Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for ShanaEncoder

40 reviews, Showing 1 to 40 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Mikael on Jul 7, 2020 Version: from v4.9.0.1 ~ v5.0.0.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thank you very much! Iíve been looking for a long time for a program that can burn .ass subs with attachments into hardsubbed video.
Converting is fast and the quality is super! ^^
10/10


Review by AnimeLover on May 31, 2020 Version: 5.0.0.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Hehmet on Jan 8, 2020 Version: 5.0.0.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great application. Like to have a feature which I commonly use; audio "replace" with my own.

Review by shans on Nov 7, 2019 Version: 4.11.0.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




ShanaEncoder is an FFmpeg GUI, not a scripting tool like MeGUI, StaxRip, and Hybrid.
It is pretty natural that this program has limitations on processing video files with AviSynth scripts.

ShanaEncoder DOES load an avs file as long as it is written correctly, but in order to do so, you need to select the correct 32bit/64bit mode accordingly.
If your system has AviSynth, which supports 32bit only, select 32bit mode in ShanaEncoder.
If you have AviSynth+, which supports 64bit, select 64bit mode.

You can even get a preview of the video read via the script.

That said, there's a limit on how ShanaEncoder processes an avs input: AFAIK, it encodes video streams only.

As I'm not good at AviSynth, I don't know if I can include audio streams in an avs file.
If it is possible, we need more testing with avs files that have audio processing commands.


Review by JKyle on Oct 27, 2019 Version: 4.9.0.6r3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It's a good program but why doesn't support avisynth script?

Review by TeNSoR on Oct 27, 2019 Version: راغب مصط OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Probably the best software program available for free for hardburning subtitles (ass, srt, smi, etc.).


UI is pretty intuitive and simple.

Basic settings are available via F6.
For filter settings, you need to press F7.
Advanced parameter settings are available via F8: you can always edit settings here if you are familiar with FFmpeg command line parameter settings.

Right click on a file in the list and you can

1) select the subtitle to mux/burn
2) cut/trim by the frame and crop with preview
3) delay subtitle and choose subtitle language
4) select video/audio streams

and see the file info(mediainfo) and view the log after encoding.

The modes in the main window are as follows:

Basic mode applies one preset to all the files in the list.
Individual mode applies different presets to each file in the list.
Concatenate mode concatenates (either via stream copy or re-encoding) all the files in the list.


The long awaited features of AV1 encoding and HDR to SDR transcoding are enabled in this version (UI 4.9.0.6, FFmpeg 4.2.1.146).


Now the only thing I'm missing for now is a portable version.


Review by JKyle on Oct 24, 2019 Version: 4.9.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Not perfect (yet), make encoding stuff easier

Review by Ant_G on Jul 30, 2019 Version: 4.9.0.5 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I would request the feature of segmente the video in a way similar to VideoReDo, with a frame by frame bar.
In this way could be possible remove commercial in precise point.


Review by darkio on Oct 27, 2018 Version: 4.9.1 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Shana is the best !

Review by Jack on May 7, 2018 Version: 4.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




ShanaEncoder 4.8.0
Set Segment: 00:00:40 --> 01:36:27
Audio MP2 AC3: delay to video -42ms.


ShanaEncoder 2.7.0
Set Segment: 00:00:40 --> 01:36:27
Audio MP2 AC3: delay to video 0ms.


Review by Marko on Jan 23, 2018 Version: 4.8.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




good software, good quality in hevc 10 bit.
suggestion: better handling for multiple files about subtitles and multiple audio.
also, autoscan for autocrop.
internal bitrate calculator and more resolutions.


Review by darkio on Jan 20, 2018 Version: 4.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by darkio on Jan 20, 2018 Version: 4.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




thanks a lot for updating

best encoder program


Review by bilek on Jan 19, 2018 Version: ShanaEncoder 4.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A Great little encoder this.

I still use version 3.2 as everything just looks and feels so much cleaner, no imposing preset bar on the right, that was hidden and was easy to find anyway, it just looks a bit ugly now..Please update the software and go back to this clean interface of 3.2.




Review by Lewis on Jul 31, 2017 Version: version 3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




can you add HEVC 2-pass option please?

Review by ulisesbretana on Jun 1, 2017 Version: 4.7.0.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Amd ryzen support please

Review by bilek on Jun 1, 2017 Version: 4.7.0.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




One suggestion. Windows frame GUI. Please!



Review by Mare on May 23, 2017 Version: 4.7.0.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a best encoder

but its too slow

When i encode video it doesn't use my more Cpu


it use low cpu and too slow


Review by Aashik420 on May 7, 2017 Version: 4.7.0.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




Awesome video converter
It's a monster

4k 4096x2304 video nvidia evga gtx 960 encoder with highest value encode 65 fps great value
Terrific horror

I can not thank you enough for this program

thank you so much

God bless you


Review by bilek on Apr 22, 2017 Version: ShanaEncoder 4.7.0.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thank you, LEE KIWON. Great job! The best encoding software.

Review by Bate on Apr 11, 2017 Version: 4.7.0.1 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Fixed.(combobox auto-selection problem)
Note: https://shana.pe.kr/notice/33109


Review by LEE KIWON on Apr 8, 2017 Version: 4.5.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Aspect Ratio: User: 768x432
Aspect Ratio: Shana Encoder: 7680x4320


Review by Bate on Apr 7, 2017 Version: 4.5.1 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




No comments

Review by takis on Mar 29, 2017 Version: 4.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great little video encoder! The only suggestion I have would be to release a truly portable version that doesn't need to connect to any server to complete the install. I install most programs such as Shana Encoder with Sandboxie and then copy the folders over from the sandbox to my D drive Apps folder. That eliminates having to install apps which keeps your amount of installs to a minimum. I've been doing this for years. That method doesn't work for ALL apps but it does for most and basically makes them portable.

Review by Dr. TaaDow on Jan 19, 2017 Version: 4.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a followup to my original comment. So, after some additional research, I found additional menus that let one set or toggle certain parameters that I don't even understand; however, it looks like a great program for advanced users. Some of the options I ran across were:

H.264: Deblocking alpha and beta strength
GOP size (Keyframe): min/max
Open GOP
Slice: per frame, max, macroblocks
B-Frames: adaptive, pyramid
P Frame weighted prediction
Adaptive I-Frame decision
Video Usability Info: crop, color, chroma
and many more...

Unfortunately, I have no idea what these options do so I will leave them alone; however, someone may be able to use them so I thought I would just share some of the abundant options available in this program.

One other thing I noticed is that the installer downloads two streams. One being labeled FFMPEG and the other being the ShanaEncoder; however, when the installation was completed, there was no sign of an FFMPEG executable left behind so I can only assume the functionality was actually compiled into the executable; therefore, it is not a true front-end for FFMPEG.

And finally, I did notice that it uses libfdk_aac because it is visible in the command string.

In summary, it seems like this program will satisfy the needs of beginners (like me) as well as many advanced users. Please understand I have no ties with the author and I am not trying to sell anyone on this program. I am just sharing my humble opinion. Cheers!









Review by railroadartwork on Feb 13, 2016 Version: 3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I really like this program! The interface is pleasing. The navigation is understandable. The options are adequate for a beginner like me. And, it is very easy to create a new preset too. It also has a few options (ie, logo, timestamp, prefix file name, etc) that I may use from time to time. All in all, this one is a keeper for me.

Review by railroadartwork on Feb 12, 2016 Version: 3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Install version 2.10 that is downloading the components normally.

http://shana.pe.kr/?module=file&act=procFileDownload&file_srl=9411&sid=320acafa080e0a7bd12028e85d4c6552&module_srl=9307


Review by Marchand on Dec 20, 2014 Version: 2.10 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Tried to install the latest version (v2.8), but the installer has to download encoders from other sites that come up as a "404" web page, then the install process aborts.

Review by mail2tom on Dec 20, 2014 Version: 2.8 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




It worked, it took a short time considering the other process on mi pc, it actually burns subtitles but it doesnt recongnize the fonts in the subtitle even if i had already installed them, so the font looks different than the original video. Please fix that soon.

Review by duplakappa on Jun 16, 2013 Version: 1.11 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Very disappointed. I will give you a hint for the next name of the program "IVANA"

Review by angel181155 on Jun 10, 2013 Version: 1.10 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




Great software...But...Kirara Encoder is gone (No more files/directory on sourceforge).

Its replace by "Shana Encoder" now. (http://sourceforge.net/projects/shanaencoder/)





Claudio


Review by Cauptain on Jun 8, 2013 Version: 1.25 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very good and fast software.
It is my first choice now.
But I prefer separate 32/64 bit version without .net
Because setup file is unnecessarily larege (almost double)


Review by siamak_sm on Mar 26, 2013 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Slightly faster than the other ones. It is faster than the paid ones as well. Not very much configurable, however.

Review by faithhealer on Mar 14, 2013 Version: 1.0.4 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




The subtitles not working for me. All subs are gray, not possible to choose any of them. I'm trying MKV container only. I tried ASS, SRT, SUB and SUP with no luck. I'm giving Overal score 10 because this program is very promising. I hope this going to be fix soon. Thanks to developer(s) for the program and good luck. I think this going to be the new "DVD Shrink" for Blu-Ray's, if you guys still remember the DVD Era.

Review by angel181155 on Mar 6, 2013 Version: 1.0.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Tried this tool 1st time today. Very nice indeed. It has lots of filters including a stabilizer that works surprisingly well and is relatively fast as stabilizing filters go. So far, no complaints at all........

Review by racer-x on Mar 6, 2013 Version: 1.0.3 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Nice s/w with ease of use and GUI. It is very fast, can do DTS audio and quality on x264 MKV is good, but it could be excellent with some fine tuning. The only drawback is not able to drag and drop clip into it. Keep up the good work guys/gals.

Review by zonag5 on Feb 24, 2013 Version: 1.0.2 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Excellent! At least twice as fast as any other converter I've used (Format Factory, XMedia Recode, Video to Video). I've tried both mp4 and AVI conversions with excellent results. This is now my go to converter.

Review by dfisher052 on Feb 18, 2013 Version: 10.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is brilliant. Highly configurable, attractive and simple interface. And faster than it should be. Excellent tool.

Review by blud7 on Feb 14, 2013 Version: 10.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Easy to use, without any problems or errors, but more importantly in all of this, speed, it's one of the fastest programs used by me

Review by dzconstantine on Jan 11, 2013 Version: 10.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


40 reviews, Showing 1 to 40 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com