Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, Hulu etc! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
MKVBatch is basically a front-end for the excellent MKVMerge program. MKVBatch will scan the Video Path folder for acceptable video files, then run the command line version of MediaInfo to get the video's information. Using this information, MKVBatch will construct a batch file with the relevant info and your chosen functions and then run it on each of the recognised video files which have been found. Requires MKVToolnix to be installed.

Freeware
OS: Windows
File size: 3.7MB
Old versions
Version history
6.3/10
32 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

MKVBatch screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

1.3.2 (August 24, 2017)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download MKVBatch 1.3.2  3.7MB  Win




Download old versions


Download MKVBatch old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Version 1.3.2
- Change - MKVBatch would only process files with LOWER CASE extensions. Any other mixture of case would be ignored. This has now been fixed. (DOH! facepalm. I can't beleive I missed that! Good catch 'xxAno...xx'.)
- Change - The process log will now only display 5000 lines of text. Any more lines simply takes too long to read in.


View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

mkvbatch, Mkvbatch




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




32 reviews, Showing 1 to 32 reviews


Tried everything that's suggested in previous comments but no, it will not run.

Review by pson on Jun 26, 2019 Version: 1.3.2 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Follow the instructions from "Macedonia on Apr 22, 2018" - thank you, it worked! HOWEVER I had to:

1. uninstall and install MKVBatch after completing Your instructions (so if anybody has a problem, I suggest to do this) and ALSO:
2. Run it as Administrator - then it works.


Review by martin540 on Jun 9, 2019 Version: 1.3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




Has been working for years but now all of a sudden stopped working. Only get a OK button and the text 'Unexpected error' when I try to start it. Tried a reinstall but got the same results, anyone got any ideas?

Review by pson on Jun 3, 2019 Version: 1.3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I understand having to download MKV Merge.

However, then I have to:
Download "UniSuteFree" and install.
Then mess about copying an OCX file to SYSWOW64.
Then find out it's still missing a MCCOMCTL file.
Download that and pop it in SYSWOW64.
Registering it fails.

Start MKVBatch as an Administrator, which works (did I need the other files?).
Now I find out that dragging and dropping MKV Merge doesn't work (why can't I just type the address instead?). I also see there's another program I need - ffprobe.exe.

I honestly can't be bothered to go running round the internet to find all these extra files (why not include them?) just to bulk turn off subtitles in MKV files.
I'll find another way.

Strange how it seems to work fine for some people, yet others appear to struggle to even load the program.


Review by AnotherUser on Jan 21, 2019 Version: 1.3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 2/10




OMG amazing tool, Thank you so much.I have found it incredibly useful.
TIP: run as administrator.
Ensure ffprobe and MKVmerge set.


Review by mkvmanic on Jan 16, 2019 Version: 1.3.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Finally got it to work. Putting the ffprobe and mkvmerge files in the root directory was NOT a good idea. I pointed to single word named folders in C:\ drive (ffmepg) and (mkvtoolnix) and the program finally ran correctly. 4 hours of this tearing my hair out. FML why can't this be any easier?

Review by Genan on Jun 15, 2018 Version: MKVBatch 1.3.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 7/10




Does not work. After hours of errors and following exact install instruction listed in comments it now opens but does absolutely nothing when you hit run mkvbatch. Worthless.

Review by Genan on Jun 15, 2018 Version: MKVBatch 1.3.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Still working in 2018.
I advice you to use mkvmerge v.19.0.0.0.
mkvmerge 8.9.0.0 is too old, and the newer versions (20.0.0.0 and up) don't work.


Review by Aj-reviewer on May 13, 2018 Version: 1.3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




In order to avoid errors, I wrote these step by step instructions:

1.Install MKVBatch

2.Install UniSuiteFree.exe

a. Get it from here: http://www.cyberactivex.com/UniSuiteFree.htm

3.Register MSCOMCTL.OCX

a. Copy MSCOMCTL.OCX to C:\WINDOWS\SYSWOW64
b. OR Copy MSCOMCTL.OCX to C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32 for 32-bit Windows
c. Open a CMD or PowerShell prompt (as an administrator) and change directory into C:\WINDOWS\SYSWOW64
d. Type regsvr32 mscomctl.ocx
e. Press ENTER

4. Download MKVToolNix 8.9.0.0

a. Get it from here: https://www.videohelp.com/software/MKVToolNix/old-versions

5. Download ffmpeg

a. Get it from here: https://www.videohelp.com/software/ffmpeg

6. Copy ffmpeg and MKVToolNix to directories which don’t contain spaces

a. Ex.
C:\ffmpeg
C:\MKVToolNix

7. Set ffprobe.exe and mkvmerge.exe paths in Settings -> Set Executable Paths


Review by Macedonia on Apr 22, 2018 Version: 1.3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 6/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by John h on Mar 30, 2018 Version: 1.3.2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 1/10




Can't get this to run. First it complained about 'UniSuiteFree.ocx' not being registered. Now it just shows:

vBAccelerated SGrid II Control: Run-time error '0'

Run-time error '440': Automation error


Review by badbob001 on Jan 15, 2018 Version: 1.3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 3/10




Program crashes when starting. Seems to have a problem with spaces in the name path to the executables (e.g., "D:\My Stuff\ffprobe.exe"). I put the executables in the root of the drive and the program runs correctly (e.g., "D:\ffprobe.exe"). HTH

Review by FastEddie on Nov 12, 2017 Version: 1.3.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




if you are having problems with "mkvmerge version is too old", download mkvtoolnix v8.9.0.0 from here and set its path. Otherwise does what it's supposed to do.

Review by gogabegija on Aug 27, 2017 Version: MKVBatch 1.3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Doesn't work with mkvmerge v13
it say "This version of mkvmerge is too old! You need v8.9.0.0 or later"

Note mkvmerge v13 is the latest version of mkvtoolnix.


Review by TBS on Jul 15, 2017 Version: 1.3.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




thermalzombie ---->> http://www.cyberactivex.com/UniSuiteFree.htm

Review by AlvoErrado2 on Apr 14, 2017 Version: 1.3.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




Hi just installed this software windows 7 and won't start got a message saying.

Component "UniSuiteFree.osx" or one of its dependencies not correctly registered a file is missing or invalid.


Review by thermalzombie on Mar 18, 2017 Version: 1.3.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




When starting the tool presents the message does not respond in the previous version does not present the problem, but can not add subtitules operating system windows 10 64bits

Review by mkultimate on Feb 26, 2017 Version: 1.3.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rather than hurling accusations, the previous poster should learn the difference between a container and a codec and then make the leap to understand that an MKV is a container for codecs such as h.264. MPEG-2 files are simply another type of codec that can be placed into an MKV container. The poster referenced MKVToolNix’ merge function. He should note that this merge CAN handle m2v codecs and that a front end for MKVToolNix might consider doing the same. Further, as the name implies, MKVBatch is designed to place codecs, audio files, chapters and subtitles into MKV containers, just as MKVToolNix does, but in batches so that multiple MKV containers can be created. Although it can, it is not exclusively designed to take MKV files and create more MKV files. The developer has created a good program to act as a front end batching process for MKVToolNix. My review was designed to let others know that the developer hasn’t gotten around to supporting m2v codecs.

Review by Danette on Dec 5, 2016 Version: 1.3.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




The previous comment was way off topic speaking of MPEG2 files and I was wondering what part of the name of THIS program the poster doesn't understand?
MKVBatch is basically a front-end for the excellent MKVMerge program for MKV files...
This is an excellent program for MKV files and no other format, that is what it is designed for and indeed called... maybe there is a mpegbatch program somewhere?


Review by netmask56 on Dec 4, 2016 Version: 1.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Somewhat limited utility. It cannot handle MPEG-2 (m2v) video files, which are the most common files found in DVDs. So, if you are trying to retain the original quality of a DVD’s video file and all you need to do is to edit the file, you will have to convert it to some other file type, such as x264, in order to use this utility. Of course, that defeats the effort to retain the original quality.

Review by Danette on Dec 4, 2016 Version: 1.3.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Run-time error '7': Out of memory

This is Windows 10 Pro x64, with 20 GB of RAM. I've tried running it as Admin, and in all of the different compatibility modes, but no go.


Review by LucentPhoenix on Sep 2, 2016 Version: 1.2.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Run time error 339

component mcomctl.ocx or one of its dependancies is not correctly registered the file is missing or invalid. It is right in the mvbatch directory is there a fix???


Review by RBCC on Jul 28, 2016 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




Hello,

I just tried 1.2.3. Looks friendly enough. It has a settings for executables ffproble and mkvmerge. I couldn't find the spot to set the path for mediainfo cli. I tried to run it and it says it won't run without a mediainfo cli path.


Review by boe on Jul 27, 2016 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




The batch crashes, when i press Run, the executable paths are fine.
WTF...is ffprobe.exe??


Review by euphonic on Jul 1, 2016 Version: 1.2.2 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I used it on files numbered 001 through 092.

After 056, the program exited quietly.

It's a good tool, can be better.


Review by ConverterCrazy on Mar 7, 2016 Version: 1.0.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Thanks for this wonderful application.

Review by Ben1x1 on Feb 22, 2016 Version: 108 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Some of the labels next to the check boxes are too short and when the line wraps to the second line, I can only see the bottom of the first line and the top of the second line since the label size is set. The bottom line in audio and subtitle have this problem on my computer.

Review by Budman1 on Feb 14, 2016 Version: 1.05 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Ok, after some tinkering around, I found one problem.
Naimely, since I use non-english subtitles, I noticed that there is a poblem with character encoding for some files.

First of all, I'm using Notepad++ and in the lower right corner it gives me insight of the encoding of opened files, and when I used .ass file that is Dos/Windows UTF-8 in MKVBatch, the muxed file messed up the unicode characters - that are shown correctly in Notepad++, aegisub, or any other video player when I mux things with MKVmerge without setting it up manually before muxing, I just set language and default flag - just like in MKVBatch.
But when I used .ass file that states UNIX UTF-8 BOM encoding, everything looks fine after muxing in MKVBatch.

If you happen to need to test this, I guess you could just copy/paste these characters in some ass file - š đ č ć ž
or i can send you some file if you don't see them here for some reason.

Maybe in the future an option for encoding could be added, or something that would automatically accept these cases like it works in Mkvmerge itself?

I can fix this easily by converting these files from Dos/Windows UTF-8 to UNIX UTF-8 BOM with a single click in Notepad++, but some people not so versed in all this might have problem and wouldn't know what caused it, so I tought I should mention it because I really like this little useful tool ;)


Review by Pegla on Jan 11, 2016 Version: 1.0.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works great on Win7 64bit.
Would be even better if there was an option to put external subtitle on top of the existing one. There is an option to make it default, and i t works great, but would be nice if that file would be on top of the othe non-default one, also :)

Thnaks a bunch for this ;)


Review by Pegla on Jan 10, 2016 Version: 1.0.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works in windows 10 64,what i did was set it to run as an administrator.

Review by johns0 on Dec 17, 2015 Version: 1.05 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The batch crashes, when i press Run, the executable paths are fine.

Review by Shotaiken on Dec 16, 2015 Version: 1.0.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Installed the latest version and it works great,saves a lot of time from having to add each video manually.

Review by johns0 on Nov 5, 2015 Version: 1.0.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


32 reviews, Showing 1 to 32 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com