Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for ScenalyzerLive

16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews


This saved my old home videos off of mini DV tapes. It says it also can be used for analog tapes too.
It created .avi files for each section of my MiniDV tapes to a folder, and created a small index video (compressed version).
I have not used it for analog tapes yet, but that is my next step.
I used a minidv camcorder to output firewire into my laptop that had firewire input. I spent two weeks converting about 100 tapes, one after another. It worked wonders.



Review by Kirk Reed on Sep 16, 2018 Version: 412 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Excellent program. Works flawlessly. Have used it for years. Sadly, the developer has no plans on making this HD capable. Too bad.

Review by JoRodd on Feb 25, 2011 Version: 20051228 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Neither Premiere Pro, Premiere Elements, Windows Movie Maker, Pinnacle were able to correctly detect scenes on DV tape shot on a JVC GR-D93US (NTSC). The all put way too many scene breaks into the file (even though it's supposed to work on time code -- still cannot figure out what the problem is) ScLive did without any problems.
Also, ScLive converts from AVI type 1 to AVI type 2, so you don't need a converter tool if this is one of your problems.
Have not had a chance to use other features yet, but hope to do so and update the comments at that point...


Review by wolffr on Jun 3, 2005 Version: 4.0B OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I purchased this software when I bought my ADVC-100 and have not looked back. I capture TV/VHS/XBOX to Type 2 DV using the Canopus DV Codec and then use AVISynth scripts to import into Virtualdubmod for editing. These scripts are then fed into TMPGEnc with edits intact for an excellent end result. This program has worked flawlessly for me, once I got it set up exactly the way I wanted it. This is the only reason I mark it down a little, is because I needed to tweak a couple of things before I was happy with the set-up.

The preview window makes cueing a breeze, and the start-stop timer has been very useful for capturing 24-7 any day of the week. If you are considering getting a Canopus ADVC product, I would strongly recommend that you consider buying this product as the two compliment each other beautifully. At worst, use the trial version and make up your own mind. I don't think you'll be disappointed !


Review by jimmalenko on Nov 2, 2004 Version: 7/28/03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Sometimes it captures well. I am capturing Type II DV from a Canopus ADVC 100. BUT! It captures AUDIO-only the best. Whatever happens, it always begins to stutter and start at random. It also seems to capture in a slow slow quick quick slow manner, with odd video artefacts such as serrated edges to moving objects - especially soccer players! I chose Scenalyzer because of its independence at being able to be programmed to switch both ON and OFF when recording. Using Windows Movie Maker - which works perfectly - I often end up with 40-50Gb files after 5-6 hours of recording - a lot of which is just 'fill' between the programs I want. My system is 2.4GHz P4 with 1Gb memory and a 149Gb HDD - yet Scenalyzer refuses to do a good job.

Review by Stonechatz on Nov 2, 2004 Version: July 28/03 v2.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 5/10




Installed and worked without any problems. I use it for capturing video from my camcorder, then import it into Adobe PPro. It is better than Adobe's built in capture since it does not stop, rewind, and start at each scence break, therefore not putting wear and tear on the device. I recommend it.

Review by jdecker on Mar 3, 2004 Version: 2.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I used the trial version, but I plan on buying it.

Used it on my Canopus ADVC-100, transfering an old VHS,
homemade movie and no dropped frams. I really like the
setup and you can view what you're capturing in real time.

As a newbie, I'm glad this was the first program I used
with the ADVC-100 instead of floundering around with
programs that don't work unless you're ready to shell out
big $$$'s


Review by WishMaker on Feb 29, 2004 Version: 2.1.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent program - has worked flawlessly. Extremely easy to use. Start/stop timer makes it well worth the mere $39. You can set timers to capture just like any VCR, including start/stop times down to the second. Name the timer and it saves the .avi files with that same name for easy retrieval. Keeps track of dropped frames, if any, although I have not had any yet using Canopus ADVC 100 for analog capture. You can also capture .wav only files for saving audio files from any video program.

Review by ejm1385 on Jan 5, 2004 Version: 7/28/03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I'm not sure why this happens, but when I capture analog video with my Pinnacle DV500, I get audio "chirps" every few minutes. I can't seem to figure out why this happens. Recording the same feed with Premiere 6.5 results results in a clean audio track. I'd love to be able to use this program because of the perfect audio/video sync feature. I'm not sure why it happens, so unfortunately I've had to put it on the back shelf.

I've had no problems with DV capture.


Review by robertazimmerman on Nov 3, 2003 Version: 2.1 (July 28/03) OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




After an intense weekend with a newly acquired Canopus ADVC-100 and the Scenalyzer Live software capturing VHS and Laserdisc (PAL & NTSC) for transfer to DVD, I must say that this is a great and simple to use piece of software for capturing DV material. The little editing I needed was done in VirtualDub and subsequent MPG2 encoding was done in Tmpgenc.

Only problem I've had was to get Scenalyzer to recognize the ADVC-100 upon starting the program (this happened intermittently). A workaround was start Scenalyzer, unplug the firewire cable from the computer firewire port and plug it back in again, and then the input signal would "pop up" in Scenalyzer. Could be a scenalyzer quirk, could be a Windows "feature" ;-)

Past that I could capture hours on end without dropping frames or sound.

For DV capturing I recommend it!




Review by swede1 on Oct 20, 2003 Version: 2003-07-28 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




How often do you find a product that does what it's supposed to do the first time...this one does. Still I would like to be able to adjust volume, color, contrast, hue, and brightness on the fly during capture. Other than this minor inconvenience, it's almost perfect.

Review by redd on Jul 9, 2003 Version: 2.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




UPDATE: This tool has a record timer. Check their website for free download and update. Great software just got better.

Review by dvwannab on Jul 8, 2003 Version: 2.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great capture software!!! For $33 (US) you just will be hard-pressed to find a better capturing program. I use with Canopus ADVC-100 capturing uncompressed AVI files, which are easy to to edit and filter with Virtualdub and Avisynth (both freeware) and encode to DVD/SVCD/VCD. I can go on and on about the many cpabilities of this proggie, but instead visit the website and read for yourselves:

http://scenalyzer.com/main.html

Highly recommended.


Review by dvwannab on Jun 30, 2003 Version: Newest OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This paired with the Canopus ADVC-100 has made my capturing life complete! This at first was the only program that worked flawlessly on my 750 AMD system I use for analog video capture.
Only feature I wish would work natively within the program would be a timer feature! That way I could (pardon the phrase) "set it and forget it."



Review by trillium on Jun 17, 2003 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is hands down the BEST software for DV capture. It does it all: tape logging, scene detection, batch capture, and recording back to tape. Very fast, very easy. It never crashes, and runs fine in the background while you work without dropping frames; even on my old P3/650mhz box it never drops a single frame.

Review by seinman on Jun 17, 2003 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




What would really make this a great tool is the ability to adjust volume and picture i.e. contrast, brightness, color, hue during capture. Unfortunately it can't.

But what it does do it does well. I've never a single dropped frame. Iím using scLive with Pinnacle S8 Deluxe capture card. Pinnacle can do these function changes on the fly (adjust volume and picture i.e. contrast, brightness, color, hue during capture) but PS8 has serious issues with audio sync in captured video.

scLive has no audio sync problems at all.


Review by redd on Jun 17, 2003 Version: 1.0.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10


16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com