Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVD Fab Video Downloader and download streaming video from Netflix and other sites! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for Plex Media Server

10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


Rating by PotentialWolfInvestigator on Feb 28, 2021 Version: 1.21.4.4079 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by MarkSM on Aug 4, 2020 Version: 1.19.5.3112 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Raimondas on Sep 23, 2019 Version: 1.17.0.1709 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Marc on Feb 25, 2019 Version: 1.14.1.xxxx OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




I have been using Plex on a Windows Home Server 2011 with over 20Tb. of storage for a couple of years and I absolutely LOVE it. I have ripped a bunch of movies and TV shows and put on it (my 20TB is almost half full). It works flawlessly with my Iphone,Ipad, and cable boxes (which are Tivo. When I buy a new movie I rip it and put it on there.

Review by n8tvm on Feb 1, 2018 Version: 1.11.1.4753 PlexPass OS: Other Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




It amazes me how people bash Plex. I assure anyone that came across this link that negative reviews of Plex are due to a lack of patience. Configuring your Plex server does take some time and patience but it is great once you're done. A friend of mine recommended it after I placed my TBs of media on a Synology NAS and using Synology's Media server that is actually pretty good.
The ease of Plex to share outside of your network cannot be topped. Plex has allowed me to share my videos with around 10 friends/family around the country with an excellent simple user interface on almost any device that you can think of. The devices that connect to my servers are Roku (sticks/boxes), Androids (phones/tablets), Google Nexus, Amazing Fires(stick/tablets), iPhones/iPads/AppleTV, PS4, 360 and a good web interface (and AWESOME Chrome app. Plex works great with Chromecast, including subtitles.
Why would you use an app that still is still Java-based? I already hate that Synology will not update their interface to stop requiring Java. Some people have much simpler needs and like Kodi, Emby, MediaPortal, Infuse and apparently this Serviio but I recommend giving Plex another try (especially if you share your content).
Personally I have learned so much about codecs, containers , subtitles, etc.


Review by sundi712 on May 29, 2016 Version: 2.6.1 OS: Other Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Plex is fine except for the bug that keeps ffmpeg running even when no transcoding is required and it hogs your CPU. Serviio is much better if you put more value on speed and simplicity and don't need a lot of metadata.

Review by rogeroo on Jan 12, 2016 Version: 3.0.0.149 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This tool allows you to stream your movies, home movies, pictures, music, and even live tv providing you have an HD Homerun.

It streams to computers, android, apple, roku, playstation and Xbox.

Quality of streaming is limited only by the original resolution of the source and bandwidth on both sides.

A little tedious to set up but once done, it is a fantastic server system for your media.


Review by Eyedoctor2 on Oct 8, 2015 Version: 0.9.12.13 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I tried a previous version and it was very slow starting videos due to waiting while it transcoded. Perhaps there were profiles that would allow it to skip transcoding but I didn't see any in the menus. Also I noticed Plex wants media files to have names in a specific format. I had no interest in renaming all my media. Serviio was much faster for me so I uninstalled Plex and went back to using Serviio.

I now tried the updated version 0.9.7.9. I got the following error message "A problem has been detected with a core component of Plex. Please visit the forums". So with the newer version I couldn't get it to work at all. The program may be good once they get the bugs out. Of all the DLNA servers I've tried Serviio works the most reliably.


Review by danzeb on Jan 4, 2013 Version: 0.9.7.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 5/10




Please make it work on 1 million Roku players, and many more Wii's and you really got a winner. I gave it a 9 across the board because you are on the right track.

Review by sum_guy on Apr 13, 2011 Version: 0.9.2.7 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com