Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Virtual CloneDrive

10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by loster on Jan 13, 2018 Version: 5.5.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I've used Virtual CloneDrive on systems running Windows XP through Windows 8 and haven't experienced any issues. It's a great freeware program that does exactly what it's intended to do without any unnecessary bloat.

Review by HemLok on Feb 19, 2013 Version: 5.4.5.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Been using this software for years and never had any issues of any kind.

Review by Backpain on Feb 19, 2013 Version: 5.4.5.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




JohnnyBob's comment below assigns blame for coincident events to VirtualCloneDrive. VirtualCloneDrive is INCAPABLE of modifying the firmware on a physical DVD drive. The other ill effects he attributes to VCD are almost certainly caused by whatever caused the issue with the physical DVD drive (which in all likelihood had NO firmware problem but was affected by e.g. a controller error or the familiar PIO/DMA situation). He has a computer problem, but it has nothing to do with VCD.

Review by Inspector.Gadget on Feb 18, 2013 Version: All OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I tried it on XP SP3 and it didn't work, so I uninstalled it.

Some time later I noticed it had not uninstalled correctly because the virtual drive still appeared in Windows Explorer. Unfortunately it was too late to use a System Restore so I had to google and try various methods to remove it.

Turns out this is a common problem. I tried all available suggested methods but could not get rid of the virtual drive in Windows Explorer. It disappeared temporarily but always came back after restarting computer.

What finally worked (sort-of) was to reinstall Virtual Clone Drive then use the provided uninstaller to uninstall it immediately. It would not work to use the uninstall operation from Add or Remove Programs panel. I had to use the uninstaller that appeared under Start > Programs. Then it uninstalled and no longer appears in Windows Explorer, but I have noted two after-effects:

(1) One of my optical drives apparently lost its special flash from MCSE that speeds up ripping of DVD movies. Looks like I may have to reflash it, if that's possible(?)

(2) The available drive letters were messed up. So when I plugged in a USB drive it did not adopt the usual next available drive letter. I had to assign the proper drive letter to it manually.

I consider this Virtual Clone Drive from Elaborate Bytes to be dangerous software which is likely to mess up your operating system. There was a warning in that regard from Microsoft during the install process, which I had unfortunately ignored. So I must advise everyone to avoid it.

I've used other virtual drives before without these kinds of problems so am not a total amateur.


Review by JohnnyBob on Feb 18, 2013 Version: 5.4.5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




It lacks so many features compared to the free Deamon Tools Lite,
there's no single reason to use this one.


Review by cobalt on Dec 30, 2009 Version: 5.4.4.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10




I have problems with this software.

1) It's impossible to close it if you don't want it running. You have to uninstall it.

2) It took over my CD and DVD drives so that they would not show up in other software (such as EAC, CD Burner XP, Deep Burner, etc). Only the virtual drive showed up. Uninstalling it brought those drives back.


Review by dphirschler on Sep 26, 2009 Version: 5.4.3.5 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




good software unlike others in this category includes some anti copy protection feautes

Review by loster on Jul 7, 2009 Version: 5.4.3.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Simple to use and works as expected.
Very handy utility.


Review by sambat on Jan 10, 2009 Version: 5.4.1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




very easy to use.does it work perfectly.
highly recommended for mount images.


Review by danielk68 on Jul 17, 2008 Version: 5.3.1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com