Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for DivX Author

10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


First impressions are ok but this tool is very slow especially on my ageing xp 2600. Another problem is that it is an encode and author tool. You cant take existing clips and simply build up a nice shiny menu for them. Maybe they added the encoder part to justify the price. I would have thought it would make sense for the menus etc to be in std xml or even HTML so all manner of software could create them. But no its proprietary stuff. needs a speed increase (at least 2x ) and more automation. Will stick wid it 4 a while....

Review by RabidDog on Feb 26, 2007 Version: 1.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 6/10




Great program and easy to use. It is a little slow but not that bad it is no slower than tmpeg dvd author which is what this software is based on.

Also works on Vista. Program can be had for half off if you look around there are coupons, i bought it for $20.

the bad.... only does DivX...TMPGEnc DVD Author 3 with DivX will soon be out and it will do DivX plus DVD's.


Review by David9799 on Feb 10, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Expensive and slow.

Review by wwjd on Feb 5, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




the created divx file created in DivX Author is not detected by external divx player. the divxplayer open op his one file browser,and shows the divx files, all chapters dont work and there is no menu visable. how ever watching the divx on my computer all chapter and menu's work. The thing is that if this program should create menu's, it would be more than great if they could appear when playing the divx dvd on my external dvd player.

Review by marvink25 on Feb 5, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




It took over 20 hours to encode a two hour movie ( on balanced setting) on my machine. The quality wasn't any better than using Divx converter or Dr Divx.. The menus are nice, but is anyone actually going to wait that long to encode a movie with menus? I know I won't..Save your money..

Review by headhunter03 on Feb 2, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




It does not matter what you compare it to, it is slow and it does not handle HD DivX. The features for menus and so on are nice but it is too expense for what you get.

Review by bits on Feb 1, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




This is a tool to convert dvd to divx,,, ConvertXtoDVD is a program to convert divx to dvd so you can not compare.

Review by dvdevil on Feb 1, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




It is easy to use(if you use TMPGenc DVD Author you will will quickly feel at home) and has some long awaited features for DivX authoring. However, encoding is very slow as compared to Dr DivX for example, it does not do DivX HD and IMO it is priced too high especially since it appears that in order to get DivX HD you will need to purchase/upgrade to DVD Author 3 with DivX HD...very cheesey

Review by videomaniac on Jan 31, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 5/10




GREAT program. i have been waiting for something like this for some time now. the next step i would like to see happen is a complete dvd to divx ultra tool. to convert an entire dvd it divx ultra as an exact copy. original menus and all.

Review by stackner on Jan 31, 2007 Version: 1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




In my opinion...
WOW for an initial version, it is very promising product.

Pros:

Stable until now.
Everything (or close to it) is customizable.
Fantastic previewer of the final output.
Very easy to use.
Template driven or manual.

Cons:
Much slower than ConvertXtoDVD for converting the Divx files. (That explains my 5 on the Overall score)
Does not support Double Layer DVD's yet.
Lacks the possibility of leaving the Divx files as is without any changes.

As for quality of output (which is very important) I will continue testing before I comment.


Review by JustOneOfMany on Jan 20, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 5/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com