Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab Video Downloader and download streaming video from Netflix and other sites! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for HDTVtoMPEG2

14 reviews, Showing 1 to 14 reviews


I tried two programs to convert a HD ts file with 6 channel audio to mpg. One had audio sync problems the other was rejected by my DVD player saying unknown audio codec. Then a tried HDTVtoMPG2 and it worked perfect including cutting out sections of the file.
It hasn't been updated in a few years, there is no audio when viewing the file and doesn't have some of the conversion options that other programs have but it worked perfect for me and is very fast.


Review by danzeb on Oct 28, 2011 Version: 1.11.94 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Why this stupid program still asks me to select a channel? I just want to convert snip out part of *.ts file.

Review by Kowa1 on Oct 19, 2011 Version: all OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Awesome program! Converts extremely fast!

This is my wishlist:
Import commercial skip file from BeyondTV (xml file), Comskip,...
Allow command line operations so that automation can be done including commercial skip file import!

Thanks!


Review by eMpTy3000 on Feb 12, 2009 Version: v1.11.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is the greatest tool ever for converting ts streams :-)

Review by hansa56 on Aug 14, 2008 Version: 1.11.94 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This version works well and sound is good.
I downloaded a 1/2 hour HDTV program from Beyonwiz HD STB, stripped out the ads and MPG converted it to two 1GB files in around 10 mins. I used ALShow to replay it without problems.

Problems:
1. I tried to convert using a 4096MB file size and it converted OK to a 2GB MPG file but ALShow would not play past 1GB per file.

2. "Commercial Scan" always causes a GPF. Also GPF's if name exists or you don't use default name.

3. There is no help so I don't know what all the fields mean.

Wish list:
I would also like to have the ability to output in SD format or even better in DVD format.
For a free program it has a nice look and feel but still gas some rough edges.
Keep it going!!

PeterK


Review by peterkay on Aug 1, 2008 Version: 1.11.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I am new to HDTV to MPEG2 conversions. I found the tool very easy to use for the video and cutting the ads out of the HDTV video. I record video using a Fusion HDTV5 pci card.

What I am having a ton of trouble with is getting the audio to work at all. When I convert a .ts or .tp file to mpeg, I get no audio. Do I need to install a special ac3 codec or something.

If the audio would work at all, I'd give this program a perfect a 9.8/10 (a few tweeks would be nice for the ad removal portion, same suggestions that others have made).


Review by jgrater on Jul 15, 2007 Version: 1.11.93 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Except for the need to find an ac3 filter for the sound, I've found it great for converting ts to mpeg.
If it could combine all the steps I use for the finished project, it would be worth much more.
ie: convert from ts to mpeg2. to avi 640x 360 , to divx.


Review by cbminfo on Feb 25, 2007 Version: 1.11.89 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great software and it is free. I have no idea why the previous poster had no audio but they must not know what they are doing.

I have several fellow video enthusiasts and they love it as well.


Review by videomaniac on Nov 16, 2006 Version: 1.11.89 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This program is useless. The videos are converted with no sound. What is the use of this if it cannot convert a ts file to mpeg or any other format without any sound?? Makes no sense to me how people can love this program, when you cannot open ANY extention to convert video, nonetheless, ts files convert with no sound. I found this software to be a total waste and good thing it is free because I would be upset to waste money on this. And the lack of tech support for this software shows a red flag right there that the creators of this obviously do not know too much of what they are doing.

Review by jj1973 on Nov 16, 2006 Version: 11.89 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Just started recording HDTV using a FusionHDTV5 USB and a fellow videofile suggested HDTVtoMPEG2.

It works great! Fast and simple. I have used comskip, AdScan (VideoReDo Ad-Detective) and ShowAnalyzer to find commercials but the commercial detection in this software is not only fairly accurate but very fast.

It would be a great add to the software if you could get better resolution at the cut points with the ability to hit a key that will take you to the frame where the cut starts and ends.


Review by bits on Nov 1, 2006 Version: 1.11.89 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I cannot load TRP files in Versions after 1.11.83
The system kills the application while loading...


Review by wolli on May 28, 2006 Version: > 1.11.83 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I've been using this great tool for a week or so. My three big wishes are:

1. Being able to save the state of the markers, to return to it later.

2. Larger preview size. Sometimes it's hard to see what's in
frame, when setting markers.

3. FRAME SERVER MODE! I would so love to be able to mark up a
stream, and then just frame-serve it to my IO-Data Linkplayer, rather than having to write out the file. You could go from recording to watching in 5 minutes.

Another wish: a timeline (filmstrip) view at the cursor, showing several i-frames before and after the current position, and 10-seconds before and after. That would make placing markers way easier. Right now you have to kinda click forward and back by 10-second increments and then by i-frames to ensure the markers are at the right spots.


Review by rpeck on Aug 6, 2005 Version: 1.11-Beta3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Previous commentor suggested some version didn't produce MPEG2's... but 1.07, 1.10, 1.11beta, and 1.11beta3 produce MPEG2's for me... unfortunately having trouble with the audio, however (your mileage may vary)... good video, light static - no soundtrack from a good TS file created using AVSforum's method (Panasonic DVHS driver and CapDVHS) to record from Motorola's 6xxx cableTVbox firewire out port... (VLC Media Player plays the resulting MPEG2-TS file fine, and Womble's MPEG Video Wizard converts it to regular MPG (PS) file without the audio glitch). Once my sound anomaly is corrected, HDTV2MPEG2 will be an excellent, excellent tool for conversion and editing all-in-one... appears to be a simple, easy to use, clean editor.

Review by RD on Apr 21, 2005 Version: 1.11 beta3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent free tool for removing commercials splitting and combining TS and TP files. This version can strip substreams and find commercials automatically (most of the time). Easily Mark segments to be included and excluded when generating new file. Must have if you have a MyHD and archive video.

Note-current name is misleading this version outputs TS files only. If you want MPEG2 PS output use version 1.07 after you use the current versions to remove unwanted parts.

Both versions are very fast (especially if output is to a differnent physical drive) as they do not rerender at all


Review by Paul_PDX on Apr 20, 2005 Version: 1.11.Beta3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


14 reviews, Showing 1 to 14 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com