Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, Hulu etc! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
AC3Tool

NEW VERSION 1.10

NO LONGER DEVELOPED
Ac3Tool is a tool for AC3 to WAV or MP3 conversion with many usefull options like normalize, dynamic range control, downmix. May require Visual Basic 6 Sp5 Runtimes.

Freeware
OS: Windows
File size: 1.0MB
Old versions
8.1/10
13 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

AC3Tool screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

1.10 (August 12, 2001)



Download


Download AC3Tool 1.10  1.0MB




Download old versions


Download AC3Tool old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


N/A




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's



Tool features - Convert





Acronyms / Also Known As

ac3tool, ac3 tool




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews


Wow, how nice to have a piece of software work correctly, right off.

Converted my ac3 to wav to mp3 straight through, not a single problem.

Comparing the ac3, wav, and mp3 all to an original mp3 shows perfect conversion.

Thanks!


Review by keith20mm on Sep 12, 2012 Version: 2001 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




"If you don't read the text in the first popup while you're installing it, you'll miss the fact that you need to download a file from Microsoft's web site to make it work."

Yes that is an easily overlooked requirement. That is why I read ALL the comments before using something. Used it to convert AC3 to wave, yes the interface is pretty wild but once you figure it out it'll work like magic! This tool saved me from going bald, your results may vary.


Review by Airoc on Jun 10, 2012 Version: 1.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I only tested AC3 Extraction. It requires a file name without spaces or maybe in the old 8.3 format (since it automatically adds the extension it only needs the 8). I'm guessing that the space is what was causing the problems for me since it runs a command line program to do the extraction.

So if you're having problems try a short file name with no spaces and then rename when your done.


Review by deadmann on Oct 27, 2011 Version: 1.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Used it on an audio file which I had demuxed using DVDdecrypter.
Got a 48 kHz WAV file which Nero converted to a standard CD without any trouble.
Worked fine :)


Review by Dufferoon on Jun 16, 2010 Version: 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




worked great for determining the properties of ac3 streams created by my dvd recorders. However I did not use any of the other features

Review by loster on Jan 21, 2008 Version: 1.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The AC3 extraction aspect saved my 10-hour frustrating effort to decode AC3 5.1 track (36 chapters) of Moulin Rouge and put it into something BeLight(GUI) could handle and eventually convert to 2-ch WAV and then audio CD-R. Thank you. When I got into the rhythm of it, streamed AC3 in 5.1 to 2-ch audio CD-R (2 disks) was about one hour. Not bad.

Review by davidson on Jun 15, 2006 Version: June 06 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Uses a bizarre user interface for file selection that seems to date back to Windows 3, and which doesn't allow you to type a file name (or use UNC network paths).

Can't read AC3 streams that are embedded in AVI files or in WAV files.

If you don't read the text in the first popup while you're installing it, you'll miss the fact that you need to download a file from Microsoft's web site to make it work.


Review by julesh on Jul 24, 2005 Version: Unknown (no version no. in about box) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




After trying two other programs (PX3 and HeadAC3he), I finally found a program which pleases me. The output WAV turned out well without any major changes from the source.

Ease: 9 - This program is simple to use. There are tabs that are clearly labeled with their functions.

Functionality: 10 - You can use this program to analyze the statistics of an AC3 file and then convert it to WAV. There are options to modify the volume of each channel. You can extract AC3 sound form VOB files, although the progress report does not tell the percent completed. There are also WAV to MP3 and DivXAudio converters, which I did not use.

Value: 10 - Free.


Review by wikkyhorse on Jul 9, 2005 Version: 1.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool for me! Did exactly what I wanted it to do, AC3 to WAV. It's easy to use(or at least for me) and IT'S FREE~! WOHOO~!

Review by animanga234 on Nov 9, 2004 Version: 1.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Thought it to be a very easy to use utility. Two complaints (One minor one a little worse):

1. Can't go directly from AC3 to MP3. Have to go AC3->Wav->MP3, but since the program is so fast, not that big of a deal.

2. Couldn't (at least I couldn't) rip the AC3 directly from the DVD (Even an unencrypted one). When I tried to rip from dvd (even set output folder to HD so as not to attempt to write the wav to the DVD drive), a dos box would open and then immeadiately close. This would go into a non-stop loop. Only way I could recover was to shut down machine. However if the dvd files were on the HD, this didn't happen. Don't know if it's a program glitch or user error (Hey, I'm only human:)

All in all though, did exactly what it said it does and does it fast as well (and free).


Review by kosekjm on Aug 4, 2004 Version: 1.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




YES YES YES!!!!!!!!!

i actually made it work!!!!!!!! i converted my ac3 to wav no prob with this tool. the quality is good as well. it was a bit confusing at first, but no where near as confusing as that stupid bloody BeSweet program which nearly drove me insane. this program is great if you are like me, and only sorta know what you are doing when it comes to these things.


Review by amie on Feb 14, 2004 Version: 1.10 OS: WinME Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool. Easy to use and it has many functions. It came in very handy.

Review by killereddie24 on Jan 14, 2004 Version: n/a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Can't get this program to do anything.

Review by robley on Jan 11, 2004 Version: n/a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10


13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com