Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.




Try DVDFab Video Downloader and download streaming video from Netflix and other sites! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Splash

24 reviews, Showing 1 to 24 reviews


The new update that supports HEVC is unfortunately still a little buggy. Most attempts to play x265 video files ended with an overly bright playback image. Like the brightness was turned up to max position. One video file did play the image normal...but jerky. Hopefully this will be remedied in the future. At least a start. P.S. pause and playback on the mouse would be a big improvement also!

Review by SPUDWAS on Jun 29, 2019 Version: 2.7.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Doesn't support x265 video so not much use really.

Review by New User on May 11, 2019 Version: 2.6.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Yes, there are really flaws, gaps. The sound is heard later, starts, if you start a video.
Problems with displaying subtitles. (for color subtitles, code appears in the text)
The program is not completely removed. (after uninstall)
I tried a video (UHD BDRip HDR x265) Played the video (displayed the picture). Look: https://mirillis.com/splash-features
I do not recommend the player for cinema. (now) But the player very nice.


Review by someone new on Mar 10, 2019 Version: 2.6.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I can play hevc/h265 videos by Potplayer, KMPlayer and Gom Player very good. But, I can't play hevc/h265 videos by Splash Player 2.6.1.It supports audio, only.

Review by Burt Sailor on Mar 10, 2019 Version: 2.6.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Unfortunately, it's not supporting HEVC videos, still. I uninstalled it.

Review by Burt Sailor on Feb 25, 2019 Version: 2.5.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Not bad player. Good picture quality and the player looks nice. Easy to use.
All feature free.


Review by someone new on Feb 24, 2019 Version: 2.5.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by l on Jun 5, 2017 Version: 2.1.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




One Year no Updates , no HEVC support with AMD. I have deinstalled this player. Premium version $20 ??

Review by Micky on Apr 26, 2017 Version: 2.0.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 1/10




Great product doe what it says! Plays HD like nothing else.

Review by aj71 on May 21, 2012 Version: Lite 1.7.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Not only does it load and play my Blu-Ray discs quickly, smoothly and without protest, SPLASH-PRO also takes full-HD (1920 x 1080) frame captures - something that PowerDVD is utterly incapable of doing, Arcsoft Total Media Theatre is highly selective about.

The best US$20 I ever spent.


Review by Brian Ineptstein on Nov 5, 2010 Version: 1.6 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




AWESOME PLAYER!! Sleek design and function. Plays MKVS like a dream!!!

VERY VERY NICE!!


Review by servocrow on Nov 4, 2010 Version: 1.60 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I would really like this player since you can advance the slider in .mkv files without crashing it. However, 2 items are unnecessarily annoying.

1) The authors totally ignore requests for wider subtitle support. A HiDef Player without PGS subs support is only half a player.

2) The interface is navy blue on black. It's really tiresome to mouse around until I happen to hit a control. An option to set the background color for greater contrast would eliminate the issue.

VLC Player is crash prone, but it is open source. Therefore if the Splash programmers really can't figure out how to handle PGS and XSub subtitles, they should look in the code and see how it's done.


Review by MilesAhead on Oct 14, 2010 Version: 1.6.0.0 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I downloaded several *.MTS Files (AVCHD) from videoaktiv.de, because I want a Camcorder, but I'm not sure if I want a HDV or an AVCHD-Camcorder.
I' going to buy one of these Camcorders: XH A1s, AX2000, HC9 or CX550.

Vegas Pro can play/edit all AVCHD-Files with no problem at all.

But then I played the files in Splash PRO 1.2.2 on my Computer:
- MSI 790FX-GD70
- AMD HDZ965FBGMBOX CPU AMD AM3 Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Box
- Kingston KHX1600C9D3K2/4G
- Sapphire ATI Radeon HD5770
- Western Digital WD5001AALS Caviar Black 500GB
- LG BH10LS30
- Windows XP Professional SP3
It works, but I get better results with PowerDVD and MPC with ffdshow:
MPC HC:
- external filter: prefer "ffdshow video decoder"
ffdshow
- Codecs: H.264/AVC: ffmpeg-mt
-> Deinterlacing: YADIF: "Process whole image", "Deinterlacing", "double framerate" and "skip spatial interlace check" are active

Please test MPC HC with ffdhow...


Review by flashandpan007 on Oct 1, 2010 Version: PRO 1.2.2 Trial OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This is an excellent video player for my NVIDIA Ion netbook. It recognizes the gpu and uses it for hardware acceleration. I can now play full Blu-Ray rips without any stutter.

Review by festmaster on Jun 6, 2010 Version: 1.4.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I am shocked this player has anything but a 10 rating. They keep adding features and by far this is the best player for 1080i video. No codecs have to be installed to use it either. It runs all its own codecs. Anyone with HD video should give this a try. Also, they added aspect ratio settings in the newest release. So most of the complaints from previous posts have been fixed.

Review by specter on Jan 16, 2010 Version: 1.20 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




i was previously used to gomplayer so maybe i just have high expectations.

but here is a list of problems i discovered.

cons:
-when playing videos that aren't in complete widescreen you keep having huge black borders on the sides, and there is no getting rid of these.
-little to no settings for obvious functions.
-there is no (nowadays standard) always keep video ontop funtion.
-the mouse scroller doesn't adjust the volume which is standard in players these days (kmplayer, mpc, gom)

pros:
-fasted player i ever tried
-great with hd
-works flawlessly on a 64 bit system
-instantly plays every format i came across, even ones that vlc struggled on on my 64 bit system.


Review by JayLovesKasesSky on Oct 15, 2009 Version: 1.0.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




This player is excellent and very responsive when watching HD video. Right now it doesn't support 5.1 audio so it gets a 9 for functionality... but they are adding that function. If you watch a lot of HD videos, you should give it a try.

Review by specter on Sep 24, 2009 Version: 1.01 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A-HA!!! Finally, a volume control has been added! Now, this is much more functional.

Review by usta on Sep 24, 2009 Version: 1.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




I'm shocked. This player HAS NO VOLUME CONTROL!!! Unbelievable. Come on, volume control is probably the most used button on any player and this one is missing it?! The programmer must have been high...

Review by usta on Sep 20, 2009 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




My fav player. Works on all my 5 PCs out of a box. Easy in use, looks good, stable and fast. This is the fastest player to start application and playback of associated AVCHD clip.
Missing aspect ratio changing and volume, hope to get it with next versions! Overall this is perfect player.


Review by johnny_77 on Sep 20, 2009 Version: Lite 1.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




new version for me just rocks. good move that some beta limits are removed!


halsboss: show me the player that opens HD movies faster than Splash, and seeks through AVCHD files with DXVA better than Splash... and please show me the player that gives better deinterlacing with tv :) you compare it with coreavc? its not free and splash is free :)
your opinion is very strange :)


Review by nitro1973 on Sep 17, 2009 Version: Lite 1.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Well, the sales pitch description really did it right in for me.
"incredibly fast" "no problems" "standard television with high quality" (?? wtf)
"optimized to work with desktops, notebooks and netbooks" (?? wtf, optimized to run on a bike too?) ...
As with financial advice, if it sounds too good to be true then it probably is. There are other tools, and truly great codecs such as coreavc.


Review by halsboss on Sep 16, 2009 Version: 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Well dunno whats wrong but refuses to even start on Vista and crashes out with a DEP error.

Review by coolchrisyorkshire on Jul 21, 2009 Version: Beta 4 OS: Vista Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 4/10




this is only beta but the best free solution for avchd playback at the moment.
missing some functionality but looks promissing.


Review by nitro1973 on May 27, 2009 Version: beta 2 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10


24 reviews, Showing 1 to 24 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com