Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.




Try StreamFab Downloader and download streaming video from Netflix, Amazon, Youtube! Download free trial.

Software Home »



All reviews for Video DownloadHelper

21 reviews, Showing 1 to 21 reviews


DO NOT SPEND MONEY ON A LICENSE! THE NEW VERSION DOES NOT ALLOW RECORDING OF VIDEOS!

Review by cammikun on May 23, 2024 Version: 9.0.1.13 OS: Windows 11 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




it's just awful that there are no settings to do recording in a container other than mp4, m2ts for example.

Review by oops on Feb 22, 2024 Version: 8.2.0.23 OS: Windows 11 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




Running 8.0.0.6 on Mac (Catalina 10.15.7)
Have the following Problem: When I download some HD-Video (1920x1080) from Youtube with AAC-LC
(e.g. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHRt_EtbzdY)
(does't matter if .mkv or .mp4), the (audio) display in VLC is flawless
BUT when I watch the downloaded file with VLC, the audio is muted at the end
Airy can download the file with correct audio-track!


Review by Hans from Bamberg on Nov 2, 2023 Version: macOS 10.15.7 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




This does what it's supposed to do. It works for me every time once I got into the how-tos.

Review by Blueox on Oct 22, 2023 Version: 8.0.0.6 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It was half decent several years ago, but now is complete trash that rarely if ever succeeds in downloading, and almost always just spits out an error about needing a "companion app" (bloatware at best), and slows your browser down overall. Just garbage!

Review by Dude Guyman on Apr 30, 2023 Version: 7.x.x OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by loster on Aug 18, 2022 Version: 7.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




One of the most inscrutable interfaces ever -- with options that look virtually identical but aren't, not even counting inadequately explained settings (leave most of them alone!). And it will be NECESSARY to try several times to get a working download, which might take a long time for lengthy videos. "Easily save videos from most of the popular video sites": NOT!

Review by SiEntomologist on Sep 16, 2021 Version: 7.6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 3/10




Very nice functionalities and usage.
An improovement would be to sort possible videos download by size (decreasing) and filter


Review by obelix73 on Apr 26, 2021 Version: 7.4.0 OS: Linux Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by linchen75 on Feb 18, 2021 Version: 7.4.0 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very clumsy to use. Most videos don't come in at all. Those that do, only a part is downloaded. If you accidentally que a file twice it will keep trying to download the second redundant file as many times as necessary. No matter how many times you delete it. Any file that's queued after that is ignored and soon forgotten. Not worth the time. A nice idea but poorly executed. Let's hope someone who knows how to code comes up with a new program that does what it promises to do.

Review by bill on Jun 23, 2020 Version: 7.3.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by brizamarii on Feb 26, 2018 Version: Win 10 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It's all up for grabs with FF extensions, ever since their dubious tossing of the prior extensions' APIs, in favor of the new ones. A number of former, good extensions have gone away. Maybe the problem is that I'm not yet trying the latest version of this extension . . . but I'm skeptical. (My ratings should be viewed in that light.) I tried this extension a few years ago, and found it semi-worthless then. This 6.3.3 version continues on in much that same vein, consistently failing to even detect videos that are playing. In the past, I also found xVideoServiceThief to be essentially worthless, but had some short-lived and limited success with Tubedigger 3.x. Jaksta was Hit or Miss, with a lot of misses. I had some impressive results with Ant Download Mgr., but over time found its insistent intrusiveness to be quite annoying. In the end I had to saddle it with a whole lot of rules / exceptions -- many of which it just ignored -- and then to disable it from automatic operation in the FF extensions manager. The much more techie learning curve and difficulty of use with solutions like URLSnooper or RTMPDumpHelper never really appealed to me.

So, *what* am I using currently for video downloads (with good success), you might ask ? Primarily, Fast Video Downloader and VideoGet, neither of which are included in the VH Software section. (But they should be !) On the free side, I like what I'm seeing with youtube-dl-gui, and with TV Downloader. The latter two I don't think are mentioned in the VH Software Reviews section either, but they are at least discussed here in the forums, with regularly updated links. None of these are browser extensions though, if that matters to you. While that format might be slightly more convenient, I think it's a lot more important that your tool of choice actually works !


Review by Seeker47 on Jan 6, 2018 Version: 6.3.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 2/10




This is an "add-on", or plugin for Mozilla Firefox and will auto update when you update the Firefox browser.
I've used it for a few years and for the most part, it does a good job of downloading videos via the Firefox browser, mainly FLV and MP4 video, but it works for MPEG, WMV and JPEG image files as well.
It's free, never had any issues with malware or adware, but I don't use the video conversion part of the software so things may be a bit different in that department.


Review by Ron B on Apr 5, 2014 Version: 4.9.22 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This browser plugin supposedly allows you to download any video from YouTube, but it only works correctly for non-HD video. If you try to download 720p or 1080p clips, you will get a file with working audio but non-functional video. This has to be a problem with the plugin, because there are other YT downloaders for Mac that allow perfect downloading of HD video.

Review by AVR2 on Dec 18, 2013 Version: 4.9.21 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 5/10




Great tool but no longer works with YouTube (Vevo for sure). Trying Freemake now...

Review by V1de0Luvr on Jul 3, 2013 Version: 4.9.15 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




This is a great downloader.
Cannot download sometimes, but it works great right now.


Review by Rob- on Sep 26, 2012 Version: 4.9.10 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




My rating is meaningless:
Today 21-09-2012 I'm getting a Google warning that the site http://www.downloadhelper.net is being used to distribute malware

Partial Quote from Google:
"What happened when Google visited this site?

Of the 138 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 59 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2012-09-21, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2012-09-21.

Malicious software is hosted on 3 domain(s), including muzafferkocer.com/, mucastudio.com/, kentlyonsdev2.com/.

2 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for distributing malware to visitors of this site, including poddubem.com/, kentlyonsdev2.com/.

This site was hosted on 2 network(s) including AS16276 (OVH), AS15169 (Google Internet Backbone)............"


Review by gll99 on Sep 22, 2012 Version: 4.9.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Personally, I don't use the converter, as I don't think I would like it. I am very picky about video converters, and I'm sure that anyone on this site could easily find one they like, if they just look around. I kind of like XviD4PSP, myself, although there are certainly others you could try.

Review by TSJNachos on Jun 28, 2011 Version: 4.9.3 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




LOGOWARE

From the FAQ:

Logo on converted video

The logo appears at the top left corner of the converted videos when you use the conversion on Windows with an unregistered converter version.

Registration:
Pay in US Dollars $28.50 USD


Review by p_l on Jun 21, 2011 Version: 4.9.3. OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




With version 4.9, using Firefox 4.0 or later, you have option of screen capture added, using code from Cam Studio
http://update.downloadhelper.net/index.html
http://www.downloadhelper.net/screen-capture.php
to capture audio, use record audio from speakers option


Review by mgh on Jun 14, 2011 Version: 4.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A thing of beauty, which gets better and better.

Review by Mitchum22 on Apr 10, 2009 Version: 4.3 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


21 reviews, Showing 1 to 21 reviews
Visit our sponsors! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2024 videohelp.com