Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
InfraRecorder

NEW VERSION 0.53

NO LONGER DEVELOPED
InfraRecorder is a Free Software (aka "Open Source") CD/DVD burning solution for Microsoft Windows. It offers a wide range of powerful features; all through an easy to use application interface and Windows Explorer integration.

Free software
OS: Win
File size: 4MB
Portable version
Old versions
Version history
7.7/10
8 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

InfraRecorder screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

0.53 (September 1, 2012)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download InfraRecorder 0.53 64-bit  4MB  Win64

Download InfraRecorder 0.53  4MB  Win




Download Portable and other versions

Download InfraRecorder 0.53 Portable 64-bit  4MB  Win64  Portable

Download InfraRecorder 0.53 Portable  5MB  Win  Portable




Download old versions


Download InfraRecorder old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Version 0.53.0.0

Fixed write speed detection issue.
Fixed bug where maximum write speed would be used instead of the selected one when burning DVDs.
Fixed bug in creation of UDF and ISO9660 file systems containing many files and folders.
Relaxed ISO9660 duplicate file naming algorithm.
Added support for non-standard character sets in ISO9660 file systems.
Various minor GUI changes.
The space meter will now automatically adjust if a blank DVD is inserted.

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

Infra Recorder



Download InfraRecorder Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews


Like other people, I thought i'd search for a freeware burning application, to replace the usual big name software suite - i'm sure you know which one it is!
My needs aren't great, mostly burning data-dvds and a few ISO images.

Despite this software being 'new' and it does need more development, the core functions work.
Having tested InfraRecorder for a week now, I haven't found any showstopping bugs nor had any coasters.
As a whole, this software makes for a lightweight, functional application, hence my high scores.
On my Vista system, I have ImgBurn and InfraRecorder and thats it.

The features which stand out are:

ISO creation
Exact burn speed
Simple navigation / window layout
and
It's free.



Review by Intel on Sep 6, 2009 Version: 0.50 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Previous versions had problems to detect my drives. So it was nice to see that this has changed with InfraRecorder 0.46.2. But after some basic tests, I was quite disappointed. Even a simple task like burning a multisession CD did not work. While the program happily announced a successful burning and verification, Windows only recognized an empty disc. Then I tried to write a singlesession CD (disc at once). This worked well, however, the verification function did not notice that one file had changed.

So I would not recommend this tool, as some very basic and important functions (like the verification) don't work at all. In the future I will use other programs like cdrtfe.


Review by seanlucas on Jun 30, 2009 Version: 0.46.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




i was looking for a free burning tool and tested
InfraRecorder, BurnAware Free Edition and cdrtfe and nothing to say
to the developers expects then, good work!.
from the 3 i tested, InfraRecorder gave the best results.

the dvd disc burnig and data burning sections were excelent.
the audio section was slowly.


Review by danielk68 on Jan 1, 2008 Version: 0.44.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great free burning S/W for cd/dvd. No need to install, just run the exe. It creates a disk image in the background then writes the track at once. Slightly slower, but pretty much bullet proof. I tested with CD's (music and data) and DVD's (video and data), all perfect so far................

Review by racer-x on Dec 31, 2007 Version: 0.44.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I performed a few tests on the new version. It actually copies discs now! Although, it would not do it in one step. I had to manually copy to image and then burn from image. But it did it. I also managed to get it to erase a RW disc. These are all things it would not do in previous versions, so the new version has come a long way.

Here are my results:

1) Copy from CD to CD (two different drives) - works perfectly

2) Copy from CD to image - works perfectly

3) Write image to CD - works perfectly

4) Format/erase RW disc (quick format) - works perfectly (took about 1 min)

5) Write a data CD from files on the hdd - works, but had some difficultly. The explorer view got confused the first time. But when I started a new project, it was fine.

6) Mix mode CD - Wow! I put CD cover artwork in the data portion, and the audio for the CD in the audio portion. The audio files were mp3's and InfraRecorder decoded them to wav and successfully burned my mix mode CD. Very nice! Deep Burner can't do that!

7) You mean this thing also writes DVD-video discs?? I just noticed that. Will have to test this out later.

Looks like we finally have a Deep Burner killer. Don't get me wrong, I love Deep Burner, but it doesn't copy CDs; it only writes them. THIS one does it all! InfraRecorder is almost a perfect 10.


Improvements I would like to see:

1) Ability to copy from CD to CD using the same drive without having to manually copy to image and then burn the image.

2) It should offer to format the RW disc if you are copying to it.

3) Standardization for various terminology. For instance, SAO (session at once) is more commonly known as DAO (disc at once).

4) It would be nice if clicking on the "reset" button next to the CD Recorder selection, caused an open tray to close.


Review by dphirschler on Dec 3, 2007 Version: 0.44.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Same experience as dphirschler had above. Great software for copying data files from a harddrive to a CD or DVD . . . fast and easy to use. But getting a copy of an audio CD or audio/video DVD to a blank CD/DVD is another story. Not intuitive as to what to do and the Help section is not, well, much Help.

Review by riegal on Sep 10, 2007 Version: 0.42.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




I don't understand why I cannot copy a CD. Here is what I am doing:

1) I select Actions|Copy Disc|to a Compact Disc...

- I get a message saying "Audio discs and multi-session discs must be copied in clone mode to copied correctly. Please note that it's not possible to clone a disc on the fly."

2) I press 'OK'

- I get the message saying "InfraRecorder has detected that you have a DVD recorder installed on your computer. Do you want to write the disc copy to a DVD media?"

3) I press 'No'

- Now I get the 'Copy Disc' dialog with several options shown, including source and target drive selection, check boxes for 'on the fly' or 'clone disc', write speed, and write method. I've fooled around with all those settings and I can never make the 'OK' button un-gray. How the hell am I supposed to copy a CD?

I dropped my functionality rating because I have recently tried to erase a rewritable disc. It seemed to lock up rather than erase it. For all I know it was erasing very slowly, but there was no indication of anything happening.

Deep Burner wins round two. If InfraRecorder can get disc copying working, then it will have a leg up on Deep Burner feature wise. But it still needs to get erasing RW media working before it can be considered a replacement.

Keep up the good work. It's not there yet, but It looks promising!


Review by dphirschler on Jun 22, 2007 Version: 0.43.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




So far I have successfully used this program to:
- burn iso image to CD (it was even bootable)
- create iso image from CDs
- create data dvd

I had trouble copying a CD. The damn OK button would not ungray. I don't know what I could do to 'enable' it. If I can get that working, I will raise my functionality rating.

Also, if my writer is a CD/DVD writer it always asks me if I want to write to DVD media. Shouldn't it be able to detect if there is a DVD or CD media in the drive?

Aside from these complaints, this software is excellent. I would love to figure out how to make it copy CDs correctly. But it still deserves a 10 for value for the money.

Being able to write mixed mode CDs and writing CDs from bin/cue are two options I look forward to trying out.

I will be especially happy if I can write a VCD using the bin/cue method because my drive is no longer compatible with VCDeasy. I have to write VCDs to bin/cue and burn somewhere else.

In summary, this program appears to be better than Deep Burner as it does all that program can do and more.


Darryl


Review by dphirschler on May 21, 2007 Version: 0.43 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com