Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for DIKO

36 reviews, Showing 1 to 36 reviews


As you can see below, i actually liked this program but every new version what comes out is just going one step back and very buggy and unreliable (especially the authoring stage). So you end up messing about trying to fix the mess your left with. Also diko still struggles with files types (especially mkv,rm,qt).

Could have been a good program and am a gold diko user, moved on myself and use dvd flick.



Review by Paul_G on Mar 11, 2009 Version: 2.46 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Excellently intuitive, worked first time, including making a simple menu screen. Tip for that - when selected, the buttons make quite a large highlight, so leave em some room, or it'll look ugly. But that's my fault. Only seeming glitch was that after customising the menu screen (which is in an external program, but then all of it is, really) it kicked up an error so i assumed my work was lost, but apparently not.

Review by dez93_2000 on Jul 29, 2008 Version: 2.35 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Instead of improving, DIKO is getting worse, lol. My recommendation is ConvertXtoDVD.
it's so much faster, nicer, not wasting ur time chasing around ....


Review by bachphi on Jun 3, 2008 Version: 2.22 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 1/10




I'm VMesquita, DIKO developer.
This ClamWin AV warning is a false positive. The same issue happened with AVAST and F-secure a while ago:
http://www.vmesquita.com/forum/index.php?topic=8663.0
Please forward the supposedlly infected file to Clanwin team so they can fix this.
Anyone with doubts please feel free to contact me on vmesquita.com forums.


Review by vmesquita287 on Jun 3, 2008 Version: 2.35 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No matter, ricardouk, if they wanna stick with this crashy piece of crap, by all means, let them. If you can't use ConvertXtoDVD, because u don't have 40 bucks or other means, then I recommend AVI2dvd (slow, but stable) or DVDflick (RRRRRReally slow, but it delivers stable)
Of course, you should try it out for yourself, but my advice:
go to any IRC channel/chat room and ask around, this is the fastest way how to get anything (only ask for legal stuff of course!)
And think about the fact that now 10 out of 28 people think this DIKO is crashy crap.
but if it works for you, more power to you.
Personally I have my doubts about the better quality of DIKO, if it is better, I doubt it clearly visible. And if you're obsessive compulsive about those things, you know like the audio geeks who SWEAR they can hear the difference between loudspeaker on metal standards vs those on ceramic standards filled with SubSaharan desert sand (I kid you not), then this MIGHT be the tool for you ... if those claims about better quality are true. I have no way of knowing because ... IT CRASHED ALL THE TIME!!

And of course squeezing 6 hrs into 2 gigs is bad, they deliberately missed my point there. The point I'm making is that you CAN do that, so INdirectly you can adjust the bitrate. With ConvertXtoDVD you can also put half an hour on a 4.5 gig DVD, but is that useful? Not really, but you have that choice.


Review by kneegrow on Nov 9, 2007 Version: 2.12 crashmore OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Powerpc calling retarted to someone just because of his different opinion is a bit to much. one thing is for sure i tried almost every version of diko and i think nearly all versions crashed because of an error. i agree that 6 hours on a dvd is not a good idea but calling retarted? also the comments here show that he wasnt the only one, the term crash is to often refered. want something stable without crashes: get FAVC or AVS2DVD.



Review by ricardouk on Nov 7, 2007 Version: 2.32 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




Previous poster kneegrow is either blind, retarded or most likely, both. ConvertX2DVD at any setting comes nowhere near the quality produced by DIKO with any encoder. CX2D has its strengths, high quality encodes are not one of them. kneegrow, 6hrs on 2gig? WTF are you talking about? Thats ridiculous and the results would only make my dogs eyes bleed.

paul_g makes a good comment: Try diko yourself, good tool with good configuration setting and certainly aimed at people who want good quality without fiddling with lots of programs.


Review by powerpc123 on Nov 7, 2007 Version: 2.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I've counted 9 negative comments out of 28, almost a third. One or two were just half negative, like "what you expect for a freebie", but still.
Those ratios aren't there for convertxtodvd.
Everything I said was my EXPERIENCE, and I am not alone in that.
Downside with CX2D is that the menus are simple.
But with DIKO the problems are:
- it just doesn't work, it's very crashy, buggy
- maybe it does work, but then only after extremely long and hard and complicated work. I couldn't get it to work, and I've learned DVDlabPro, so ....
- the quality is not that great compared to other one-clickers.

you CAN adjust the bitrate INdirectly in CX2D, by adjusting the size, you can squeeze 6 hours onto 2.0 gigs


Review by kneegrow on Nov 7, 2007 Version: 212 & 226 gold OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 1/10




While I don't agree with everything here, the software is a bit to "crashy" for me since it has to, and relies on to many other pieces of software, which don't always work right.

Review by dougwx on Aug 25, 2007 Version: new OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




Kneegrow is blatantly lying about diko, everything mentioned is just bullshit and it totally unacceptable. he is slamming diko while recommending convertxtodvd?, diko does hell of a lot more plus it does not force set bitrates and 720 x 480/576 only resolution. Also convertxtodvd is only aimed at getting a video file to dvd in the fastest time possible.

Try diko yourself, good tool with good configuration setting and certainly aimed at people who want good quality without fiddling with lots of programs.


Review by paul_g on Aug 24, 2007 Version: 2.32 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I've been using this great software for the past two years with very few problems. It has the consistent ability to process AVI's that other packages will not process. Any problems I've encountered using this software can be attributed directly to problematic source AVI files. This software has, for me, produced higher quality DVD's/MPG/VOB's etc.. than any of the so called "one click" free trial or retail packages. I would enjoy seeing a more user friendly menu creation and AC3 encoding. Keep up the great work!!!

Review by powerpc123 on Aug 22, 2007 Version: 2.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Wow, this thing RRRRRREALLY S....KS b@@@@LL$ BIGTIME!!!
Especially the Gold version. There is no configurability, very little, and that just serves to annoy the user. I'm better off taking night classes learning DVD lab pro, than this thing.
You can not go back to correct something, addings subtitles is unfindable, or maybe it adds only subs which have the movie name? If so, then does that mean no 2nd language?
you can only go forward, if you make a mistake in your settings you have to start all over again. Maybe it can stop the authoring it self but the settings and configurations is F-ing bad. The Diko menu creator only allows strange vertical buttons, which CAN be altered, but always jump back at the convenient moment.
I honestly don't see how people can be making one movie with this.
Even when it's free, it has no value for money, since learning about it, and getting thrown out 50 times really irritates the hell out of me.
Also a beauty: There is no ALT TAB use!! You can only reach the program via the system tray!! Never in my life have I seen such an inaccesible and arrogant program!!

And I didn't even get around to the authoring itself!! Don't waste your time, get ConvertX2dvd. There's a sale at the store.

I got this coz i thought there would be nice menus, NOT so!!



Review by kneegrow on Aug 16, 2007 Version: 2.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 2/10




new version got more bugs than older one. TheFilmMachine is a whole a lot better at this time.

Review by BachPhi on Feb 24, 2007 Version: 2.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 5/10




Used this to make an xsvcd. Did 5 pass cce encode. Quality of the video was not any better than using Nero Vision 4 or TMPG--infact there was a lot of pixelation. The audio was completely out of sync with the video. This tool is a nice idea but has too many bugs, doesn't save anytime and its output is not good. Wait for an update.

Review by hgh on Jan 16, 2007 Version: 2.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 6/10




I have been using this since version 2.12. I have not had a whole lot os success woth the latest updates, so I'm still on 2.23. IT IS STILL FAIRLY BUGGY! The problems can be worked out with a little google searching, and some help from forums like the one here and on the main site. My suggestion is that if you can install it and get it to work with little or no tweaking, then use it. If not, skip it. If I had used all the time spent trying to fix DIKO on learning to encode with TMPGENC, I'd have been better off I think. I'm trying to learn TMPGENC now with little luck. Overall, now that I've Ironed out the bugs with my current version of DIKO, I'm giving it an overall score of 10. I use it for probably at least 1 movie per day, I just think the time I've spent ironing oiut the bugs could've been applied better elsewhere.
Nonetheless, My SKVCD's come out looking and sounding great. My first experience with kvcd was with TUS, and sometimes I'll encode using DIKO from the same source they used, and my encode will turn out better.
A little rambling, but there is my opinion. And don't forget people, this program is FREEWARE! If it really bothers you that it won't work like it is suppossed too, you can always go to the store and purchase these little discs called DVDs. The require NO conversion, and there is a pretty good chance your DVD player will play them! :)


Review by ahiah9 on Oct 25, 2006 Version: 2.23 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




this was a waste of time and energy. it seemed to be going thru a bunch of operations till it got to authoring. then it caused a problem with yahoo messenger and shut it down. then it said it had problems and shut itself down?? this was tried twice with same video. and when i opened temp files, i played the videos it created and the sound was miles behind the video. of all the programs ive tried this is the worst. no wonder its free.

Review by bandit55 on Oct 24, 2006 Version: 2.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I did not find this tool easy to use. It did not work for me at all. With so many other comments in the positive I was suprised that I had/have so much difficulty. I have used many other tools without any trouble. I will stick to them. I did try numerous encoders but could not get a acceptable result. I also got errors with the audio encoding even after I checked the installation. I did not attempt to delve any deeper or spend a lot of time sorting it out as other freeware tools are easier to use and work out of the box. The only reason I am giving it 7 for value for money is because it is free.

Review by nsdn on May 13, 2006 Version: 2.23 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 2/10




I think this is an excellent tool providing exceptional quality using freeware encoders.

Review by Dav88 on May 6, 2006 Version: 2.23 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is by far the most functional, easy to use, tool I have found to do all-in-one avi (divx/xvid) to svcd converting. It has excellent conversion quality! You just set it up, let it run, burn, and voila! You're watching your stuff on your tv through your dvd player! Could not be better!

Review by bulletproof on Apr 25, 2006 Version: 2.23 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I think that it still needs improvement. The concept of how its should work is great. The integration of authoring pakage is also good (dvdstyler). But it still neew work. After preparing 2 DVDs, each with 6 episodes I got the same problem. The output files were not 100% compliant(GOP too long). That also cause DVDtyler not to launch so I ended up Authoring with TDA. Still my DVDs are not copletetly in compliance and that cause some playback problems. They will have to stay like that because I don't feel like doing the 20+ hrs marathon per disk to try to fix them. They claim that on episodic DVD you can fit up to 10 per disk but at 6 I notice that cuality was not as good as the source.
I will move on to another program and when they fix this probably try it again. Like I said before their idea of the integration is good.
A little wish list for the authors.
1. work on a way to minimice ecoding time.
2. Make ISO creation possible. That would help better to test before burning.
Good Luck...


Review by A_51 on Apr 9, 2006 Version: 2.23 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




just install (exit virus scanner for this download), afterwards you run the (free) program ad aware and you will have no probs

Review by demoile on Nov 6, 2005 Version: diko OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Didnt get past download stage. As soon as I click to run the installer, up pops Kaspersky telling me "Object contains a trojan", namely Trojan-Dropper.win32.agent.aal

Anyone had this?


Review by pitivpah on Nov 6, 2005 Version: 2.12 OS: WinXP Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




I've always liked DIKO but its handling of menus has been limited. Now version 2.11 uses DVDStyler to create menus. That makes for a very powerful combination for converting from AVI to a DVD. I've used DIKO to put over 4 hours of video on a single DVD with very good results. It makes all the adjustments automatically, which is very nice.

Review by danzeb on Sep 28, 2005 Version: 2.11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Dead link to 0.78 beta1 (needed for upgrade) in download section - Get it from forum here >

http://www.vmesquita.com/forum/index.php?topic=1740.0


Review by deckard8 on Aug 17, 2005 Version: 0.78b3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This has got to be the ultimate DVD/AVI to KSVCD/KDVD software! You can use an AVI source, or use a raw DVD Rip. Like it says, everything you need to create standard complient MPEG-II streams comes with it, including DVD Decrypter, to rip DVDs to your hard drive, and DVD2AVI, which you can use to quickly and easily create the D2V files DIKO uses to process a DVD rip and create the MPEG-II video. Once the D2V files are created in the same directory as the ripped DVD, just select them in DIKO and go! On my 1.1 Ghz Athlon, Encoding a full length movie takes about 4 hours. The one thing that makes DIKO so great though, is that it compresses most full length movies (depending on the movies length) into the space of one SVCD (around 700 MB), requiring only 1 CD per movie, while still keeping high quality audio and video! In the case that a movie is extra long, you can change the media count to 2, and it automatically splits the MPEG-II video into 2 seperate files for you, moviename.mpeg.cut.1 and moviename.mpeg.cut.2. Just rename the files and you are ready to burn.
I used to use DVDx to make SVCD's, but now I use DIKO and nothing else. It is excellent, easy to use software that produces compact, high quality video streams that can be burned as a SVCD and played on most modern DVD players. GET THIS SOFTWARE!


Review by Tech74 on Aug 17, 2005 Version: .078b3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is probably the best Avi to DVD conversion Prog.
If you use it with Cinema Craft Encoder & EclCCe it is a very fast prog, and superb quality!
You can encode serveral files at once , an ad subs to and burn them to DVD!
My DVD files got a little to large, but a sloved that vid DVD - Shrink. Great Prog! I can strongly recomend it to everyone who is going to convert Avi to DVD!


Review by Björne on Jun 8, 2005 Version: 078B3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is a great tool for converting AVI to a DVD. If you have only one AVI and don't need a menu there is nothing to do but enter the file name and click convert.
If you need a menu use the utility DIKO Menu Creator and enter the JPG into Menu Background and the PNG file into Menu Subpicture.

I've put 3 and 4 AVIs on a DVD. It is completely automatic and will even burn to DVD if you have DVD Decrypter. If it continues to work well after a few more converts I'll buy the gold version.

If it was easier to create menus I would give it a 10.


Review by danzeb on May 3, 2005 Version: .78 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Newest version, 0.78 beta 3, plus update, didn't work out: got some messages about missing dll's and so on and so forth.
Tried older version (0.77) and worked FINE. Wasn't that fast, (4 hrs for 2 700mb avi's into 1 dvd) but good job, so won't affect rating....


Review by toepes on Apr 11, 2005 Version: 0.78 beta 3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Well, we all want the best quality of our selfmade DVDs. So I have been trying out lots and lots of programs, guides... things, whatever and I am getting close to being a tryout specialist. The results are between great and bad and often I do get what I don't expect, there is no ideal solution. The other thing is time. Yes, I do have a fast PC and lots of RAM, still I do not want to wait an eternity for quality to show and I do also not want to study informatics to get the best possible results. I am using DIKO to get mpeg2 out of avi. To obtain the best quality from DIKO and avoid problems I turn audio off (as far as this is possible, it creates 0 bit audio files then, but no errors), decode any codec to uncompressed with VIRTUAL DUB, so quality is untouched yet, but readability for DIKO is much better ( I know, you need 1 GB of Disc space per minute, but nowadays this should be no problem). Then I convert the uncompressed video with DIKO using CCE to mpeg2 and... wow! Using minimum space and maximum speed (faster than realtime on my PC I get great quality, better than TMPG X-PRESS, which I used all the time before). Try it out and you will be surprised. DIKO is a great and easy to use tool.

Review by boon23 on Apr 7, 2005 Version: diko 0.79 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent program. I have tried most of the other All-in Ones programs around with varying results using them to convert my Xvid movie files to DVD. The main issues I have been trying to address have been the compatibility with different stand alone DVD players, quality of output, speed of conversion, aspect ratio problems, etc.
The results I have obtained using DIKO have been the biz. It's easy to use, fairly quick, gives very good quality output, no compatibility issues so far and is free to boot.
For someone like me who is not very technical this program rocks.


Review by mesaboogieman on Mar 9, 2005 Version: .78 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This software is fab. It takes a little longer to encode (2 hours for a 45 min episode) but the output is terrific. Only thing I'd like to see is it encoding to AC3 using one of the free tools.
Excellent quality and FREE - what more do you want


Review by bigeck on Feb 26, 2005 Version: 0.77 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I gave this an 8 Value for the money, simply because it's free. The frustration of attempting to use this with any non-standard avi, and the EXTREMELY long encoding times, will probably cause users to look elsewhere.
Tmpgenc (using kdvd templates) encoded the avi in ~33 minutes.
D.I.K.O (presumably using the same template) encoded the same avi in 4 hours 3 minutes.
Mainconcept (using a custom template similar to the ones above) encoded the same avi in ~22 minutes.
A great tool for beginners who want one or two movies, without having to learn anything.


Review by reboot on Jan 9, 2005 Version: 0.77 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




i'm still a newbie regarding converting. The only other tool i've ever used is Tmpgenc. Harddrive full and quickly need some space. My mission was to burn my xvid's onto dvd. Came on here, did a search, read the comments, saw there was a guide i could follow and away we go - downloaded it, installed it and played with it.

Result - well easy to use and TBH, may not have needed that guide. Guide said something about 3 to 8 hours, but took me total about 4 hours (p4, 2.8, 1024ram and 1 and a half hour movie). A bit long for me but with the output i received, i'm content. interface wasnt nice to look at, was just a log and another window. Told me everything it was doing.

Did see that BeSweet told me a ogg.dll wasnt there (error so started panicking as i had already spent 2 hours on it) but came out fine. no synch probems. crystal clear etc.

Thanks guys for this. gracias


Review by gremlyn on Nov 19, 2004 Version: 0.77 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




First of all I would Like to say a thank you to this site and to everone else who has contributed help and information about programs,it has helped me so much in getting the perfect home made dvd.
I have tried all of the all in one converters,with every encoder possible,i have tested clips and adjusted this and adjusted that and so on,all of them would do something or not let me do something to my liking, i am not moaning about these programs,they all work very well and if it was not for these people who make them i would be stuck.{i could not design one}Any way i have been messing around for about 1 year now,and i have been using DIKO to convert my xvids etc, i have produced several films to dvd format using the in built programs,and now i have films with very good picture quality and the sound is in perfect sync.So thank goodness for DIKO.oh yes it does take a long time to encode but it is worth it.
I hope this gives a brief insight into DIKO for anybody who is interested


Review by trucker on Nov 7, 2004 Version: diko 077 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I like this Tool, I found it to convert Xvid to DVD very easy to use and got no errors. Audio was right on, NO out of sycn Problems. Plus it played on several player i tried. It does what is says and gave me no problems. Plus getting it free was
even better. 60 min video took around 1 hour and 20 min to convert. It does take more hard drive space than other converts i tried, As in the end result of the converstion. Best one i tried so far. At least when i got done and tried to play the DVD it played. I tried DVD santa, TMPGE, and Film machine,and
TMPGE X Press, They all Gave me nothing but errors or after converstion would not play on DVD player.


Review by jh61408 on Sep 20, 2004 Version: diko free 0.76 beta 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Used this to convert an DivX movie i had got my hnds on. After several attempts using other softwear, i tried this....took a bit of time but it was well worth the wait. Using all the freeware software, this is unbeleivable value for money. Use Baldrick's guide to set it up and hey presto. Quality output was very very good. My main problem before was the sound, not with this. I like it and will definitely use it again.

Review by losferwords on Aug 1, 2004 Version: 0.73 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


36 reviews, Showing 1 to 36 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com