Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for Auto-Movie-Thumbnailer

11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews


This program is the best GUI I've found for Windows video thumbnail generation but I ran into a problem trying to generate contact sheets for AV1 encoded Youtube videos. I've included a solution below for those who also encounter this problem.

For those using this program who want AV1 video thumbnails, the problem is caused by an outdated MPlayer version which handles the frame extraction using FFmpeg. Therefore it is necessary to replace MPlayer with an updated version. To accomplish this, download MPlayer 1.5 (which is compiled with FFmpeg 5.0) from a trusted source like videohelp. Extract the download and rename MPlayer.exe to AMT-MPlayer.exe. Next open AMT and go to settings->locate executables to find the path where AMT stores itís copy of MPlayer. Replace that version with the new MPlayer 1.5 and Voila, AV1 support!


Review by Clyde on Aug 27, 2022 Version: v13 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This program does exactly what it is supposed to do, no fuss or fooling around. If you are looking for some exotic program that does this or that, move on. You point this program to the folder where the movies(s) reside, let it do it's thing and before you know it you have a set of thumbnails from your video bearing the same name as the video file. How simple can that be?

Review by dvdr_dog on Feb 10, 2022 Version: 12 OS: Windows 11 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by test111 on Dec 31, 2020 Version: latest OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Tried this after using a number of similar software packages and found this to be the most comprehensive, responsive and overall least limiting of them. Great freeware, easily outdoes paid software alternatives.

Review by Jaden on Mar 31, 2020 Version: v12 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Rating by Splaturbate on Sep 11, 2018 Version: 9.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by Rudric on May 31, 2017 Version: 9.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




One of the few programs I've found so far that handles mp4 files (ImageGrabber II does not).
I somehow managed to get it working, a couple of times, months ago, and then I came back to it, tonight, after a long while.
Sadly, I've had nothing but bad news and problems.
1. It says it cannot write to the Temp folder I designated, so I must choose a different one. I've been thru 3 cycles of trying to fix that, and can get a one-time fix, but it's the same problem all over again, the next time I boot the program.
1.5 It is just LOVELY to see that the ONLY way to try to fix that problem is to completely uninstall the entire program, and then reinstall it. Can I please ask: who thought up THAT system?
2. I have done everything possible to get an array of 12 to 15 decent-sized pics. For example, I have deleted every other layout option, leaving only one possible line, with the array I want. But, those efforts makes no difference at all. I always get arrays with about 60 sub-miniature thumbs that are WAAYY too small for what I want.
3. You guys need a simple basic wizard, in your software, to walk people thru the major steps, and to give them some sort of reasonable & realistic chance of actually getting what they want.


Review by engineerer on Apr 21, 2015 Version: 7 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I've just download this tool today. I had about 50 porn short videos (my latest), and I wanted to make thumbnails. Lately, I've done this one by one with Media Player Classic - Home Cinema. I previously used Image Grabber II.NET which is good, but doesn't work on Windows 7 64 bit, neither on a Virtual Windows XP. I've tried other tools about 2 years ago, but i didn't like neither of them in particular... Since this is a new one, I've just installed on my Virtual Windows XP to try. I had MP4, MKV, AVI and WMV, with assorted codecs. I had 100% good thumbnails make. Just Perfect.

To increase speed I chose 6 screen captures for each video. In the "Layout" tab, "Thumbnail Patterns", I just deleted everything except the row where it says "Else", there I enter 6 for "Number of thumbnails", and 3 for "Per Row". Obviously you can choose also the size of the thumbnails. I disable both "Show Preview" and "Enable Log Display" to increase speed (I think!) There's a button "Customize Info Header Labels" where you choose the information you want to display in the images. I didn't make any changes on the "Settings" tab.


Review by joquita on Oct 5, 2013 Version: 4.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It doesn't work for me at all. I tried with different HD video files, and after several minutes of doing 'something' the tool generated no thumbnails.

Review by noemi7 on Oct 17, 2012 Version: 1.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




It is working very well, even can help me to check the integrity of the video file.

But it is not working if your filename has unicode names like Japanese character, it cannot write the thumbnail file at the final stage.


Review by lionvictor on Oct 13, 2012 Version: 1.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Many options which new users may not understand but with defaults it works out of the bag as expected and no additional thumbnail unlike others.

Current installer is clean.


Review by Bjs on Apr 26, 2012 Version: 3.3.8.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews
Visit our sponsors! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2023 videohelp.com