Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for DivFix++

11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews


Made a dramatic improvement to the soundtrack of my AVI file correcting some whines and noises and restored it to the original quality of the VHS tape the AVI was converted from.

Found loads of errors in the file and apparantly fixed them.

Error reporting needs confirmation during the work and some messages seem to be small errors iin the program.

Doesn't prompt you for default player or default output path, and you should have ticked 'keep original file' not to have it deleted by mistake (but this is already default)

It's really a gem for an AVI file in trouble as freebee.


Review by heismark on Dec 12, 2010 Version: 0.34 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This program just saved my bacon. I work for a television station and had shot a local TV show to a hard drive. After shooting I had waited about 2 weeks before getting around to editing. Needless to say one of my AVI Clips was broken, not a problem because I could go to my backup tape right? Well I couldn't find my backup tape anywhere. After searching google for AVI repair software, and after downloading 3 other free programs I came across this program. Fixed my AVI good as new. This is a new tool for my video tool box. Thank you for creating this program and releasing it free.

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!


Review by StudlyChris on May 27, 2009 Version: 0.31 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It ALMOST works but not quite rederiving keyframes on an xvid AVI. Refer this thread http://forum.videohelp.com/topic363395.html (sample downloadable from there) where the output .AVI from this program still has issues whereas the output from the VirtualDub "re-derive keyframes" during open works. If this program worked, I'd use it since it has commandline capabilities. Pity. Can it be fixed ?

Review by halsboss on Jan 30, 2009 Version: 0.31 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Drag and drop is now working, however you HAVE to set a default player in preferences. After the re-index, it will launch the file in this player, and when you close the player, it DELETES the fixed file!

Apart from this, it appears to work fine


Review by skinm on Jun 29, 2008 Version: 0.03a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Hi, I am writer of this program...

There could be some problems at program, but if you not remind me about problems, how can I try to fix them? I am aware of some problems
(Like image corruption after fix...
"After conversion, for such files, we get mixture of pictures from different time frames showing up together abruptly. "
)
and will be fixed soon next release I hope.

But if you got any crash, report it. Even you can request a feature :)
use this link:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_id=170344&atid=853920



Review by Death_Knight_(tm) on Nov 29, 2006 Version: 0.26 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I had DivFix1.13 on my computer and I used it from time to time and Worked FINE. So, when I came across DivFix++ 0.25 & 0.26 by accident and I read that it is "Supposed" to be the New & Improved of my old DivFix1.13 ... I got all excited.
Well, I used both versions and they both crashed halfway into my problem AVI file. Then I used VDub1.70 straight out ... and fixed the playback but the Audio and Video where way out of sink. So, I have unistalled DivFix++ and installled my old handy DivFix1.13 for now.
I will wait until more practical versions pop-up.
THANKS to the AUTHOR(s) for this program since I have no clue how to write one.


Review by gonwk on Nov 21, 2006 Version: 0.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 1/10




I had great hopes about this program. However, found that it really messes up DivX or XviD files which have some areas with corrupted video (not the index, mind you). After conversion, for such files, we get mixture of pictures from different time frames showing up together abruptly.

Review by ark on Oct 9, 2006 Version: 0.25 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Well, I went back and tested the latest version against my original comments. The file size issue is now fixed, however drag n drop still does not work (essential for my use). I also tested the performance of a 500MB file against DivFix 1.10. DivFix++ took 30 secs DivFix 1.10 took 18 secs. As this was a "re-write of DivFix 1.10 due to ... low performance", perhaps this issue needs to be looked at again by the author.

I could see little difference between the two resultant files in terms of quality. The original was simply a truncated file with no other flaws, but a truly corrupted file may give different results.

Still sticking with 1.10 until D'n'D is fixed


Review by skinm on Oct 7, 2006 Version: 0.25 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I "A-B"'d DivFix++ against both DivFix and DivFix beta 1.13. DivFix++ produced a better result than both of the others-- in all categories, not to mention it sure does "look" the part moreso than the others which are themed off of win98-- but that's just a bonus. The output was "brighter", and had waaayyy less artifacts than its 'older brothers'.
Hands down, i'm going forward w/ my 'conversion project' using DivFix++ for any broken AVI's [in addition to my old favorite circa 2003, http://www.video-fixer.com which by my eye produced quality equal-to or bettern than DivFix++, but failed on a file which DivFix++ succeeded! so gotta have both].

Additionally, before we make harsh judgments for or against the status of this tool-- in comparison to ANY other, shouldn't we first determine: is DivFix++ a product of the same developer-- as is implied, i believe in the comment below [when i posted this]-- as that of "DivFix [1.10]"? If it's not, and the application-name was merely 'borrowed', then wouldn't it be the same as stating "until Mainconcept improves, i'm sticking w/ the older version, TMPGEnc"-- after, the developer of this tool does specifically state that it is a complete "rewrite", which if true would mean that it is in fact a completely different tool. on the other hand, we have this grey area, most likely because that [assumed] author states due to the bugs of DivFix. kinda crazy. (sorry for the lengthy commentary)


Review by e-nation on Oct 6, 2006 Version: DivFixpp v0.25 Win i386 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Hey! This is not DivFix. It's DivFix++.
"Try fist and vote it later!"


Review by Death_Knight_(tm) on Aug 13, 2006 Version: 0.25 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Not sure if this is a direct replacement for DivFix 1.10, but if it is, it is not up to scratch. You could drag n drop a partial AVI on to the old version and it would fix the file automatically - not possible with the new version. New version creates a full version of the patial AVI file (ie fills the rest of the file with nothing), which then causes MPC to crash when it hits the Null part of the file.

Old version may have had bugs, but I will be sticking with it until this app is updated.


Review by skinm on Jul 17, 2006 Version: 0.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10


11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com