Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
x264 Encoder is a free software H264/AVC based video encoder. The x264 CLI is a command line software. x264 is used in several free video converters like Handbrake, Xvid4PSP, StaxRip, RipBot264, MEGUI, Xmedia Recode.

Free software
OS: Win Mac Linux
File size: 20MB
Portable version
Other versions
Version history
8.5/10
19 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

x264 Encoder screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

159 r2991 (December 16, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download x264 Encoder 159 r2991 Windows 64-bit  ca 20MB  Win64  Portable

Download x264 Encoder 159 r2991 Windows  20MB  Win  Portable

Download x264 Encoder 159 r2991 Mac  Mac

Download x264 Encoder 159 r2991 Linux  Linux




Download other versions

Download x264 Encoder 159 r2991 from another mirror site  Win



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows MacMac OS LinuxLinux



More information and other downloads

Download x264 old versions here.

Download Komisar's unoffical x264 VFW Codec here or another an unoffical x264 VFW Codec here, use x264 in for example Virtualdub or other that supports Video For Windows(VFW) Codecs. Both encoding and decoding.

x264 Encoder GUIs/Frontends:
Handbrake, Xvid4PSP, StaxRip, RipBot264, VidCoder, MEGUI, Xmedia Recode.



Version history / Release notes / Changelog


159 r2991

See https://code.videolan.org/videolan/x264/commits/stable

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to x264 Encoder


TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works







Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

x264 cli, x264cli



Download x264 Encoder Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




19 reviews, Showing 1 to 19 reviews


Full of errors these later revisions causing loads of hardware conflicts. Back to very stable 264VFW Master nobody build or Komisar version.

Review by Terry on Nov 6, 2019 Version: 158 r2988 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




this version breaks compatibility with many players resulting in "Not supported video" error messages.
it is therefore now useless and worthless


Review by me on May 12, 2019 Version: x264 Encoder 157 r2969 OS: Other Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wakaku on Mar 11, 2018 Version: r2744 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Superb!!!

Review by eagletdw on Nov 30, 2013 Version: 0.130.2273 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Brilliant software.

I use this commandline tool as part of a conversion sequence to turn TV captures into smaller .mp4s for later playback on a "WDTV Live" box.

The X264 commandline can be daunting to figure out initially (examples abound though, just search) but once you have a useful commandline then Bob's your Uncle. eg "my" commandline creates h264 video which is proven fully compatible with the WDTV Live in terms of the "video technical compliance stuff". Happy days.

X264, when combined with FFMPEG to convert audio and with MP4box to mux the video/audio into an .mp4, provides you with capability to create your own (repeatable) custom tailored encodes.

Fantastic.


Review by hydra3333 on Jul 30, 2011 Version: 2044 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Extreme compression might be a very good feature for Sharing in-contra to my previous comment. Still figuring-out quality settings for personal back-up.

Other ripping tools like Xvid4PSP, StaxRip, RipBot264, FairUse Wizard, MEGUI must be updated to this version accordingly.


Review by Bonie81 on Sep 3, 2010 Version: Version:r1703 OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




v r1703 better compression, but, video loses overall sharpness.
it's disappointing.
Target Video Bit rate : 1 500 Kbps
Actual Video Bit rate : 817 Kpbs (Too Low than target results-in poor Quality)


Hope for better improvement in next release.


Review by Bonie81 on Aug 26, 2010 Version: r1703 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Simply the best implementation of H.264 spec.

It is a CLI tool so some patience is required to learn it, otherwise use some great GUI's like
Ripbot, StaxRip, or MeGUI.


Review by Vladrial on Jul 13, 2010 Version: 1666 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The BEST,
and my most favorite video encoder.

Thanks for continuous updates.

Note:-
======
x264 vfw requires same trends for updates too!


Review by Bonie81 on May 30, 2010 Version: r1613 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Simply The Best H264 encoder available, no doubt.
Thanks to authors for keeping FREE,
and running a good show of updates.


Review by Bonie81 on May 17, 2010 Version: 1592 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




By far the best H.264 encoder I've ever experienced. It even dwarfed all these commercial products and it's getting better!


Review by pintcat on May 1, 2010 Version: 1570 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Unless you device does not support h264 part 10 (AVC) then there is NO REASON why you should not be using x264, even if you are not a console God , there is plenty of GUI's that harness the power of this codec implmentation.

Review by dannyboy48888 on Nov 30, 2009 Version: 1354 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have been an AVI with XviD and MP3 die hard fan for a LONG time! I just recently graduated to using MKV files and building my own chapters. THEN, I discovered that I can encode H264/X264 files and *directly* mux the AC3 audio from a DVD rip into an MKV.

What I did NOT expect was the quality of video as such low bit rates.

I very extensively use my Western Digital WD TV to play the videos I make on. When using XivD to encode 720 videos (1280X720), I *must* run at least 5000kbs to have a decent picture. With H264 (or better yet, x264.exe) the video quality is superior, at only 2500kbs!!!

Now I wish my Creative Zen would support 264, because it is leaps and bounds better than WMV9!!

I love this CLI tool, thanks so much to the author(s)!!! I hope to have a GUI built soon, and have plans on making a GUI tool kit for MKVs! Thanks!


Review by RogerTango on Feb 2, 2009 Version: r1097 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




With this codec,you have DVD-like picture quality on VCD bitrates!
IMO, the future is here, in this codec!

I use it with super encoder to batch convert dvb mpeg2 files of various framesizes. The speed is 1/4 realtime on my core 2 duo 6600.

The vfm version is faster (about 2/5 realtime). You can use it with virtualdub.

An excellent choice for those who like cutting edge solutions, or something with great future in front of it!


Review by SatStorm on Apr 25, 2007 Version: cor54 rev600 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




X264 is the best codec I ever used. Thanks to DeathToSheep for the unofficial VFW version I can stay using it with virtualdub.
I capture with Mainconcept PVR in MPEG2 (quality 32) and convert with VirtualdubMPG to AVI files (X264 -single pass bitrate 800)
With this combination of videotools I can put 13 episodes (50minutes/episode) of my favorite "Aspe murders" soap on 1 DVD and the quality is much,much better than VHS.


Review by filipdebie on Dec 5, 2006 Version: 6.00 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




After being skeptical about AVC H.264 I finally broke down and decided to try it for some iPod movies. The source files were MPEG-1 @ 1856kbps ripped from some high bitrate xVCD's I did years ago, I tried doing these with 3ivX and DivX 6.2.5 and wasn't pleased with the results especially on HDTV, I tried x264 using MeGUI and I am blown away by the 2-pass quality @ 700kbps. Even at a low resolution of 352x144 these movies look good (not great)on a 42" HDTV and the file sizes are quite small. MeGUI is a very powerful program but not exactly for noobs, When the ability for 640x480 iPod resolutions becomes possible this codec will be unstoppable!!

Review by GMaq on Sep 24, 2006 Version: 565 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




What's xvid?? what's divx?? what's wmv??

No way X264 the best codec ever.

High quality in low bitrate.

This awesome codec use for me for months.No rival.

Cauptain


Review by Cauptain on Jan 27, 2006 Version: 409 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Better quality than XVID and a smaller file size. Use the latest FFDshow from Celtic_Druid for playback. Be aware that playback is CPU intensive - Not designed for < 2.0Ghz machines (yet).

Review by soopafresh on Jun 15, 2005 Version: 263 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




works now correctly in sony vegas - testing quality against other H264, but so far - this is a winner ..



Review by BJ_M on Jun 14, 2005 Version: Revision 261 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


19 reviews, Showing 1 to 19 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com