Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
VirtualVCR

NEW VERSION 2.6.9

NO LONGER DEVELOPED
Virtual VCR is a small, free and versatile DirectShow video capture application designed to work with TV tuner and video capture cards that have WDM drivers.

Free software
OS: Win
File size: 421KB
Old versions
Version history
8.1/10
27 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

VirtualVCR screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

2.6.9 (March 1, 2003)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download VirtualVCR 2.6.9  421KB  Win




Download old versions


Download VirtualVCR old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads

Download VVCRS VirtualVCR Scheduler here - Another scheduler for Virtual VCRr. Freeware.



Version history / Release notes / Changelog


v2.6.9

Added

Added Help Context to the Capture Stats Dialog.
Added 1 second delay before starting preview or capture when the app first starts to help people with slow tuner cards.
Bug Fix

If the Video AMP is set to auto for Brightness, Contrast, Hue and Saturation do not alter them.
Save stats - free space and video compression number format fixed.
Use the GetModuleFileName() to get the current exe name, this is used to get the version number.


View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




27 reviews, Showing 1 to 27 reviews


I just checked virtual vcr 2.6.9.6252 and it saves settings under the save current settings button and when shut down and restarted all the settings are saved.

I used this application for years with no issues but since i no longer capture from my computer i no longer need it.


Review by johns0 on Jun 30, 2013 Version: 2.6.9.6252 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I give it a high score on every category but the last one which is overall score (for which I gave it the lowest possible score). Why? Because the one feature it's missing is MAJOR. Due to a bug in the latest version of the program it is IMPOSSIBLE to save your settings. It's great in every possible way, as long as you keep the program running. You close the program and BOOM ALL YOUR CONFIGURATIONS ARE GONE!!!!!

If you read the official webpage here that describes the settings http://virtualvcr.sourceforge.net/html/virtualvcr/settings/index.php you'll find a setting called "Save Profile". That setting is described as:
Save Profile
Saves your current settings to a profile file (*.vcr) this file can then be loaded later using the load profile option.

In a different part of the site it says this:
To create the profile file use the "Save Profile" option under the File menu.
But that was way back in version 1.1.4

Unfortunately there is no menu system in the current version, just a multifunction dialog box, and it appears that there is NO WAY to save or load a profile inn this dialog box. Furthermore, the INI file it saves does NOT include every value that would need to be saved, just the position of the program window!!!!!


So unless you are LUCKY enough to have the older version you are stuck with either keeping the program running 24/7/365/forever, or you are stuck with having to set up your program EVERY TIME YOU START IT (which depending on if you have a good memory or not of your previous settings, may take up to several hours experimenting with the settings, every time hyoustart it, just to get them right each time you start it). Normally people would consider it good or lucky to have the newer version but bad to keep a program's older version, but with this crappy software the very opposite is true. I'd rather have software with 1000 times FEWER features, than this crappy software which can't even save its settings.


Review by videogamer555 on Jun 29, 2013 Version: 2.6.9.6252 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Uninstalls easily.

Review by sambat on Apr 7, 2012 Version: 2.6.9 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 2/10




About: Country Code / Tuning Space

The country code should be the code according to ITU-T standard E.164, from what I can tell. I believe this is the same as those used for international telephone dialing codes. (E.g., the U.S. is 1) Thanks to Wikipedia.org for ease of finding. : )

Some country codes: 1: U.S.; 44: UK; 61: Australia; 55: Brazil; 3: Canada; 86: P.R. of China; 33: France; 49: Germany, etc.

Tuning spaces are used to keep track of frequency tables, which are used to tune a specific signal (such as a TV channel). Therefore, if you have multiple ways of bringing in a multi-channel video signal into your computer, you would have one frequency table for each set of channels, and each set would be referred to via a "tuning space"...

Microsoft Windows XP and DirectX 9 provide 5 default tuning spaces, which are kept track of in the registry. They are referred to by name by Windows and whatever application refers to them, but generally use 1 of 2 possible input types, "0" or "1". 0 is cable, and 1 is antenna. These are the numbers to use for Tuning Space in VirtualVCR, I believe.

The reason this is provided for as a separate entry from the "Antenna/Cable" radio buttons is that it is possible to have multiple inputs of video signal into your machine, with more than one input card. Also, or in concert with this, applications (programs) can create their own, new, tuning spaces through the use of an API hook into Windows. I've read accounts of programmers attempting to do so, and running into problems when going beyond tuning space 1, with tuning space "2", for example. In VirtualVCR, try leaving it at 0 and just setting the country code. Otherwise, try 0 or 1.

I'm not an expert, but this all is what my initial research yields. I used Tuning Space 1 (for antenna, what I'm using), as well as choosing Antenna input, and it correctly found my local channels during scan.


Review by M'Grap on Oct 14, 2006 Version: 2.6.9.6252 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




Context-sensitive help provides little actual help on Tuner tab of Settings dialog. There is no help on Tuner dialog upon click of TV Tuner Device button on Tuner tab. Website provides no help for settings there: what country code am I in, what Tuning space do I use, if there's a scan button in this dialog, why is there also one in the more general Tuner dialog?

Also, crashes when launching AudioInputMixer Properties tab on Device Settings dialog for XviD codec (Video settings), and one other place (I forgot where.)

Why would it be so hard to write a text help file with explanations? I know this utility is free, but it'd take all of 20 minutes to write one.


Review by M'Grap on Oct 13, 2006 Version: 2.6.9.6252 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




It's the best tool for VHS capture....

Review by prhd on Apr 9, 2006 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




After first installation program refuses to run and gives me a bunch of different error messages. My drivers (Elsa Erazor III Pro with NVidia Riva TNT2 chipset) are updated. I tried older drivers, I tried the latest drivers. I tried Elsa drivers, I tried NVidia drivers. VirtualVCR only spits out error messages. The latest one now is: "Could not add Video Capture Filter to the filter graph". This could be as well Chinese, I don't understand it. The forum/messageboard for this program is not working. I can't find an email address to contact the author(s). Their help sites are not helping either.
In summary: Program deleted. Absolutely useless.


Review by LottiEdel on Feb 25, 2006 Version: ???? OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




I use an AverTV PCI Card. I wanted to capture analog PAL home videos from my old VHS video camera. The audio video sync problem has been so aweful for me that I cannot recommend this software to anyone. They have this great option to see stats but you cannot find anywhere, how to interpret those stats and what adjustments need to be made to the setup to get synchronized audio & video.

Review by om67 on Nov 16, 2005 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




THE BEST TOOL FOR recording TV into your PC I use this on my Windows XP PC without difficulty after some initial trouble...

I just wonder how jimbop99 GOT THIS TO WORK ON MacOSX

He posted: Tool version 2.6.9 using OS MacOSX

Unless he's using a Windows emulator? I'd like to know as I prefer the Mac.


Review by evilCsaw on Aug 29, 2005 Version: 2.6.9 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This program appeared to be exactly what I needed, but everytime I recorded from my VCR to my computer (via VIVO) the sound would slowly go out of sync. I tried every option under the audio sync tab, but nothing worked. I then went to Virtualdub and that worked perfectly. If they can fix the audio sync program, Iwould give this a 10 easily.

Review by jimbop99 on Jul 23, 2005 Version: 2.6.9 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




I am using ati hdtv wonder wdm drivers.
However, virtualvcr doesn't seem to work
with this setup. Can't preview unless I
set to RGB24, but I would like to capture
YUY2 avi 720x480 for CCE mpeg encoding.
Also, audio not present in capture nor
preview.


Review by peterli on May 26, 2005 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




I got preview working. I now prefer this tool to capturing in Virtual Dub. One thing I really like is the ability to save different capturing profiles. So I have one saved for NTSC and one for PAL. It also keeps a log of which frames were dropped which is a big help.


Darryl


Review by dphirschler on Apr 29, 2005 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I like it. Does what I want. Captures PAL. Virtual Dub would not capture PAL for me. One thing, I have to capture blind. For some reason, preview does not work.

Review by dphirschler on Apr 26, 2005 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I think that VirtualVCR has plenty of potential to become even better.The reason I say this is because when I gave it a thorough testing,I found that the A/V Sync would be way off.
Its a simple,smart looking piece of software and it seems to work for a lot of users,but not for me.Until the audio resampling is tweaked to perfection,I cannot recommend it.
If I'm going to capture video,the least I expect is that everything is in sync!
VirtualDub's experimental releases use the same kind of method as VirtualVCR for keeping A/V sync and work flawlessly for me.


Review by laspis59 on Feb 20, 2005 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




this by far the best program i have ever used in conjunction with huffyuv to capture avi's the results are stunning regardles of what it is your recording i have tried those payware programs like IUVCR and it cant get nowhere near the quality that virtual vcr can get..

i love this program its easy and its FREE!!!


Review by kenmasters83 on Feb 20, 2005 Version: latest version OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Absolutely the best. I've tried avi_io, and iuvcr. Both of those did not produce the quality that I got with virtualvcr. I'm using a Leadtek 2000xp dlx tuner, and for whatever reason it works with the latest drivers (01-04) right out of the box.

Review by EAO on Jan 28, 2004 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If you have an analog capture card (S-video, composite, etc.) this is the only capture software to use. Why? Because it is the only software that keeps audio + video in sync the correct way. Make sure you use the "audio resample" button and do not choose any master streams.
.
Most other capture applications will keep audio and video in sync, but when you compress it to MPEG1/2/4, it won't stay that way, or complain that the file is not compliant. This program won't do that to you. Highly recommended!


Review by valnar on Jan 26, 2004 Version: 2.6.9 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The best of the best. You may like to try this scheduler [url] http://vvcrs.50free.net/[/url]

Review by Leoncheong on Dec 8, 2003 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A great tool, easy to use and good quality. I have managed to capture in 720x480 without any frame dropped, using AverMedia EZ DVD PCI.
Regarding the meaning of dropped2, see the explanation on its web site http://virtualvcr.sourceforge.net/html/virtualvcr/general.php.


Review by arrowhead on Nov 6, 2003 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




it's an "easy to use" vcr tool
but...can anyone tell me, what is the difference between dropped and dropped in statistics windows ?


Review by m28ew on Nov 6, 2003 Version: 2.6.9.6252 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




cool tool. searching scheduler ?? use this http://www.zisoft.de/video/

Review by opato on Oct 20, 2003 Version: latest OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Well, Virtual VCR used to be my preferred TV capture program till I got the for Leadtek TV2000XP card (from CWORLD, Richmond at A$95). Virtual VCR refuses to work with this card. Have just downloaded the fixed version from the link given above. Hope it works.
By the way, it's nice to see that channel 9 scrshot. Hey, I live in Melbourne now and I guess this cards pretty popular over here.


Review by keithsebastian on Oct 20, 2003 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I tried so many different capture programs that I can't count them all. To me this is the best of the bunch as far as performance goes. It is very easy to use and I never get more than 1 or 2 dropped frames over three-hour periods (football games), if any at all.

I don't use filters while capturing. I use VirtualDub and AVISynth for editing.

I use a WinTV GO PCI capture card, capturing 720X480, 30 fps.

The only negatives I have are the lack of a scheduler (see my next note) and the amount of support; the author is busy doing other things these days and doesn't have time to provide much support. No new version in a while. Hey, it's free...

The scheduler...well someone did write a scheduler called VVCRS2...it can be hard to find but if you get it, it's pretty much what you need. It runs in the tray and actually doesn't use the Windows Task Scheduler. Works for me!

Dale


Review by phinsman on Oct 18, 2003 Version: 2.69 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It is very nice and simplified program for capturing, works for all tested capture cards and capture chips (SAA7130, BT878, ATI Rage Theater). Dropped frames indicator seems very precise.
The only disvantage is small on-the-fly filter numbers.


Review by Tihomir on Sep 1, 2003 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Worked well with ATi TV Wonder capture card where MMC failed plus offered a great dealmore option than ATi software offered. The program did take a while to figure out but once everthing's properly set, you're going to have almost no problem at all.

I have 2.4GHz P4, ATA100 drives and I can make 720x480 30fps capture with no dropped frames when using Huffy codec. If you're looking for simple and hassle-free program to use, this one should be your first choice to try. I promise you won't even bother trying any other capture programs.


Review by impmon2 on Aug 29, 2003 Version: 2.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is *the* software for capturing. USing its dynamic resample, I never got desynched audio! You can save different capture profiles, which is very useful if you're capturing from many different sources. HIghly recommended, You can't go wrong with freeware.

Review by vmesquita287 on Jul 4, 2003 Version: 2.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Over the course of the last 3 years i've extensively test
almost all (if not even all) video capture programs (for vfw
and wdm) and i would like to express that while most them are
prone to problems, only some 3 are decent performers, imho.

VirtualVCR is definitely one of them -- the only drawback is
the lack of a 'complete', integrated, Scheduller.
Furthermore it has a unique feature: it's Freeware. Just try it.

HN


Review by henriQ on Jul 4, 2003 Version: last OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


27 reviews, Showing 1 to 27 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com