Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Sound Forge

13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews


The best part about Sound Forge is that it feels like a native Windows program. Therefore its interface appears intuitive to a person who has worked with Windows, while also being fast. Navigating through menus and dialogs, and using keyboard shortcuts, don't have to be learn a new. This is not the case with any Adobe products (either old or new), or freely distributed software, which feel more or less foreign, like Linux. (GoldWave might be an exception, but it of different class.)

Here I am describing product versions 4 through 7. After that the program acquired more weight and got slower. This is not the fault of Sony alone. I feel like they were struggling to justify releasing major versions, and had to add superficial features to the package. Sony Sound Forge 7.0a is the last fast version out there for editing in stereo. And it does feel like a point version of 6, much like 4.5 was, unless you count adding the Sony logo on all dialogs a significant improvement. Overall, I'd say 7.0 is more stable, and allows to use modern native plugins (ac3plug pro, atracplug), as well as some DirectX ones (like Izotope Ozone), which didn't work in the previous release.

The effects and processors included with Forge prior to version 9 are not up to the current professional and "HD-era" standards. I find that DX effects from Izotope, and VST and ASIO support in REAPER and Foobar2000, complement this deficiency, while still allowing to use Sound Forge for sample-exact editing. The other tools work on clip or track level and have different applications.

I'd use 9.0 and above only for work with surround mixes.


Review by j7n on Jun 22, 2014 Version: 7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I never heard of Reaper. I checked out the website. I am not impressed with your Comments. If you like Reaper use it and be Happy.I use what works for me and you use what works for you. Sony Sound Forge Pro 10c give me speed and accuracy on my Computer. So you can go to the Reaper Website and Forum and kiss up all you like.Reaper is NO Sound Forge and you know it.

Review by ZypKode on Feb 24, 2012 Version: 10c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




"It has to be one of the Fastest Burning Software(s) out there." --- what a mong comment, how can "fast CD burning" be possibly good? If I'm burning a CD, I want rock-solid burning at an appropriate speed for burner/disk combination.

Anything Sound Forge can do, Reaper can do for a lot less, practically free. Seems to be lots of Sony "tools" here lol.


Review by chowmein on Feb 23, 2012 Version: 0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Sony Sound Forge Pro 10c is as good as it gets.It has to be one of the Fastest Burning Software(s) out there.It works for me.

Review by ZypKode on Feb 23, 2012 Version: 10c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best version for years. Its great for ripping tracks off badley scratched music cd's where others fail

I Love it!!!!


Review by eddyt on Jul 12, 2005 Version: 8a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




i agree this tool is one of the best...it is a professional piece of software afterall (not some home-made toy)
i especially love little things like how you can zoom in/out with the scroll wheel (something u cant even do in the cubase sx editor)

and its awesome that it now supports vst plugs

.

what i found disturbing was this quote below:

"Best news of all, this is no more Sonic Foundry Sound Forge. Now itīs Sony Sound Forge!! woooohoooo go Sony! "

???


i dont often see someone cheering on a mega-corp as if it taking over a small company was a good thing



Review by ted Demen on May 14, 2005 Version: 7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




For audio stuff it still lags behind CoolEditPro (now Adobe Audition). Still, it is quick for fixing audio within a video file.

Review by starofradiance on Oct 18, 2004 Version: 7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 7/10




I use it for recordig from FM radio and then I edit it using different plugins. Simply a great software,only thing missing is mp3pro encoding facility.

Review by Ajit on Oct 18, 2004 Version: 7.0 OS: MacOS8 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Actually, you donīt have to get Mainconceptīs MPEG plugin anymore. It is now integrated with version 7. You can handle MP3, MPEG 1 & 2. You even have presets to encode with vcd or svcd audio specifications. Ainīt Sound Forge great????

Review by haznut on Nov 5, 2003 Version: 7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I can't believe I haven't left a review for this software yet! This program is amazing. The holy grail of all audio software. There is almost nothing this program cannot do. I use it frequently to restore audio, using the many filters and options it has. I especially love the paragraphic EQ and normalization tools. This is truly the "photoshop" of sound. Has a great set of presets and is easy to customize and add your own filter templates.

Remember to get the MainConcept MPEG Audio plugin if you want to edit MPEG audio (MP3, MP2, etc).


Review by lordsmurf on Nov 3, 2003 Version: 6.0E OS: WinME Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Forget about all other kiddie sound tools. Sound Forge is without a doubt, like our mate said below, the "photoshop" of audio software. Itīs so easy to use, and the results are as professional as the ones you get with the $1000+ sound editing software/hardware. Get a demo version and fool around...you wonīt believe what you can do. And like photoshop, you can add the best audio plugins if youīre looking for something in particular. The effects tools are great, and even greater if you take some seconds and change the settings.

Best news of all, this is no more Sonic Foundry Sound Forge. Now itīs Sony Sound Forge!! woooohoooo go Sony!

ok go get it...what u waiting 4?


Review by haznut on Oct 9, 2003 Version: 7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Sound Forge is the standard for audio editing. Nothing else is as comprehensive, or industrial strength, as Sound Forge. It is the 'Photoshop' of audio.

That said, it is less than intuitive and takes a long time to master. Well worth it, though!


Review by aybesea on Jun 12, 2003 Version: 5f OS: Win2K Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Great editing software, but a little harder to use then Goldwave &/or Cooledit. DX filters are very fast with realtime preview on most curent systems.

Review by mikiem on Jun 12, 2003 Version: 6e OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10


13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com