Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for CamStudio

15 reviews, Showing 1 to 15 reviews


I discovered that even the zip version puts some little files "loose" (not in a directory) in my "C:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data" directory.

I don't like this behavior. This version is gone from my computers. I'll stick with good old 2.0.


Review by jgg on Oct 26, 2013 Version: 2.7.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




As a follow-up, I've just set up build 316 on my 64-bit Win 7 machine.

The first problem was that the program wouldn't start until I installed a 2010 distribution of Windows C++. I did a bit of research first and found that - for some reason - it only works if you install the 32-bit version from the Microsoft website.

Anyway, after installing the C++, it started as expected. One thing I forgot to mention in my previous post is that you immediately get a "missing CamSudio.cfg. file" error with this version (it's a known bug that's apparently been fixed in the newest version), but you can just click it away.

I repeated pretty much the same test as on the XP computer, and it worked fine, too, though - again - the avi file is really big: over 450mb for 19 sec at about 75% of the total monitor size (21-inch monitor).

I found one thing very objectionable: As mentioned, I'm using a zip version, so I merely copied the entire directory from my Win XP machine (32 bit) to the 64-bit Win 7 machine. For some reason, every time I start the program on the Win 7 machine, I get a message that a newer version is available. This doesn't happen on the XP machine.

I looked around in the menus, but I wasn't able to find anywhere to tell the program not to check for updates.

For this reason, I've decided to get rid of the program on my Win 7 machine. If I desperately need to make a screen movie, I've still got good old v.2.0.



Review by jgg on Oct 24, 2013 Version: 2.7.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




I've used version 2.0 for a long time, but I decided to give the new version a try.

I didn't like the "adware" concept, so I went to the forum on the developer's site to see what types of comments had been made.

I then came across the fact that there's a recent build (2.7.2 r316, whereas the newest is 326) which is available in zip format, and I went for it right away. You can get it here.
http://screencasttutorial.org/Release_r316.zip

There was no adware at all. The quick test I did worked OK. It was about 50 seconds and saved in avi format. I got some stuff off my desktop, but then I went to YouTube and was actually able to record the video with no trouble at all. I set CamStudio to record from my mike, and the end quality was really pretty good.

The only "problem" was that the output file was HUGE! -> over 1gb for 50 seconds!!!! However, I then converted it to mp4 with WinFF, and it got it down to about 2mb - what a difference. There must be a ton of redundancy in the avi movie because the subjective impression of the mp4 version looked every bit as good as the giant avi version.

Then, just for the heck of it, I decided to take a look at the very latest version (build r326). To make a long story short, the only "extra" it asked to install was - I think - Opera, but it was clearly marked, and I simply clicked "no thanks" or whatever it said.

The installation worked fine on my 32-bit win XP machine. The brief test I did didn't work, though. I basically attempted to do what I had described above, but I used the mp4 option. For some reason, it didn't work; I got the error message that the conversion module couldn't be launched. To be honest, I didn't care to find out why not and simply uninstalled the program - a process that was both fast and, as far as I can see, clean. I haven't run CCleaner yet, but I'll be interested to see if any junk was left.

Final verdict: I'm going to keep the 316 build on my computer and plan to try it on my 64-bit Win 7 machine, too.

I don't use screen capture very often, but this tool seems handy to have. The old 2.0 works OK, but the quality of the video in the newer version was better. As for the internal mp4 capability, I don't really need it. There are enough conversion tools around.


Review by jgg on Oct 23, 2013 Version: 2.7.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The installer stalls at 93%. What junk is this?

Review by pepegot1 on Feb 4, 2013 Version: 2.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Version 2.6 has been removed from my computer and I will stay with version 2.0 for now. It is a good program. Problems V 2.6 only: User defined directory to save file does not work. It saves it to the program files directory-not a good thing.

Review by pepegot1 on Jul 24, 2010 Version: 2.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Apparently the feature "Record from speakers" (a.k.a "What-U-Hear") doesn't work if you're using the kX audio drivers for the older Sound Blaster cards.

Review by El Heggunte on Jan 11, 2010 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Very high quality program for recording any activity or video on your computer screen to save to AVI format. The swf export is very poor but the avi is quite good.

Review by LilPeck on Apr 4, 2008 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Superb! Easy! No bout adout it, first class software, great results and you can't beat the price.

Review by fredfillis on Aug 30, 2007 Version: 2.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This excellent GNU GPL licensed project is now hosted with SourceForge and MajorGeek and its 2.0 version is available here:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=131922
http://www.majorgeeks.com/CamStudio_d4646.html

Their http://www.camstudio.org/ is up and running, even though they have been overrun- almost- by corporate greediness! Check the site and read the story.

The developer's blog: http://www.nickthegeek.com/
He's asking for well-deserved donations.


Review by IMpactHorse on Jan 31, 2006 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Version 2.0 does not seem to be available at this link (http://www.swftools.com/tool-details.php?tool=8162413051) but I was able to make 2.1 functional after posting a cry for help on this site. The capture failed to produce any video and the result was always a black screen until video hardware acceleration was turned off. After a capture I turned it back on ... kind of awkward, but functional.

Review by Gritz on Jun 5, 2005 Version: 2.1.051 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Better snap it up quick if you can still find it. I couldn't find it on the rendersoft website any more.

Review by torisdad on Mar 4, 2004 Version: 2.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Here is a place that you can download version 2.0. Most other sites that have 2.0 link actually give you the new version.

http://www.swftools.com/tool-details.php?tool=8162413051


Review by tke852 on Jan 26, 2004 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Version 2.0 is very good. It records to any codec installed and comes with SWF Producer to convert the recorded AVI into flash.

Version 2.1 appears to be less functional - SWF Producer is gone. It's offered in RoboDemo but that's not free.
It now requires you to register with an email address.


Review by torisdad on Nov 25, 2003 Version: 2.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great program... It's free

Review by mahinda on Oct 19, 2003 Version: 2.1 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A very good and easy to use program. the only problem i got wheni installed this program,is when i minimized any or all opened windows on my desktop, it wont show on the taskbar.so the only way to see the windows again is to go to the taskmanager and bring it to front. Im not sure if Camcorder causes this. but its the only thing i installed. so i have to uninstall it by using system restore. since uninstalling alone wont fix the problem.

Review by miki on Jul 9, 2003 Version: 0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10


15 reviews, Showing 1 to 15 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com