Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for SMPlayer

26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews


Rating by Romsryu on Jun 12, 2021 Version: 1.1 / 21.1.0.9503 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Wow! thanks for this awesome player! Installed it a few days ago and the more I use it, the better I like it. I was using Zoom Player, not any more, I completely removed it! Now this is the ONLY player I'm using, using it on Windows 10 64bit Pro Edition... Super Big THANKS for all your efforts and time in sharing this wonderful player... Again Thanks!!!

Review by SparkyKid on Jan 12, 2021 Version: SMPlayer 21.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It is the best Linux-Media-Player, so it gets full overall score.

Konfiguration ist mostly well prebuild and easy to adapt on your personal whishes.

Only the playlist is the matter. Nice, that it can append usefully on the side, but only using clicks or permanenty. A smooth fly-bye playlist would be nice.


Very nice media player, but it could use a little more effort from developers.


Review by VidiMini on Dec 12, 2020 Version: SMPlayer 20.6.0 (Revision 9418) using MPV 0.33.0 & OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by stark on Apr 14, 2020 Version: 20.4.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




For new users, November 2019 - while mpv is a great cross platform video and audio player, probably the most advanced for functionality, with great video scalers and a steep learning curve, SMPlayer is a bad tentative to give a GUI to this gem. But the results are not very good; I tried a lot of times this player but there are always a lot of small and big bugs that are not absolutely present in the original MPV player. And after some days, I'm always forced to uninstall it. I'm not the first person to not apprecciate SMPlayer, sorry.

Review by Ziggy1978 on Nov 23, 2019 Version: SMPlayer 19.10.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




Its available and good to use on windows and linux. The directory play option and the overall configuration functions work well. Good alternative to vlc media player because it is more sensible.

Review by VidiMini on Oct 24, 2019 Version: 19.5.0.9228 OS: Other Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Dreamer on Nov 2, 2018 Version: 18.10.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 4/10




No Mplayer engine anymore, only mpv.
When a GUI started from bullshit and finished to bullshit.
Cannot support Mplayer anymore, this tell everything.


Review by pandakiller on Jul 16, 2018 Version: 18.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by fred on May 3, 2018 Version: always latest OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Wakaku on Mar 11, 2018 Version: 18.2.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




Just as a follow up on my earlier post: I have been using SMPlayer for a couple of months now and honestly it hasn't failed once.
MPC-HC, VLC, and others, they crashed regularly, e.g. just by skipping forward or backward.
("Hang"->Taskmanager: Kill process)
So far not with SMPlayer - it is an outstanding player, well, at least, that is -my- opinion :-)


Review by vhwul62 on Mar 7, 2018 Version: 18.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Cant play Youtube anymore, neighter Smtube too.

Review by KillerPanda on Jan 16, 2018 Version: 18.1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




been using MPC (+any additional filter/plugins etc) for a long long time
now, I set my heart to this (mpv) programs

light, capable to do anything, top output, compatible with SVP, in other word = No BullSh*t Player
with SMPlayer it's even easier

comparison CPU usage
http://puu.sh/xPJP7.png


Review by AMZMA on Oct 4, 2017 Version: 17.10.0 (revision 8701) (64-bit) OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




been using MPC (+any additional filter/plugins etc) for a long long time
now, I set my heart to this (mpv) programs

light, capable to do anything, top output, compatible with SVP, in other word = No BullSh*t Player

comparison CPU usage
http://puu.sh/xPJP7.png


Review by AMZMA on Oct 4, 2017 Version: 17.10.0 (revision 8701) (64-bit) OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Have been using MPC-HC and VLC in the past. Also tried at least half a dozen others, such as Potplayer, KMPlayer, MPC-BE, Zoomplayer, mpv, etc. but ended up choosing either MPC-HC or VLC.

Until I 'discovered' SMPLayer. For me this is the perfect player!
Whereas MPC-HC or VLC sometimes failed, SMPlayer plays everything flawlessly.

MPC-HC in most cases hanged ('spinning circle', 'not responding') when playing DVD format and moving back and forth.
I had to 'kill' it thru the taskmanager.
VLC always started full screen, but a large part was off screen. Resizing doesn't 'stick, whatever I tried.
It has issues with .wmv - first 5-6 seconds it usually starts choppy.
Such kinds of things.


SMPlayer sofar never let me down: it plays everything I selected.
Whatever I tried, I could not make it crash, or 'not responding'. It simply works!
And it works fine!


Review by vhwul62 on Sep 1, 2017 Version: 17.8.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Based on mplayer. Due to this it (mplayer) cashes with an unexpected exit every once in a while. Drag and drop doesn't work. DVD menu support is still experimental. The underlying player software needs more work let alone the gui. It's another player to try if MPC-HC or VLC don't work but there's no real reason to use it even under linux since you can just use VLC.

Review by loster on Aug 11, 2017 Version: 17.8.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Rating by fred on May 4, 2017 Version: 17.4.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




" One of the most interesting features of SMPlayer: it remembers the settings of all files you play. So you start to watch a movie but you have to leave... don't worry, when you open that movie again it will resume at the same point you left it"
_
This feature was not working, i mean only the time resuming one, but just found the solution,
to have the the time resume you must uncheck -Interface-Seeking-"Pressing the stop button once resets time position"


Review by movmasty on Dec 25, 2014 Version: 14.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Saying it "won't play mp4" is stupid and misleading. Mp4 files can contain a lot of different formats and if you don't even know that you aren't qualified to review ANY video software. What you did was download a video that was incompetently encoded and probably by someone who had stupid incompatible codec packs.

VLC and smplayer are the best players for throwing anything at them. Contrary to popular opinion, smplayer is better at that than vlc. I've only rarely used vlc for videos for several years, in case smplayer doesn't work with it properly. That's rare. Usually smplayer plays it better than vlc. But they're both good at that.

Smplayer gives me better quality video rendering performance than any other one I've ever tried. And I've tried a lot of them. The difference is extremely noticeable even on a smaller screen. Just set the local file stream cache to 8192Kb ... a setting that isn't in vlc as of v. 2.0. Stupid.

The video settings are excellent. Extremely intuitive. They're so well designed that the fact that documentation is very sparse has never bothered me at all. Most other player's settings (esp vlc and mpc-hc) are just ridiculously poor. Don't these people understand that you put the most commonly used settings first?

The only area where vlc is better than smplayer is for playing music because vlc's playlist works better for me. When I was more of a windows user vlc was my favorite for audio. But I have specific needs for music. I have to have a good directory based playlist structure because of the way I organize my music and very, very few music players have it.

This doesn't mean I like smplayer less. I have absolutely no problem with using a different program for video and audio.


Review by Hoser Rob on Jan 25, 2014 Version: 0.8.3 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I downloaded the SM Player, because when I played mp4 movies in VLC the image stuttered. I can still watch the movie and the sound is ok but it is not much fun. I was told the SM player could play mp4.
Unfortunately, not so. Mp4 did not play at all, the timer jumped in sequences of 5 to 8 seconds but no image. Mkv at least showed an image but it was jumpy. Same with avi. The same movies mkv and avi played with no problems in VCL.
Once a movie was loaded, the player responded very slowly (about 5 secs) to pause or stop. I could only exit via ctrl, alt, delete.


Review by Simon P on Oct 19, 2013 Version: 0.8.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The main program appears to work fine and offers a lot of functionality. I haven't really tested it enough to make an overall comparison to VLC or MPC. One problem I had, though, was when I tied to run the smtube.exe program. Norton antivirus immediately picked it up as a security danger and removed it from my computer! It's not a feature I really need, but it sort of made me wonder. Is it a false positive?

Review by jgg on Dec 23, 2012 Version: 0.8.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is somewhat preliminary ... I haven't been using it that long. But so far I really like it. It handles a ton of formats, in fact it'[s as good as vlc that way, and doesn't load weird codecs that'll conflict.

There are probably some quirks, like many Linux to Windows ports, but I haven't seen many of that yet. Despite quirks I've had very good results in general with Linux ports.

One quirk is that it doesn't handle DVD menus well. But it certainly doesn't seem as buggy as vlc. And I can still use mpchc for DVDs.

I've been using vlc (mostly) and mpchc. The latter really just for DVDs because vlc doesn't play them properly. The docs for vlc are much better than mpchc, though that's damning with faint praise. But vlc is just too buggy for me. The more I use it the less I like it.

However, the one thing vlc has for me is that it's much more forgiving with pixelated videos.

Except for this. SMPlayer has an option under Filters for adding noise to the signal. That's exactly the thing I wanted ... just like dithering in digital audio, which adds noise to mask quantization distortion. Which is pretty much analagous to pixelated video. It works very well. Why can't those other players put something like this into the mass of poorly documented (if at all) video options? And make it easy to find like with this?

In other words, I really like this interface. It's very intuitive and well designed. So few of these freeware coders understand that, yes, some tasks are inherently complex, but there are almost always certain things you're going to be using 80% of the time. And a properly designed interface with at least put those things at the top of the menu or just make them more prominent.

In fact, the interface is good enough that I don't mind the relative lack of documentation.

The video rendering quality is excellent too. It seems to use many of the same filters as avidemux, which is a good thing. I watched some video that is a good quality rip as far as the use of transcoding software is concerned but the bit rate is somewhat too low so it's definitely pixelated. Even with no filtering the pixelation was only really obvious in one scene, and that scene's a torture test.

The other thing, and the main reason I wanted to try this really, is that if you close the program before you finish watching a video it remembers the time and other settings. This is a great and, really, obvious feature.

I guess I like this program. I've had vlc set as my default player for videos other than dvd source for a while. That will probably change.


Review by Hoser Rob on Feb 4, 2012 Version: 0.7.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Possibly the best free player (PotPlayer is great too).

However one infuriating thing is that SMPlayer insists on scanning the entire fonts folder if you've made any changes since it was last launched. It seems there is no way to switch off this behaviour and it's pretty annoying, particularly as the majority of users probably have no need of fonts in a media player.


Review by rgs_uk on Dec 20, 2011 Version: 0.6.9 (SVN r3447) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The only player that will play 1080 (2k H264) files on me Pentium pro without stuttering or losing audio sync. Plays them better than VLC. I still like KMplayer because of the huge number of features but SMPlayer is faster and seems to play all file types.

Review by danzeb on Dec 19, 2010 Version: 0.6.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I agree. Best media player I've ever used. Only player I found that plays my recorded DVD-RAM discs flawlessly. Also has option to rotate vid 90 degrees clockwise or counterclockwise for the occasional annoying clips that are recorded sideways.

Review by blued on Apr 16, 2009 Version: v6.7 OS: Vista Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great player, deserves to be counted among the best, since the interface is very clear, extremely user-friendly and reacts fast.
MPlayer-GUIs I have tried always were lacking a bit in versatility or reliability. This one has it ALL. Almost any concievable variety of setup-options - you name it, it's there. The order in the setup menu also is very logically done, options are easily found and accessible. Installation runs smoothly and undaunting.
One drawback for me was the fact that with the version I tried (0.6.2) everytime I changed setup during playback, the player took a few seconds to reload the streams. You are advised of the fact on their site (obviously it's meant to be that way), but it can get a bit frustrating, if you are working on a video-file and need to test it quickly (and e.g., subs). For the time being I gave up on it, although I certainly will watch the project progressing. If it does the way it did so far, this player could get my favourite, over VLC...


Review by nbarzgar on Sep 26, 2008 Version: 0.6.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com