Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for Avid Media Composer

7 reviews, Showing 1 to 7 reviews


Rating by PU User on Dec 8, 2021 Version: 2021.9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by PU User on Dec 8, 2021 Version: 2021.9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 9/10




Can a software installer size be any bigger or get more expensive? This is for professionals only and not for casual users. If you are Mr Moneybags then rating would be 10/10!

Review by Ben on Mar 11, 2021 Version: 2021.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




I have decided to try MC nle, the I First version as it is free, even though MC is not as highly regarded as it once was, eve more so now in the Davinci Resolve "era". I must say, after about 3 months of using it, I can no longer walk away from it. My editing got so fast and the what seemed to be very difficult at first, is now a simple, quick fingers plus keyboard dynamic. What is a bit ironic for me is, I managed to get the look I wanted in a few simple color correction moves, as opposed to spending quite a bit of time in Resolve, to get that same look. HOWEVER, I cannot do any "proper", advanced grading, plugins must be used with MC for that.
Having said all this, I will end by mentioning I am strongly considering upgrading to the full version but only when Avid brings down the price, current pricing is not justified, in my humble view.


Review by danivas on Mar 11, 2021 Version: 2021.2.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 8/10




Rating by Paulus on Nov 11, 2018 Version: 2018.9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Some years ago I was using Ulead Media Studio Pro for a large number of videos.
Thereafter Premiere Pro for some time. This summer I edited a number of short videos in Avid Xpress Pro.

It not a product you learn from scratch just by using it. I went through some of the instruction videos at Avids website. They are very good and quite instructive. After watching the videos, using Xpress for editing was quite straightforward.

The most pleasant experence is that Xpress is based on a very good and powerful conceptual model of video editing. The concepts like: Projects, bins, clips, sequences, settings, effects etc are defined just as I feel that they should be for large projects. In addition to using mouse, you kan work very efficiently with keyboard commands. Somehow I just like editing with this stuff. It also does color correction very well.

I have used it for edits in SD format. On my PC (P4 2.8Gh 1.5GB) this runs very smoothly. One reason for the smooth operation is probably that it uses the .MXF file format for media files. Media files can be exported as .mov or .AVI to applictions not reading MXF. My version does not produce MPEG-2 files for DVD. I export the finished edit as MOV-file (in source DV compression) and use TMPGenc for encoding.

The price is steep however, unless you are entitled to an eductional version.


Review by pettereh on Nov 10, 2007 Version: 5.7.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




Avid Xpress DV I would concider to be on par with Vegas Video and Premiere Pro.
Avid Xpress Pro not even listed on this site is as elite as far as advanced NLE applications are concerned. Only dedicated prosumers and professionals looking for something more advanced then the editors mentioned in the above paragraph should enter this steep of a learning curve.


Review by muppet meat on Aug 4, 2004 Version: 4.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


7 reviews, Showing 1 to 7 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com