Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab Video Downloader and download streaming video from Netflix and other sites! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for HDVSplit

15 reviews, Showing 1 to 15 reviews


October 2020 - I am still using HDV MiniDV tapes capturing from my Canon HV40 camcorder via a firewire cable onto a desktop computer. This programme enables me to capture the camcorder footage effortlessly making small movies in Adobe Premiere Elements. Unlike in the past with previous versions of Windows the "preview" window does not pick up the camcorder footage with Windows 10 64 bit. Consequently I look to the LCD unit on the camcorder for a visual reference case need. Otherwise all the frames transfer across without issue. I'm very grateful for this software and realise it has not been updated since 2006. If it were possible I'd willingly pay for this software.

Review by Mark Carlisle on Oct 22, 2020 Version: HDVSplit 0.77 beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Wonderful simple software to capture HDV in its native quality. iMovie and Vegas do not come close to how easy this is to use.
Works with Windows 10 64-bit and the Sony HVR-A1U.

Though, I did find that it wasn't able to detect the splitting of scenes in some cases. Sometimes the split tab would help with this, sometimes it wouldn't. Along with that, there were random frame drops. Sometimes a scene would capture without drops, sometimes recapturing it would cause a bunch of dropouts. Seems to be completely random in my case.

It's a shame this application was not open sourced. I would love to see updates to solve the frame dropout.
I'm unsure if using an earlier 32-bit OS (and CPU) would improve these issues as the software was written around then.

The ReadMe included has not been updated in about a year from version 0.75 to the current 0.77 (Static) Beta.

--Links

The website for the DVHS driver listed in the ReadMe has since gone offline. An archive of the site and files can be found at:
https://web.archive.org/web/20060407205637/http://hdvforever.com/hdv/hdrhc1/freecapture/default.htm

Here's an archive of the author's website, which is also offline:
https://web.archive.org/web/20080708061205/http://strony.aster.pl/paviko/

The Doom9 thread (unfortunately, at the time of writing, paviko hasn't logged on in over a decade):
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=104872


Review by Ribbon🎀 on Jul 3, 2020 Version: 0.77 Static Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Update on Sony IP1 micromv tape capture using iLink (IEEE-1394) 4 to 6 pin cable using Windows 10 64 bit.
As an alternative to HDVSplit, I was able to install Pinnacle Studio Deluxe version 10 successfully.
And captured from the Sony IP1 without any dropped packets or frames.
Couldn't here any audio on Studio 10 playback, but audio on the track was visible (codec missing??).
And fortunately, after exporting to file (AVI), all the video and audio tracks were intact.
It pays to keep the old software disks...


Review by Wally on Apr 17, 2020 Version: 0.77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works with Sony HDR-HC3 DV tapes (HDV setting) on Windows 10 64 bit over iLink (IEE-1394) using 4to6 pin cable with no additional drivers.
Note: needed additional codec to play back *.m2t files using Microsoft "Films and TV" App player.
But played back fine on Cyberlink PowerDVD version 19.

Works with Sony IP1 microMV tapes on Windows 10 64 bit over iLink (IEEE-1394) using 4to6 pin cable with no additional drivers.
Loosing some packets on the IP1 captures...may try Microsoft 1394_OHCI_LegacyDrivers to see if it resolves lost packets.

Truly amazed that this works at all for the IP1...


Review by Wally on Apr 16, 2020 Version: 0.77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by XIX on Mar 5, 2020 Version: 0.77 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Beekman on Oct 10, 2019 Version: .77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by johnnycaps on Sep 11, 2019 Version: HDVSplit 0.77 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A big THANK YOU also from my side! Even though being in 2019 already, I'm still using HDV-MiniDV tapes for capturing with my Canon XH-A1... The last years I always got troubles when capturing tapes in Vegas. There were so many interruptions without any reason at all. I tried everything. Now, finally(!) I found your great little program. And it just works! Thanks so much! Would love to be able to donate it in some way...?

Best regards from Switzerland,
Simon


Review by Simon on May 22, 2019 Version: 0.77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




As others have said, it just works. Even with JVC GY-HD 110 cameras (even in HD mode) that are known not to play nice with other devices.
It is a great pity that this superb little programme is no longer in development. But a big thank you to the software engineers, non the less.


Review by IC on Jul 21, 2018 Version: 0.77 beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Runs fine on Windows 7 64 bit with a Firewire PCIe card. I use it to capture HD video from my Canon HV20. Indispensable for anyone with an HDV camcorder. Preview feature usually works but can glitch, so I leave it unchecked.

Review by MAXdB on Dec 25, 2017 Version: 0.77 beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Like the other reviewers have said, this program just does the right thing whereas the high end video editing suites fail.

All I really want is a program that can correctly split scenes based on the time-code on the tape and then save those files with the time stamp in the file name (for sorting and reference). This program does exactly that (and a little bit more) and does it well.

I usually edit with Vegas 9, and their capture program as well as many others seem to mostly ignore the time-code on the tape. They do visual scene detection and usually get it wrong. They often leave little bits of the previous scene at the start of your clip or leave a little bit of the next scene at the end of your clip. Very messy to work with. Plus, they don't save the time stamp in the file name, so you are left with just a bunch of files with incrementing numbers that are very hard to organize by date taken.


Review by Steve425 on Jul 13, 2013 Version: 0.77 Beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




LOOK NO FURTHER!! Trust me, this is your HDV transfer from tape to computer program.

This is, by a country mile, the best HDV transfer program available - period, bar none that I've come across. I've used Sony Vegas Pro, Premiere Pro CS5 and WinDV and NONE are as good or nearly as easy to use.

One of the most irritating things about Vegas and Premiere is that each of the individual scenes contains a tiny snippet of the next scene at the end of the scene. VERY irritating. With HDVSplit the split between scenes is precise with no attached snippet.

Ease of use is equally stellar. The guy who designed this should be hired by Sony and Premiere to get their bloated overpriced programs squared away. Another huge advantage, and also easy to use, is the naming of the individual scenes with actual time information.

This program is perfection. If you want to "capture" your HDV look no further. I flat LOVE IT!! Thank you to the brilliant software designer who gave us this freebie.


Review by dorenhagen on Apr 10, 2011 Version: .77beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works very simple. Perfect for my Sony HDR-HC3 camcorder

Review by ams30gts on May 15, 2009 Version: 0.77S OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool, and better than the capture tool provided by Sony Vegas, in that HDVSplit can split the HDV clips and name them based on the date and time of shooting.

Another great feature is that HDVSplit can monitor the capture and announce whether any frames have been dropped, either in the transfer process or due to a dropout on the tape. One of the MAJOR issues with HDV is that a single glitch on a miniDV tape will just clobber your video (and audio) for 1/2 second, a catastrophe for important projects. Not only will HDVSplit let you know of such events on a tape, but you can also now "Prestripe" a tape in advance and then use it to do a test capture to ensure that it is dropout-free. I do this with all my tapes now, and even though it means extra work for me, I'm pretty much guaranteed a dropout-free tape.


Review by riredale on Jul 31, 2006 Version: .75 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




A great utility for anyone who owns an HDV camcorder, e.g. the Sony HDR-HC1 or HDR-HC3. It does exactly what it's supposed to do, and perfectly. HDV files captured by HDVSplit show no errors using the MPEG2Repair utility, unlike HDV files captured by other programs.

Review by PenguinVideo on Apr 7, 2006 Version: 0.75 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


15 reviews, Showing 1 to 15 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com