Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for abcAVI Tag Editor

7 reviews, Showing 1 to 7 reviews


On a whim I wondered if AVI had any meta tagging support and found this program. Works surprisingly well considering what OS it was made for and does all the tagging need I may want. Does not support jpeg thumbnails, But I wasn't expecting it to. Also IMDB querying doesn't work as well. All the tags read properly in media info and in file explorer. Thanks Author (if your here still) making a program that is useful 14 years later.


Review by dannyboy48888 on Sep 2, 2018 Version: 1.8.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Does not edit tags for tracks/streams. It handles file-global tags only.

Other than that, it has extensive functionality--probably good for people who do a lot of AVI file-level cataloguing.


Review by TRXRT on Nov 23, 2017 Version: 1.8.1 OS: Other Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10




Have been using this for a couple years now, and I love it! Now I just wish other technologies would catch up with the ability to actually read and display the AVI tags.

I have only two complaints, really.

1) For some reason it is limited to files less than 2GB, even though the AVI specification allows files up to 4GB. I have set up a dummy AVI file that I can tag with the data I want for a >2GB file, then I just copy and paste the data from the dummy file to the oversize file using a hex editor. Just have to be careful when doing that, because one wrong byte, and the file becomes unusable.

2) It allows you to change the FourCC code for the video codec in the file, but unlike the tagging features that allow you to enter a tag value on one file and then clone that value to ALL files you have loaded, the FourCC changer function has to be performed on each file individually. Could become quite tedious to change the FourCC's on several thousand files.


Review by awgie on Feb 21, 2014 Version: 1.8.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great at what it does. Missing a few needed tool functions but is so lightweight it can be made to, or forced to, run on almost ANY OS.
Can read/mod metatags on just about every strange and back corner format I through at it, not just AVI. It even handled V-TTS files for visual DHI phone units. Only one so far that could. Can also edit info for music streams in video containers, such as RIFF compliant FLV, SWF, and SW, as well as late-version Real Media files. If it contains RIFF tags, this will read, save, and edit them.

Only two real functionality issues are:
The lack of a full batch mode. MP3-TAG can edit the tags on MP4, OGG/Vb video files; in batch. Not sure about others. It's the ONLY thing really missing from this.

NO Non-RIFF metatag data support (b-comments, tagID, postits, etc)


Works well on
98SE with NT comparability tools installed.

XP x32

XP x64 in x32 compatibility mode

Win 7 x64 (when installing click IGNORE on the two errors that pop up, an error will persist after install but can ignored by clicking 'OK' and then runs fine) [not sure what netmask56 did wrong but it WORKS WELL on 7]

Linux with Wine installed and dependencies (install LibVLC and LIBMediaInfo)

BSD DragonFly with LinuxOverlay and Wine +Dpnd

Mac OSX >10.5 with POSIX toolkit, BSD command suite, LinuxOverlay, Wine +Dpnd(in that order)




Review by lostinlodos on Mar 10, 2011 Version: 1.8.1 OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Worked beautifully for removing hidden tags from video files. My problem was that Windows Media Player was showing my files in the list as all kinds of names based on the hidden tags, and I just wanted it to show the names in the list by their filenames. In abcAVI Tag Editor I was able to open the directory of all the video files I wanted to edit, click on remove tags from all files (and confirm it), and then save all changes (and confirm it). Wonderful! I have had such trouble finding a batch editor for hidden tags on the internet- most programs of that type don't support video files, or cost money. My only complaint here might be that you still can't exactly batch edit files, once you load them in you can still only edit tags in one file at a time (with the exception of the remove all button I mentioned above). A negative is also that this software is hard to navigate if you don't know what to look for.

Review by babird1 on Jan 6, 2011 Version: 1.8.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Works fine foe me in Win 7. I do not know how to fully use all of the features, but it works for what I'm doing

Review by craigarta on Jan 31, 2010 Version: 1.81.129 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I only scored it so low because it doesn't run on Windows 7 - on my previous XP SP3 it was excellent and would have scored it quite high. The last update was in 2005 so the programmer may not be around anymore or has moved on - pity. I tried every compatibility mode to no avail...

Review by netmask56 on Jan 30, 2010 Version: 1.8.1 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10


7 reviews, Showing 1 to 7 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com