Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab DRM Removal and copy iTunes movies, music / remove iTunes DRM protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for BeSweet

25 reviews, Showing 1 to 25 reviews


@playbook: This is a portable program. These use packers and unconventional installers which confuse some antivirus packages. Note how the more mainstream antivirus programs accept the program as clean. ClamAV in your link (and the other one I've never heard of)are probably reporting a 'false positive'.

Review by transporterfan on Jun 28, 2015 Version: 1.5b31, GUI 0.7b4 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Virustotal reports the BeSweet.exe as a virus

https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/6b66c88beff213f2f348eda4d7f4a74d2cf793f000b71b7e344779a5ff0a350e/analysis/1435522029/

The developers website also no longer exists.

I can't find a clean version of BeSweet.exe anywhere.


Review by playbook on Jun 28, 2015 Version: 1.5b31 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




Finally figured out how to use this program and split my ac3 into *6 channels, didn't output any audio in the 4 channels only 2...but I'm willing to let that slide for now until I find a different alternative so I would NOT recommend this for splitting audio. Eac3to may be better but I have yet to try it.

Review by dj4uk6cjm on Feb 3, 2014 Version: 1.5b31 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The most dificult Gui of all programs I know. Where on hell do I click at the end after I chosed all; input output,dll etc...Eac3to have the "Run commend line" for instance. Doesn't this Gui have such button? Where is their help site? I get a blank site. By the way does this program create higher quality AC3 5.1 then eac3to?, because if not I stay with eac3to, doing all in one go DTS to AC3 448. I tried this Gui several times in 2 years with no success. I'm very crossed with it.

Review by mkvonly on Jul 3, 2011 Version: 1.5b31 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




Completely horrible free program! You have to decipher how to get it to work. Try again, guys! There are way other better programs for your needs like FFMPEGGUI.

Review by SuperFist on Nov 12, 2009 Version: ALL OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




This software has served its purpose well, but the mp3 encoding options is seriously dated. Even if you update the LAME.dll, it still can't use modern command line parameters (-v6 -vbr-new, etc.). The command lines should ideally be transparent, but I suppose BeSweet must have some kind of arcane command interpreter for LAME. Not a great idea.

This would be the most powerful audio tool of all, if only someone would bother to update it once in a while.


Review by Demogorgo on Jan 10, 2009 Version: 1.5b31 OS: Vista Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Works great and has lots of useful features. However, it defintely requires some knowledge to use well. I only use a small subset of its functions regularly, mainly encoding PCM WAV to AC3 and now and then adjusting audio to match a different vdeo framerate than the original source video.

Review by fischkopf on Nov 20, 2008 Version: 0.2.2.30338 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Brilliant audio transcoding tool, nothing else is as fast or produces such high quality encodes.

Niggles/minor faults: can't make head nor tail of the regular GUI. Use the BeLight GUI instead: it's straightforward and user friendly.

You will need to search for the ac3enc.dll and mp2enc.dll separately as they don't come with the download for some reason, copyright most likely.


Review by Chug a Bug on Feb 21, 2007 Version: 1,5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




May be i am too dumb for this tool. I have tried a hundred times to figure out ac3->mp3 conversion but no dice. The GUI is just way too abstract. I find headac3he an excellent tool for the ac3->mp3 jobs.

Review by vidalien on Sep 3, 2005 Version: 1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




I tried this tool for converting WAV to AC3 and the results were very disapointing.The sound of the AC3 file was distorted and crackled.I'm sure I configured everything correctly.This is one of the only reasons I wanted this tool,but it cannot give good results so I have deleted it from my Program Files.
Sorry,but its no good for WAV to AC3 IMO!


Review by laspis59 on Sep 2, 2005 Version: 1.5 b30 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 4/10




There's only one word to describe this incredible piece of software. Excellent! The ones who dislike this software, do not know at all what they're saying. After you install the azid codec for the AC-3 files to go from AC-3 to wav and indicate the place where other codecs included are, eveything works fine. It's a little bit difficult the first time, but as soon as you realize how the whole thing works...wow, this apllc. rocks. I've restored many files thanks to BeSweet. It sure is a must have tool!!!

Review by Cunhambebe on Jun 25, 2004 Version: 0.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Well, I only used it for WAV to AC3 and it transcoded the file fine except for erroring out and crashing saying that the output filename could not be found, yet still did the job just fine. Seems to be a big bug fix that the developers need to get into gear with and fix immediately!

Review by State of Mind on May 4, 2004 Version: latest OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 5/10




I needed a quick way to convert MP2 to AC3 and I have to say that this program seems to do that well. I noticed that one or two people were having problems with the program running and just bringing up an empty notepad, well I had this problem, but after reading the readme files with the BeSweetGUIv0.6 I found that you have to set up the folders in a certain order and put certain files in them and hey presto it works. I give it only 4 for ease of use because of the GUI interface is not easy, however the wizard works very well. I have to give it 10 for value for money, afterall it is free! One other thing, I downloaded the "Stable version 1.4" and it did not work, I found out this was because "ac3enc.dll" was missing from the zip file, so I downloaded the beta version (ac3enc.dll was in that zip file) and that works just fine. So for something for nothing I can't knock it.

Review by Anthony Challis on May 3, 2004 Version: 1.5b26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Even with the GUI,way too difficult for me to even get it started! Maybe from smoking too much dope in the 70s?!?

Review by farnk on Feb 15, 2004 Version: 1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 2/10




Excellent program that I could not survive without. It has a no-fuss interface, and all the options are in front of you. May be a bit intimidating for the non-tech, but it offers a wide array of options and performs with great speed (compare to SoundForge or others for conversion times).

Quality is excellent, even on the AC3 encodes.

Only "drawback" is Pioneer DV-333 (and similar) players hate the AC3 encode. Since I don't have that player, I don't care. Pioneer flaw to me, not a Besweet error.

Has many advanced options, though some of them are a bit buggy at best. For all normal uses (straight converting, maybe changin few minors things), this is THE SOFTWARE to use.

And the best part? It's free. 100% free.


Review by lordsmurf on Feb 13, 2004 Version: with GUI6 and AC3ENC.DLL OS: WinME Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have only used this program to convert AC3 to wav. If you're familiar with these audio formats, the program is quite easy to use.

Example: You have a music DVD, and you want to extract some songs in AC3 format and make an audio CD. You can then easily convert the AC3 files to wav, change the sampling frequency and burn them to CD.


Review by fedet123 on Feb 12, 2004 Version: 1.5b25 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




In response to previous comments:

I had the same problem when trying to convert AC3 to MP2, before realizing that I needed to click TooLAME button and change setting for encoding engine from TooLAME to MP2Enc.dll. After that all is fine. About Notepad opening: Whenever processing is stopped, completes, or ends abruptly, it always brings up the log in Notepad. Maybe this is what's happening for you. Log notes of the most recent encode (and maybe attempts, too?) will be at the bottom, so you can jump to those using CTRL-END. I think there's a way to turn off logging, if you wish, but I haven't tried.

My own comments:

I'm not a fan of the GUI, but this program certainly does everything I want it to, and quickly at that. It's just something of a struggle to achieve the results I want, whenever I want to do something new.


Review by Father X on Feb 6, 2004 Version: 0.7b2 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




This program does Nothing what its claims it does. Errors Glore. don't waste your time rubish.

Review by siouxmoux on Feb 6, 2004 Version: BeSweet v1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Same problem in Win XP as previously reported. Dont know why. Encoding is started, then I want to check if is using the settings I configure, so I stop it. Doing this, will not allow me to re-set config and re-start encode. After 2 seconds it brings up notepad. Must be a an XP thing with this beta version.

Review by dvwannab on Jan 13, 2004 Version: 1b25 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




Looks like it would get the job done, but it doesn't work on my computer. Sets up ok, but when I push the button to make the conversion nothing happens except it opens windows notebook. How hard can it be to convert ac3 to something else? I can't seem to find anything that will do it.

Review by robley on Jan 11, 2004 Version: v1.5b25, GUI 0.7b2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




Beware! Besweet produces AC3 that is not compatable with Pioneer DVD players! It will work fine on others, but the Pioneer will refuse to process the audio if it is encoded with Besweet. This is acknowledged at the doom9 page.

Review by pedxing on Jan 1, 2004 Version: 1.5b22 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 6/10




This program is excellent for converting between various audio formats. My favorite is the WAV -> AC3, which allows me to author DVDs with Dolby Digital sound. The only downside to this program is slightly difficult to use. The BeSweetGUI makes this easier, however, this interface is crammed and it is hard to find some features. This program is the best audio conversion tool.

Review by evilwarmaster on Dec 27, 2003 Version: 1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I'm sure this is avery powerful tool but it has the interface from hell. Whoever put the GUI on (Danni)? deserves to be shot.
The underlying tool is very good and can transcode almost any to any. It is used in many very good tools but using it via the GUI detracts 100%. Sad but true if it gets a new GUI then it could be great.


Review by rabiddog on Dec 5, 2003 Version: 6b61 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 3/10




Very easy to use. AC3 encoding is a little quiet. I'm not sure why...

Review by ft shark on Oct 6, 2003 Version: 1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Can do almost anything you want for audio, but I've had problems with the quality of the mp2enc engine for layer 2 files and some issues with stability. Overall though it is a great audio encoding program.

Review by donny661 on Jun 15, 2003 Version: 1.4 OS: WinME Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


25 reviews, Showing 1 to 25 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com