versions
Version history
9.1/10
43 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

HC Encoder screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

0.28 21-12-2015 (December 21, 2015)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download HC Encoder 0.28 21-12-2015  2.1MB  Win  Portable




Download old versions


Download HC Encoder old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads

Download HCbatchgui here, it will allow the user to save ini files for use in batch encoding and will automatically generate a batch file and start the encoding process for you.



Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Release 21-12-2015

- needs Avisynth 2.6 RC1 or higher
- support for mod8 resolutions
- as usual some bugfixes

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to HC Encoder


bbMPEG



TMPGEnc



TMPGEnc Plus



TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works







Guides and How to's


HC Guide

- Read

HCbatchGUI user guide = Batch process video and audio

- Read

How to Batch Process with HCEnc

- Read

How to capture video and create a PAL DVD from it

- Read

How to encode an Avi to dvd ready video and audio Using HCenc and Aften

- Read

How to Encode Womble Mpeg Video Wizard projects with HCenc

- Read

HC Encoder video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here




Acronyms / Also Known As

hcbatch,hcenc,hcgui, hc encoder, hcencoder



Download HC Encoder Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




43 reviews, Showing 1 to 43 reviews


Fast, awesome results, allows deviating from specs and works on all my OS's to include wine and win8 x64. Thanks author!

Review by dannyboy48888 on Sep 10, 2015 Version: 0.28 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




tried to make it work on my WIN8 64-bit System... no Chance ... every try leads to an immediate crash

Review by papcom on Mar 10, 2015 Version: hcenc 027 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




Please ignore my previous comment, I have no idea of why the fixed 0.27 build first refused to work but now is working as it should 0_o Encoding to 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 @ 1920x1080 are OK ~~ so far, at least.

Review by El Heggunte on Oct 12, 2014 Version: 0.27.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Worse than below. For some "lucky" users, the new beta (2014-10-11) works under XP, but it does not talk to Avisynth anymore :/

Review by El Heggunte on Oct 11, 2014 Version: 0.27 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Version 0.27 beta 1 does not work with Windows XP,
it just returns the error message "HCenc_027 is not a valid Win32 application".


Review by El Heggunte on Oct 8, 2014 Version: 0.27 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Updates are much appreciated.
It seems like the author is braking his head for BD compatibility.
Rated 10 out 10 coz of features plus FREE.
Keep the GooD ShoW RuNNiG.
Thanks!
:)


Review by Bonie81 on Jun 18, 2011 Version: 0.26 beta OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




just tried HCEnc026_Beta and noticed few thing.
1) Disabling DeadZone to 0 0 by loading custome.ini file is not working.
(Checking other parameters too which loads to fail from custom.ini per HcEnc PDF manual).
2) using some buit-in matrices, do not results in expected luminance and chrominance. as compared to HcEnc 023.

Hope author will look into this.


Review by Bonie81 on Jun 16, 2011 Version: 026beta OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




My first encodes with 0.26 Beta worked great, but I've also stumbled upon source material where HcEnc encodes peaks at bitrates higher than the stated maximum bitrate. With a maximum bitrate set to 7950kbit/s and average to the same it peaks at slightly above 9000kbit/s. This was on a Pentium 4 I haven't used before, I'm reencoding on my usual computer (AMD X2) now to see if this problem persists.

Review by VonOben on May 9, 2011 Version: 0.26 Beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Nice and simple to use MPEG2 video encoder.
Request HC025 Author to check (Not pretty sure, if it is a bug or not)
1) Settings 1 ---> Interlacing Option ---> (@) Progressive
Chroma Sampling ---> (@) Progressive
must disable all interlacing options and should not generate output with following headers,
Scan type : Progressive
Scan order : Bottom Field First


Review by Bonie81 on Nov 6, 2010 Version: HC025 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




arguably The best mpeg encoder out there, but does not produce proper interlaced video (that's why I decided to overall score it 9). But again, one of the best mpeg encoders available. Better than most of the ones you pay for. HC Enc and avisynth - a must have mix!

Review by videodan on Oct 19, 2010 Version: 2.5 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Version 0.24 is not a beta anymore :-)

http://hank315.nl/


Review by El Heggunte on Sep 10, 2010 Version: 0.24 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hi.
Now the release doesn't show any problems during WinRAR extraction; Avira Antivir doesn't find any virus. All works fine.
Thankx for the update :)


Review by neverdied on Aug 8, 2010 Version: HC Enc 0.24 Beta 05-08-2010 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Those are false positives. Hank is using a packer to get the size down and some antivirus are flagging that. He is soon going to release a new update so that antivirus won't raise the flag.

See the conversation here regarding just this subject.
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1422524#post1422524


Review by freebird73717 on Aug 3, 2010 Version: 0.24 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




My Avira gave me the same alert, this never happened before.
I don't know what to do(use it or not), ill do some online scanning too, just to make shore.


Review by pirej on Aug 3, 2010 Version: 0.24 Beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hi.
I've tried to download and unpack HC Enc 0.24 31-07-2010 release, but during exctact with WinRAR, my Avira Antivir Personal has found two trojans:

[IMG]http://i28.tinypic.com/2zq8rj5.png[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i27.tinypic.com/21181zp.png[/IMG]

I've never seen this problem in previuos versions, then I'm still using the release created on the fourth of April, 2010 which appear 100% cleaned and working.
Could you clean ".exe" files from your latest beta release, please?
Thankx for all.


Review by neverdied on Aug 3, 2010 Version: HC enc 0.24 beta 31-07-2010 release OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




simple fast encoder that produces awesome results. uses avisynth as the backend which keeps size down and make pretty much anything a possible source. Enough options to tweak that you won't ever need another mpeg-2 encoder. Take the time to learn avisynth (or cheat and use megui for file processing and import the avs file into hcenc...) and ditch your other mpeg-2 encoders!

Review by dannyboy48888 on Apr 7, 2010 Version: .24 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I owe a "thank's" !,
for this free encoder which gives a proffesional quality, it's fast, it has been updated often, saves me from ..."some time !" with the option "file-size calculation", and it's simple to use.
THANK YOU !!!


Review by chrchr on Mar 31, 2010 Version: 023 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great Program!
But the actual versions do not have a RESTART function anymore!
Don't know why this great option was eliminated :-(


Review by safran64 on Nov 28, 2009 Version: 0.24 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Still my favorite mpeg encoder. Gives high quality results. Beta 024 is a great step for new functions like one pass vbr encoding. Can't wait for the final release of 024. Keep up the great work hank315! Your efforts are greatly appreciated!

Review by freebird73717 on Jan 24, 2009 Version: 024 beta OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




As it supports the "retro" OS Win98/SE I love it, even though it is slower. HC's quality in Win98/SE is excellent. CCE Basic on WinXP box and HC on Win98 box, no complaints.

Review by gkar on Jan 22, 2009 Version: .23 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Somewhat slow but great results in quality.

Review by loster on Jan 22, 2009 Version: 0.23 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




On 8000 CBR with the slowest/highest quality settings in TMPGEnc, it took about 12 hours for a ~2 hour video. With 8000max bit rate,8000average bit rate, and best quality mode, HCEnc took about 6 hours. That's pretty cool, but I would say that I liked being able to do CBR with TMPGEnc and you can't really do that with HCEnc.

Review by awesomer on Jul 29, 2008 Version: 0.23 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Used encoder with DVD-RB Pro in highest quality mode and took only about 8% longer to encode a dvd vs. CCE basic. Can't see any difference in quality. Using DVD-RB Pro it used both my cores and was simultaneously processing 2 instances of video. Excellent.

Review by GKar on Dec 22, 2007 Version: .22 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If you do lots of batch encodes you might look at HCbatchGUI. It is a batch gui for HCenc, DGpulldown, and Aften. It will batch encode your video, batch process dgpulldown, and encode your audio to AC3 with Aften. Check out the development thread. http://forum.videohelp.com/topic336128.html

Check the link below for a user guide for HCbatchGUI.


Review by freebird73717 on Oct 4, 2007 Version: 0.21 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Very good free encoder. Will do very comparable quality to the commercial encoders. Check my guide for help batch processing.

Review by freebird73717 on Jul 3, 2007 Version: .21 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great encoder.
Easy to use.
Have just changed d2mp to support-it: great results.


Review by d2mp on Jun 4, 2007 Version: 0.21 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Very nice program. Gives high quality output, and it's very easy to use. Definitely worth the money (actually, it's free, which makes it even more valuable)!

@FrontierDK: IMHO avi import is redundant. Set up your files with AviSynth and then import the avs. This way you can also import filters for effects if needed.


Review by leghorn on Apr 2, 2007 Version: 0.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This really is a great MPEG2 encoder, probably the best quality amongst freeware encoders in the world. The only thing missing is the obvious lack of .AVI import. Hank, when is that going to be added? Or even better, multiple (sequential) .AVI import?

Review by FrontierDK on Apr 2, 2007 Version: 1.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




WOW! Very impressive encoder, I hadn't done MPEG-2 encoding in quite some time and did not have TMPGEnc 2.5 installed anymore, I also had misplaced my custom profiles (for TMPGEnc)so I thought I'd give HC a try. I frameserved a project from VirtualDub, created a simple AviSynth Script and dumped it into HC and it created a great looking file that rivals anything I've used before. If you aren't sure of the settings to use the "Make DVD Compliant" button will fix you up quite nicely. Incredibly Great Freeware App !!

Review by GMaq on Mar 30, 2007 Version: v0.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




HCenc is a great freeware MPEG-2 DVD spec video encoder. Version 0.20 fixed some errors with the auto-GOP setting and also fixed the NTSC 3:2 Pulldown option.



Review by FulciLives on Feb 25, 2007 Version: 0.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Once you learn how to create a few simple avisyth scripts it is easy to use and it does a great job.

Review by videomaniac on Feb 24, 2007 Version: 0.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent results from a program that is unobtrusive on the system, has a very small file-size, and delivers the results; only less than maybe half an hour to learn the options and be using it. GREAT!

Review by video_magic on Feb 23, 2007 Version: 0.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great encoder,to the previous poster,just change gop to 12 and you won't get that error with tmpg dvd author.

Review by johns0 on Dec 5, 2006 Version: 0.19.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been a longtime TMPGEnc user and wanted to try my hand at Avisynth for a while.

Using the scripts generated by The FilmMachine as a starter template, I created a script to take my DV copy of an old Italian horror flick (recorded from the Independent Film Channel with a Canopus ADVC-100), convert to YV12, do an IVTC, crop the black letterbox bars off the top and bottom, and resize to 720x480.

I then loaded this script into HC and entered the max and average bitrates given by this site's bitrate calculator, picked Best profile, chose 16x9 aspect ratio, enabled pulldown, scene change, autogop, closed gops, and preview.

Just under 5 hours later, I had an m2v file that I couldn't tell apart from the original broadcast (that was still sitting on my DirecTivo).

For a comparison, I loaded the same script into TMPGEnc Plus and tweaked the settings to be identical to HC's. Results were also very hard to tell apart from the original broadcast. But TMPGEnc took over 12 hours for the same job.

Have to knock one point off HC's functionality though. When I loaded the final m2v file into TMPGEnc DVD Author, TDA gave me an error message stating the GOPs are too long. The m2v from TMPGEnc Plus did not give this error message.


Review by Robert Simandl on Nov 13, 2006 Version: 0.19.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great encoder for me using DVD-Rebuilder. Only downside is it is slow, but very good quality.

Review by gkar on Oct 19, 2006 Version: 0.19.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I used this to encode a Digicam clip. The output m2v file is good. Only problem is it reports time wrongly. Exactly half of what it should be.

Review by vcmohan on Jul 25, 2006 Version: 018 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




You can't get any sound from HC. You'll need to use another program (BeSweet, QuEnc with an AviSynth script, etc...).

Review by bucho on Jul 9, 2006 Version: 0.18 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I could on first try encode a 30 minute DV NTSC clip in about one and half hours. The output quality is good. But I lost all sound. Hope there is a way to get sound.

Review by vcmohan on Jul 8, 2006 Version: 018 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Ease of use: 2
Latest version gets rid of gui and has you use ini files for inputting everything. This would not be so bad if there was ANY documentation. Instead all I could find was a guide for older version with gui.

Functionality: 7
Quick, but lacks many useful options.

Value for money: 10
Cant beat free.

Overall score: 5
Lack of documentation/gui really hurts this tool.


Review by tonemgub on Nov 28, 2005 Version: 0.1.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Simply the best free MPEG2 encoder out there. Better quality AND faster encoding than any other free one or even the low-priced pay ones. GUI is simple and easy to use. Runs about 3X faster than TMPGEnc Plus on a P4. Small drawbacks: Lacks some minor features like setting pulldown flags and CBR encoding and requires learning/using Avisynth to work from any source but DVD (which requires DGMPGDec). The rare hang/crash is to be expected in a beta, but development is ongoing.

Review by mrmoody on Jun 22, 2005 Version: 0.15beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Yes, as the previous comment said, is a very good encoder. I not tested to much, but provide very good quality. Can be used with Avi2Dvd and this way you don't need to know how to write AviSynth scripts.

Review by kameleonoff on Apr 23, 2005 Version: 0.13 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I couldn't get the earlier versions of this app to work, but the latest as of this writing (beta 0.12a)works very well. You need to feed it an AVISynth script. Here's the one I used:

#Divx HD Source
AviSource("d:\good.avi")
converttoyv12()
Lanczos4Resize(720,480)

It does a two pass DVD compliant .M2V encode pretty quickly, but more importantly, the quality is VERY good - easily competes with the big boys. Nice and crisp images in the resulting MPEG2 files. Also has a batch encoding executable.

Unfortunately, many folks will shy away from having to install AVISynth and creating an .AVS file to feed into HC. Too bad. It is worth the effort.


Review by soopafresh on Mar 28, 2005 Version: beta 0.12a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


43 reviews, Showing 1 to 43 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com