Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for x264 Encoder

21 reviews, Showing 1 to 21 reviews


Forcing me and others to fully embrace h265 format. If I use h264 only the older working builds. Why keep developing a once great codec only to break compatibility and mess it up even more? Zero out of Ten from me!

Review by Fred on Jul 15, 2020 Version: 160 r3018 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




By tweaking the code AGAIN! with so called 'improvements' this once great software has broken compatibility with older ffmeg and newer builds causing loads of issues. WTF!

Review by Will on Jul 3, 2020 Version: 160 r3015 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Full of errors these later revisions causing loads of hardware conflicts. Back to very stable 264VFW Master nobody build or Komisar version.

Review by Terry on Nov 6, 2019 Version: 158 r2988 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




this version breaks compatibility with many players resulting in "Not supported video" error messages.
it is therefore now useless and worthless


Review by me on May 12, 2019 Version: x264 Encoder 157 r2969 OS: Other Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wakaku on Mar 11, 2018 Version: r2744 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Superb!!!

Review by eagletdw on Nov 30, 2013 Version: 0.130.2273 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Brilliant software.

I use this commandline tool as part of a conversion sequence to turn TV captures into smaller .mp4s for later playback on a "WDTV Live" box.

The X264 commandline can be daunting to figure out initially (examples abound though, just search) but once you have a useful commandline then Bob's your Uncle. eg "my" commandline creates h264 video which is proven fully compatible with the WDTV Live in terms of the "video technical compliance stuff". Happy days.

X264, when combined with FFMPEG to convert audio and with MP4box to mux the video/audio into an .mp4, provides you with capability to create your own (repeatable) custom tailored encodes.

Fantastic.


Review by hydra3333 on Jul 30, 2011 Version: 2044 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Extreme compression might be a very good feature for Sharing in-contra to my previous comment. Still figuring-out quality settings for personal back-up.

Other ripping tools like Xvid4PSP, StaxRip, RipBot264, FairUse Wizard, MEGUI must be updated to this version accordingly.


Review by Bonie81 on Sep 3, 2010 Version: Version:r1703 OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




v r1703 better compression, but, video loses overall sharpness.
it's disappointing.
Target Video Bit rate : 1 500 Kbps
Actual Video Bit rate : 817 Kpbs (Too Low than target results-in poor Quality)


Hope for better improvement in next release.


Review by Bonie81 on Aug 26, 2010 Version: r1703 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Simply the best implementation of H.264 spec.

It is a CLI tool so some patience is required to learn it, otherwise use some great GUI's like
Ripbot, StaxRip, or MeGUI.


Review by Vladrial on Jul 13, 2010 Version: 1666 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The BEST,
and my most favorite video encoder.

Thanks for continuous updates.

Note:-
======
x264 vfw requires same trends for updates too!


Review by Bonie81 on May 30, 2010 Version: r1613 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Simply The Best H264 encoder available, no doubt.
Thanks to authors for keeping FREE,
and running a good show of updates.


Review by Bonie81 on May 17, 2010 Version: 1592 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




By far the best H.264 encoder I've ever experienced. It even dwarfed all these commercial products and it's getting better!


Review by pintcat on May 1, 2010 Version: 1570 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Unless you device does not support h264 part 10 (AVC) then there is NO REASON why you should not be using x264, even if you are not a console God , there is plenty of GUI's that harness the power of this codec implmentation.

Review by dannyboy48888 on Nov 30, 2009 Version: 1354 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have been an AVI with XviD and MP3 die hard fan for a LONG time! I just recently graduated to using MKV files and building my own chapters. THEN, I discovered that I can encode H264/X264 files and *directly* mux the AC3 audio from a DVD rip into an MKV.

What I did NOT expect was the quality of video as such low bit rates.

I very extensively use my Western Digital WD TV to play the videos I make on. When using XivD to encode 720 videos (1280X720), I *must* run at least 5000kbs to have a decent picture. With H264 (or better yet, x264.exe) the video quality is superior, at only 2500kbs!!!

Now I wish my Creative Zen would support 264, because it is leaps and bounds better than WMV9!!

I love this CLI tool, thanks so much to the author(s)!!! I hope to have a GUI built soon, and have plans on making a GUI tool kit for MKVs! Thanks!


Review by RogerTango on Feb 2, 2009 Version: r1097 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




With this codec,you have DVD-like picture quality on VCD bitrates!
IMO, the future is here, in this codec!

I use it with super encoder to batch convert dvb mpeg2 files of various framesizes. The speed is 1/4 realtime on my core 2 duo 6600.

The vfm version is faster (about 2/5 realtime). You can use it with virtualdub.

An excellent choice for those who like cutting edge solutions, or something with great future in front of it!


Review by SatStorm on Apr 25, 2007 Version: cor54 rev600 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




X264 is the best codec I ever used. Thanks to DeathToSheep for the unofficial VFW version I can stay using it with virtualdub.
I capture with Mainconcept PVR in MPEG2 (quality 32) and convert with VirtualdubMPG to AVI files (X264 -single pass bitrate 800)
With this combination of videotools I can put 13 episodes (50minutes/episode) of my favorite "Aspe murders" soap on 1 DVD and the quality is much,much better than VHS.


Review by filipdebie on Dec 5, 2006 Version: 6.00 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




After being skeptical about AVC H.264 I finally broke down and decided to try it for some iPod movies. The source files were MPEG-1 @ 1856kbps ripped from some high bitrate xVCD's I did years ago, I tried doing these with 3ivX and DivX 6.2.5 and wasn't pleased with the results especially on HDTV, I tried x264 using MeGUI and I am blown away by the 2-pass quality @ 700kbps. Even at a low resolution of 352x144 these movies look good (not great)on a 42" HDTV and the file sizes are quite small. MeGUI is a very powerful program but not exactly for noobs, When the ability for 640x480 iPod resolutions becomes possible this codec will be unstoppable!!

Review by GMaq on Sep 24, 2006 Version: 565 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




What's xvid?? what's divx?? what's wmv??

No way X264 the best codec ever.

High quality in low bitrate.

This awesome codec use for me for months.No rival.

Cauptain


Review by Cauptain on Jan 27, 2006 Version: 409 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Better quality than XVID and a smaller file size. Use the latest FFDshow from Celtic_Druid for playback. Be aware that playback is CPU intensive - Not designed for < 2.0Ghz machines (yet).

Review by soopafresh on Jun 15, 2005 Version: 263 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




works now correctly in sony vegas - testing quality against other H264, but so far - this is a winner ..



Review by BJ_M on Jun 14, 2005 Version: Revision 261 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


21 reviews, Showing 1 to 21 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com