Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for AVS Video Converter

11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews


I have lifetime update and ran update check just for kicks against my 9.4 version when 11.0 was out. It told me I didn't need to update. Limited choice of codecs available. If you want fun select output of FLV then change to WMV and wait for 3 minutes while it thrashes thru your registry.

It works for what it has but $60.00? Nope.


Review by Budman1 on Dec 27, 2018 Version: 11.0.1.632 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 7/10




Very slowly.the program has no presets. The developer does not understand what I mean with presets (medium, fast, faster, veryfast) etc.

Review by Micky on Oct 14, 2017 Version: 10.0.3.613 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 3/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by dragonne on Sep 28, 2017 Version: 10 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




Basically good software, however Codec H.265 not supported in this version. This Codec is e.g. used in Germany for DVB-T2 transmissions.
--> need to wait for newer version which might appear in the future.


Review by artur on Apr 17, 2017 Version: 9.5.1.600 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 3/10




Works OK for most things; I've been using it for several years.
BTW, the $60 price tag covers the whole AVS software suite, not just the video converter. It comes with heaps of other stuff, too.
I've just discovered that it doesn't support H.265 HEVC.
The AVS User forum shows that H.265 support is on the wishlist, but no release date is available as of today (2015-12-05).
Otherwise, it's OK.


Review by Chris4877 on Dec 5, 2015 Version: 9.1.4.574 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




Great tool, that fixed so far the regular audio delays I could had with other softwares.
Mostly lacks two things to make it perfie in the end:

- A proper cropping option (the zoom thing is quite lame for that, I find)
- A job queue (so annoying that you can't plan a 2nd-pass encoding right after the 1st is done..)


Review by FaŮch on Mar 3, 2013 Version: 8.3.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 8/10




Ottimo programma per trasformare in molti formati. Io lo uso principalmente per trasformare gli m2ts (BluRay) in DivX. L'unica cosa a mio avviso che manca è quella che come codec non possegga l'X264 il miglior codec di sempre. Altra cosa che a mio avviso manca, è la possibilità delle 2 pass. Anche se lo trovo nelle impostazioni, non mi riesce di capire come funziona...ammesso che funzioni!

Review by georgeshow on Apr 2, 2012 Version: 8.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




It's very good the apps.

Review by Gunix on Feb 26, 2012 Version: 9.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




Used the trial, fully activated version should be the same...

Pro:
- large number of pre-defined profiles (possibility to create your own)
- 2 modes: simple / extended (with more settings to play with)
- clean easy-to-understand surface
- nice quality

Cons:
- extended mode may be too complicated when tuning settings
- no "copy stream" option (couldn't find this anywhere)

I didn't dig too deep, but simply tried some files for testing and comparison. Prices are tied between reasonable and steep. Anyway, recommended for those who want a "full conversion". No need for me to buy it since it won't copy streams (e.g. convert audio, keep video untouched).


Review by leghorn on Mar 17, 2011 Version: 7.1.3.484 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Although this app has gotten more expensive, it has also gotten better. I just upgraded from version 6 to version 7 and there are lots of improvements on an already great app. More output formats, more predefined output profiles especially for mobile devices, DVD menu creation is much better now with more control and customization allowed. Just a great program.

Review by marioval on Sep 17, 2010 Version: 7.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 10/10




One of the best apps in the "all in one converter" category. Works great for what I need which is converting divx files to svcd. I like that it allows me to hardcode srt subs into my svcd files. This is the only app that I have tried that will create SVCD files that VCDEasy sees as 100% compliant. This app also will convert anything into a DVD with basic menu in about the same amount of time as convertxtodvd (takes slightly longer) but whith much better quality results. One strange thing is that it will not create a menu on DVD unless you create at least one chapter, maybe theres a setting somewhere to change this that I might be missing. Also has a nice timeline based editor to add "special effects". A tad pricey at $50 but I highly recommend this tool.

Review by marioval on Dec 3, 2009 Version: 6.3.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com