Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for My MP4Box GUI

37 reviews, Showing 1 to 37 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by norberto@gmail.com on Sep 18, 2020 Version: My MP4Box GUI 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by gibonh on Sep 4, 2020 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by gibonh on Sep 4, 2020 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




All I wanted is simple software to demultiplex and remultiplex MP4 files. This software does it, and is straight to the point. Pull an audio stream from a video file, modify it with your favourite audio editor, add it back, done! This software does not resize or otherwise alter your video stream--it does not re-render or otherwise process it. It can only multiplex, demultiplex, split, and join.

Review by PonyGirl on Nov 3, 2019 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by PonyGirl on Nov 3, 2019 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Isn't this program meant to be able to change the aspect ratio of a video?

That is exactly why I downloaded this program as that was mentioned in the forums by other users but I've tested it on a few videos and there is absolutely no change.

I right click on it, click on PAR, change the aspect ratio but when I save it, it's the same aspect ratio. There has been no change whatsoever.


Review by Nomad89 on Aug 13, 2019 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Best!!!!

Review by XtinaDaily on Oct 9, 2018 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by XtinaDaily on Oct 9, 2018 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




While it is kind of sparse in terms of fully utilizing all of mp4box's functionality, what My MP4Box GUI does, it does right! I've been using it since 2012 for a few cases where the CLI was producing some strange results that made no sense.

And Irineo Romero, don't mistake your own incompetence for maliciousness on the dev's part. This program has been downloaded and used by millions for years, without issue or so much as a flag being raised regarding viruses. Can't get it running? Fine, go to the forums. But don't come to the comments to complain about how you can't figure out how to make a simple program run and then imply this must be because it's packed full of viruses. Not only is it messed-up to just throw out accusations at the dev over nothing more than your inability to run their simple program, but it also only serves to underscore that you don't know what you're talking about,


Review by DigitalPhreaker on Sep 19, 2018 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by DigitalPhreaker on Sep 19, 2018 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




@mirinal is exactly correct. Copy over the latest GPAC files into Tools and it works great.

Review by zabba zooba on Sep 4, 2018 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It had been quite a while since I had to wrestle for SO long just trying to get installed in my PC any stuff like this (let alone trying to start it). I suspect it's either riddled with viruses, or whoever posted the instructions is NOT an English native speaker. Man, what a complete WASTE of time and effort!!!!!

Review by Irineo Romero on Sep 3, 2018 Version: MyMP4Box GUI 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Der Order on Apr 2, 2018 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Anyone can update this tool?
contact developer and create new version !!!! contact "Matt Bodin" (author) somehow (either mattbodin@yahoo.de or mattbodin@hotmail.com or some other results i've found)


Review by selnomeria on Jan 26, 2018 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Thanks for posting an idea, pintcat :)

I have VC++ 2005, 2008 and 2013 installed.

The error that happens is "The application failed to initialized properly (0xC0000135)". This error occurs 90% of the time due to a wrong or no .NET installation (per web search).

I've purposely not had dotNOT (dotNET) installed on the subject machine due to the morass of problems that different dotNET versions caused in the past. I'll be ending use of XP on it in the near future (and running Linux!). So i'm reluctant to install dotNET for 1 app.

BTW, it's great that free software like this is available but documenting running requirements is a basic tenent that prevents problems like this. I've seen people not explicitly state requirements for software so many times, across multiple platforms and multiple license schemes. This software is no longer developed, and free, and so doesn't apply but... i wish there was a documentation police agency that would go around fining people for not stating software requirements! ;) It isn't hard AT ALL.


Review by TRXRT on Nov 18, 2017 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 2/10




@TRXRT: It's running fine on my WinXP SP3 (32bit). Do you have all the suitable runtimes installed? I think I'm using VisualC++ 2010 (x86).


Review by pintcat on Nov 17, 2017 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 8/10




This program would not run on Windows XP SP3. Seemed to be a typical C/Library error, "This program terminated blah blah...[0xAddress]" Haven't tried on a windows7 laptop.

(Yes, laugh all you want, but there are still isolated boxes with Windows XtraProfit still on them! And mine's been stable for years. I wouldn't have even tried it if there was OS version info in the requirements section.)

To try to be fair to your scoring system, I put 5/10 in the neutral metrics, accurate score of 1/10 in functionality, and combined best-accurate score of 2/10. I certainly don't fail to appreciate the effort put into free software though!


Review by TRXRT on Nov 16, 2017 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 2/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by ynjh on Nov 4, 2017 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The GUI still works even with the latest MP4Box command line program v0.7.0 released as of this date. Just install MP4Box command line first and then copy all the files from its GPAC folder to the Tools folder. You may want to backup/rename the Tools folder first, just in case. Ensure that "MediaInfo.dll" is retained as it is not available in the MP4Box installation.

Tested this with 64-bit version of MP4Box v0.7.0 on Win 10 64-bit. No errors, and the conversion is near instantaneous. Just remember to check for progress status - "Processing..." on the window title and NOT on status bar after clicking on Mux.


Review by Mrinal on Jul 5, 2017 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Guide to use this program in English here: http://www.oxygen2.me/

and guide to use this program in Thai here: http://www.chaichana.net/


Review by RosalieFPigg on May 1, 2016 Version: 0.6.06 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Worked flawlessly on Win7 for years until my upgrade to Win10 then it would not indicate if it was processing the file (demux/mux/join) or not, it will still display "Ready", otherwise it does complete the task. Just a minor glitch that could very well be due to Win10 and not the program itself since Win10 isn't nice to other software as well. Compatibility mode has no effect. Sad the developer has abandoned his fine program otherwise I'd gladly donate to support his efforts.

Review by depamode on Apr 12, 2016 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Does the job I got it for, which is joining MP4 files. More specifically, to add 5 seconds of blank space to the start of each video. I created a 5 second video containing a blank picture and silent audio track, but with 500 videos to process, I didn't want to have to re-encode every one of them. So I encoded the 5 second video to match the MP4 files I was working with, and tried this out, and it works perfectly.

A couple caveats, however, if you are joining files and using the queue to do so, like I did.

One, if your destination filename contains non-standard characters, like "" (accented "a") or "" (long dash), the program will give every indication that it has succeeded, but the destination file will simply not be there. Oddly enough, it did not have a problem with a "" (a "u" with an umlaut) in the filename. Easy fix was to change the offending letter in the filename, and then correct it in the new file once processing is done.

Another, much more troublesome problem, however, is that if you run out of disk space on the destination drive (in my case, an external hard drive) before the queue has run out, the program will continue to run, but - for obvious reasons - there will be no output files. It would have been nice if there had been some kind of error checking in place that would have halted the queue and said something like "hey, stupid, didn't you check to make sure you had enough disk space?" But no, it just kept going, processing 255 of my files in vain - I estimate around 2 hours of wasted time for my computer. At least I wasn't just sitting there doing nothing and wasting my own time as well.

In all fairness to the developer, these both may have been flaws in the mp4box program itself, and not in this GUI. Nonetheless, the problems exist, so if you use this GUI, you may want to be aware of them. I know for a fact that this was the case with the first problem, and it has been corrected in the latest version of mp4box, but they also changed one little parameter (one that would affect me, anyway), so you can't simply copy the new version of the program into this GUI's folder and expect it to work (I know... I tried).


Review by awgie on Aug 19, 2015 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




does the job very well

Review by rsanchez76 on May 17, 2015 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




this is the best mp4 file mux/demux program BUT:
ı am using windows 8 and after few muxing when ı try to open program the window is doesn't open up,I see the icon on the taskbar and even when I click on this still can't open up...Please fix this...
ı know it's free ı can't complain,but this is important...
and one last thing:plz add the other languages option on the track title edit

Thanks for the developer


Review by jujiko on Oct 29, 2014 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




This is THE tool for cutting out sections of an MP4 file and/or concatenating MP4s. It plain works. I had absolutely no problem with an 4 GB MP4 from my Galaxy S5 shot at full 1080p HD.

My only "complaints" (it IS free, so it's hard to complain...) are these:

It lacks a video preview function/GUI timecode selector. Basically, you've got to view your movie in a different program and make a note of the points at which you want to do your cuts. Then, you type in the timecodes manually.

The interface is a clunky.

If you want any kind of real precision, you need to turn on the option to "Edit Command Line." This gives you more precise control of some parameters, like timecode entry.

That said, it does what it needs to with regard to cutting/pasting clips. I have NOT used it for mux/demux, so I can't yet comment on that.


Review by fragmannyc on Jul 27, 2014 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I now swear by this software for handling ALL mp4 files. There are quite a few that simply cannot be handles my mkvtoolnix. Especially the subtitles. This one does a phenomenally fast and flawless job.

Review by pmshah on Nov 9, 2013 Version: 3.7.0.2356 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Great little program! I had a MP4 video file which had a 5.1 channel audio file that I wanted to replace with a 2 channel file. This program handled the tasks with no problem, video and audio were in perfect sync. For the hell of it, I then tried adding subtitles and that too worked perfectly. I haven't used any of the other functions but for simple demuxing and muxing, this program is perfect. It's also very easy to use, highly recommended!

Review by Quadzilla on Jan 28, 2013 Version: 6.06 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Worked great for me!!

I demuxed an MP4 I made with my cheapo "FLIP" video camera, then muxed the video with the music audio I made and it worked perfectly.



Review by Noahtuck on Aug 9, 2012 Version: 0.5.6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I tried to delay the audio, but it didn't work at all.

Review by davexnet on Feb 19, 2012 Version: 0560 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




I wanted something to chop up MP4 videos into specific durations so I could upload them to YouTube. MP4 is a very efficient and YouTube prefers it, yet there aren't many editors that won't force you to re-encode. Or pay money.

This worked perfectly. No desync issues, no degridation in video/audio, two clicks, and it's ready and done.

It is NOT a replacement for a line editor. It is not very pretty. But it does not have to be, it does as it promises.


Review by kbbbb on Dec 21, 2011 Version: 0.5.6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I ONLY tried this program for trimming, so I do not know more about its performance.

Sadly, "MyMP4BoxGUI" (and MP4Box.exe) are not good for trimming (cutting) long videos, such as movies or TV episodes. Both ruin the synch of videos after like 10-20 minutes, especially when there are multiple audio tracks and/or subtitles.

For example, a resulting video would show a person talking, but the audio track is many seconds too fast (or slow) while the subtitles are different still from the video and/or the audio. Horrible.

Maybe the program is good for short videos and other tasks.


Review by cestmoi on Mar 30, 2011 Version: 0.4.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




I was not sure how to rate this App, so I am Fair to the Author. Since it did not work for me I wanted to gave it the middle of the road grade, but like I said I did not want to hurt this proggie's rating ... so!

1) I used version 0.5.2.1, since it is NOT and Executable version. I prefer these versions over the Installer type. I am confused why the Author does Not offer non-installer version of his program, since is so small. BTW, I ran Virus Scan on this proggie and it seems Clean!

2) I tried using it to join my MP4 files and it crashed at the get go, tried multiple times and no luck and it gave me a Warning regarding "invoking just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box"!

3) As earlier Reviewer compared "My MP4Box GUI" to "YAMB" ... I like to chime in on that. Where "My MP4Box GUI 0.5.2.1" Failed ... "YAMB 1.6" worked Perfectly.
Note: for the YAMB stay with the 1.6 version, since Version 2.0 and up Did NOT work for me.

Since this GUI it looks so Clean and Simple, I am hoping that the Author would offer a Non-Installer version of his Program for the Future Revs or even for 0.5.5.4!


Review by gonwk on Feb 16, 2011 Version: 0.5.2.1 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




Great software for what i need, merge lots of mp4 file. Use it already few months in daily basis. everthing is ok.
Drag and drop support will be great for ease of use (maybe some people prefer in this way).
Overall great software.


Review by user_name on Feb 14, 2011 Version: 0.5.5.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Works perfect for my purpose = I just wanted to join MP4 files from my digital camera. It takes almost no time at all, and the video is not harmed in any way.

Review by bigrig on Jan 21, 2011 Version: 0.5.5.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Tried both this and the somewhat better known YAMB to split and join several MP4 files. While YAMB had more split options, YAMB sometimes crashed mid-split, and exiting the program always caused a multitude of error messages to cascade until the task was killed. Joining would create a single file, but in the default configuration YAMB creates a file that will only play for as long as the first file.

By contrast My MP4Box GUI is a very solid performer. Cuts and joins are clean, and the end result in either case is very smooth. While lacking in some bells and whistles (particularly in terms of split options), if you can figure out what you need, it will give it to you every time. A guide for this would be very helpful as there are some options I never could figure out how to work, but then I didn't have to, so it wasn't a serious issue.


Review by EwanG on Dec 25, 2010 Version: 0.5.5.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I had several .mp4 files created with Handbrake 0.94, from 1080p sources. They all shared the same characteristics, and I needed to make a single file out of them, without re-encoding.

After seeing various recommendations for YAMB, I decided to try it. But YAMB's "join" function doesn't seem to work as advertised. Although I obtain a single "Joined" file at the end, any attempt to play the resulting file in VLC 1.0 will result in multiple instances of VLC opening on my machine (one for each of the original source files).

The same behaviour was replicated again and again, during subsequent attempts.

I used My MP4Box GUI - rather unimaginative name! - instead of YAMB, and all the problems disappeared. The resulting file played correctly, and without exhibiting any aberrations.

Good job! It may not look too polished, but it does what it's supposed to do!


Review by AnitaPeterson on Feb 3, 2010 Version: 0..4.9.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


37 reviews, Showing 1 to 37 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com