Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
Sound Forge Pro software efficiently and reliably provides audio editors and producers complete control over all aspects of audio editing and mastering. Whether in the studio or field, it's the ultimate all-in-one production suite for professional audio recording and mastering, sound design, audio restoration, and Red Book CD creation. New features in Sound Forge Pro include precise event-based editing, integrated disc-at-once CD burning, musical instrument file processing, and pristine audio conversion and time stretching. Sound Forge Audio Studio costs $60 and Pro version version $400.

Trialware $60
OS: Windows
File size: 4.6MB
Version history
8.4/10
13 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

Sound Forge screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


Sound Forge screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

Pro 13 / Studio 13 (April 15, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download Sound Forge Pro 13  4.6MB  Win



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $60)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Sound Forge Pro 13
Customizable interface: 4 color levels, new icon design & docking New VST engine & ARA2 support Peak Meter for level measurement New mastering effects: two-point compressor, limiter, expander, compressor, gate New delay effects: delay, chorus, flanger zplane élastique Timestretch with new élastiquePro v3 engine
Read more: https://www.magix.com/us/music/sound-forge/sound-forge-pro/new-features/


View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to Sound Forge


Adobe Audition



Audacity



GoldWave



ocenaudio



WavePad



Wavosaur







Guides and How to's


How to fix gradual loss of sync once and for all

- Read

How to restore audio with SoundForge

- Read

Sound Forge video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Tool features - Convert





Acronyms / Also Known As

Sound Forge Pro, SoundForge, Sound Forge Audio Studio




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews


The best part about Sound Forge is that it feels like a native Windows program. Therefore its interface appears intuitive to a person who has worked with Windows, while also being fast. Navigating through menus and dialogs, and using keyboard shortcuts, don't have to be learn a new. This is not the case with any Adobe products (either old or new), or freely distributed software, which feel more or less foreign, like Linux. (GoldWave might be an exception, but it of different class.)

Here I am describing product versions 4 through 7. After that the program acquired more weight and got slower. This is not the fault of Sony alone. I feel like they were struggling to justify releasing major versions, and had to add superficial features to the package. Sony Sound Forge 7.0a is the last fast version out there for editing in stereo. And it does feel like a point version of 6, much like 4.5 was, unless you count adding the Sony logo on all dialogs a significant improvement. Overall, I'd say 7.0 is more stable, and allows to use modern native plugins (ac3plug pro, atracplug), as well as some DirectX ones (like Izotope Ozone), which didn't work in the previous release.

The effects and processors included with Forge prior to version 9 are not up to the current professional and "HD-era" standards. I find that DX effects from Izotope, and VST and ASIO support in REAPER and Foobar2000, complement this deficiency, while still allowing to use Sound Forge for sample-exact editing. The other tools work on clip or track level and have different applications.

I'd use 9.0 and above only for work with surround mixes.


Review by j7n on Jun 22, 2014 Version: 7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I never heard of Reaper. I checked out the website. I am not impressed with your Comments. If you like Reaper use it and be Happy.I use what works for me and you use what works for you. Sony Sound Forge Pro 10c give me speed and accuracy on my Computer. So you can go to the Reaper Website and Forum and kiss up all you like.Reaper is NO Sound Forge and you know it.

Review by ZypKode on Feb 24, 2012 Version: 10c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




"It has to be one of the Fastest Burning Software(s) out there." --- what a mong comment, how can "fast CD burning" be possibly good? If I'm burning a CD, I want rock-solid burning at an appropriate speed for burner/disk combination.

Anything Sound Forge can do, Reaper can do for a lot less, practically free. Seems to be lots of Sony "tools" here lol.


Review by chowmein on Feb 23, 2012 Version: 0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Sony Sound Forge Pro 10c is as good as it gets.It has to be one of the Fastest Burning Software(s) out there.It works for me.

Review by ZypKode on Feb 23, 2012 Version: 10c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best version for years. Its great for ripping tracks off badley scratched music cd's where others fail

I Love it!!!!


Review by eddyt on Jul 12, 2005 Version: 8a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




i agree this tool is one of the best...it is a professional piece of software afterall (not some home-made toy)
i especially love little things like how you can zoom in/out with the scroll wheel (something u cant even do in the cubase sx editor)

and its awesome that it now supports vst plugs

.

what i found disturbing was this quote below:

"Best news of all, this is no more Sonic Foundry Sound Forge. Now it´s Sony Sound Forge!! woooohoooo go Sony! "

???


i dont often see someone cheering on a mega-corp as if it taking over a small company was a good thing



Review by ted Demen on May 14, 2005 Version: 7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




For audio stuff it still lags behind CoolEditPro (now Adobe Audition). Still, it is quick for fixing audio within a video file.

Review by starofradiance on Oct 18, 2004 Version: 7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 7/10




I use it for recordig from FM radio and then I edit it using different plugins. Simply a great software,only thing missing is mp3pro encoding facility.

Review by Ajit on Oct 18, 2004 Version: 7.0 OS: MacOS8 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Actually, you don´t have to get Mainconcept´s MPEG plugin anymore. It is now integrated with version 7. You can handle MP3, MPEG 1 & 2. You even have presets to encode with vcd or svcd audio specifications. Ain´t Sound Forge great????

Review by haznut on Nov 5, 2003 Version: 7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I can't believe I haven't left a review for this software yet! This program is amazing. The holy grail of all audio software. There is almost nothing this program cannot do. I use it frequently to restore audio, using the many filters and options it has. I especially love the paragraphic EQ and normalization tools. This is truly the "photoshop" of sound. Has a great set of presets and is easy to customize and add your own filter templates.

Remember to get the MainConcept MPEG Audio plugin if you want to edit MPEG audio (MP3, MP2, etc).


Review by lordsmurf on Nov 3, 2003 Version: 6.0E OS: WinME Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Forget about all other kiddie sound tools. Sound Forge is without a doubt, like our mate said below, the "photoshop" of audio software. It´s so easy to use, and the results are as professional as the ones you get with the $1000+ sound editing software/hardware. Get a demo version and fool around...you won´t believe what you can do. And like photoshop, you can add the best audio plugins if you´re looking for something in particular. The effects tools are great, and even greater if you take some seconds and change the settings.

Best news of all, this is no more Sonic Foundry Sound Forge. Now it´s Sony Sound Forge!! woooohoooo go Sony!

ok go get it...what u waiting 4?


Review by haznut on Oct 9, 2003 Version: 7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Sound Forge is the standard for audio editing. Nothing else is as comprehensive, or industrial strength, as Sound Forge. It is the 'Photoshop' of audio.

That said, it is less than intuitive and takes a long time to master. Well worth it, though!


Review by aybesea on Jun 12, 2003 Version: 5f OS: Win2K Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Great editing software, but a little harder to use then Goldwave &/or Cooledit. DX filters are very fast with realtime preview on most curent systems.

Review by mikiem on Jun 12, 2003 Version: 6e OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10


13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com