Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, Hulu etc! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
DivX Author

NEW VERSION 1.5

NO LONGER DEVELOPED
DivX Author is the world's first full-featured DivX authoring program that puts you in complete control of your DivX content creation. With easy to use wizards and formatting templates, DivX Author lets you manage every detail of the video creation process including the design of advanced interactive features from professional-style animated menu screens to discrete chapter points, multiple subtitles and audio tracks.

Trialware $20
OS: Windows
File size: 47MB
Version history
6.0/10
10 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

DivX Author screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

1.5 (August 29, 2007)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download DivX Author 1.5  47MB  Win



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $20)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


DivX Author Version 1.5
New:

* Updated user interface skin
* Added offline product registration
* Revised help files
* Workflow improvements for:
o Add Content Wizard
o In-place editing for movie and track names
o Video trimming
o DVD title set preview

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's



Tool features - Convert




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


First impressions are ok but this tool is very slow especially on my ageing xp 2600. Another problem is that it is an encode and author tool. You cant take existing clips and simply build up a nice shiny menu for them. Maybe they added the encoder part to justify the price. I would have thought it would make sense for the menus etc to be in std xml or even HTML so all manner of software could create them. But no its proprietary stuff. needs a speed increase (at least 2x ) and more automation. Will stick wid it 4 a while....

Review by RabidDog on Feb 26, 2007 Version: 1.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 6/10




Great program and easy to use. It is a little slow but not that bad it is no slower than tmpeg dvd author which is what this software is based on.

Also works on Vista. Program can be had for half off if you look around there are coupons, i bought it for $20.

the bad.... only does DivX...TMPGEnc DVD Author 3 with DivX will soon be out and it will do DivX plus DVD's.


Review by David9799 on Feb 10, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Expensive and slow.

Review by wwjd on Feb 5, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




the created divx file created in DivX Author is not detected by external divx player. the divxplayer open op his one file browser,and shows the divx files, all chapters dont work and there is no menu visable. how ever watching the divx on my computer all chapter and menu's work. The thing is that if this program should create menu's, it would be more than great if they could appear when playing the divx dvd on my external dvd player.

Review by marvink25 on Feb 5, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




It took over 20 hours to encode a two hour movie ( on balanced setting) on my machine. The quality wasn't any better than using Divx converter or Dr Divx.. The menus are nice, but is anyone actually going to wait that long to encode a movie with menus? I know I won't..Save your money..

Review by headhunter03 on Feb 2, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




It does not matter what you compare it to, it is slow and it does not handle HD DivX. The features for menus and so on are nice but it is too expense for what you get.

Review by bits on Feb 1, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




This is a tool to convert dvd to divx,,, ConvertXtoDVD is a program to convert divx to dvd so you can not compare.

Review by dvdevil on Feb 1, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




It is easy to use(if you use TMPGenc DVD Author you will will quickly feel at home) and has some long awaited features for DivX authoring. However, encoding is very slow as compared to Dr DivX for example, it does not do DivX HD and IMO it is priced too high especially since it appears that in order to get DivX HD you will need to purchase/upgrade to DVD Author 3 with DivX HD...very cheesey

Review by videomaniac on Jan 31, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 5/10




GREAT program. i have been waiting for something like this for some time now. the next step i would like to see happen is a complete dvd to divx ultra tool. to convert an entire dvd it divx ultra as an exact copy. original menus and all.

Review by stackner on Jan 31, 2007 Version: 1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




In my opinion...
WOW for an initial version, it is very promising product.

Pros:

Stable until now.
Everything (or close to it) is customizable.
Fantastic previewer of the final output.
Very easy to use.
Template driven or manual.

Cons:
Much slower than ConvertXtoDVD for converting the Divx files. (That explains my 5 on the Overall score)
Does not support Double Layer DVD's yet.
Lacks the possibility of leaving the Divx files as is without any changes.

As for quality of output (which is very important) I will continue testing before I comment.


Review by JustOneOfMany on Jan 20, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 5/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com