Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
TMPGEnc Plus

NEW VERSION 2.524

NO LONGER DEVELOPED
TMPGEnc Plus is a high quality MPEG-1/2 encoder that can be used by both beginners and professional users. With TMPGEnc Plus you can convert your AVI files to DVD, Super Video CD (MPEG-2) and VideoCD (MPEG-1) format. It also has basic joining, splitting and multiplex, demultiplex features.

Trialware $37
OS: Win
File size: 8.4MB
Other versions
Version history
8.8/10
19 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

TMPGEnc Plus screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

2.524 (December 17, 2004)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download TMPGEnc Plus 2.524  8.4MB  Win



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $37)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads

Download free TMPGEnc here, free MPEG1/VCD encoding.



Download TMPGEnc MPEG2 Plugin, open MPEG2 files directly in TMPGEnc.



Download TMPGEnc Batch list creator, it lets you open several video clips at once in TMPGEnc.



Version history / Release notes / Changelog


TMPGEnc Plus 2.524 (2.524.63.181) December 16 2004
Specification Changes
[1] The formats for the project file and the template file have been changed. Therefore, project created with the new version cannot be used with older versions.
[2] [Project wizard (Step 4/5)]: in the media pull-down selection, DVD 8.5 GB (Double Layer) has been added, for the bitrate setting and size graph.
[3] In the MPEG system multiplexer, the max. bitrate is written instead of the average bitrate for the multiplexing rate. It shortens the outputting process.
[4] [MPEG Setting - GOP structure]: Even if Closed GOP is not selected, the GOP structure is now compliant with the MPEG standard.
[5] Created MPEG-2: the sequence display extension value in the header is now DVD compliant.
Image Quality
[1] Image quality for MPEG-1 with long-GOP, has been improved.
[2] Encoding of scenes using still-image, has been improved.
Decoding
[1] Decoding process of MPEG-video is faster.
[2] CRI Sofdec MPEG Decoder can read WAVE files (48 / 96 khz, 16 / 20 bit, 1 / 2 ch).
Fixed
[1] Errors related with encoding using multi-thread.
[2] The encoding of MPEGs with GOP structure using only I and B pictures, has been improved.
[3] [MPEG Setting - Video]: The Aspect ratio 2.21:1 for MPEG-2, was set to 2.11:1 .
[4] [Output to file - AVI file / WAVE file]: when clicking the Cancel button in the [Sound Selection] dialog, the dialog was shown again.
[5] [MPEG Setting - Quantize matrix]: if saving an existing template under a new name, it could not be deleted.
[6] [MPEG Setting - Quantize matrix]: if saving a template under no name, memory access violations occurred.
[7] When reading empty files (zero data), it could take a very long time to show the error message.
[8] MPEG source files with invalid data could sometime, make the encoding process freeze.
[9] AVI files created with TMPGEnc, when played with Windows Media Player could stop in the middle, with the message "Invalid file".

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to TMPGEnc Plus


bbMPEG



HC Encoder



TMPGEnc



TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works







Guides and How to's


AVI to DVD MPEG (using CCE or TMPGenc encoders)

- Read

Converting SVCD PAL 25fps to SVCD NTSC 23.976fps

- Read

How to convert a PAL DVD to a NTSC DVD using TMPGEnc Plus 2.5x

- Read

How to convert interlaced PAL DVD to NTSC DVD

- Read

MPEG2 Encoder test(DV source), CCE vs Procoder vs TMPGEnc vs MC vs Vegas

- Read

MPEG2 Encoder test(XviD source), CCE vs TMPGEnc vs Procoder vs MC vs QuEnc

- Read

Optimizing TMPGEnc for quality AND speed

- Read

Sefy's DVD Backup Guide v2.6

- Read

TMPGEnc Plus video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Tool features - Convert




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




19 reviews, Showing 1 to 19 reviews


Can't stay away from this critter. OK, so it's 2004. That's old? I'll bet your spouse is older than that -- ready to trade THAT in? Gets really clean SD encodes at medium to high bitrates. Wouldn't recommend for those 2K bitrate encode (I wouldn't recommend 2K for anything, period). The best part is its image mod and histogram features, and one of the best edge ghost filters anywhere. Can take in/put out many SD formats, does pulldown, etc. Also lets you tweak an image and save it as AVI. Overall, far better than TMPGenc's newer MPEG encoders. And no argument with the price.

Review by sanlyn on Jun 27, 2013 Version: 2.524.63.581 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great tool! Bought it a year ago, but have not been informed of updates!! Am I entitled

Review by avz10 on Jun 23, 2007 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




This tool keeps working fine after upgrade to Vista.

Review by ofbarea on Feb 25, 2007 Version: 2.524.63.181 OS: Vista Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




It took a bit of experimentation to get TMPGEnc Plus to work for me the way I want it to. First off, the only way I can get it to encode without freezing is to frameserve from VirtualDub. Raw AVI and frameserve with Avisynth don't work for me.

I've been capping with VirtualVCR and VirtualDub using either HUffyUV or Lagarith compression. Since VirtualVCR has a good rep for keeping audio sync, I thought it would work best - but instead I found the encoded mpg to always have a 150-200ms offset. VirtualDub had no such issues when using Lagarith
(need to try it with HuffyUV).

Pretty much all of the other video software I use is freeware and troublefree so I'm surprised that TMPGEnc Plus, which I paid for, is easily the most fussy software I'm currently using.

I will say that the resulting encoded files look good so obviously I'm getting value out of the tool. Like others, I'm disappointed by the long encode time. I will probably be giving CCE Basic a try.

A small point to add: whenever I go into the Settings under the advanced tab, the program is often resetting the Source Aspect Ratio to "4:3 525 line (NTSC,704x480)", even when I try setting it to something else. I don't think this will actually affect my encode since I am in fact encoding to NTSC 4:3, but from a software programming standpoint it really irks me to have paid for a poorly coded/tested tool. Again, I'm a bit surprised at this bit of shoddiness in a tool I'm paying for.


Review by abcedem on Apr 19, 2006 Version: 2.524.63.181 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 6/10




I tried to use TMPG Tools for my ReplayTV Mpeg2 files
conversions to VOBs, - tool doesn't recognize format.
Other tools like Pinnacle do.
.avi and other formats simless..


Review by dushman on Mar 15, 2005 Version: 2.6 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




Very sweet tool that does what it says. The price really is right for this one. People say it's on the slow side, but I don't think so really... faster almost always equals worse quality. Never yet had a bad encode with this app.

Review by Zisguy1 on Feb 21, 2005 Version: 2.59.47.155 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I'm sorry but that last comment by the previous poster is absolute bollocks. Always converting NTSC to PAL is definitely the way to go if you want decent quality. PAL is superior to NTSC in every way imaginable and converting to PAL is always preferable. Sometimes it can be difficult to do depending on the source type, but if you are able to do it properly via frameserving or whatever then do so. TMPGEnc's own tools are not usually powerful enough to do a very good job on their own, so don't bother with that route, use AviSynth or VirtualDubMod to do the NTSC -> PAL conversion and then frameserve the result into TMPGEnc to do the actual encoding. You will not be disappointed.

Apart from anything else, the vertical resolution of NTSC being 480/240 is not large enough to get an unnoticeable difference in the correct aspect ratio when you need to round the vertical resolution of the output MPEG to 16. PAL's 576/288 allows you to get much closer to the ideal number when rounding to 16 such that the aspect ratio distortion is unnoticeable. Just one reason why PAL is superior.


Review by DRP on Oct 9, 2004 Version: 2.521.58.169 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool to encode video. For AVI files with AC3, encode only the video (demux the AC3 with virtualdubmod). For the best video quality, NEVER CHANGE NTSC to PAL !!!!!!!!!!!

Review by danravit on Oct 9, 2004 Version: 2.521.58.169 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




One of my "workhorses". Great encoder for the money. I owned TMPGEnc Plus for over two years now and I'm still amazed at its versitility and the number of features it has. I use it to encoded MPEG-2 for DVD (mostly) and have used CQ, CBR & VBR options. It's easy to learn its basics and start using, but to use all of its power takes a while. I'm still learning.

Review by rkr1958 on Aug 27, 2004 Version: 2.521.58.169 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This ia a quality encoder. You can use this to make vcds, svcds and dvds plus makeing them better quality ( sharpening edges, cutting out noise, matching sound to video, changes screen size eg, 16: 4:3 2:11 pal or nstc ).The only downside to this program i have found is sometimes it does not reconize files correctly ( mainly avi ) no matter what codecs i have.This i correct with winmpg v 3.31 converting to mpg 1.Dont use any other version but 3.31 because all the other versions i have used crash, when i have converted them through winmpg, tmpge reconizes them fine.Top quality converter. 10 out of 10

Review by peacock on Feb 29, 2004 Version: plus 2.5 OS: MacOS9 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I gave this a 9/10 for ease of use as setting up all the options can be confusing. Once set though the wizard makes this a really easy and powerful tool.

My main reason for leaving a comment was the upgrade option which I finally bit the bullet and did. The process is simple and if you are registered before the upgrade you still will be after.

The version numbers however need a lot to be desired. I went from 2.57 to 2.521 (which looks like a downgrade) but should really be read as 2.5-7 and 2.5-21 (21 > 7 so all is sweet).

I use this tool mainly to convert NTSC to PAL and to compress the bitrate to squeeze more onto a CDR (in the old days) and now DVDRs. The batch mode allow you to set up multiple conversions and let them run over night. When finished your machine can optionally be shut down.

On a dual PIII 800 with 1Gb ram (and it can be configured to use multiple CPUs of P4 HT technology) I process 45min of video with 5.1 audio from NTSC to PAL in abount 90 min.

Definitely worth a look in.


Review by NotMeHim on Feb 12, 2004 Version: 2.521 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best Encoder I have used to date. Much better results than Click 2 DVD (Sony) or myDVD. I marked it down on ease of use bacause some of the help screens have very criptic messages that are very hard to understand. My second little beef is the way it disables menu selections to 'guide' you to correct choices. 99% of the time I have to load the unlock template so I can adjust the setting I need for my project.



Review by EdgarT on Feb 12, 2004 Version: 2.521 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




My first mpeg 1 & 2 video encoder since February 2002 and still one of my favorites. For the price, versatility, features, ease of use (use the guides ;-) and quality it is the best of its breed.

Review by dvwannab on Jan 1, 2004 Version: 2.521.58.169 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




TMPGEnc Plus is even better than TMPGEnc if that was possible, i don't think that it takes that long to encode movies considering what it has to do, although i havn't used it to encode audio, it gets top marks from me except for Ease of use which is a bit of a set back for a newbee.

Review by awilt2001shire on Jan 1, 2004 Version: 2.521.58.169 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This THE encoder/decoder!!
- Fabulous AVI (DivX) to MPEG encoder!
- Brilloant MPEG1 MPEG2 conversion!
- Great wizards!
- And much more for only 50$!
I'm really impressed!


Review by Co0L on Sep 26, 2003 Version: 2.521 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I have been using this tool for about 3 months now. Its an excellent tool. It may be a little slow but I think that in the long run slow and safe are better than fast and ???? It can do many things that most encoders can't do. For example converting source media Pal to NTSC for VCD without any headache. Plus its audio encoder works real well not the best mind you but very good indeed. The one thing I do recommend is that you should have most of the new codecs installed. and ofcourse the direct show priorities should be 1st. This way it can handle most file types. Its well worth the money.... I have made about 50 VCDs and 25 DVD thus far all from avi and mpg files using the templates provided and the wizard. Once you get the hang of it you can fiddle with the settings to get high quality but be warned high quality takes time to encode. The balance you are looking for is High quality and fast. This program doesn't do "fast" so set it to decode at night and when you wake up in the morning you have quality. Besides night is for xxx and sleeping, no?

Review by jamesbond1960 on Sep 1, 2003 Version: 2.54 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very slow ... but excellent results ...

Review by dlawedor on Aug 12, 2003 Version: 2.511 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




One of the best mpeg1, mpeg2 encoders with tons of extra features.

Review by Baldrick on Jul 17, 2003 Version: 2.513 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




You go to any site that talks about making videos and you'll see the name TMPGEnc mentioned by quite a few people. I saw a guy on TV descibe it as every bit as good as a $1200. MPEG encoder he used where he worked. I'm pretty new to computers and making videos, but thanks to all the articles I found at this site, I had no problem using TMPGEnc. I even used the audio, which almost everyone recommends you DON'T use. I hate waiting for video to "Render" but the results are excellent. After only a couple of tries, I was sold and I downloaded and paid for my current version. IF YOU ARE SUPER NEW TO THIS(making mpeg encodings), I'D WAIT A COUPLE OF MONTHS BEFORE YOU TACKLE IT. Read up, right here at DVDRhelp.

Review by TheGr8Steve on Jun 26, 2003 Version: 2.511.51 OS: MacOS8 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


19 reviews, Showing 1 to 19 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com