Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
Avi2Dvd

NEW VERSION 0.6.4

NO LONGER DEVELOPED
Avi2Dvd is a all in one tool that converts avi/mkv/ogm with few clicks in a vcd/svcd/dvd. Avi2dvd uses only freeware tools and can handle varius freeware enconders (QuEnc/FreeEnc/NuEnc) or CCE. PAL to NTSC, NTSC to PAL, switchable subtitles, basic menu and more.

Freeware
OS: Win
File size: 35MB
Old versions
Version history
7.5/10
34 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

Avi2Dvd screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

0.6.4 (October 17, 2011)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download Avi2Dvd 0.6.4  35MB  Win




Download old versions


Download Avi2Dvd old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Whats new v. 0.6.4
Added : Minimize to tray option
Added : Ask on exit
Added : Settings session
Added : New much cleaner interface
Added : Language dropbox
Updated : Dutch and taiwanese language
Removed : Updater
Updated : Installer


View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to Avi2Dvd


AVI2ISO



AVStoDVD



AVStoMPEG



DIKO



DVD Flick



FAVC



The FilmMachine







Guides and How to's


AVI to DVD with soft subtitle and menu with AVI2DVD

- Read

Basic Guide How to Convert AVI Files to DVD with Avi2DVD

- Read

How to convert AVI files (DivX, XviD etc.) to DVD with Avi2DVD

- Read

Avi2Dvd video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Tool features - Convert





Acronyms / Also Known As

Trustfm Avi2Dvd




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




34 reviews, Showing 1 to 34 reviews


My review may not reflect the program properly as it may work fine for others. Installation and setup was ok, I went for default settings. I was to convert a MKV into VCD, and I see in the log that sounds was converted but not video. So basically it failed without mentioning a reason in the log. Not sure if I can correct this to make it work, at least the MKV file palys fine in VideoLAN (it was ripped using Handbrake from a DVD). Now trying something from o6o7.com to see it that works, at least 10% progress bar so far...

Review by janolsen on Jul 4, 2010 Version: 0.6.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This is being reported as spyware in KAV with the download blocked. I've checked it three times.

It should be carefully checked as it is being described as 100% ad and spyware free !


Review by blue2 on Jun 12, 2008 Version: 0.45 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Being a newcomer in this field the first time I used this software I had problems with the color or quality, but after I put out some codecs of another software, everything became perfect. Thank you so much to the author for such excellent piece of work, my best wishes to him!!!

EP


Review by EP on May 31, 2008 Version: 0.4.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just tried using .45 Beta on a few different AVI and Xvid files and it dosnt pick up the details of the file like the FPS etc.. also unable to choose an Audio stream. I will give .44 a go and see if that picks up all the details. Using Vista 32Bit, mind you there could be a problem with other codecs etc. on my PC.

Other than the above, it is very well set out and looks extremely easy to use.


Review by SirSTI on May 8, 2008 Version: .45 Beta OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




A very practical way to get a DVD assembled with 3 + null subtitles and up to 3 different soundtracks.

Actually it's just an interface for human laypeople to grapple with several different freeware utilities that work seamlessly and automatically to get the desired final result.

The only shortcoming I found was my inability (if it'ds at all possible) to make subtitles come out in any color other than white, in spite of having them set to yellow in Subtitle Workshop. All other settings worked fine, though I never tried to build menus with it.


Review by johel on May 4, 2008 Version: 0.4.4 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I've been using Avi2Dvd 0.44 for over a year to convert Avi's to DVD's using CCE and it does a great job. However 0.45 doesn't seem to convert the Avi to the correct single DVD layer size as the previous version did. I'm using DVDshrink as the extra step with 0.45, but it would be great if the author could tweak the program to adjust the final file size back to 4.37G again.

Review by stewiegriffin711 on Jul 8, 2007 Version: 0.45 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A few quirks to learn but all in all a great program (actually a front end for many apps). The results (use HCenc at 'Best'), are superb. Perfect AR and nice PAL to NTSC conversions with pulldown. Highly recommended.

Review by MysticE on Jul 6, 2007 Version: 0.4.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I downloaded the program, installed it, loaded in an AVI of the first episode of season three Doctor Who, then hit the processing button and went off to watch TV. AVI2DVD processed the file with no further input from me. When it was done I burned the ISO file to disc with DVD Decrypter. End result was a clean 16:9 DVD with the sound all nicely synch'd to the video.
I dunno, maybe I'm just lucky, I had zero problems with this program. The progam is simple enough to use, I haven't even read the manual yet. I left it on the default settings. All I did was choose 16:9 as the input aspect because my avi file was that.
It worked exactly as I hoped it would: simple, easy, and produced a clean synch'd ISO file to burn to disc.
Now to do the rest of the 215 gigabytes of Doctor Who avi's I have; every episode from November 1963 #1 through the current series :)
Jack



Review by jackstinson on May 2, 2007 Version: 4.40 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very goog .Xvid23,976 to dvd-ntsc no problem

Review by Atanasov on Apr 19, 2007 Version: 0.4.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very good software and very easy to use. You DO have to read a guide about using this software. It seems that most of the people who gave it bad reviews just never bothered to read a guide - and then the software didn't "work" for them.

for example: There's NO need to select an audio stream if the stream is included in the video file - avi2dvd find it automatically.

The only problem I had was with the picture ratio: it didn't select the right one. The problem wasn't with avi2dvd - I had the VobSub DX plugin on "always load" and that made avi2dvd think that the video was 3:4 when on fact it was 16:9. I changed the VobSub plugin settings to "Load when needed" and since then avi2dvd worked very well!


Review by simba777 on Apr 17, 2007 Version: 0.44 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I've only done 1 conversion and it seems to work fine. The one thing I noticed was the (auto) selection on the screen size format does not work well. I had a 16x9 video and it ended up with 4x3. So you have to select the right one.

To the person who can not get past the first step to load the audio stream. You have to rename your file to alpha numerics only. No special characters. I ran into this problem myself. The pop up message even tells you that you need to rename the file. Once you've rename the file to only characters and numbers, it will allow you to select the audio stream.


Review by afaa on Feb 15, 2007 Version: 0.4.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Excellent free program, idiot-proof user interface, no technical knowledge needed. The bad point is that it's not compatible with the latest Cinema Craft Encoder v2.70 so it needs an update. I give this overall a 7 rating, but I give Creatan man a 10 rating for his singing and that fantastic moustache ... go to help menu!

Review by niki on Jan 11, 2007 Version: 0.4.4 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I have used this to convert AVI files to DVD's to play in my stand alone player. Very easy to use and I have had no problems whatsoever. It has even fixed audio problems being out of sync, which some other converters were unable to do. Maybe the quality of the video is not quite real dvd quality, but for a free tool I have been well pleased with it. Takes about 5 hours to convert one 700mb AVI to dvd format (approx 1.5 hour film).

Review by markcarr on Jan 9, 2007 Version: 0.4.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Unless this program has a way to enter the audio stream, it's useless to me... I can't get past the part where it asks to enter and audio stream.... and if I can't enter an audio stream, I can't convert my avi to dvd

Review by tonemgub on Dec 26, 2006 Version: 0.4.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




I don't understand all the people bitching and moaning. OK, there are one or two minor bugs with AVI2DVD but it's a Beta version and it's free! I would like to extend my personal thanks to the creator for a great program. I've currently converted over 50 AVIs to DVD using it (mainly using HCEnc as an encoder)with hardly a problem; the one or two problems I've had have mainly been resolved by using a different encoder so it isn't a problem with AVI2DVD anyway!

Try it - you'll love it!


Review by shadesman on Nov 7, 2006 Version: 0.4.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Some people like tinkering with their car, and they buy Italian (Alfa Romeo). Some others like it simple, easy and reliable, and they buy German. These (like me) think Avi2Dvd is about the best around.

Review by omicron on Jun 6, 2006 Version: 0.4.4 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




If you have a floating point division error, you may need to another codec. I had a problem with avi2dvd version 0.4.3 with an xvid avi. After installing the xvid codec, it worked fine. The link I used was 'http://www.xvidmovies.com/codec/' to get the codec.

Review by tbom on May 23, 2006 Version: 0.4.3 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




This tool is so simple to use and final product is of very good quality. I use this program to make simple no menu DVD's of DivX/XviD avi files with no problems at all. A/V sync is perfect. The only gripe I have is that it never seems to utilize all the available disc space on the final DVD. When I set the project size to DVD-5 (4.7GB) the final product is only about 2.5GB on an hour and a half movie. I guess the internal bitrate calculator is set VERY conservatively. Even so the end product is pretty good and speedy too for free software. It creates a full DVD in near realtime using the default settings on my Pentium 4 3.4Ghz HT computer.

Review by moondogger on Jan 16, 2006 Version: 0.4.3 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




it resizes my pal-movies to add black borders?!? and i dont find any config, to deactivate resizing.
the authoring-module is not working for me and produces exception faults...
but anyway i like this tool and will wait until version 1.0 ;)


Review by e-flow on Jan 16, 2006 Version: 0.43 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




This program in the past had been gold plated, but hollow inside. When you must use 3+ programs to convert a video file it simply makes it a hassle for the average user. But now Avi2Dvd has consolidated all of these programs and subsequently video converters prayer's have been answered. Featuring almost complete functionality, it can be confusing at times, but that is the price you must pay for this level of functionality. To all of the other posters in this thread: I'm sorry to tell you that every single one of those errors are user caused. Check your codecs and with the audio stream problem make the name of your source avi smaller. I have had all of those problems ya'll mentioned and found to my dismay I was the problem, not the program. Good luck and good converting!

Review by WratchetHead on Jan 14, 2006 Version: 0.4.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Combines avi's and created dvd image - does as it says on the tin.
Did not work with my CCE, but freeenc encoder supplied with it works well and is good quality - took 6 hours to convert to dvd on my athlon xp 2100+. Sure it would take less with CCE and quicker processer - but I'm not fussed - it worked and is free!!!
Note: to combine avi's put them in the same directory and name as filename CD1.avi, filename CD2.avi ...etc - then just convert the first file the rest are automatically


Review by llBLYNDll on Dec 3, 2005 Version: 0.4.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm basically a novice, and this tool worked perfectly for me the first two times I tried it. Oddly, the DVDs play correctly in my roommate's cheap DVD player (And on my computer), but show a region code error on my Sony DVD player.



Review by hughv on Aug 29, 2005 Version: avi2dvd 0.3.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool. Very easy to use.
Tried with a XVid, 2 Files (2CD's) and 2 Subtitles Files. Worked great. (You have to rename the files as in the documentation, then it works). Good usage of DVD (4.3GB filled). Had a ISO-File and a DVD-Folder.

Just one Bug: The "italic"-Tags in the subtitle File have been written in the subtitle instead of showing the text italic.


Review by Knief on Aug 26, 2005 Version: 0.3.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I was impressed with this software, espically since it's free. I got some errors at first, but after I put my AVI file on my hard drive it worked fine. Try to keep default configuations. Also, this doesn't burn directly to DVD, but creates an image file instead. Burn that to the DVD.

Review by brightboy on Jul 30, 2005 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Having read all the previous user comments, I thought I would add my opinion. I've been trying this for a couple of weeks and so far I am very impressed. Using CCE, it produces very good quality DVD's with optimum usage of available bitrate/capacity for a DVD5. It does one or 2 CD avi conversions with or without subs. The only issue (although minor, as the inbuilt aspect configuration does a reasonable job) is the lack of configuration for selecting the preferrred aspect ratios.
I've also used DIKO, DivxtoDVD and SVCD2DVD and only the latter can do good quality one movie/one DVD conversions like this.

I recommend it highly to anybody who has CCE, but can't comment for the in built encoders as I find them too slow.


Review by bolinboy on Mar 15, 2005 Version: 1.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Dont bother with this rubbish. MKV always get the same "floating point" error message and so on..........

But since its free, it gets 2 for "value for money", but that still is overrating.



Review by sam64 on Mar 5, 2005 Version: 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 1/10




Nice program, but an option for anamorphic output would be nice.

Review by mpegje on Mar 3, 2005 Version: 0.15 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




This program is worthless! The audio is included with the video when on captures, so how are you suppose to select the audio?????

Review by ima2hd on Mar 1, 2005 Version: latest version OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




One of the easiest avi -> DVD converters i have ever seen. And i have tried a lot of them. The latest version is very stable and the intergration of cinema craft encoder (not included in the pack, but you can use it if you have it) made everything faster. I think from now on it's a "Worth to try".

Review by cybereddie on Mar 1, 2005 Version: 0.1.5 beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I am the author of this program.
I would like to explain that the Aspect ratio selections is reffered to the INPUT film and not to the output ! (thats why the selection is at the input panel)
As DEFAULT avi2dvd generates 4/3 output movies .
The aspect ratio selection autodetects the correct input ratio.If for some strange reason you are sure that avi2dvd is wrong then you can modify it.
I really modified A LOT the source code from the 0.1.1 version so ... give a try again.
I hope that now everything is a bit more clear.
If you have questions you can mail me here : avi2dvd@trustfm.com.ru

Bye and enjoy !


Review by kitsaros on Feb 28, 2005 Version: 0.1.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




The aspect ratio is not working ok, if I select 16-9 then will the movie encode in 4-3 ratio.

Review by mpegje on Feb 28, 2005 Version: 0.15 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 6/10




Don't even bother with this program. I tried to do 1 AVI file & the program just froze & the only way I could close it out was to manually turn the PC off. I then tried another & about halfway thru it the same thing happened(froze) so I had to repeat the previous procedure. I then kindly proceeded to uninstalling the program with happiness.

Review by tonybologna on Feb 14, 2005 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 3/10




I also downloaded this program and at first glance, looks very simple to operate. However, the avi files I have include the audio within the avi and there is no way of selecting the audio file as required to get the program to work. Don't know if this is a flaw or what but it doesn't work for me. Some work needs to be done before wasting your time on this program. Also, there is no english information on the site that I can find which leaves me out in the cold as I don't speak Russian.

Review by captain315 on Feb 13, 2005 Version: 0.1 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




The version software has a bug after demuxing the audio ac3 track.a error message appears saying that cannot find the audio track.

Review by filipe_l on Feb 13, 2005 Version: new version OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10


34 reviews, Showing 1 to 34 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

9 Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com