Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVD Fab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for Avanti

13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews


Note from the developer,

Please be careful with version 0.9.3 if you want to use the batch conversion option or better wait for a revision. Please read this post...

http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/282223-AVANTI-FFmpeg-Avisynth-GUI-%28support-thread%29?s=966fbf28d21c4bdda88be83098a76887&p=2389538&viewfull=1#post2389538

Chris K (developer of Avanti)


Review by Chris K on May 9, 2015 Version: 0.9.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Software hungs on windows 7 64 bits after you click for the convertion to start.

Note:- 0.7.9 work fine.


Review by ABBrittain on Jul 16, 2014 Version: 0.8.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Just loaded version 071 on my Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit computer and I ran into the following problems which seem to plague a lot of people. I found a fix on my computer by moving the folder to my desktop and almost everything cleared up. I believe the following problems were caused by the path being too long or too complex because the folder and all presets, plugins, etc are located at C:\users\bud\desktop\avanti. This has a shorter name than C:\standalone programs\avanti 71 where it was and you will notice the names all conform to the 8 character or less of old. The old location does not. I have had similar problems in programming languages used on Windows 7 that would only use short names intermittently.

The following problems all disappeared after moving the folder so you may want to try a shorter path location (C:\avanti) if you have problems.

1. Would not launch (Stayed with intitial little AVANTI flash box on screen)
2. Start process did nothing or ran preview no matter what avs script used
3. Source 1 and source 2 folder icons would not launch directory list.
4. User Video Options did nothing during processing.
5. Would not find valid combination of AVISynth /FFmpeg (Reduced FFmpeg's long name from
"C:\Standalone Programs\FFmpegNew with audio volume graph\ffmpeg-20130110-git-7e5c5fa- win32-static")

Only failure left is Autocrop.dll plugin will not be found unless it is used as "loadplugin("\path\autocrop") but I can live with that . This is a great tool again for me.


Review by budman1 on Jan 20, 2013 Version: 071 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Updated from 0.5.4 which worked under Windows 7 x64, to 0.5.5 which I can't get to launch on two machines running Windows 7 x64. Will have to go back to 0.5.4 if I'm going to use it.

Review by mail2tom on Apr 12, 2011 Version: 0.5.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




As most ffmpeg GUIs, this one has pretty much potential, but fails in taking advantage of them. It enables the user to convert a video to the most common formats like XviD, x264 or simply DV. But you don't need ffmpeg for this! It's a good tool to convert exotic videos to some more proper codec for further editing so at least one lossless codec like huffyuv or ffv1 should be supported by the GUI.
Appoart from that, it's a very good looking app and very easy to handle.


Review by pintcat on Oct 22, 2010 Version: 0.4.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 6/10




Unable to find an ffmpeg that this version will work with. Error is "Unable to initialize this version" please use a generic build.

Any help?


Review by SandyB on Sep 14, 2009 Version: .40 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Excellent Tool !!! Bet GUI for FFMPEG + Avisynth, rated it the best one!

Review by dabalciunas on Sep 14, 2009 Version: 0.3.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have used this handy easy to use app since it came out. It keeps getting better and better. Keep up the good work!

Review by notso on Apr 10, 2009 Version: 0.3.4 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Simple straight forward and excellent encodes. I really like that it does not install on your system.

Review by bits on Apr 10, 2009 Version: 0.3.5 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This would be a fantastic encoder, IF I could get it to work on my Vista 64-bit. Avanti has many advanced settings for the ffmpeg codecs and even has a Avisynth front-end built in. I wish I could use it on Vista 64-bit but it but when you first set it up and run Avanti, it states "system not ready". I found that if you run as admninistrator, then "system ready" appears but if you close it, then try to open it again, there's nothing, but thwe task manager states it is running! Remove run as admninistrator and open then run Avanti, you can see it again but after a minute, the app crashes: "ffmp_avanti.exe has stopped working". So even though this program has great potential, I spent more than one half hour trying to get it to work instead of using it to transcode videos. What a waste of time.

Review by LedAstray on Apr 10, 2009 Version: 0.3.4 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Great tool and free. Downloaded and used within minutes.

Review by cragtopper on Apr 3, 2009 Version: 0.3.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best GUI I have found yet for ffmpeg! The possibilities to set formats and import files directly or via Avisynth work not only very well, but FAST!
Output quality of mpeg2 and mpeg4 is amazing, considering that encoding video-only-file more often than not is done in 3-4 x realtime!!

The manual included together with the very active thread concerning this tool in the forum (see link beneath "Guides" above) is a great help, if needed at all. The GUI is very well structured and clear.


Review by nbarzgar on Aug 23, 2008 Version: 0.2.6 rev1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




my choice of ffmpeg gui

Review by 45tripp on Aug 15, 2008 Version: 0.27 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com