Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, Hulu etc! Download free trial

Software Home »



All reviews for CDex

25 reviews, Showing 1 to 25 reviews


ASSERTION FAILURE

You might find that even with this version [2.18] you may get an 'Assertion Failure' when opening the settings menu.

Just click 'ignore' - it will then carry on and work as expected!


Review by cpcnw on May 24, 2019 Version: 2.18 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




CLEAN VERSION - Great software for ripping CD's!

As other comments - be aware that the installer includes fusion.dll - which is often flagged by AV/AS as being spyware / adware although other users are suggesting this is a 'false positive'

In any case I downloaded the .exe in Linux and stripped out all the guff just leaving the files required for operation. I have removed all but English language however I have included the most recent lame dll.

You can get the clean version here bit.ly/2wgkqLA

Please note the above linked file is clean and checked by Virus Total and gets 100% clean status.


Review by cpcnw on May 24, 2019 Version: 2.18 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




"Freeware but ad-supported installation. Be careful when installing it to avoid unwanted addons!"

Indeed. Can't even get it to install as it is quarantined by various anti-virus and anti-malware software when trying to install it.

It's best stick with the ad-free version (which is quite a bit older) or find the clean PortableApps version which is a few versions behind.

Decent software when able to run it from a clean version.


Review by DudeAbides on Nov 10, 2018 Version: 2.12 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Works great, except that trying to select Settings/Options crashes the program. Big problem since you can't set directory and other things. Going back to a previous version.

Review by Disappointed on Mar 26, 2018 Version: 1.99.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 5/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by LongtimeUser on Mar 26, 2018 Version: 1.99.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 5/10




Works fine, a bit fiddly to set up.

There is NO HELP FILE. The "Help/F1" buttons do nothing. There is no help file or document in the installation.
You can get a help file from version 1.4 (2002!) here: http://www.cs.bme.hu/~roxane/CDex_140b9/
Doesn't come up on the help button, but you can open it.

Also only a FAQ and downloads at the CDEX website. No contacts, no forum, no way to make bug reports. (There are links, but they are all circular.)

Looks like this guy just got sick of support and cut it all off. Should have removed all these dead links that promise help and support then.


Review by AlanHK on Sep 7, 2017 Version: 1.77 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by antonio on Apr 17, 2017 Version: 1.84 / 1.77 OS: Vista Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I've used this for years to rip audio cd's and it works well.

The last few releases I've had an issue where when I try to open the Options dialog, it crashes the program with an 'Assertion Failed' error. I'd like to report this to the author directly, but all the support links on his site either point to the main page or to the FAQ, so there doesn't appear to be any support forum or bug tracking system, and if there are, there's no way to get to them. So if you have any issues, there's no way of getting help.


Review by Rebooter on Feb 22, 2017 Version: 1.82 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Excellent CD Ripper. Pretty much easy to configure through GUI.
The Best Settings for Lame MP3 Encoder are:

Priority : Normal [] Rip to Riff WAV (un-checked)
Version : MPEG-1 Bit-rate Min : 320
Mode : Stereo
[] Original checked, in case ripping from original CD album.
Quality : very high quality q=o [] on the fly mp3 encoding (un-checked)
VBR Method : Disabled
Output Samplerate : 44100

Above settings produces very High Quality mp3 files, as god as EAC.



Review by Bonie81 on May 24, 2011 Version: 1.70 beta 4 OS: Other Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10






Review by OverBurn on Feb 19, 2006 Version: 1.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a excelent program, easy to use and it works perfectly and fast.

Pity it havent been updated since 2003 but then again, why improve on perfection?



Review by saamoa6669 on Sep 7, 2005 Version: 1.5.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




So far, I am thrilled with CDEX. It's configurable enough that I could improve the quality of my MP3 rips, and yet very easy to use. I can't believe someone else said it was hard to use... if you look at all the complicated DVD ripping software out there, this one is a piece of cake! As for where the files are stored, just look in your configuration settings and you'll see the directory. Wow, it's really an awesome little program.

Review by bek on Sep 4, 2005 Version: 1.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is still my favourite program for MP3 encoding. I tried EAC, but I was seriously disappointed by its encoding options - it sucks in comparison to CDex!

Only bad thing is that it hasn't been updated in a good while. Though fortunately it just uses the standard codec .dll files - I highly recommend updating the lame_enc.dll file!


Review by zilog_jones on Aug 23, 2005 Version: 1.51 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I just got my older brother an MP3 player for his birthday. He is a college student who does not have a computer of his own. The MP# player was merely a USB key with music functionality. Just drag and drop the files onto the drive and listen away. The thing i needed for it was an easy MP3 ripper that could be used without having to install anything. The .zip version of CDex worked perfectly. I have it perfectly set up to autorun CDex when I put the USB key into the drive. It checks CDDB without much of a hitch (aside from SP2 firewall getting in the way.) My only complaint is the speed of the ripping. It may be because the program is run over teh USB key, but it only encodes at roughly 2x speed.

Other than that, I love the functionality without having to install anything.


Review by tonemgub on Aug 16, 2005 Version: 1.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This tool is my favorite ripper, period. I have been using it for several years and have never had any problems using it, and for the price, you can't beat it. I've tried others, and this one is simply the easiest and most functional ripper available. Highly recommend!!!

Review by clearvideo on Jan 30, 2005 Version: 1.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I dont think the guy 4 below me can of tried very hard.
This is VERY easy to use software. It is simple and fast.
And in my world the best bit is that it is free!


Review by zworg2 on Jan 30, 2005 Version: 1.51 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great, easy to use program for Sending CD Audio to your computer. Nicely connects to CDDB to get CD info.

Review by tmlim on Dec 10, 2004 Version: 1.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Agreed. This software in very easy to use and does a great job. Any you can't beat the price.

Review by redd on Aug 8, 2004 Version: 1.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Mate, did you bother spending half-a-minute checking the Help guide? Go to Options/Settings/Filenames and you nominate where you want your ripped songs.

CDex is a fantastic free tool, and I think it is extremely intuitive & user friendly!


Review by NamPla on Aug 8, 2004 Version: 1.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is probably the most unintuitive program I have ever had the displeasure of using. I gave up on trying to figure out where it was storing the coverted files on my HDD. All I want is a simple-to-use program for extracting my CD audio (wav) files from my CD collection (CD's that I legally purchased new) and convert them to MP3's that I can listen to on my MP3 player. I will pay $$$$ for a program that can do this with ease. CDex is free, and I would pay $$$ to have the memory of my painful time using it erased from my brain. I do not know what it decided to call the files, so I cannot even run a search on my HDD for the files. It just says it is converting and my available space on the HDD decreases while my insanity increases. Do not bother with this one.

Review by MattV on Aug 8, 2004 Version: 1.5x or any version OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




CDEX is the best audio ripper I can find,definitely a 10.I choose this over EAC anyday.
CDEX is open source it has a nice interface,it is reliable and the resulting audio files are perfect in quality.
Personally I dont trust Exact Audio Copy,it seems a bit unreliable to me,as it freezes when I use the Wave Editor and doesnt detect the correct settings for my drives and I hate software without installers.
CDEX is the best,end of story!


Review by Laspis59 on Jun 9, 2004 Version: 1.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




AWWWRIIGGHTT!!! No doubt a 10!! My goodness everything should work this well and easily. Like it better than Exact Audio Copy and I think this better. Exact Audio is very quirky and inexact. EAC during install checks all your CD/DVD drives and sets parameters for best ripping. Problem with that is that EAC does not read the drives properly and sets incorrect parameters. I had to rip 3 or 4 ripping attempts using various settings and using the fixes suggested by EAC's online help. EAC works well after you get by the quirkiness.

No such deal with CDex. Installed, put audio CD in drive and 2 minutes later I had my *.wav file from the track I selected. Very easy and fast.


Review by dvwannab on May 26, 2004 Version: 1.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Have been using this for years now, great audio ripping and conversion utility, hard to believe it's free!

Review by Oliver on Jun 25, 2003 Version: 1.5 Beta OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




the best cd ripper on the market period!

and its freeware


Review by kyuss on Jun 25, 2003 Version: 1.50 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A must have for ripping,recording analog,playing and converting audio files.Supports wav,mp3,ogg,ape,mp2,wma and external encoders.
IMO CDex is the best free all-in-one audio tool.


Review by MOVIEGEEK on Jun 24, 2003 Version: 1.4b8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


25 reviews, Showing 1 to 25 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com