Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Universal Media Server

8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews


The new version is really bad, I can no longer watch movies I have on my computer through my ps4. I uninstalled and went back to version 9.8.0.

Review by Ayla on Sep 6, 2020 Version: 9.8.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Nixio on Apr 23, 2020 Version: 9.4.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by tsMuxer on Apr 26, 2017 Version: 6.6.0 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The newest version has a bug where it won't play any files with a srt subtitle,gives an error message saying file not found.

Review by johns0 on Mar 26, 2015 Version: 5.1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've tested Universal Media Server and it works well with my Samsung Bluray player. My primary DLNA server is Serviio since it's faster for me but occasionally Serviio has a problem with a video file type and I then switch to Universal Media Server.
I've tried many of the DLNA media servers and the only ones I like are Universal Media Server and Serviio.


Review by danzeb on Jul 12, 2013 Version: 2.6.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is by far on my top 3 list of media servers, this one and Serviio does the job for me. On my wishlist for this software it will be a cleaver metadata system such as serviio has, maybe make it work together with IMDB.

I have NEVER had any problems with this software. I used to use PS3 mediaserver but I uninstalled it when I found Universal Media server and I will never go back to PS3 Mediaserver.


Review by JackDanielZ on Jul 12, 2013 Version: 2.6.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is probably the worst dnla server, its just a ps3 media server clone!
Video freezes and even slower than even ps3 media server. Whoever did this just cloned ps3 media server with fancier buttons.

Doesnt come close to Serviio Media Server - the best and most feature packed server.
Serviio is soo much easier to use.


Review by aziztt on Apr 22, 2013 Version: 2.6.2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




UMS is the best media server, it is packed with features and customizations that allow it to run just how I want it to.

Review by SubJunk on Feb 18, 2013 Version: 2.4.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com