Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
YAMB(Yet Another Mp4Box) is a GUI for windows, create, split, join, multiplex, demultiplex MP4 files. Features: Mux Audio (aac, mp4, mp3, vorbis...) & Video Files (mp4, mpeg, vob, ogg, avi...) with subtitles and chapters support. Split/Join mp4 files. Extract some tracks from AVI files or raw/mp4 streams. Have some infos about your files. WARNING! Don't use the setup installation/uninstallation for version 2.1 beta. Read the user comments below.

Freeware
OS: Win
File size: 2MB
Beta version
Old versions
Version history
6.3/10
31 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

YAMB screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

1.6 / 2.1.0.0 beta 2 (June 29, 2009)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download YAMB 1.6  2MB  Win




Download Beta and other versions

Download YAMB 2.1.0.0 beta 2  7MB  Win




Download old versions


Download YAMB old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Changes for the 2.1.0.0 beta 2 release (2009/06/29)

[Addons]
- TS/M2TS Extraction is now managed by EAC3to.
- QuickTime compatibility for AVC streams containing B-Frames.
- appleTV compliancy (not tested on such device though...).
- Windows Seven support.

[Improvements]
- Better Internal Files detection.
- Better AC3-in-MP4 files creation.
- Better MKVExtract detection.
- Few tunings in the NSIS script.

[Updates]
- MediaInfo library (0.7.17)
- MP4Box (0.4.6-dev_20090629)
- MKVExtract (2.9.5)
- EAC3to (3.16)

[Regression]
- Disable temporarily the ASS/SSA Converter. Need to find a better algorithm...

[Fixes]
- Fix splitting command lines errors.
- Fix Matroska tasks convertion.
- Fix mkvtoolnix libs missing from the installer.
- Several other fixes.

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to YAMB


My MP4Box GUI







Guides and How to's



Tool features - Convert




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




31 reviews, Showing 1 to 31 reviews


The program is good, I use it to change the frame rate (Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2019 incorrectly exports the video with a frame rate of 23.976), but sometimes artifacts appear on the video.


Review by Dwalin on Aug 9, 2019 Version: YAMB 1.6 / 2.1.0.0 beta 2 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




ERROR opening MP4 file without audio track:

Access violation at address 0045AA7C in module 'Yamb.exe'. Read of address 00000004.


Review by Alberto on Jan 17, 2019 Version: 2.0 or 2.1beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




To fix the problem of the interface (invisible buttons) in 2.1.0.0 in Windows 10 do this:

- Download Resource Hacker http://www.angusj.com/
- In Resource Hacker open yamb.exe
- In the RCData part locate TMAINFORM
- In the Editor View change Width & Height of Mainform (first lines of the script)
Width = 820
Height =600
- Compile Script (Green Play Button)
- Save

Done!
Now all the buttons & fields are visible.

PD: This works for my 1920x1080 screen resolution if you have a much High resolution try with higher values.


Review by Pablo on Aug 25, 2018 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta 2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




if someone is interested to update this tool, contact Lionel Duchateau (kurtnoise(at)free.fr) or this person - https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/312106-Yamb-Source-Code

Review by selnomeria on Jan 26, 2018 Version: 2.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




The interface doesn't seem to be right.
Unable to view contents of Left panel without using slider, no matter what my display settings in OS are.

No guide either!

However, the product in 'intriguing'.


Review by ConverterCrazy on Apr 1, 2015 Version: 2.0.0.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Please Please Please Please Please Please Please fix the media delay option...it doesn't work for audio!!

and about rest of the tool?
it's just PERFECT!!

Thanks everyone...


Review by jujiko on Oct 29, 2014 Version: 2.1.0.0 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




YOU DON'T HAVE TO INSTALL IT. JUST EXTRACT THE SETUP FILE WITH 7z AND USE IT.

Review by eliezerben96 on Jul 20, 2014 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




Is it possible to make a patched uninstaller for v2.1.0.0 beta 2 that only deletes the YAMB shortcuts and not any of the other ones?

Review by coltonhelp on Jul 3, 2014 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta 2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Beware! I am another victim of Yamb's badly-coded uninstaller, which deleted all of my Start Menu shortcuts. (It deletes all shortcuts from the logged-in user's Start Menu, not those associated with the "All Users" profile.) I'm using Windows XP.

During the install process, the installation directory selected by default is "C:\Documents and Settings\\Application Data\Yamb", which I changed to "C:\Program Files\Yamb".

This is absolutely deplorable behaviour, and for this reason alone you should look elsewhere for an Mp4Box GUI.


Review by osullic on Jan 12, 2014 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I have been searching hard for a tool to do muxing for my video mp4 made from Window Movie Maker. I wanted to swap the audio .aac created by WMM to the original mp3 to preserve quality, but have no success trying other sofwares. Came to this page, considering many low-rated comments here, I was reluctant to try one version to another as the last resort, starting from the most updated one. Came to version 1.6.0, it worked!!! So glad that the combination of AVC and MP3 look good and sound good on YouTube. Thank you so much for your work developing this software! I know it does not work for every one, but it works for me, luckily my frustration has gone for this issue!

Review by sharenow on Sep 3, 2013 Version: 1.6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The uninstaller is EXTREMELY DESTRUCTIVE in 64-bit Windows. It completely deletes all Start Menu items associated with the User Account where YAMB was installed.

Path: C:\Users\\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\

(substitute the account name for in the string)

This is a major deal, because it is very hard to restore the Start Menu unless you happen to back up your user account regularly (which is hard because it is so large).

There is an easier manual solution. Manually copy the start menu folders from the above location and the start menu for "all users" at the following location:

C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu

Be sure to distinguish between the two identically named Start Menu folders -- I suggest keeping them in separate backup folders called "Start Menu - " and "Start Menu - All Users".

These folders are small (usually < 1MB) but they will take a few minutes to install because each shortcut .lnk file requires an update of the registry so that the combined Start Menu on the Windows desktop can be built.

Even if the backups are not completely up to date, merging them with the existing Start Menu folders should cause no difficulties. You can choose to replace same-name files or not, on an individual case by case basis, if it makes you feel more comfortable. Any non-functional shortcuts can simply be deleted manually from the start menu folders. Some system cleaner software will do it for you.

Just remember that the time spent doing this backup and performing any reinstallation is nothing compared to the pain of relocating all those .lnk files scattered throughout the Program Files folders.


Review by kirkers on Jul 25, 2012 Version: 2.1 beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The uninstaller just deleted all of my Start Menu shortcuts! And I mean completely. I even did a deep scan with Recuva, but they're just completely gone.

It's a great program otherwise, but whatever you do, DO NOT RUN THE UNINSTALLER!

As another reviewer mentioned, it might have something to do with the fact that it installed to the AppData/Roaming folder on 64-bit Windows 7.

I just emailed the developer. Hopefully he'll fix this before it claims any more victims.


Review by xichael on Mar 13, 2012 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




An useful program (as concept), too bad it hasn't been updated for quite some time, as it has a few major (in my opinion) bugs. The most annoying is the fact that if you use (in Windows7/Vista) a different than 100% text size (DPI), you won't be able to use the graphic interface from the right part, so this makes the program kinda useless. If you have a 16:9 full HD monitor (21" or greater), I presume you won't use a magnifying glass to see the desktop, instead of changing the text size to 125% (or greater), and it wouldn't be so pleasant to change between 125% and 100% (and log off, of course) every time you want to use YAMB. Wanna make a comparison for "ease of use"? Try comparing how you use MKVtoolnix on mkv files... I rest my case.

Review by muLineZu on Nov 11, 2011 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta 2 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




BEWARE: 2.1.0.0b2 default install path in Win7x64 is %APPDATA% and not %PROGRAMFILES(X86)%.
Not a big deal, but if you uninstall YAMB, I think this install path causes ALL Start Menu shortcuts to get deleted.

As the dev. no longer supports YAMB, this won't get fixed, and I can't be sure the install path really has anything to do with the behavior I encountered.


Review by starkline on Sep 15, 2011 Version: 2.1.0.0b2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Yamb version 1 is difficult to figure out how to use, but once you figure it out, it is quite functional. I would rate it 7/10 because of its diverse functionality not only for MP4, but avi as well.

Yamb version 2 beta is not usable if one enables large fonts (as one previous reviewer indicated). All the run buttons are outside of the non-resizable/scrollable window. This renders program pretty to look at but not functional at all. I would rate it 1/10. If the program is slightly modified to either allow resize or scroll then it would be a different story.

Overall rating of 3 is an average of the 2 versions. I continue to use Version 1.


Review by bosshog on Oct 15, 2010 Version: 2.1 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




Excellent tool that worked for me in Windows 7 when "My MP4Box GUI" didn't. To get it to work I ran it as administrator. Thanks to the author of this great tool. Highly recommended

Review by win7user on Sep 12, 2010 Version: 1.6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Doesn't take into consideration that the user might have change the API of the desktop (large fonts) and then shows the interface incorrectly, it becomes impossible to click on some buttons because the are *outside* the window.

Review by branch on Feb 12, 2010 Version: 2.1.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




After seeing various recommendations for this tool as a valid mp4Box GUI, I decided to try it.

I have several .mp4 files created with Handbrake 0.94, from 1080p sources. They all share the same characteristics, and I needed to make a single file out of them, without re-encoding.

Unfortunately, YAMB's "join" function doesn't seem to work as advertised. Although I obtain a single "Joined" file at the end, any attempt to play the resulting file in VLC 1.0 will result in multiple instances of VLC opening on my machine (one for each of the original source files).

The same behaviour was replicated again and again, during subsequent attempts.

I used another mp4Box GUI - also available from Videohelp, under the rather unimaginative name of "My MP4Box GUI" - and all the problems disappeared, and the resulting file played correctly, and without exhibiting any aberrations.

In conclusion, YAMB may look good, but there are still some bugs to be ironed out.


Review by AnitaPeterson on Feb 3, 2010 Version: 2.1.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 1/10




Works flawlessly if you use the older 1.6 version. Doesn't even require an install. Grab the latest MP4Box.exe and put it in the same folder as the Yamb executable.

Review by Soopafresh on Dec 27, 2009 Version: 1.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Should be re-named 'Yet Another Massive Ballsup'. Badly coded with missing buttons and deletes Start Menu when uninstalled. Response from author is unprintable. Terrible - leave well alone.

Review by keef777 on Dec 23, 2009 Version: 2.0.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Deleted my entire user Start Menu folders. Luckily I have a Acronis image and I can select specific files to recover or else it would've been a bitch to recreate every single shortcut one by one.

Seems to only affect user start menu but not "All Users" start menu folders.


Review by gOdiSOnyOuRsIDe on Dec 9, 2009 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This beta version deleted many of my start menu shortcuts too. That's what I get for using a beta.

Review by nerdwithnolife on Nov 1, 2009 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




Wow...stay away from this one! Not only did it not work at all for me, but when I uninstalled the software, the YAMB uninstaller deleted ALL of my program groups from my start menu!!

Review by Max G on Oct 10, 2009 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The finest MP4Box GUI available. Makes MP4Box usage simple enough for everyone. A few odd problems/errors every once in a while, but overall I highly recommended Yamb.

Review by OAKside on Sep 30, 2009 Version: 2.1.0.0 Beta 2 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




excellent work great with hd video..

Review by miss on Jul 21, 2009 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta 2 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It's hard to find a tool that muxes h.264 and AC-3 streams to an MP4 container properly. Most all of them force you to use AAC, or some other audio format. Re-encoding the video would have lost quality and I wanted to keep the Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound. Normally I wouldn't go near a beta program but I was out of options and when I read that the Yamb 2.1.0.0 beta supports AC3 in MP4 and Matroska input as well, I figured yeah right, so it says, but let me give it a try, I got nothing to lose. Yamb was easy to use, just click to add your video and audio streams (even chapters and subtitles if you want), select the output directory, click next, and it in a relatively short period of time, it muxed to an MP4 without re-encoding. I winced as I started to playback the resulting MP4 expecting like all the other programs I tried, stalled, unseekable, or warped looking video or missing or barely audiblle audio. To my surprise, it produced a flawless MP4 identical in quality to the original MKV. I also joined and split a couple of MP4's and extracted streams from an MKV just as a test and the results were also flawless. This new version of Yamb is superb. My compliments to kurtnoise on a job well done.

Review by LedAstray on Apr 5, 2009 Version: 2.1.0.0 beta OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




YAMB will frustrate the novice.

For example, when the log file states "Tagger is missing," all the user need do is click settings icon. Select the MP4Box tree, then tick the box "Use it also as a tagger."

Even though YAMB has been written to use MP4Box exclusively, and MP4Box.exe is present, a cryptic error message provides no help.

Saddest of all is the instruction "Wait and relax... This process can take a while" that is displayed while the program consumes no cycles and just sits there (because MP4Box has not been set as the tagger).



Review by overflonium on Nov 20, 2008 Version: 2.0.0.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




click creation button to get options for muxing
click editing button to get options for extracting streams, splitting files and joining files.


Review by mgh on Aug 1, 2008 Version: 2.0.0.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Program has a very strange GUI. Is difficult to figure out the proper way to do things. No matter what you do, all it seems to want to do is demux incoming streams and there's no way to mux them back together again. As I said, strange. I tried every way I could to join some mp4 together and everytime, they came out with audio sync problems and were left only partially seekable. After that, everytime I tried to use it, it wouldn't let me choose anything other than .3gp as the output file format. Program is rubbish and with no help built in is almost impossible to figure out the "right" way it's supposed to be used. Don't waste your time like I have.

Review by DRP on Jul 31, 2008 Version: 2.0.0.8 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This program causes the audio to be out of sync when you merge mp4 files together. Tried it several times with the same issue.

Review by a1677c on Jul 18, 2007 Version: 1.6.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The problem is the result of cutting MP4 is not correct. Play the cutted MP4 in Quicktime and it continues playing even after last frame.

Review by xuy_98 on Feb 26, 2007 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


31 reviews, Showing 1 to 31 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

9 Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com