Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker or buy PlayOn (record Netflix) :)

Software Home >


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Comments
x264 Encoder is a free software H264/AVC based video encoder. The x264 CLI is a command line software. x264 is used in several free video converters like Handbrake, Xvid4PSP, StaxRip, RipBot264, MEGUI, Xmedia Recode.

Free software
OS:Windows Mac Linux
Version:r2829
Released:May 23,2017
File size:20MB
9.2/10
16 votes

Rate it




x264 Encoder screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

r2829 (May 23, 2017)




Download


Visit developer's site

Download x264 Encoder r2829  [20MB]  [Win]  [Portable]




Download Mac, Linux, mirror and other versions

Download x264 Encoder r2829 from another mirror site  [Win]

Download x264 Encoder Mac version  [Mac]

Download x264 Encoder Linux version  [Linux]




Supported operating systems

WinWindows MacMac OS LinuxLinux




License

Free software




More information and other downloads

Download x264 old versions here.

Download Komisar's unoffical x264 VFW Codec here or another an unoffical x264 VFW Codec here, use x264 in for example Virtualdub or other that supports Video For Windows(VFW) Codecs. Both encoding and decoding.

x264 Encoder GUIs/Frontends:
Handbrake, Xvid4PSP, StaxRip, RipBot264, VidCoder, MEGUI, Xmedia Recode.




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


41 hours agox86: Only enable AVX-512 in 8-bit mode master
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sun, 14 May 2017 22:18:36 +0000 (00:18 +0200)]
x86: Only enable AVX-512 in 8-bit mode

41 hours agox86: AVX-512 cabac_block_residual
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Thu, 11 May 2017 22:43:43 +0000 (00:43 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 cabac_block_residual

41 hours agox86: AVX-512 pixel_sad_x3 and pixel_sad_x4
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Wed, 10 May 2017 16:36:59 +0000 (18:36 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 pixel_sad_x3 and pixel_sad_x4

Covers all variants: 4x4, 4x8, 8x4, 8x8, 8x16, 16x8, and 16x16.

41 hours agox86: AVX-512 pixel_sad
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sun, 7 May 2017 21:35:49 +0000 (23:35 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 pixel_sad

Covers all variants: 4x4, 4x8, 4x16, 8x4, 8x8, 8x16, 16x8, and 16x16.

41 hours agox86: AVX-512 decimate_score
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Thu, 4 May 2017 19:53:28 +0000 (21:53 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 decimate_score

Also drop the MMX versions and improve the SSE2, SSSE3 and AVX2 versions.

41 hours agox86: AVX-512 pixel_var2_8x8 and 8x16
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Mon, 1 May 2017 12:55:45 +0000 (14:55 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 pixel_var2_8x8 and 8x16

41 hours agoRework pixel_var2
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Mon, 1 May 2017 12:54:32 +0000 (14:54 +0200)]
Rework pixel_var2

The functions are only ever called with pointers to fenc and fdec and the
strides are always constant so there's no point in having them as parameters.

Cover both the U and V planes in a single function call. This is more
efficient with SIMD, especially with the wider vectors provided by AVX2 and
AVX-512, even when accounting for losing the possibility of early termination.

Drop the MMX and XOP implementations, update the rest of the x86 assembly
to match the new behavior. Also enable high bit-depth in the AVX2 version.

Comment out the ARM, AARCH64, and MIPS MSA assembly for now.

41 hours agox86: AVX-512 pixel_var_8x8, 8x16, and 16x16
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sat, 29 Apr 2017 12:26:40 +0000 (14:26 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 pixel_var_8x8, 8x16, and 16x16

Make the SSE2, AVX, and AVX2 versions a bit faster.

Drop the MMX and XOP versions.

41 hours agox86: AVX-512 pixel_sa8d_8x8
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Fri, 28 Apr 2017 19:35:25 +0000 (21:35 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 pixel_sa8d_8x8

41 hours agox86: AVX-512 pixel_satd
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Thu, 13 Apr 2017 21:56:04 +0000 (23:56 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 pixel_satd

Covers all variants: 4x4, 4x8, 4x16, 8x4, 8x8, 8x16, 16x8, and 16x16.

41 hours agox86: AVX-512 deblock_strength
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Wed, 19 Apr 2017 14:39:48 +0000 (16:39 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 deblock_strength

Also drop the MMX version and make some slight improvements to the SSE2,
SSSE3, AVX, and AVX2 versions.

41 hours agox86: AVX-512 plane_copy_deinterleave_v210
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Wed, 12 Apr 2017 14:21:09 +0000 (16:21 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 plane_copy_deinterleave_v210

41 hours agox86: AVX-512 memzero_aligned
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sun, 9 Apr 2017 18:34:28 +0000 (20:34 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 memzero_aligned

Reorder some elements in the x264_t.mb.pic struct to reduce the amount
of padding required.

Also drop the MMX implementation in favor of SSE.

41 hours agox86: AVX and AVX-512 memcpy_aligned
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Fri, 7 Apr 2017 19:34:40 +0000 (21:34 +0200)]
x86: AVX and AVX-512 memcpy_aligned

Reorder some elements in the x264_mb_analysis_list_t struct to reduce the
amount of padding required.

Also drop the MMX implementation in favor of SSE.

42 hours agox86: AVX-512 dequant_8x8_flat16
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Thu, 6 Apr 2017 14:06:34 +0000 (16:06 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 dequant_8x8_flat16

42 hours agox86: AVX-512 dequant_8x8
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Tue, 4 Apr 2017 18:54:12 +0000 (20:54 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 dequant_8x8

42 hours agox86: AVX-512 dequant_4x4
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Tue, 4 Apr 2017 18:01:26 +0000 (20:01 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 dequant_4x4

42 hours agox86: AVX-512 mbtree_propagate_cost
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Tue, 28 Mar 2017 20:59:56 +0000 (22:59 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 mbtree_propagate_cost

Also make the AVX and AVX2 implementations slightly faster.

42 hours agox86: AVX-512 coeff_last
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Mon, 27 Mar 2017 16:19:53 +0000 (18:19 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 coeff_last

42 hours agox86: AVX-512 zigzag_interleave_8x8_cavlc
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sun, 26 Mar 2017 16:29:37 +0000 (18:29 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 zigzag_interleave_8x8_cavlc

42 hours agox86: AVX-512 zigzag_scan_8x8_field
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sun, 26 Mar 2017 09:34:18 +0000 (11:34 +0200)]
x86: AVX-512 zigzag_scan_8x8_field

42 hours agox86: AVX-512 zigzag_scan_4x4_field
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sat, 25 Mar 2017 21:13:22 +0000 (22:13 +0100)]
x86: AVX-512 zigzag_scan_4x4_field

42 hours agox86: AVX-512 zigzag_scan_8x8_frame
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sat, 25 Mar 2017 18:14:28 +0000 (19:14 +0100)]
x86: AVX-512 zigzag_scan_8x8_frame

The vperm* instructions ignores unused bits, so we can pack the permutation
indices together to save cache and just use a shift to get the right values.

42 hours agox86: AVX-512 zigzag_scan_4x4_frame
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sat, 25 Mar 2017 18:14:22 +0000 (19:14 +0100)]
x86: AVX-512 zigzag_scan_4x4_frame

42 hours agocheckasm: x86: More accurate ymm/zmm measurements
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Thu, 11 May 2017 22:03:10 +0000 (00:03 +0200)]
checkasm: x86: More accurate ymm/zmm measurements

YMM and ZMM registers on x86 are turned off to save power when they haven't
been used for some period of time. When they are used there will be a
"warmup" period during which performance will be reduced and inconsistent
which is problematic when trying to benchmark individual functions.

Periodically issue "dummy" instructions that uses those registers to
prevent them from being powered down. The end result is more consitent
benchmark results.

42 hours agox86: AVX-512 support
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sat, 25 Mar 2017 09:16:09 +0000 (10:16 +0100)]
x86: AVX-512 support

AVX-512 consists of a plethora of different extensions, but in order to keep
things a bit more manageable we group together the following extensions
under a single baseline cpu flag which should cover SKL-X and future CPUs:
* AVX-512 Foundation (F)
* AVX-512 Conflict Detection Instructions (CD)
* AVX-512 Byte and Word Instructions (BW)
* AVX-512 Doubleword and Quadword Instructions (DQ)
* AVX-512 Vector Length Extensions (VL)

On x86-64 AVX-512 provides 16 additional vector registers, prefer using
those over existing ones since it allows us to avoid using `vzeroupper`
unless more than 16 vector registers are required. They also happen to
be volatile on Windows which means that we don't need to save and restore
existing xmm register contents unless more than 22 vector registers are
required.

Also take the opportunity to drop X264_CPU_CMOV and X264_CPU_SLOW_CTZ while
we're breaking API by messing with the cpu flags since they weren't really
used for anything.

Big thanks to Intel for their support.

42 hours agox86: Change assembler from yasm to nasm
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sat, 18 Mar 2017 17:50:36 +0000 (18:50 +0100)]
x86: Change assembler from yasm to nasm

This is required to support AVX-512.

Drop `-Worphan-labels` from ASFLAGS since it's enabled by default in nasm.

Also change alignmode from `k8` to `p6` since it's more similar to `amdnop`
in yasm, e.g. use long nops without excessive prefixes.

42 hours agox86: Add some additional cpuflag relations
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sat, 6 May 2017 10:26:56 +0000 (12:26 +0200)]
x86: Add some additional cpuflag relations

Simplifies writing assembly code that depends on available instructions.

LZCNT implies SSE2
BMI1 implies AVX+LZCNT
AVX2 implies BMI2

Skip printing LZCNT under CPU capabilities when BMI1 or BMI2 is available,
and don't print FMA4 when FMA3 is available.

42 hours agox86: Faster SSE2 pixel_sad_16x16 and 16x8
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Fri, 14 Apr 2017 14:16:49 +0000 (16:16 +0200)]
x86: Faster SSE2 pixel_sad_16x16 and 16x8

Also make the order of fenc/fdec arguments a bit more consistent.

42 hours agomsvs/icl: Improve target host detection
commit | commitdiff | tree
Anton Mitrofanov [Sun, 14 May 2017 21:40:52 +0000 (00:40 +0300)]
msvs/icl: Improve target host detection

42 hours agoppc: Optimize add8x8_idct_dc
commit | commitdiff | tree
Alexandra Hájková [Sat, 13 May 2017 17:14:52 +0000 (17:14 +0000)]
ppc: Optimize add8x8_idct_dc

Increases speedup compared to C from 2x to 6x.

42 hours agoanalyse: Faster min/max MV clipping
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sun, 19 Feb 2017 09:33:16 +0000 (10:33 +0100)]
analyse: Faster min/max MV clipping

Values only needs to be clipped in one direction.

42 hours agoslicetype_mb_cost: Clip MVs based on MV range
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Thu, 16 Feb 2017 19:04:10 +0000 (20:04 +0100)]
slicetype_mb_cost: Clip MVs based on MV range

Improves cost calculations, especially when a short MV range is used.

42 hours agoSupport YUYV and UYVY packed 4:2:2 raw input
commit | commitdiff | tree
Henrik Gramner [Sun, 29 Jan 2017 20:38:43 +0000 (21:38 +0100)]
Support YUYV and UYVY packed 4:2:2 raw input

Packed YUV is arguably more common than planar YUV when dealing with raw
4:2:...

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to x264 Encoder


TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works



TotalCode Studio







Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

x264 cli, x264cli



Download x264 Encoder portable download



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this tool (dead link/new version)  




16 reviews, Showing 1 to 5 reviews

Superb!!!


Nov 30, 2013 Version: 0.130.2273 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10



Brilliant software.

I use this commandline tool as part of a conversion sequence to turn TV captures into smaller .mp4s for later playback on a "WDTV Live" box.

The X264 commandline can be daunting to figure out initially (examples abound though, just search) but once you have a useful commandline then Bob's your Uncle. eg "my" commandline creates h264 video which is proven fully compatible with the WDTV Live in terms of the "video technical compliance stuff". Happy days.

X264, when combined with FFMPEG to convert audio and with MP4box to mux the video/audio into an .mp4, provides you with capability to create your own (repeatable) custom tailored encodes.

Fantastic.



Jul 30, 2011 Version: 2044 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10



Extreme compression might be a very good feature for Sharing in-contra to my previous comment. Still figuring-out quality settings for personal back-up.

Other ripping tools like Xvid4PSP, StaxRip, RipBot264, FairUse Wizard, MEGUI must be updated to this version accordingly.



Sep 3, 2010 Version: Version:r1703 OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10



v r1703 better compression, but, video loses overall sharpness.
it's disappointing.
Target Video Bit rate : 1 500 Kbps
Actual Video Bit rate : 817 Kpbs (Too Low than target results-in poor Quality)


Hope for better improvement in next release.



Aug 26, 2010 Version: r1703 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10



Simply the best implementation of H.264 spec.

It is a CLI tool so some patience is required to learn it, otherwise use some great GUI's like
Ripbot, StaxRip, or MeGUI.



Jul 13, 2010 Version: 1666 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


16 reviews, Showing 1 to 5 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
 - 



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW COMMENT= New comment since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version


Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Free software.
Free software = Free software and also open source code.
Freeware/Ads = Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software/Ads = Free software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download [15MB] = A direct link to the software download.
[Win] = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
[Win64] = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
[Mac] = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
[Mac64] = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
[Linux] = Linux download version.
[Portable] = Portable version. No installation is required.
[Ad-Supported] = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections
All In One Blu-ray Converters (11)
All In One DVD Converters (15)
All In One MKV to MP4/Blu-ray (11)
All In One Video Converters (24)
Animation (3D/2D Animation) (7)
Audio Editors (16)
Audio Encoders (72)
Audio Players (13)
Authoring (Blu-ray/AVCHD) (23)
Authoring (DivX) (5)
Authoring (DVD) (34)
Authoring (SVCD/VCD) (10)
Bitrate Calculators (7)
Blu-ray to AVI/MKV/MP4 (15)
Blu-ray to Blu-ray/AVCHD (10)
Burn (CD,DVD,Blu-ray) (22)
Camcorders/DV/HDV/AVCHD (33)
Capture (33)
CD/DVD/Blu-ray recovery (3)
Codec Packs (8)
Codec/Video Identifiers (31)
Codecs (66)
Decrypters (Blu-ray Rippers) (8)
Decrypters (DVD Rippers) (16)
DigitalTV/DVB/IPTV (38)
DVD to AVI/DivX/XviD (17)
DVD to DVD (21)
DVD to MP4/MKV/H264 (17)
DVD to VCD/SVCD (5)
ISO/Image (16)
Linux Video Tools (121)
MacOS Video Tools (174)
Media (Blu-ray/DVD/CD) (9)
Media Center/HTPC (37)
Other Useful Tools (121)
Photo Blu-ray/DVD/SlideShow (10)
Portable (Mobile/PSP) (36)
Region Free Tools (5)
Screen capture / Screen recording (21)
Screenshots / Thumbnails (10)
Subtitle Editors (59)
Video De/Multiplexers (54)
Video Editors (Advanced/NLE) (32)
Video Editors (Basic) (47)
Video Editors (H264/MP4/MKV/MTS) (18)
Video Editors (MPG/DVD) (18)
Video Editors (WMV/AVI) (16)
Video Encoders (AVI/WMV) (40)
Video Encoders (H264/H265/MP4/MKV) (46)
Video Encoders (MPG/DVD) (27)
Video Encoders / Converters (150)
Video Frameservers (9)
Video Players (35)
Video Repair/Fix (22)
Video Scripting (11)
Video Streaming (23)
Video Streaming Downloaders (65)
Virtualdub Tools (11)



Search   Contact us   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2017 videohelp.com